View Full Version : Transfers 2019 season

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26

Paulgufc
05/01/2019, 3:05 PM
Vinny Faherty back at Galway. Happy with that. Fits in with what the club is trying to do.

05/01/2019, 3:28 PM
Vinny Faherty back at Galway. Happy with that. Fits in with what the club is trying to do.

I have lost count with the amount of spells VF has with ye??

Paulgufc
05/01/2019, 3:36 PM
This is his 4th stint with us I think

05/01/2019, 11:30 PM
Kilduff wouldnt have been the worst option for Rovers when they are looking for a frontman.
We tried that twice before. If we wanted a striker who's an expert in missing open goals, we'd have kept Shaw.

oriel
05/01/2019, 11:49 PM
Charlie, come on now.

06/01/2019, 12:15 AM
We tried that twice before. If we wanted a striker who's an expert in missing open goals, we'd have kept Shaw.

Third time is the charm ;p

Has the forum style just changed??

06/01/2019, 12:23 AM
Actually, you're right, that's the sort of thing Rovers would do.

06/01/2019, 4:47 AM
I must ask again, has foot.ie changed for other members? Its a wierd format for me and can edit posts or its deleting them, possibly double posting to others!?

06/01/2019, 4:48 AM
Actually, you're right, that's the sort of thing Rovers would do.

If Rovers had signed him it would be seen as a panic signing probably lol and that there are few options out there. With decent wing play and centre midfield that can put the ball on a plate he would score. But he is a 10 or 12 goal a season striker really unless he hits a seriously hot veing of form. Any word at all on a possible striker? Dundalk would likely be considering the need for a 3rd front man among a couple of other positions that need another option. Sam Byrne to Boh's has been alluded to on OW.

Just out of general interest what players would have had multiple spells at Rovers and other clubs (more than 2) in general. Faherty on his 4th at Galways has to be some sort of record!?

06/01/2019, 5:58 AM
Kilduff wouldnt have been the worst option for Rovers when they are looking for a frontman. He is not super clinical but is better than whats there. There must be other irons in the fire at Tallaght. Kilduff, with that Shels squad would be a reasonable bet for Div 1 top scorer. Not just Rovers, h'ed be a stronger option than Cummins and had a decent loan spell in Cork before?

Kilduff isn't even close to an upgrade on Cummins. Cummins gets huge stick because he's a fairly one dimensional player and he can be frustrating to watch. But his numbers are decent. He scored more goals last season than Kilduff would be likely to. He would have been 2nd top scorer bar Sadlier penalties. If he had been on penalties, he'd very lilely have broken 20 goals.

Kilduff may have a bit more of an all round game, but Cummins will get more goals.

06/01/2019, 9:24 AM
Was speaking to a mate of Kulduff's before Xmas, he told me Kilduff is back working in Ireland the last while so I assume the reason he has signed for Shels is PT football will suit him down to the ground. Shels should be walking the league this year

sbgawa
06/01/2019, 10:42 AM
Shels back in the premier by the look of it alright.
With Pats back full time and Sligo bound to come on under bucko the league is set to get pretty competitive I've the next few seasons.

sidcon
06/01/2019, 10:47 AM
Sam Byrne is in preseason training with bohs

gufc2000
06/01/2019, 12:41 PM
Just out of general interest what players would have had multiple spells at Rovers and other clubs (more than 2) in general. Faherty on his 4th at Galways has to be some sort of record!?
Alan Murphy's playing stint with us last season was his 5th spell with us.

1. 1998 - 2004 then he joined Derry
2. 2006 - 2007 joined Shamrock Rovers
3. 2008 - 2011 joined Mervue
4. 2014 (although I don't think he played a game during this season due to injury, played junior soccer in Galway after that)
5. 2018

06/01/2019, 4:09 PM
Sam Byrne is in preseason training with bohs

Great talent but looked in awful shape during his time at Dundalk. Spell up the north was a disaster too

06/01/2019, 4:39 PM
Stephen Henderson taking heavy flak online in the last few days. Just wonder if all is right down there at the moment

06/01/2019, 4:47 PM
If Rovers had signed him it would be seen as a panic signing probably lol and that there are few options out there. With decent wing play and centre midfield that can put the ball on a plate he would score. But he is a 10 or 12 goal a season striker really unless he hits a seriously hot veing of form. Any word at all on a possible striker? Dundalk would likely be considering the need for a 3rd front man among a couple of other positions that need another option. Sam Byrne to Boh's has been alluded to on OW.

I know with us Mark Devlin had 7 different spells with us. 83-84 to 84/85, 86-87,88-89,91-92,93-94,95-96 and finally 98-99.
Leo had two less spell than Mark with us. 86-87 -88/89, 89-90 to 90/91, 92-93,94-95-95/96 and also 98-99.

Must have being in their blood!

06/01/2019, 4:49 PM
Alan Murphy's playing stint with us last season was his 5th spell with us.

