View Full Version : Transfers 2019 season

Pages : 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26

20/11/2018, 1:24 PM
and I thought they were just vandalised :p

20/11/2018, 1:28 PM
No way. That’s a 7 goal a season hat stand at best (even if it has been capped) 

Better than any of our international strikers so! Deserves more than one cap! Umbrella jokes up next.....

sbgawa
20/11/2018, 1:43 PM
First game of the season away to Dundalk .....bring your umbrellas the away stand has no roof :)
Not sure if its been mentioned on here before.

20/11/2018, 3:58 PM
First game of the season away to Dundalk .....bring your umbrellas the away stand has no roof :)
Not sure if its been mentioned on here before.

Jaysus you are being shocking complimentary to us these days sbgawa!! ;)

dundalkfc10
20/11/2018, 4:16 PM
I’d imagine he would refuse a call up to NI squad! Many nationalists do

20/11/2018, 9:34 PM
Not quite a Michael O'Connor then.

marinobohs
22/11/2018, 11:01 AM
They look more like Bohs type hatstands kinda arty and grungy

Cup final hat stands so 😁

ArFella
26/11/2018, 12:58 PM
Ronan Murray to Sligo on a 2 year deal

https://twitter.com/sligorovers/status/1067046917048279040

joey B
26/11/2018, 5:26 PM
Nathan Boyle signs back at Harps for the new season.

joey B
26/11/2018, 5:33 PM
Between the stripes are saying we're signing Daniel O'Reilly and Sam Verdon from Longford aswell.

Philosophizer
29/11/2018, 9:17 PM
Pat's have signed George Poynton for next year. Good signing IMO. Was very impressive during his loan to Bohs

marinobohs
30/11/2018, 9:24 AM
Pat's have signed George Poynton for next year. Good signing IMO. Was very impressive during his loan to Bohs

Georgie was very impressive in the first half of his loan season with us. Combination of drop in form and rumoured falling out with manager led to him being benched for many end of season games. Terrific potential but doesn't always deliver on a consistent basis. Good signing for Pats.

Jack B
30/11/2018, 9:25 AM
Never rated Verdon much myself, noticed he did well for Longford last season but I'd be surprised if he's kicked on enough to be PD level all the same.

Happy enough with the Poynton signing, think he'll fit in well. We seem to have the bulk of the first team squad tied down with about 15 or so signed up, it's quite solid but there's a real lack of goals there. Hopefully our final few signings are at least players you can rely on to chip in with a few over the course of a season at least, considering high-scoring hat stands are hard to come by in this league.

Shearer
30/11/2018, 10:20 AM
We seem to have the bulk of the first team squad tied down with about 15 or so signed up, it's quite solid but there's a real lack of goals there. Hopefully our final few signings are at least players you can rely on to chip in with a few over the course of a season at least, considering high-scoring hat stands are hard to come by in this league.
Surely between Achille Campion, Gary Shaw and Poynton ye've enough firepower up front? Campion scored a few in the short amount of games left of the season.

Philosophizer
30/11/2018, 10:36 AM
Surely between Achille Campion, Gary Shaw and Poynton ye've enough firepower up front? Campion scored a few in the short amount of games left of the season.

Poynton is a box to box midfielder. He'll chip in with an odd goal but he's not a front player.

Jack B
30/11/2018, 11:47 AM

Campion hasn't been kept on. At least not yet, anyway. As of right now Shaw, Dean Clarke and James Doona are the only forwards we have and there's not a huge amount of goals in that really.

Poynton doesn't strike me as a player in that mould, didn't he only get a few for Bohs and they were mostly penalties? Could be wrong. I just mean in the sense that we've lost the likes of Conan Byrne and Ryan Brennan (by the looks of things), who are two players you can usually rely on to chip in with at least close to double figures each season. We've not really replaced that yet and struggled enough for goals last season as it was.

Still early days mind, just noting that it's the one area of the squad that needs addressing as it stands.

30/11/2018, 12:26 PM
Never rated Verdon much myself, noticed he did well for Longford last season but I'd be surprised if he's kicked on enough to be PD level all the same.

Funny, I'd have said Verdon never really stood out at Longford either, but if he is signing all we can do is see how he handles the step up. Often you'd see a player dropping to First Division to find their feet. Hopefully this is the case again. Surprised to see him move to Harps though, being based in Dublin.

30/11/2018, 12:55 PM

Happy enough with the Poynton signing, think he'll fit in well. We seem to have the bulk of the first team squad tied down with about 15 or so signed up, it's quite solid but there's a real lack of goals there. Hopefully our final few signings are at least players you can rely on to chip in with a few over the course of a season at least, considering high-scoring hat stands are hard to come by in this league.

