View Full Version : Transfers 2019 season
Mr_Parker
25/12/2018, 1:42 PM
You are probaby right, why play in a league where holidays during competative fixtures might be frowned upon, where full time training is an option, salaries are generally higher, crowds also generally higher, less travel and less committment might suit some prefectly.
Whether money was bid or not, why did Cliftonville opt to offer a new contract when there was plenty left on his existing deal if they were not concerned at the risk of losing him?
Tbf the comment on some 'big name' striker from Ez was dripping in sarcasm if you knew of his general contempt for Shamrock Rovers so you may laugh away.
Ok. I will laugh away.
25/12/2018, 2:00 PM
Maybe not 'aspire to', but certainly a step up on the ladder. Full time professional footballer is something every young kid who kicks a ball wants to be.
A notoriously fickle, short-lived career with few prospects after the age of 35 may be something every young kid aspires to, but adults have more world perspective. A real career with football on the side could easily be more lucrative than a professional football career and nothing afterwards bar maybe an old degree
25/12/2018, 3:22 PM
Ok. I will laugh away.
Among the giggles, care to explain why a new contract was offered? Its a genuine question. Cliftonville would wont to protect an asset, but why go to such lengths with a contracted player unless there was risk of him leaving. It has been played lovely by Gorman himself!
26/12/2018, 2:42 AM
Lads, the truth is in the middle as always. There may not have been a bid but Rovers were willing to pay a fee and had done some work to find out what it would be. Gormley may have been a success for Rovers but, with his injury record and being part time, it would have been a risk. Still, it probably wouldn't work out much different over the length of his contract from getting someone like Dan Carr in and putting him up for a couple of years.
Ezeikial
26/12/2018, 6:35 PM
If people think LOI football is something IL players and indeed clubs should aspire to, then be sadly mistaken.
However, the most laughable part of the post I quoted was the suggestion to take the money, even though no such figure was ever bid, and spend it on some 'big name' from the UK.
In truth, I have no idea if the reported €75,000 bid was real or not (more astute readers may have gathered that from my use of the word 'alleged'), but I have little doubt that a decent striker could be acquired with that sort of transfer kitty in the UK or elsewhere- no doubt even a bigger name than, say Marco Tagbajumi, maybe even something in the realms of Johannes Vennegoor of Hesselink (okay, I know he must be about 40 years old by now).
Anyway, it's good to see that you are following my lead and taking such a keen interest in the fortunes of the Shamrock Rovers and their striker predicament.
BTW has Joe Gormley bought that taxi yet?
Shearer
26/12/2018, 8:32 PM
If people think LOI football is something IL players and indeed clubs should aspire to, then be sadly mistaken.
However, the most laughable part of the post I quoted was the suggestion to take the money, even though no such figure was ever bid, and spend it on some 'big name' from the UK.
It's a jump nevertheless. There's about 15 places between the leagues on the coefficient table.
oriel
27/12/2018, 11:41 AM
It would certainly be a step up, most IL clubs are part time compared to most LOI being full time, so the benefits of daily training would improve most players.
If you are looking at attendances, I’ve noticed quite a lot of IL top division apart from holiday periods are in 3 figures. LOI is nothing to boast about but comparison between both leagues, the best average from the IL would not be in the top 6 if all clubs were listed.
On the standard, apart from the top 3 maybe 4 in IL, I would consider the rest to be FD standard in LOI, and I have watched quite a few matches to get that opinion.
ToberonaTornado
30/12/2018, 7:40 PM
Ciaron Harkin in for Derry on a swap deal from Coleraine with Ben Doherty going in the opposite direction.
You don't see many of them(swap agreements) in the LOI these days!
@derrycityfc (https://twitter.com/derrycityfc) and @ColeraineFC (https://twitter.com/ColeraineFC) have agreed a swap deal for Ciaron Harkin to join the Candystripes with Ben Doherty heading in the other direction.Welcome Ciaron! https://abs.twimg.com/emoji/v2/72x72/1f534.pnghttps://abs.twimg.com/emoji/v2/72x72/26aa.png #DCFC90 (https://twitter.com/hashtag/DCFC90?src=hash) #RAWA28 (https://twitter.com/hashtag/RAWA28?src=hash)Read more=https://www.derrycityfc.net/2018/12/city-and-coleraine-confirm-swap-deal/ … (https://t.co/XpZUVOVMxx)
https://twitter.com/derrycityfc/status/1079444831087312902
GerByrne001
01/01/2019, 2:00 PM
William Hondermarck moves from Drogheda to Norwich.
