View Full Version : Transfers 2019 season

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26

bluewhitearmy
17/12/2018, 10:15 AM
Still alot of transfer business for all FD clubs to resolve itself, I'm not convinced Shels should be favourites with a completely inexperienced manager. Conan Byrne and Ryan Brennan are very good signings but outside of them nothing that should have other FD teams worrying about them. Bray and Limerick are already assembling players stronger than I would have thought, Drogheda and Longford are looking ok and both should be challenging. If Shels can add a striker to hit 20 goals then maybe they will be considered favourites

Who have we signed stronger than you thought? Please don't say Sean Russell cos if you thought we were signing wesker than that then we would just be playing a selection of overweight fans like myself.

17/12/2018, 11:23 AM
We managed to hold on to Will Fitz and Karl O'Sullivan which was good news, but apart from that we haven't done anything impressive at all. Robbie Williams is coming back, and that's not a bad signing, but the fact that it's not a bad signing tells you where we are.

joey B
17/12/2018, 12:28 PM
We managed to hold on to Will Fitz and Karl O'Sullivan which was good news, but apart from that we haven't done anything impressive at all. Robbie Williams is coming back, and that's not a bad signing, but the fact that it's not a bad signing tells you where we are.

Seen Williams playing for Galway last season, disinterested is being kind to him!

oriel
17/12/2018, 12:43 PM
It will be interesting to see the prices once the betting firms publish their 2019 odds. It won't determine who'll win it, but they wont be far out in most positions. I think Cork started as slight favs last year, or defintely were at some point in round 1.

I'd say Rovers will be priced close to Dundalk next year but a little higher, with Cork a little bit back in the betting. Hard to know who's best placed for 4th at the minute, will depend on how all clubs complete their business.

sbgawa
17/12/2018, 2:45 PM
Who has gone out and who has come in for Cork?

CraftyToePoke
17/12/2018, 2:51 PM
Seen Williams playing for Galway last season, disinterested is being kind to him!

Put out a nice finger buffet and watch him perk up. He'll win any 50 / 50 to get at it.

17/12/2018, 9:17 PM
Who has gone out and who has come in for Cork?

Sadlier, McNamee, O Hanlon and Delaney gone.

Not muhh exciting in yet. Dan Casey, Daire O Connor, Gary Comeford, John Kavanagh

sidewayspasser
17/12/2018, 9:27 PM
Sadlier, McNamee, O Hanlon and Delaney gone.

Not muhh exciting in yet. Dan Casey, Daire O Connor, Gary Comeford, John Kavanagh
Also gone: Beattie, Dunleavy, Cherrie
Also in: Tadhg Ryan

oriel
18/12/2018, 10:08 AM
Although 7 in total from those posts gone from Cork, probably only 3 were first team regulars / contenders, Sadlier, Beattie & McNamee, O'Hanlon possibly making it 4.

It’s still 3 of decent quality who are leaving, McNamee probably wasn’t used as much as he should have been, but maybe he just didn’t settle.

El-Pietro
18/12/2018, 10:15 AM
McNamee probably wasn’t used as much as he should have been, but maybe he just didn’t settle.
He started 30 of our 36 league games and played in 33 total. He also playedin all our European games,

Real ale Madrid
18/12/2018, 10:29 AM
He started 30 of our 36 league games and played in 33 total. He also playedin all our European games,

Didn't settle so.

oriel
18/12/2018, 12:23 PM
I honestly didnt realise McNamee started that many games.

Let me ask a genuine question then, would you boys have liked him to stay?

Pablo Escobar
18/12/2018, 1:10 PM
I honestly didnt realise McNamee started that many games.

Let me ask a genuine question then, would you boys have liked him to stay?

I think most would. The main problem was that he didn't play in his best position as that would mean playing him or Buckley. Buckley's return has been very good so that would be a harsh call.

oriel
18/12/2018, 2:41 PM
Fair enough, ps my comment on 'maybe just didnt settle' was more on the location. Personally I thought he would have been one of your better players when he signed, then again I thought that about Barry too. He looked more than decent when he was at Derry.

