View Full Version : Transfers 2019 season
sbgawa
01/07/2019, 2:18 PM
No mention of Pats in that, is he a winger? We need one to replace Miele so we can go 4-3-3 again.
I guess Farugia is the winger for Rovers now, i think Fitzgerald is excelent btw if you have signed him he will be a good signing.
When you say replace Mielle ..is he gone?
PartySaint
01/07/2019, 2:39 PM
When you say replace Mielle ..is he gone?
Yeah he's gone. Lets just say personal reasons...
oriel
02/07/2019, 10:25 AM
Cant see a thread on managers, but what is the view from leeside on the new guy coming in as first team manager ? Initially I thought he was under Cotter, but hew will assume control now, as per Indo this am.
Strange choice ?
sbgawa
02/07/2019, 10:31 AM
Licencing requirement becasue of Europe appointed 60 days after Caulfield left.
With all the other Sh1t going on in Cork getting thrown out of Europe would put the tin hat on it
sbgawa
02/07/2019, 10:37 AM
Dean Dillon gone to America on a Scholarship.
Nice kid could'nt break into the first team but got his leaving cert in Ashfield college and is taking an alternate path.
Good luck to him, a college degree in the U.S is something that will stand to him whatever happens.
More and more of the young players in Ireland are going to have to look to mainland Europe and America for options the UK is becoming a world league where only the best can make it at the top (Premier , Championship) and the lower leagues just offer a "living" and a ten year "career"
02/07/2019, 10:46 AM
Dean Dillon gone to America on a Scholarship.
Nice kid could'nt break into the first team but got his leaving cert in Ashfield college and is taking an alternate path.
Good luck to him, a college degree in the U.S is something that will stand to him whatever happens.
More and more of the young players in Ireland are going to have to look to mainland Europe and America for options the UK is becoming a world league where only the best can make it at the top (Premier , Championship) and the lower leagues just offer a "living" and a ten year "career"
It's one of my biggest regrets that I didn't pursue the American Scholarship program immediately after school here. I knew a few lads who were, pretty average to be fair, who have done really well in life having taken that path.
sbgawa
02/07/2019, 11:42 AM
It's one of my biggest regrets that I didn't pursue the American Scholarship program immediately after school here. I knew a few lads who were, pretty average to be fair, who have done really well in life having taken that path.
yes, golfers and athletes have been doing the American thing for years but we were always focused on England in football.
02/07/2019, 11:47 AM
It's a great opportunity. I heard of one guy, who is running a massive coaching school in Chicago, and the fees for it are incredible. All due to the college scholarship he got way back when, and ended up coaching high school football in the city. Think it may have been purchased by Bayern
patrickccfc
02/07/2019, 3:15 PM
Licencing requirement becasue of Europe appointed 60 days after Caulfield left.
With all the other Sh1t going on in Cork getting thrown out of Europe would put the tin hat on it
Cotter would've been allowed manage in Europe but not domestically.
total hoofball
02/07/2019, 7:29 PM
Dean O'Halloran returning to Waterford from Bray (end of loan)
Dylan Thornton from Bohs to Bray (loan)
Dean Williams from Shamrock Rovers to Bray (loan)
sbgawa
02/07/2019, 11:19 PM
Delighted to see dean go to bray, might get down to see him a bit, good finish to the season for bray and he could be up front for rovers next year
04/07/2019, 1:55 PM
Mark McCrystal has signed for Derry from Crusaders.
Doing some sort of coaching role along with it. I'd imagine he'll be backup just.
04/07/2019, 5:32 PM
Mark McCrystal has signed for Derry from Crusaders.
Doing some sort of coaching role along with it. I'd imagine he'll be backup just.
thought he had long retired. what age is he now? its a hell of a long time since he was with ye?
04/07/2019, 5:32 PM
Cork have signed Mark O'Sullivan again.
That's funny enough really..
04/07/2019, 5:39 PM
sign of desparation for them.
we have signed dylan grimes from sheriff yc. he played for shels for a short spell before hand.