**FrOsTy**
03/01/2019, 9:30 AM
Waterford In:
Damien Delaney (Cork City)
Olé Olé
03/01/2019, 10:22 AM
William Hondermarck moves from Drogheda to Norwich.
Have his eligibility issues for Ireland been sorted out? Didn't he get called up for the 19s but didn't have a passport?
Ezeikial
03/01/2019, 11:42 AM
Waterford In:
Damien Delaney (Cork City)
Interesting move. I wonder what Cork fans make of him at this point - is he over-the-hill or was the abject performance against Bohs just an aberration for an otherwise classy footballer?
White Horse
03/01/2019, 12:04 PM
Dylan Connolly has joined AFC Wimbledon for an undisclosed fee.
https://www.dundalkfc.com/connolly-departs-oriel/
dundalkfc10
03/01/2019, 12:18 PM
Interesting move. I wonder what Cork fans make of him at this point - is he over-the-hill or was the abject performance against Bohs just an aberration for an otherwise classy footballer?
WHat age are you ffs?
03/01/2019, 12:22 PM
I think he's over the hill. Clearly has the footballing quality, but just so so slow. Doesn't know the league well enough to compensate for it like Benno does.
I'm not disappointed we signed him, was worth the shot, but surprised waterford have.
03/01/2019, 12:38 PM
Speed and nothing else. He'll get found out quickly over there.
Jack B
03/01/2019, 12:53 PM
For a couple of months at Bray a few seasons ago Connolly really did look great, I remember he was frighteningly good at Richmond one night essentially playing as a striker. Between the start of the following season and his move to Dundalk he seems to have just descended into being a pace merchant, and not even a particularly effective one at that. Strange one but all the best to him.
oriel
03/01/2019, 12:57 PM
I would say I find it amazing not surprising that Waterford signed Delaney, also not sure he was worth the shot actually at Cork, he must have been on decent money, and he turned 37 I think shortly after coming over, not to mention at that time they desperately needed a striker, not another defender.
Connolly was never consistent enough for Dundalk, and was an unused sub for the cup final, yet he had some decent games and most fans encouraged him. However and like Mountney, he never nailed down that right side, and it continued to be probably the only weak link Dundalk had, hopefully Kelly will offer a lot more.
Good luck to Connolly though, this is his second stint across remember, he was with Ipswich under McCarthy previously.
Interesting to note, the two ‘big money’ signings of LOI summer 2017 are now in lower leagues in England, Sadlier and Connolly.
Jack B
03/01/2019, 1:07 PM
What's Waterford's squad looking like at the moment? Off the top of my head I get the impression that there's still a lot of work to be done, though I know in some cases they've gone about re-signing players quite quietly so I'm not sure if their numbers are quite as bare as I think they are.
Ezeikial
03/01/2019, 1:16 PM
WHat age are you ffs?
Young enough to be interested in other peoples opinions
You appear to be upset about something
El-Pietro
03/01/2019, 1:29 PM
I think he's over the hill. Clearly has the footballing quality, but just so so slow. Doesn't know the league well enough to compensate for it like Benno does.
I'm not disappointed we signed him, was worth the shot, but surprised waterford have.
I'm not sure there isn't a footballer in there somewhere. He looked really good for his first few games. I remember oohing and aahing over some of his passes in his first game.
I think he may have suffered from a similar issue to Liam Miller when he signed in thinking he could walk the league without trying and didn't have the right attitude when it wasn't going his way. With a full preseason he may well be a decent player for Waterford. I suspect he will get boos at Turners Cross this season.
Dundalk extracting a transfer fee for Dylan Connolly is video game stuff. Unbelievable. Hes a one trick pony who has been found out and somehow that gets him a a move to League One? He may well do OK there to start as his pace causes problems before defenders figure him out. Dundalk must be ****ing themselves laughing at this.
El-Pietro
03/01/2019, 1:31 PM
Interesting to note, the two ‘big money’ signings of LOI summer 2017 are now in lower leagues in England, Sadlier and Connolly. In the same division too, though Doncaster have higher expectations than Wimbledon at the moment. The crazy thing is Sadlier is clearly the better player and yet Dundalk have clawed back some of their original investment. Best of luck to the both of them.