18/12/2018, 3:22 PM
McNamee did well enough but wasted right wing. Barry was shocking, very disappointing.

Jack B
18/12/2018, 6:10 PM
There's just something terribly uninspiring about Cork at the moment. Their squad is obviously very good in the grand scheme of things, but in Sadlier and McNamee they've lost two of possibly their only real flair players who could offer something a bit different from functionality when necessary. And there's not a huge amount of room for replacements when taking a glance at their squad and the amount of players already signed up. As it stands I'd still probably trust them more than Rovers to mount some semblance of a challenge to Dundalk (aka finishing second), but I wouldn't be instilled with confidence if I was a supporter.

joey B
18/12/2018, 7:51 PM
Place,Logue and Burke sign back on at Harps.

18/12/2018, 8:35 PM
Comings and goings so far at Finn Park by my account of things:

In:

Daniel O'Reilly (Longford Town)
Sam Verdon (Longford Town)
Colm Deasy (Drogheda)
Caolan McAleer (Sligo Rovers)
Raf Cretaro (Sligo Rovers)

Also Sam Todd and Niall Logue who have signed permanent deals following loans last season from Derry.

Out:

Paddy McCourt (retired)
Aidan Friel (Shelbourne)
Ciaran Coll (Derry)
Tommy McBride (released)
John O'Flynn (released)
Mark Hannon (released)
John Kavanagh (end of loan, Cork)

Couple of players yet to sign or not from last seasons squad, but good to see us getting business done early. Ollie Horgan said at a public meeting tonight that he's in talks currently with a couple of players outside the country too.

Ezeikial
18/12/2018, 8:58 PM
There's just something terribly uninspiring about Cork at the moment. Their squad is obviously very good in the grand scheme of things, but in Sadlier and McNamee they've lost two of possibly their only real flair players who could offer something a bit different from functionality when necessary. And there's not a huge amount of room for replacements when taking a glance at their squad and the amount of players already signed up. As it stands I'd still probably trust them more than Rovers to mount some semblance of a challenge to Dundalk (aka finishing second), but I wouldn't be instilled with confidence if I was a supporter.

Based on the players in and out so far, combined with the form shown over the latter part of last season, my hunch is that Rovers are probably more likely to present the bigger challenge.

It's still relatively early and the transfer movements next month could change the picture significantly.

18/12/2018, 11:30 PM
he's in talks currently with a couple of players outside the country too.
Always room for a couple more lads from Derry.

19/12/2018, 11:39 AM
Always room for a couple more lads from Derry.

There is actually, only two Derry lads in the squad so far. Seems a bit imbalanced to the amount of Donegal players Derry have.

disgruntled
19/12/2018, 3:02 PM
Based on the players in and out so far, combined with the form shown over the latter part of last season, my hunch is that Rovers are probably more likely to present the bigger challenge.

It's still relatively early and the transfer movements next month could change the picture significantly.

People have been saying that for years but for some reason it never seems to happen ?

sbgawa
19/12/2018, 3:53 PM
People have been saying that for years but for some reason it never seems to happen ?

Who are you telling :)
Its the hope that kills you

Jack B
19/12/2018, 4:58 PM
PFAI team playing Home Farm tonight has some interesting names in it...

Jamie Quinn; James Woods; Noe Baba; Lloyd Buckley; Joe Gorman; John Sullivan; Keith Treacy; Ger Pender; Rhys Gorman; Kealan Dillon; Darren Meenan; Lee Duffy; Rob Manley; Dylan McGlade; Ciaran Reilly; Gareth McCaffrey; Dylan Reilly

Conor Kenna is the coach.

19/12/2018, 8:07 PM

Jamie Quinn; James Woods; Noe Baba; Lloyd Buckley; Joe Gorman; John Sullivan; Keith Treacy; Ger Pender; Rhys Gorman; Kealan Dillon; Darren Meenan; Lee Duffy; Rob Manley; Dylan McGlade; Ciaran Reilly; Gareth McCaffrey; Dylan Reilly

has conor kenna retired from playing?