04/07/2019, 5:51 PM
kevin knight has returned to cabinteely after his brief spell with us.
It was some day with Cork indeed, Comerford leaving while 6 months into a 2 year deal, then the arrival of a 36 yo striker to replace Cummins.
And yet they saw fit to issue a statement on the RTE podcast, maybe I missed something but it sounded a fair take on their current situation, not like the journalist was slagging them off.
El-Pietro
04/07/2019, 8:55 PM
It was some day with Cork indeed, Comerford leaving while 6 months into a 2 year deal, then the arrival of a 36 yo striker to replace Cummins.
And yet they saw fit to issue a statement on the RTE podcast, maybe I missed something but it sounded a fair take on their current situation, not like the journalist was slagging them off.
That podcast was edited heavily only a few hours after it was released, it included some very unfair comments on current board members and some massive factual inaccuracies about the financial situation at the club. Calling Spillane a journalist is very generous. A journalist would at least do some fact checking. Basically he was saying the old board were great, this new board are all college kids and they cut the budget massively and don't know what they are doing. He also threw out a comment saying the chairman was lying on local radio about how large the budget cut was. The budget was set by the previous "experienced" board, of which only one member remains and while it was reduced it was not reduced to the extent Spillane suggested, it also included a very optimistic crowd estimate for the season which was never going to be met unless we were running away with the league, FORAS members called this out at the AGM before the new board was elected. With results as they are, and crowds down so much, the board are cutting back where they can.
Marky is probably not the player he once was but hell be up for a scrap at the bottom of the table, something a lot of our players haven't shown much this year.
sbgawa
04/07/2019, 9:16 PM
The standards of journalism in this country is beyond bad, the problem is most of them are part-time eejits one step up from a loo la on boards.ie
Totally agree. The standard bearer being Joe.ie. Some of the stuff passing as journalism is a step below tabloid.
The likes of Cawley being touted as some sort of savant is really disappointing from the National broadcaster too. I didn't hear the original podcast so can't comment on the specifics of that..
sullanefc
04/07/2019, 11:24 PM
Statement from CCFC BOM and apology from Spillane:
https://www.corkcityfc.ie/home/2019/07/04/statement-from-board-of-management/
Ezeikial
05/07/2019, 6:22 AM
Statement from CCFC BOM and apology from Spillane:
https://www.corkcityfc.ie/home/2019/07/04/statement-from-board-of-management/
Has he been released yet?
oriel
05/07/2019, 10:02 AM
That podcast was edited heavily only a few hours after it was released, it included some very unfair comments on current board members and some massive factual inaccuracies about the financial situation at the club. Calling Spillane a journalist is very generous. A journalist would at least do some fact checking. Basically he was saying the old board were great, this new board are all college kids and they cut the budget massively and don't know what they are doing. He also threw out a comment saying the chairman was lying on local radio about how large the budget cut was. The budget was set by the previous "experienced" board, of which only one member remains and while it was reduced it was not reduced to the extent Spillane suggested, it also included a very optimistic crowd estimate for the season which was never going to be met unless we were running away with the league, FORAS members called this out at the AGM before the new board was elected. With results as they are, and crowds down so much, the board are cutting back where they can.
Marky is probably not the player he once was but hell be up for a scrap at the bottom of the table, something a lot of our players haven't shown much this year.
Oh right, prob explains a lot, the version I heard wasn't too wild but he did comment on the board thing ok, maybe in hindsight he should have just said 'things are challenging'
O'Sullivan was a player who caused DFC plenty of problems in the past, I was always pleased to see him on the bench, hopefully he can get you a few goals still.
patrickccfc
05/07/2019, 10:09 AM
hopefully he can get you a few goals still.
You know the rivalry is officially over when dundalk fans hope a cork player can score a few goals.
Pablo Escobar
05/07/2019, 10:11 AM
Oh right, prob explains a lot, the version I heard wasn't too wild but he did comment on the board thing ok, maybe in hindsight he should have just said 'things are challenging'
O'Sullivan was a player who caused DFC plenty of problems in the past, I was always pleased to see him on the bench, hopefully he can get you a few goals still.