Clearly there's potential in Connolly- he's unbelievably quick but can lack composure. He was frustrating at Dundalk but he caused consternation on a regular basis and must be one of the most fouled players in the league per minute played. I think he had 2 players booked against Larnaca, he was fouled for the free for Dundalk's goal in the 2017 cup final and for some reason he caused absolute panic in Shamrock Rovers, one memorable game in Tallaght he was taken down six or seven times.
I'm not sure he's what you need when you're battling for your life in the trenches of League One though.
El-Pietro
03/01/2019, 2:19 PM
Clearly there's potential in Connolly- he's unbelievably quick but can lack composure. He was frustrating at Dundalk but he caused consternation on a regular basis and must be one of the most fouled players in the league per minute played. I think he had 2 players booked against Larnaca, he was fouled for the free for Dundalk's goal in the 2017 cup final and for some reason he caused absolute panic in Shamrock Rovers, one memorable game in Tallaght he was taken down six or seven times.
I'm not sure he's what you need when you're battling for your life in the trenches of League One though.
I've never been a fan of Connolly and even when he was at Bray I called out how limited a player he was when facing decent defenders. There was a game at Turners Cross where rather than try to beat a man he kept running into space until he found his way over to the other wing before I think running it out of play.
Maybe he did well against Larnaca because they hadn't seen too much of him but I don't think he did much damage against City for Bray or Dundalk and I'd be surprised if he did much against Dundalk while with Bray either. I wouldn't read too much into causing panic against Shamrock Rovers of recent years. Stephen Bradleys teams aren't known for having cool heads under pressure.
sbgawa
03/01/2019, 3:22 PM
undisclosed is usually code for a bag of balls and a jersey :)
Seriously though you'd have to wish him the best i felt sorry for him towards the end as his confidence looked shot.
He might surprise people now in a new envioronment
undisclosed is usually code for a bag of balls and a jersey :)
Seriously though you'd have to wish him the best i felt sorry for him towards the end as his confidence looked shot.
He might surprise people now in a new envioronment
Is that what ye got for Burke.....
Almost every LOI transfer is for an undisclosed fee, with rumours and 'inside info' filling in the blanks.
sbgawa
03/01/2019, 3:38 PM
https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk
checked on here says £315 sterling , but i take your point re a lot of transfers etc.
https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk
checked on here says £315 sterling , but i take your point re a lot of transfers etc.
Thats an estimate. It was officially an undisclosed fee as per the announcements. Standard practice.
Bag of balls is probably a fair trade for Connolly though.
Right up here wihh Tom Coughlan getting 50k for Denis Behan. Incredible business.
Yossarian
03/01/2019, 3:53 PM
I'd be surprised if he did much against Dundalk while with Bray either.
Connolly has one good game against us for Bray, so much so that Horgan got sent off for taking him down after he got away from him one too many times on the wing. I’m convinced Kenny only signed him due to that performance.
I’m delighted he’s gone and shocked that another club is paying a fee for him.
03/01/2019, 4:36 PM
It's make more sense if he was in as a player/coach at this stage. His performances at Cork werent at such a level that a lub like Waterford who want to kick on again this season would sign him. His experience would be of value in a young squad. It was a signing that was worrying for Cork's rivals at the time if it didnt work out as hoped so certainly worth a shot at the time! Not so much now. Bennet is vastly superior considering the experience that Delaney had at the top end of the English game.
03/01/2019, 4:41 PM
Connolly has one good game against us for Bray, so much so that Horgan got sent off for taking him down after he got away from him one too many times on the wing. I’m convinced Kenny only signed him due to that performance.
I’m delighted he’s gone and shocked that another club is paying a fee for him.
Sounds similar to the way Baba Isaka was signed lol - pity we didnt manage to get a fee offloading him. It's possible that he could do ok at Wimbledon/L1 where tactics focus on physical attributes rather than having a footballing brain. They've obviously scouted him and decided he fits somehow even if it is just his pace keeping a fullback staying deep.
**FrOsTy**
03/01/2019, 9:06 PM
What's Waterford's squad looking like at the moment? Off the top of my head I get the impression that there's still a lot of work to be done, though I know in some cases they've gone about re-signing players quite quietly so I'm not sure if their numbers are quite as bare as I think they are.