ToberonaTornado
20/12/2018, 9:40 PM
Carlton Ubaezuonu leaves Dundalk and is signed by Longford!
Spent last season on loan at Galway Utd.

Olé Olé
20/12/2018, 9:49 PM

Very interesting to see Keith Treacy in there. He was on with Keith Andrews on Newstalk recently and said he wasn't sure if he would go back to a very competitive level of football as he was happy enjoying the level he was at and that maybe he never did enjoy very competitive football. He's off the beer a while now so must be feeling fresh and willing to give it a crack.

21/12/2018, 1:44 PM
We also sign from cabinteely kevin knight. apparently two more signings to be made today also but have to wait till our webmaster does their job first!

**FrOsTy**
21/12/2018, 2:58 PM
Waterford IN:

Matthew Connor (re signed)
Kevin Lynch (Bray Wanderers)

Ezeikial
21/12/2018, 3:32 PM
Aaron McCarey signing announced as a 2 year deal

https://www.dundalkfc.com/mccarey-joins-the-lilywhites/

**FrOsTy**
21/12/2018, 3:56 PM
Waterford IN:

Matthew Connor (re signed)
Kevin Lynch (Bray Wanderers)

Add Maxim Kouogun (Warrenpoint) to that list.

Delighted with that bit of business

21/12/2018, 8:17 PM
Town have signed Karl Fitzsimons from Dundalk and Joe Manley from Pats. We’re signing a lot of young players but they do seem to have been highly rated underage players at least.

22/12/2018, 9:24 AM
Aaron McCarey signing announced as a 2 year deal

https://www.dundalkfc.com/mccarey-joins-the-lilywhites/

���� what a shock.

White Horse
22/12/2018, 12:32 PM
Daniel Kelly moves to Dundalk.

https://www.dundalkfc.com/kelly-signs-for-lilywhites/

Ezeikial
22/12/2018, 12:41 PM
Daniel Kelly moves to Dundalk.

https://www.dundalkfc.com/kelly-signs-for-lilywhites/

Don't forget Lido

https://www.dundalkfc.com/lotefa-signs-pro-deal/

Eminence Grise
22/12/2018, 3:09 PM
I may be wrong, but judging from that photo Lotefa really - and I mean, really - seems excited at playing for Dundalk...

Ezeikial
22/12/2018, 4:42 PM
I may be wrong, but judging from that photo Lotefa really - and I mean, really - seems excited at playing for Dundalk...

Putting on full kit and doing the press photos on the pitch is a little unusual all right. Beats the usual club scarf over the head routine for signing publicity events

da bishop
22/12/2018, 7:47 PM
L.J.Lynch on the move....again,this time to Larne.

23/12/2018, 12:39 PM
Up to now have resisted making this reference, but in the end that proved futile.

http://www.finnharps.com/fhfc/?p=6791

Jacob back at Harps.

23/12/2018, 4:09 PM
He’ll already have assimilated Ollie’s ideas, so that’s good.

Mr_Parker
24/12/2018, 10:04 AM
A Joe Gormley transfer to Tallaght looks to be gettinga tad more expensive. Not for the first time this week Cliftonville have done the usual not for at any price statements* which really shouting 'higher' then we will talk, then saying to disgruntled supporters that the offer was too high to refuse, the club's financially security is the top priority and that they wont stand in the players way if he wants to move! etc etc. Makes the availability of Drennan being overlooked a missed opportunity as surely Rovers would have opened the purse strings to beat Pats to his signature. Would a move for McMillan have Rovers fans happy?

*https://www.bbc.com/sport/av/football/46581446

Merry Christmas

http://cliftonvillefc.net/2018/12/24/joeyful-and-triumphant/

Ezeikial
24/12/2018, 11:47 AM
Obviously Gormley has little ambition if he turned down such an attractive move down south. The €75,000 allegedly bid for him could be used to fund an alternative big name striker from the UK - Padraig Amond is out of contract this summer although Newport have an option of another year. Dave Mooney is a little older and maybe a less expensive option

oriel
24/12/2018, 12:30 PM
I would agree on lack of ambition, and I also read before a lot of the top NI players just get too comfortable with their set up.