I shouldn't be positive about such a signing, but Marky has proved time and time again with us that if you don't have a game plan, he's your man! If he's 75% of the player he was with us, it'll be a 100% improvement.
marinobohs
05/07/2019, 11:33 AM
I shouldn't be positive about such a signing, but Marky has proved time and time again with us that if you don't have a game plan, he's your man! If he's 75% of the player he was with us, it'll be a 100% improvement.
The problem was that with 'Marky' the only game plan was humping the ball up I the air
Pablo Escobar
05/07/2019, 11:36 AM
The problem was that with 'Marky' the only game plan was humping the ball up I the air
It was only a problem for the defenders around him.
Ezeikial
05/07/2019, 12:25 PM
You know the rivalry is officially over when dundalk fans hope a cork player can score a few goals.
Its hard to know whether to laugh or cry, especially when the signing of a 36 year old intermediate player is greeted with such hope and optimism by the Cork faithful.
I hope Cork recover to challenge again, but fear it could be some time before it happens.
05/07/2019, 12:49 PM
Jack Doherty is coming back to Longford from Wexford for a second spell apparently. I’d have said we needed a more out and out striker but he’s a good player when fit and motivated which he appears to have been so far this season.
patrickccfc
05/07/2019, 1:09 PM
Its hard to know whether to laugh or cry, especially when the signing of a 36 year old intermediate player is greeted with such hope and optimism by the Cork faithful.
I hope Cork recover to challenge again, but fear it could be some time before it happens.
I love the guy and you'll always get maximum commitment and effort from him, but as you say he's 36 and coming back from intermediate level. Shows how bad things are this year.
It could take years to get back to where we've been the last few season's. Getting through a round in Europe and potential money from the rangers tie could help towards that.
marinobohs
05/07/2019, 1:23 PM
It was only a problem for the defenders around him.
and anyone unfortunate enough to be watching !
Ha, good one Patrick, the top of the table rivalry defo gone, that's obvious, but def want you boys to stay up which you will comfortably. I always liked O'Sullivan in any case, as I said before, was always happy to see him on the bench against us. 36 is a fair old age mind..
05/07/2019, 5:26 PM
Jack Doherty is coming back to Longford from Wexford for a second spell apparently. I’d have said we needed a more out and out striker but he’s a good player when fit and motivated which he appears to have been so far this season.
yeah thats confirmed on the longford town website since five o clock. in fairness to him it was tony cousins that managed him in 2015, surely to god he will play better under fenn. I was very impressed with Doherty when he played here a month ago! he looked lively and showed some great touches..
05/07/2019, 5:47 PM
I think he just was disillusioned with football at that stage from listening to his interview on Between The Stripes recently he said himself he probably wasn’t fit enough. He’s enjoying it again by the sounds of things so hopefully he’ll make a contribution. Maybe he wants to do himself justice now too.
I haven’t been to too many matches this season for various reasons but from what I have seen and heard we’ve had little trouble creating chances but a lot of trouble taking them. Doherty always struck me as more of a creative type as opposed to a finisher.
Damien Delaney gone from Waterford. He was club captain and played every league game so a bit of a surprise to go now but he has decided to retire.
William Fitzgerald from Limerick and Tom Holland from The New Saints signed for us yesterday.
We badly need a striker too.
patrickccfc
06/07/2019, 10:22 AM
On the week the new spiderman movie is out, Waterford sign Tom Holland, brilliant.
El-Pietro
06/07/2019, 1:56 PM
On the week the new spiderman movie is out, Waterford sign Tom Holland, brilliant.
Respect the hyphen. Its Spider-Man!
patrickccfc
06/07/2019, 2:47 PM
Respect the hyphen. Its Spider-Man!
Yeah I'm a big Marvel fan, that was just laziness on my part
IsMiseSean
06/07/2019, 2:53 PM
Galway United's Shane Doherty is going home to America for family reasons. Conor Layng is also leaving for the US soon too.