Currently signed.
Waterford FC - Squad 2019
GK:
Matt Connor
DF:
Rory Feely
Maxim Kouogun
Kevin Lynch
Damien Delaney
MF:
John Martin
Bastien Hery
JJ Lunney
Shane Duggan
Cory Galvin
Zach Elbouzedi
FW:
Ismahil Akinade
Dean Walsh
I’d expect a keeper, 3 more defenders, 2 midfielders and 2 strikers to be signed.
That could include promoting u19’s to pro contracts and loaning them out.
Jack B
03/01/2019, 9:51 PM
Does seem small on numbers considering most teams are starting up pre-season now. Seeing as they've not signed for anyone else I'd expect the likes of Browne and Holohan to sign back but otherwise it does look like you'll be reliant on signings from outside of Ireland to finish off the squad. Worked well last season mind but always a bit of a risky game.
Weatherman
04/01/2019, 1:03 AM
Wally Downes is manager at Wimbledon but was a coach at Reading when Stephen Hunt was there! Hunt is Connollys Agent so there's the link to why he's gone there!
04/01/2019, 5:50 AM
Does seem small on numbers considering most teams are starting up pre-season now. Seeing as they've not signed for anyone else I'd expect the likes of Browne and Holohan to sign back but otherwise it does look like you'll be reliant on signings from outside of Ireland to finish off the squad. Worked well last season mind but always a bit of a risky game.
I think there will be a general increase in signings from outside of ireland this and coming seasons. Scouting networks and contacts abroad are getting a lot more extensive. A good thing imo as long as it doesnt follow how far things have gone in England/Scotland where it is cheaper/quick fix to bring in lads from abroad rather than through a youth system. Rovers probably being the exception being well ahead of other clubs on their youth academy. Loan deals didnt help Waterford last season with the risk of players being recalled in the summer and they were already a bit light in numbers. I'd expect that Dundalk will probably have a couple of signings in that are not in the known category. Rovers will be trawling Europe for a striker with the dearth of available quality strikers on the island, there's a chap called Tagbajumi that's a serious talent that Rovers would be mad not to have a serious look at!! Maybe McMillan being one of the few knowns that could move home. Sheridan could take a punt on LoI if he give up the journeyman. There are quailty players in the Baltic leagues where the average player wage would be higher here among the top half sides. That teams are starting to go FT will help attract players in. Its already been a curious preseason at Dundalk and there is plenty of time before the season kicks off yet!
Ezeikial
04/01/2019, 7:48 AM
Sheridan could take a punt on LoI if he give up the journeyman.
Cillian Sheridan wont be gracing LoI this season (well at least not before the July transfer window) as he is heading for New Zealand
https://www.irishtimes.com/sport/soccer/national-league/cillian-sheridan-moves-down-under-with-wellington-phoenix-1.3746758
**FrOsTy**
04/01/2019, 8:43 AM
Just because they aren’t announced doesn’t mean they aren’t signed. We started back pre season training yesterday and there was more than 13 there.
I’d imagine there will be a few loan players coming from England. That’s been the case the last two seasons... I suppose that makes the budget to sign players a bit bigger.
I’m not convinced Browne and Holohan will be back.. I’ve been told Browne may be finished playing. Hard to know though. Maybe these are things been said to try squeeze better deals.
Ezeikial
04/01/2019, 11:42 AM
No imminent return to Ireland for Padraig Amond as he triggers a contract extension at Newport
https://www.bbc.com/sport/football/46752515
Are there any other Irish strikers abroad who may fancy a return home?
oriel
04/01/2019, 12:30 PM
Will be interesting to see what system Perth plays next season for Dundalk, but it would be a major surprise if he moves away from the set up that SK had. This would mean Hoban being the lone striker, but effectively this is a front 3 of Duffy-Hoban-Dan Kelly.
As good as that looks, this leaves only Georgie Kelly as a back up striker, as Murray will need replacing and I think he will also go for another winger as back up to either Duffy or Dan Kelly.
Forrester would be a major signing, remains to be seen if Aberdeen would cut their loses in a reduced transfer fee (hes under contract for 2 more years min I think) if they wanted to offload him? I still can’t see him coming back, but rumours suggest he wants home.