Verdon really added goals to his game under Fenn. Was a very effective striker in fact. Lack of pace would be my only concern

**FrOsTy**
30/11/2018, 1:22 PM
Waterford announce signing of Shane Duggan.

Can’t tell if that’s a good signing or not. Solid, yet unexciting.

30/11/2018, 2:34 PM
Waterford announce signing of Shane Duggan.

Can’t tell if that’s a good signing or not. Solid, yet unexciting.

Good players, lovely guy, but not a potential title challenging starter anyway.

30/11/2018, 3:01 PM
Good in good Limerick teams.

Pretty poor in bad Limerick teams.

Absolutely blaggarded during his time here I wish him all the best.

He's no Bastien Hery but then there's very few players as good as Bastien Hery in the league.

Sign Paul O'Conor now and you'll have the all conquering mid table Limerick midfield of a couple of years ago.

30/11/2018, 4:03 PM
Funny, I'd have said Verdon never really stood out at Longford either, but if he is signing all we can do is see how he handles the step up. Often you'd see a player dropping to First Division to find their feet. Hopefully this is the case again. Surprised to see him move to Harps though, being based in Dublin.

As outspoken says he did well for us as a front player. Wouldn’t be sure he’ll make the step up but good luck to him anyway.

**FrOsTy**
30/11/2018, 4:25 PM
And Cory Galvin re signs for Waterford. Smart player. Done well for us towards the back end of last season.

That brings our total to 6 players.

GK-
DF-
MF- Hery, Lunney, Elbouzedi, Duggan, Galvin
ST - Akinade

bluewhitearmy
30/11/2018, 6:53 PM
Duggan is a much better player than Coleman that went to Pats from what both showed in their time here.

30/11/2018, 7:07 PM
Duggan is a much better player than Coleman that went to Pats from what both showed in their time here.

Thats interesting. Coleman stood out in the games against us but obviously what you see as an away fan is limited.

bluemovie
30/11/2018, 7:22 PM
Good players, lovely guy, but not a potential title challenging starter anyway.

We won't be challenging for the title. Dundalk are way ahead of everyone.

bluewhitearmy
30/11/2018, 11:01 PM
Thats interesting. Coleman stood out in the games against us but obviously what you see as an away fan is limited.

Started season well then did a whole lot of nothing. Just my opinion mind others may feel differently.

2 Year Contract
30/11/2018, 11:07 PM
Verdon really added goals to his game under Fenn. Was a very effective striker in fact. Lack of pace would be my only concern

Verdon was originally a striker and actually played in every position on the pitch including in goals for our 19's. Played at centre midfield during his time with the first team and did show signs of potential but seemed to find his level for Pats in the likes of the League Cup/Leinster Senior Cup games. Slow in both pace and releasing the ball but he has a cracking shot from range and scored a couple of crackers from outside the box for us. Could be a very good First division player but I'd be surprised if he'd be ready to step back up to the PD already

01/12/2018, 7:40 AM
We won't be challenging for the title. Dundalk are way ahead of everyone.

Even challenging top of the table direction, I don't think he's that level. But he's a solid mid table player.

01/12/2018, 3:26 PM
Town have signed Lee Steacy from Shels and Anto Breslin from Wolves. I was just thinking the other day that Steacy would be a likely candidate to replace Mick Kelly.

01/12/2018, 4:16 PM
Town have signed Lee Steacy from Shels and Anto Breslin from Wolves. I was just thinking the other day that Steacy would be a likely candidate to replace Mick Kelly.

thats a cracking signing lee stacey. i imagine jack brady wont be comin back so. Anyone know about anto breslin?

01/12/2018, 5:50 PM
#Bohs are delighted to announce the signing of goalkeeper Niall Corbet, defenders James Finnerty and Michael Barker, and midfielder Daniel Mandroiu.

As well as the new arrivals, defender Paddy Kirk and striker Ryan Swan have re-signed for 2019. 📝

bohemianfc.com/?p=13297

https://twitter.com/bfcdublin/status/1068932465430016000?s=21

David BOHie
01/12/2018, 6:06 PM
Don't think barker is that good tbh. Must mean Lyons is off to Wolves though.

Mandroiu and Finnerty seem promising though.

No news on Buckley or Devanney still, both of whom I'd like to keep. Also wish we could get a few of these on two year deals

buzz442
01/12/2018, 6:29 PM
He lost possession on the half way line after getting a lazy pass back from the golden boy Sadlier. Griffin has been unfairly vilified by Cork fans, who seem to ignore that no one followed McEleney's run and McCormacks inability to watch what was going on around him.

Lazy pass back my arse, watch it again, Griffin tried to be clever and got caught.

