View Full Version : League of Ireland in Europe 2014
11/07/2014, 4:03 PM
Pats v Warsaw live on Setanta on Wednesday.
11/07/2014, 4:42 PM
to answer a earlier question the reason banga had only 14 squad plyrs was four othrs got refused visas!
DannyInvincible
11/07/2014, 6:11 PM
to answer a earlier question the reason banga had only 14 squad plyrs was four othrs got refused visas!
They have a couple of players from Russia, Ukraine and Moldova, so I'm guessing it must have been them. I know the remainder of the team were Lithuanian nationals and thus free to travel as EU citizens, but, for the sake of argument, what might have happened had a significant enough number of players been denied visas by the Irish government so as to disable Banga from selecting eleven starters? Would Banga have been deemed to have failed to fulfill the fixture and Sligo awarded a victory? It would seem unusual that a government body might have such potentially extreme or direct influence as that, but I guess there's little UEFA can do about matters of international travel and to whom independent states decide to permit entry.
With Norway not being party to the EU and all, maybe the Irish government could also deny the Rosenborg squad entry?... :p
texidub
11/07/2014, 6:37 PM
The Irish government should do whatever they can to improve the league's standing.
If they won't fund the domestic game properly, the least they can do is deprive the opposition of a few visas.
ger121
11/07/2014, 6:42 PM
Hadjuk were average in the EL last year. Win and a draw in 2nd round and went out to a Georgian side in the 3rd Round. Haven't done a lot in Europe since reaching the EL Group stages a few seasons ago. Granted they'll be a step up but seem to be iffy away from home so think Dundalk have a chance.
gufcfan
11/07/2014, 7:32 PM
If they won't fund the domestic game properly
If the government showered the FAI in money, you would still have Delaney and co. in charge. Nothing will ever change.
DannyInvincible
11/07/2014, 8:18 PM
Came across some quality public photos from the Derry game on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/chris.howells.315/media_set?set=a.10154415623320691.1073742104.51725 0690&type=1
Did Aberystwyth have poppies on their jerseys?:
https://scontent-b-lhr.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-xap1/t1.0-9/10443516_10154415625555691_1085950937013896695_n.j pg
Any particular reason behind that seeing as poppy season is usually around November?
And a snap of the crowd, here, featuring Danny Lafferty and James McClean:
https://fbcdn-sphotos-h-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-xfp1/t1.0-9/10501978_10154415628215691_2869098443385144800_n.j pg
It should be pointed out, of course, that James wasn't wearing a poppy. :p
11/07/2014, 8:20 PM
They're wearing the poppy all season apparently to mark the 100th anniversary.
Yossarian
11/07/2014, 8:36 PM
I'm surprised they were allowed it for this game as UEFA are quite strict on what you can and can't have on your kit. I know Dundalk had to get new jerseys with a smaller Fyffes logo and no sponsor on the back.
11/07/2014, 8:39 PM
I though Uefa dont allow political/memorial stuff etc to be worn in competitions? werent England trying to wear it in an International last year ? although it could be FIFA I'm thinking of.
11/07/2014, 8:52 PM
I though Uefa dont allow political/memorial stuff etc to be worn in competitions? werent England trying to wear it in an International last year ? although it could be FIFA I'm thinking of.
They're not banned but I think you need permission. Either UEFA weren't that bothered about a low-profile game or else Aberstwyth didn't ask.
legendz
11/07/2014, 10:09 PM
Nice round to enter to get some handy wins. Next round is possibly where more notice and kudos will be given with the right result(s).
PartySaint
11/07/2014, 11:27 PM
Pats v Warsaw live on Setanta on Wednesday.
Don't watch, we're going to be hammered
11/07/2014, 11:31 PM
Don't watch, we're going to be hammered
Polish beer is pretty cheap to be fair.
11/07/2014, 11:44 PM
Typical barstoolers. Only going for the Polish p!ss-up.
11/07/2014, 11:49 PM
Polish beer is pretty cheap to be fair.
I lol'd but then i thought "no it fecking isn't"
"That Polish beer not be cheap at tall at all"
SPXcyan
12/07/2014, 1:03 AM
Tyskie is far from cheap lads!
12/07/2014, 1:04 AM
You lads are no craic. Sure it's a moot point anyway as Pats will be involved in a bonus dispute long before they think about boarding a plane for Varshava.
adamd164
12/07/2014, 12:46 PM
http://www.sseairtricityleague.ie/news/5563-two-sse-airtricity-league-fixtures-postponed
Two SSE Airtricity League fixtures postponed
Two SSE Airtricity League Premier Division fixtures scheduled for next weekend have been postponed due to the involvement of clubs in the second qualifying round of the Europa League. A third match has been rescheduled.