Sat 3pm kick offs, most if not all clubs part time, meaning they can work if they wish, winter season, summer holidays and very limited travel involved. Almost has the attitude of they do not like change / challenge. I`m not sure what wages are like, but if they follow most other industries in NI the remuneration would be quite modest for most players I’d say.

24/12/2018, 9:42 PM
I would agree on lack of ambition, and I also read before a lot of the top NI players just get too comfortable with their set up.

Sat 3pm kick offs, most if not all clubs part time, meaning they can work if they wish, winter season, summer holidays and very limited travel involved. Almost has the attitude of they do not like change / challenge. I`m not sure what wages are like, but if they follow most other industries in NI the remuneration would be quite modest for most players I’d say.

Fair play to the chap, he got an improved contract and knows his limitations. He may have been better paid at Rovers but he has admitted to struggling with full time football, but being happy where he is at and turnning down the better offers is a bit refreshing. Was there anymore on the Crues bid?

While the transfer fee mentioned may still be used and even contribute to wages on whom do you spend it on. Would McMillan if he wants to stop his slow decline in a scottish reserve side fit the bill. Amond will probably be taken up on the extra year. There are a few single season options but none stand out. Rovers need to work waaay outside the box on a good hatstand!!

Mr_Parker
24/12/2018, 9:53 PM
Obviously Gormley has little ambition if he turned down such an attractive move down south. The €75,000 allegedly bid for him could be used to fund an alternative big name striker from the UK -

Does his message board have a funniest or stupidest post of the year award?

Mr_Parker
24/12/2018, 9:57 PM
Fair play to the chap, he got an improved contract and knows his limitations. He may have been better paid at Rovers but he has admitted to struggling with full time football, but being happy where he is at and turnning down the better offers is a bit refreshing. Was there anymore on the Crues bid?

While the transfer fee mentioned may still be used and even contribute to wages on whom do you spend it on. Would McMillan if he wants to stop his slow decline in a scottish reserve side fit the bill. Amond will probably be taken up on the extra year. There are a few single season options but none stand out. Rovers need to work waaay outside the box on a good hatstand!!

As the Cliftonville Chairman said a couple of weeks ago....

"GerardLawlorCFC: I often wonder where some journalists get their stories from or do they just dream them up. Some of the transfer related stories I'm reading are totally fictional."

Ezeikial
25/12/2018, 5:30 AM
Does his message board have a funniest or stupidest post of the year award?

I wouldn't expect you to get it, but anyone who turns down a move to D24 has stunted ambition. In Gormley's case, if he has tried and failed to make it at a higher level, perhaps he should be lauded for recognisiing his limitations

Mr_Parker
25/12/2018, 11:21 AM
I wouldn't expect you to get it, but anyone who turns down a move to D24 has stunted ambition. In Gormley's case, if he has tried and failed to make it at a higher level, perhaps he should be lauded for recognisiing his limitations

If people think LOI football is something IL players and indeed clubs should aspire to, then be sadly mistaken.

However, the most laughable part of the post I quoted was the suggestion to take the money, even though no such figure was ever bid, and spend it on some 'big name' from the UK.

25/12/2018, 12:26 PM
If people think LOI football is something IL players and indeed clubs should aspire to, then be sadly mistaken.

However, the most laughable part of the post I quoted was the suggestion to take the money, even though no such figure was ever bid, and spend it on some 'big name' from the UK.

You are probaby right, why play in a league where holidays during competative fixtures might be frowned upon, where full time training is an option, salaries are generally higher, crowds also generally higher, less travel and less committment might suit some prefectly.

Whether money was bid or not, why did Cliftonville opt to offer a new contract when there was plenty left on his existing deal if they were not concerned at the risk of losing him?

Tbf the comment on some 'big name' striker from Ez was dripping in sarcasm if you knew of his general contempt for Shamrock Rovers so you may laugh away.

25/12/2018, 1:25 PM

Maybe not 'aspire to', but certainly a step up on the ladder. Full time professional footballer is something every young kid who kicks a ball wants to be.