1. 1998 - 2004 then he joined Derry
2. 2006 - 2007 joined Shamrock Rovers
3. 2008 - 2011 joined Mervue
4. 2014 (although I don't think he played a game during this season due to injury, played junior soccer in Galway after that)
5. 2018

thought i read in a Galway Utd programme from 2014 season that Alan Murphy played but maybe I could be wrong?

06/01/2019, 4:54 PM
Stephen Henderson taking heavy flak online in the last few days. Just wonder if all is right down there at the moment

yeah saw the different tweets!thats not great for them tbh!

Shearer
06/01/2019, 5:22 PM
yeah saw the different tweets!thats not great for them tbh!
Spoke to a good source today, said this isn't uncommon with Hendo and that man-management is his weak point.

monkey9
06/01/2019, 5:34 PM
Anto Murphy had about three spells at both Pat's and Bohs. Didn't Dave Mulcahy have three spells at Pat's as well?

El-Pietro
06/01/2019, 6:41 PM
Anto Murphy had about three spells at both Pat's and Bohs. Didn't Dave Mulcahy have three spells at Pat's as well?

He sort of had three with City unfortunately. Danny Murphy and George O'Callaghan both had three with us as well.

sbgawa
06/01/2019, 7:13 PM
Never met the guy, heard a long interview he gave on the greatest league in the world seemed like a really sound guy but this does seem poor form.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
06/01/2019, 10:40 PM
Ski McGee had 6 different spells with us

joey B
09/01/2019, 4:18 PM
Dylan McGlade heading to Bray,big blow to Longford.

sbgawa
09/01/2019, 4:52 PM
Defecting to north Korea from longford , not often yo uj hear that

09/01/2019, 5:03 PM
Defecting to north Korea from longford , not often yo uj hear that

Sometimes when I walk down the main Street I wonder would North Korea be so bad 😂

09/01/2019, 6:10 PM
That is very disappointing. Though I'd resigned myself to him going I hadn't really thought of Bray as a possible destination. We need a replacement from somewhere.

09/01/2019, 6:39 PM
Dylan McGlade heading to Bray,big blow to Longford.

is there a link to this? disgusted that slut mcglade finally makes his mind up!

09/01/2019, 6:40 PM
That is very disappointing. Though I'd resigned myself to him going I hadn't really thought of Bray as a possible destination. We need a replacement from somewhere.

I believe the moneys simply not there. wonder is our investment from munnelly being cut or being pulled?

Jack B
10/01/2019, 12:25 AM
I like McGlade but I get the impression that he gets ideas above his station for a player that has only really performed consistently over a single First Division season to date. I'd say he'll be as surprised as anyone if he ends up signing for Bray.

On that note, Kenny is unsurprisingly having a look at some former Bray lads for us. He has both John Sullivan and Darragh Noone in training at the moment.

10/01/2019, 9:31 AM
True I guess. Plus it seems you have to build around him and pretty much leave him free from defensive work to get the best out of him. Most teams won’t do that, certainly not at Premier Division level. We’re definitely looking weaker than last year currently unfortunately though there appears to be some interesting young lads in the squad so far.

10/01/2019, 9:34 AM
I said I wouldn't cry if he left because as good as he was last season I did feel his attitude towards the club in terms of some of his social media postings and comments on podcasts was a bit disrespectful towards the club and as pointed out above he didn't track back and went totally missing in the last few games when he clearly felt he would be getting a big move. Clubs didn't knock his door down as expected so he's gone to bray for a handy pay day. If it was for the good of his career I'd say best of luck but this is a bit of a bitter pill tbh. Just hope bray know what they are spending

Hulsey
10/01/2019, 9:44 AM
On that note, Kenny is unsurprisingly having a look at some former Bray lads for us. He has both John Sullivan and Darragh Noone in training at the moment.

Sullivan is a good holding midfielder if he keeps it simple, last 2 years he got a bit adventurous with his passing which doesnt suit him. Noone is the least physical midfielder I've ever seen. Terrified of a tackle. He's a very divisive player between supporters

10/01/2019, 9:48 AM
Sullivan is a good holding midfielder if he keeps it simple, last 2 years he got a bit adventurous with his passing which doesnt suit him. Noone is the least physical midfielder I've ever seen. Terrified of a tackle. He's a very divisive player between supporters

Agree with you on Sullivan, he was superb in midfield in the opening game against Dundalk. Such a shame he got injured soon after

RathfarnhamHoop
10/01/2019, 11:26 AM
I like McGlade but I get the impression that he gets ideas above his station for a player that has only really performed consistently over a single First Division season to date. I'd say he'll be as surprised as anyone if he ends up signing for Bray.

Sullivan would be a good signing for pats, great at breaking up play in midfield especially when he keeps his passing simple as others have said. Good person to have around a dressing room too apparently and he's a PT so his hours would be flexible enough to suit whenever pats train.

10/01/2019, 12:53 PM
he's gone to bray for a handy pay day.

He's certainly not signing for Bray for a handy pay day... The days of Wanderers spending beyond there means are well and truly gone.