07/07/2019, 1:36 PM
Galway United's Shane Doherty is going home to America for family reasons. Conor Layng is also leaving for the US soon too.
Gutted for Shane. A lovely fella and a decent footballer.
joey B
09/07/2019, 1:57 PM
Michael O'Connor to Waterford with Bastien Hery going the opposite direction.
NeverFeltBetter
09/07/2019, 2:11 PM
Hery an excellent player. Hope he gets on OK up north.
09/07/2019, 9:43 PM
Michael O'Connor to Waterford with Bastien Hery going the opposite direction.
Is that confirmed or rumour? With Benson out of contract after only signing a one year extension it wouldnt have been a surprise for Dundalk to consider Hery coming to Oriel. We are still struggling a bit with getting midfield especially the new signings a full bill of health. Hery could be a good option. That said he would really tear up the Irish League! O'Connor cant seem to get a club to stick - couple of seasons at most and he is moved on. He looked to be settling at Linfield but now could be a makeweight in Hery moving North.
Asterix
09/07/2019, 9:49 PM
Is that confirmed or rumour? With Benson out of contract after only signing a one year extension it wouldnt have been a surprise for Dundalk to consider Hery coming to Oriel. We are still struggling a bit with getting midfield especially the new signings a full bill of health. Hery could be a good option. That said he would really tear up the Irish League! O'Connor cant seem to get a club to stick - couple of seasons at most and he is moved on. He looked to be settling at Linfield but now could be a makeweight in Hery moving North.
Its confirmed Hery to linfield for a fee and O'Connor on loan.
marinobohs
09/07/2019, 11:54 PM
Waterford cutting back ? Possibly related to (non) Europe ?
10/07/2019, 3:07 AM
Well he will have a 5th club badge in 6 years to slobber on so!
sullanefc
10/07/2019, 5:33 PM
it wouldnt have been a surprise for Dundalk to consider Hery coming to Oriel.
Ye would have to change your home kit to blue apparently...
https://twitter.com/basmetys/status/1148890297528659969?s=19
10/07/2019, 7:19 PM
Waterford cutting back ? Possibly related to (non) Europe ?
cos of waterford not allowed in europa league qualifers they are majorly cutting back. suppose a lot of expenses incurred in qualifying for europe ie ground?
11/07/2019, 2:26 AM
cos of waterford not allowed in europa league qualifers they are majorly cutting back. suppose a lot of expenses incurred in qualifying for europe ie ground?
Doesnt a UEFA inspection happen first when qualification is confirmed on what needs to be done to a ground? The requirements for QR1 of EL isnt huge money and a club is unlikely to fork out for work until an assessment is done. If Oriel can pass without breaking the club in the past and the RSC is a better ground its more than the cost of getting the ground up to ELQR1 spec! I can imagine Power being the stubborn type that would pull financial support out of annoyance causing the need for cutting back on things. Worrying either way. With a bit of persistance and another season's support Waterford could have been well in the hunt for Europe again even with an improved Derry. Cork out of the way, Pats not meeting early season expectations.
Hope that Dundalk do another Double which s possible and Waterford finish 4th if games in hand won, chase down an underperforming St Pats; never mind a possible cup run. Next season the 3 year rule is met isnt it? Lee Power spitting the dummy as his inside Waterford man with the FAI and UEFA couldnt deliver on promises...?
You're right. Waterford didn't need to spend money on RSC as it's already fine for UEFA matches. Lee Power cut the budget before season started anyway and the loss of UEFA licence in April is the main reason for cutbacks now as per Alan Reynolds .Hery would have left at end of season for nothing so can understand why club sold him now. I can't see us finishing 4th this year. Games in hand are against Shamrock Rovers, Derry and Cork so unlikely to pick up many points there. Too much disruption this season with players coming and going, matches postponed due to international call ups, the UEFA licence debacle and injuries means Europe is not going to happen this year. Rumour has it that Lee Power plans to invest in off season to try make our mark in 2020.