As to your "golden boy Sadlier" remark, what about "golden ****** McEleney", how on earth he got man of the match in the FAI Cup final and then player of the season for Oct & November god only knows. He did nothing in the final apart from score a goal, he gave the ball away so many times it was embarrassing. Sadlier on the other hand had an excellent game off the back of an excellent season, scoring 26 and 14 assists and in the team of the season.

buzz442
01/12/2018, 6:33 PM
Like Johnny Ward would know lol, the man is clueless, an absolute joke who knows very little about football.

mcgonigle
01/12/2018, 8:46 PM
Lazy pass back my arse, watch it again, Griffin tried to be clever and got caught.

As to your "golden boy Sadlier" remark, what about "golden ****** McEleney", how on earth he got man of the match in the FAI Cup final and then player of the season for Oct & November god only knows. He did nothing in the final apart from score a goal, he gave the ball away so many times it was embarrassing. Sadlier on the other hand had an excellent game off the back of an excellent season, scoring 26 and 14 assists and in the team of the season.

Like Johnny Ward would know lol, the man is clueless, an absolute joke who knows very little about football.

You ok hun?

Jack B
01/12/2018, 9:11 PM
Don't think barker is that good tbh. Must mean Lyons is off to Wolves though.

I don't like to be harsh on Barker as to be fair to him effort is one thing you can't fault him for, but he's quite a poor player at Premier Division level. Always gives 100% but I could probably count on one hand the amount of good games he had for us. Saying that though yous obviously aren't signing him with the view to starting him week in week out, and he's perfectly serviceable as a squad player as he can fill a few positions if required so it's a handy signing in that respect.

buzz442
01/12/2018, 11:45 PM
You ok hun?

Yes thanks, much better after setting the likes if you straight.

mcgonigle
02/12/2018, 8:16 PM
Yes thanks, much better after setting the likes if you straight.

Good man, you sorted me anyway. Struggling to enjoy the double win now after your insightful post...

Jack B
03/12/2018, 2:00 PM
Shels sign Ryan Brennan. They must be throwing some money about, he's a more than capable Premier Division player and probably good enough for anyone outside of the top four.

They're gonna walk that league at this rate, which is a real shame.

dundalkfc10
03/12/2018, 2:58 PM

Gartlan or Benson should have got MOTM i agree.

Maybe he got player of the month for Oct & Nov because in our last 6 games
He was best player on field V Bohs,
2 assists V Sligo,
1 Assist V Waterford
Set up the league clinching goal V pats.
He also scored a wonder goal in the semi final V UCD to get us to the cup final.
Scored cup final winner

Do you need any more reasons?

El-Pietro
03/12/2018, 3:59 PM
He admitted himself he was poor enough in the final. Giving him POTM for November when that game was the only one seems silly. We've typically seen a different man of the match and player of the month for the cup final/November in recent years. MOTM is given in the moment and there's high emotion involved. That and the people picking MOTM are not generally the brightest. The writers have plenty of time to think about who is most deserving for the POTM and that usually is telling.

Ezeikial
03/12/2018, 5:40 PM
Giving him POTM for November when that game was the only one seems silly. We've typically seen a different man of the match and player of the month for the cup final/November in recent years.

Patrick McEleney was awarded the SWAI award for Oct and Nov. Fully deserved on the basis of his performances over that 5 week period.

I don't recall there being a potm for November only previously.

Shearer
03/12/2018, 5:42 PM
Shels sign Ryan Brennan. They must be throwing some money about, he's a more than capable Premier Division player and probably good enough for anyone outside of the top four.

I'd have them and Dundalk in a double in a second.

Philosophizer
03/12/2018, 6:00 PM

Yea that's a very impressive signing by Shels to be fair. Most of their other signings lately had been Bohs reserve players and/or older players, but Ryan Brennan is a serious player to be playing in the 1st Div.

patrickccfc
03/12/2018, 6:15 PM
Tadgh Ryan joins us from Galway.

03/12/2018, 6:37 PM
Patrick McEleney was awarded the SWAI award for Oct and Nov. Fully deserved on the basis of his performances over that 5 week period.

I don't recall there being a potm for November only previously.

Alan Bennett got POTM for November last year. The only game was the cup final and he didn't get MOTM!

joey B
03/12/2018, 6:51 PM
Sam Todd signs back at Harps.

Ezeikial
03/12/2018, 7:17 PM
Alan Bennett got POTM for November last year. The only game was the cup final and he didn't get MOTM!

Do you know who got MOTM?

03/12/2018, 7:22 PM
Sam Todd signs back at Harps.

Biggest signing we'll make in this off-season in my opinion. He's a cert to make the move to a big English club in the next year or two.