Jack B
10/01/2019, 1:16 PM
Definitely reckon McGlade was holding out for a bigger move that evidently hasn't happened. As the lads have alluded to I don't think he did himself any favours with the way he went on when he was on Conan's podcast. You can't have only had one good season in the First Division and start talking about bigger things but that you'll need to be allowed to "cheat" when they happen to be at your best. It's a luxury that most teams even at a higher LOI standard won't afford you. Genuinely do like him but he's also not that much of a kid anymore and he needs/needed to properly knuckle down if he's to kick on as he wants.

Agreed on Sullivan too lads. Our squad is shaping up quite well but outside of Conor Clifford - who hasn't got a wealth of first team experience anyway - all of our midfielders are around 20/21 so it'd be needed steel and experience in there I think. Him and maybe a right winger and we're looking good for next season. Noone I'm surprised to see involved and I'd be even more surprised if we actually signed him with Markey/Miele/Clifford/Lennon/Poynton/Coleman and now potentially Sullivan all there already as midfield options.

bluewhitearmy
10/01/2019, 1:19 PM
Darragh Rainsford ex Limerick signing for Cork from junior ball here.

sbgawa
10/01/2019, 1:26 PM
Of all the teams in the Prem Pats have taken the biggest leap forward in terms of the overall talent and ability in the squad.
Going full time next season as well and with Harry Kenny pulling the strings i expect Pats to be up there.

Ezeikial
10/01/2019, 1:52 PM
Of all the teams in the Prem Pats have taken the biggest leap forward in terms of the overall talent and ability in the squad.
Going full time next season as well and with Harry Kenny pulling the strings i expect Pats to be up there.

St Pats certainly look like they have the potential for improving their league performance

To put some context on it, St Pats were 9 points short of a Europa League place while the Europa League qualified teams who finished 3rd and 4th in the table were 25 and 29 points respectively short of the top place.

Similarly Derry and Sligo will want to make big strides up the table

A lot depends on expectations and ambition, but it seems to me that teams other than St Pats might have bigger gaps to close if they are to go to the next level

Jack B
10/01/2019, 2:02 PM
We really weren't too far off last year, and at the start of the season actually looked strong and seemed to have built well on a good finish to the previous year, but then things with Garvan didn't work out and Killian Brennan was riddled by injuries so the rhythm was disrupted in that sense. On top of that Barry Murphy was poor in goal until we got Clarkey back and we failed to find a consistent focal point up top, yet despite all of that it was really only that absolutely ridiculous run where we lost 8 out of the 9 games in the third round of fixtures that stopped us from properly contesting for Europe come October time.

Sad to say it but things had just gradually become a bit stale under Bucko over the past few years, and even when results picked up the same problems tended to be prevalent. Think the change was best for both parties, would fancy him to do very well at Sligo and I think we may be better off simply due to freshening things up.

sidewayspasser
10/01/2019, 2:21 PM
Darragh Rainsford ex Limerick signing for Cork from junior ball here.
Any opinions on him? He didn't exactly set the world alight when playing for Limerick, did he?

El-Pietro
10/01/2019, 2:58 PM
We really weren't too far off last year
Weren't too far off what? You finished 37 points behind Dundalk. I assume you just mean Europe?

sbgawa
10/01/2019, 3:01 PM
I think he means the west Dublin League title

Jack B
10/01/2019, 3:06 PM
Weren't too far off what? You finished 37 points behind Dundalk. I assume you just mean Europe?

I mean as if it even needed clarifying I did make it pretty clear I was talking about Europe at the end of that paragraph...

But yes, had Killian Brennan stayed fit we probably would have won the league and at the very least finished above Rovers if that 2-0 was anything to go by.

oriel
10/01/2019, 3:06 PM
With the imminent official announcement on Stephen O’Donnell retiring, this opens up a space now for another central MF. I`d imagine DFC will go for a strong enough replacement.

He might not have started too many last season, only one after his leg break in May, but I would have given him another 12 months if he had proved his fitness. What a contribution he made with 4 league titles, 2 cups and 2 lge cups alone with Dundalk.

Def still need cover in the MF central area, as its really only Chevedukas now that can go in there as another natural central MF, and he missed even more than O’Donnell last year.

McEleney / Mountney / Jarvis have all played central before, I still think they’ll get a new man in now.

El-Pietro
10/01/2019, 3:41 PM
I mean as if it even needed clarifying I did make it pretty clear I was talking about Europe at the end of that paragraph...

But yes, had Killian Brennan stayed fit we probably would have won the league and at the very least finished above Rovers if that 2-0 was anything to go by.
You ca't blame for for asking for clarity. I'm used to some pretty deluded comments coming from south Dublin football fans.

Shearer
10/01/2019, 4:03 PM
Pat's went on one good run where they won 3 games on the bounce and everyone in the club started talking about Europe. They proceeded to lose 8 games on the bounce, 0/24 points.
Awful notions about last year, weren't good enough.

Jack B
10/01/2019, 4:21 PM
You ca't blame for for asking for clarity. I'm used to some pretty deluded comments coming from south Dublin football fans.

Between demanding penalty decisions be overturned and thinking finishing mid-table makes you the greatest success story of the century, certain northside brands aren't far off.