Ezeikial
04/01/2019, 1:04 PM
Will be interesting to see what system Perth plays next season for Dundalk, but it would be a major surprise if he moves away from the set up that SK had. This would mean Hoban being the lone striker, but effectively this is a front 3 of Duffy-Hoban-Dan Kelly.
As good as that looks, this leaves only Georgie Kelly as a back up striker, as Murray will need replacing and I think he will also go for another winger as back up to either Duffy or Dan Kelly.
Forrester would be a major signing, remains to be seen if Aberdeen would cut their loses in a reduced transfer fee (hes under contract for 2 more years min I think) if they wanted to offload him? I still can’t see him coming back, but rumours suggest he wants home.
I would be amazed if he moved away from the normal tactical line up, although Daniel Kelly is far from sure of his place with Jamie McGrath and John Mountney also in contention for that position
The fitness and form of Karolis Chvedukas and Sam Byrne are unknowns in the overall picture, but a number of signings are to be expected to provide competition and strength in the midfield area in particular.
So far:
Aaron McCarey in for Gabrial Sava
Daniel Kelly in for Dyland Connolly
Ronan Murray and Georgie Poyton are gone elsewhere and Stephen O'Donnell is not currently resigned
Jack B
04/01/2019, 1:28 PM
Some interesting names in the PFAI team this evening. Namely Treacy again and now Garvan popping up.
Check out @PFAIOfficial’s Tweet: https://twitter.com/PFAIOfficial/status/1081172350303907840?s=09
dundalkfc10
04/01/2019, 1:44 PM
I would be amazed if he moved away from the normal tactical line up, although Daniel Kelly is far from sure of his place with Jamie McGrath and John Mountney also in contention for that position
The fitness and form of Karolis Chvedukas and Sam Byrne are unknowns in the overall picture, but a number of signings are to be expected to provide competition and strength in the midfield area in particular.
So far:
Ronan Murray and Georgie Poyton are gone elsewhere and Stephen O'Donnell is not currently resigned
Dundalk back training tomorrow (we will know about Stevie O signing a years deal by then im hearing)
He has been about town last day or 2, so Id imagine we will hear one way or another
So far:
Forgot all about Sam Byrne as a striker option and I`d say most DFC fans have too, esp after his unsucessful loan spell at Glentoran.
Dan Kelly by far not guaranteed a starting spot, but as a front 3 its not a bad option.
Be good if O'Donnell proves his fitness to get offered a deal, i`d say 12 months would be most likely.
04/01/2019, 4:57 PM
Some interesting names in the PFAI team this evening. Namely Treacy again and now Garvan popping up.
Check out @PFAIOfficial’s Tweet: https://twitter.com/PFAIOfficial/status/1081172350303907840?s=09
dylan mcglade wasnt on the list as hes over in uk again more than likely visiting his gf in Gateshead. wouldnt be surprised if he resigns with us!
MattB11
04/01/2019, 5:11 PM
Ian Turner signed for Cobh
05/01/2019, 12:29 PM
Shels have signed Ciaran Kilduff. They should be walking the league this year.
05/01/2019, 12:30 PM
Kilduff joins Shels. Very good signing for them, they have a D1 strong squad. Between them and Bray?
Are Drogheda close?
05/01/2019, 12:38 PM
$hel$ back in business.
Ollie would be a happy man to see this sort of craic.
They have to be throwing out serious money to keep the likes of Kilduff, Conan Byrne and the likes in the First Division.
05/01/2019, 12:43 PM
Kilduff wouldnt have been the worst option for Rovers when they are looking for a frontman. He is not super clinical but is better than whats there. There must be other irons in the fire at Tallaght. Kilduff, with that Shels squad would be a reasonable bet for Div 1 top scorer. Not just Rovers, h'ed be a stronger option than Cummins and had a decent loan spell in Cork before?
dundalkfc10
05/01/2019, 1:19 PM
Kilduff wouldnt have been the worst option for Rovers when they are looking for a frontman. He is not super clinical but is better than whats there. There must be other irons in the fire at Tallaght. Kilduff, with that Shels squad would be a reasonable bet for Div 1 top scorer. Not just Rovers, h'ed be a stronger option than Cummins and had a decent loan spell in Cork before?
You must not have watched many Dundalk games. Kilduff (although a hero for the Alkmarr and Tel Aviv games) was bang average for Dundalk