The matches between Limerick and Derry City, which had been scheduled for Friday, July 18, and Sligo Rovers and Bohemians, which had been fixed for Saturday, July 19, have both been postponed. Derry City play Shakhtyor Soligorsk of Belarus on Thursday, July 17, and Sligo Rovers face Rosenborg of Norway on the same date. A new date for both fixtures will be announced in due course.
Dundalk, who play Hajduk Split of Croatia on Thursday, July 17, have rescheduled their SSE Airtricity League Premier Division fixture against Athlone Town to Sunday, July 20, at 7pm in Oriel Park. The match had originally been scheduled for Friday, July 18.
Redzer
12/07/2014, 1:03 PM
I didn't know that! The poppy is only a hundred years old....
DannyInvincible
12/07/2014, 1:43 PM
Just noticing the assistant official on the right side (who looks a bit like Ray O'Driscoll from Glenroe, incidentally) hasn't got the FIFA crest on his shirt, whereas his two colleagues do. From a distance, it looks like the crest of the Belgian football association.
12/07/2014, 11:06 PM
Looking at that picture of McLean and Lafferty, where are they in photo??
DannyInvincible
12/07/2014, 11:14 PM
Looking at that picture of McLean and Lafferty, where are they in photo??
https://scontent-a-lhr.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-xpf1/t1.0-9/10478718_10154415630010691_4082236852060150633_n.j pg
pateen
14/07/2014, 11:24 AM
Will any of this weeks games be live on TV?
Pablo Escobar
14/07/2014, 11:39 AM
Cork City -v- UCD. Setanta have gone insane.
dundalkfc10
14/07/2014, 12:16 PM
Pats European game is on Setanta
Eminence Grise
14/07/2014, 12:38 PM
https://scontent-a-lhr.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-xpf1/t1.0-9/10478718_10154415630010691_4082236852060150633_n.j pg
Looks like a young Malcolm Glazer!
MeathDrog
14/07/2014, 2:41 PM
FAO Dundalk fans: What's the story with ticket prices/availability? I'll head up to it if it's not a sell out.
Yossarian
14/07/2014, 2:48 PM
FAO Dundalk fans: What's the story with ticket prices/availability? I'll head up to it if it's not a sell out.
Usual league prices apply for this game. Tickets are on general sale from tomorrow.
Ezeikial
14/07/2014, 2:54 PM
Hard to know - 2,534 given as attendance for Jeunesse Esch game. I think the capacity for Europa League matches is 3,200. I expect tickets to be still available on the day.
dundalkfc10
14/07/2014, 5:45 PM
Hard to know - 2,534 given as attendance for Jeunesse Esch game. I think the capacity for Europa League matches is 3,200. I expect tickets to be still available on the day.
I expect them to be available on the day myself but I can see alot of people being dissapointed if they are as they will sell out leaving people outside the ground with no way in
jinxy lilywhite
14/07/2014, 6:26 PM
cant see any being on sale before KO tbh.
got mine today :)
PartySaint
14/07/2014, 7:50 PM
Tickets for our 'home' game against Legia are on sale now from the club if anyone is looking to go.
White Horse
14/07/2014, 8:08 PM
Tickets for our 'home' game against Legia are on sale now from the club if anyone is looking to go.
I'm going along with a few others from Dundalk. We'll be shouting for Pats.
jinxy lilywhite
14/07/2014, 9:56 PM
Me too. Hope pats win it tbh
Would love to face them in the super cup
dundalkfc10
14/07/2014, 11:54 PM
I expect them to be available on the day myself but I can see alot of people being dissapointed if they are as they will sell out leaving people outside the ground with no way in
Was up in Oriel tonight playing indoor and called into the bar.
Nearly 1000 tickets gone just from season ticket holders today, with 200 Hadjuck tickets been sent over to Croatia (They are looking for more aswell)
On General Sale tomorrow, Was told they expect them to be all gone on Wednesday
15/07/2014, 12:07 AM
200+ visitors from Croatia for a qualifying round game is pretty impressive. Maybe having the first round will work out well for Dundalk. Pity for the town most of the visitors will probably bus in from Dublin.
dundalkfc10
15/07/2014, 7:37 AM
200+ visitors from Croatia for a qualifying round game is pretty impressive. Maybe having the first round will work out well for Dundalk. Pity for the town most of the visitors will probably bus in from Dublin.
Supposidly they have asked for more tickets aswell, doubt they will get any more.
We will be lucky to have 50 in Croatia id imagine
Conroy
15/07/2014, 8:53 AM
Split has organsied a hotel in camden street for all there fans travelling and will only be coming to Dundalk on the day of the game, other fans may have made there own arrangments but the majorty will be based in Dublin pre/after match.
pateen
15/07/2014, 9:07 AM
Split has organsied a hotel in camden street for all there fans travelling and will only be coming to Dundalk on the day of the game, other fans may have made there own arrangments but the majorty will be based in Dublin pre/after match.
Thats a piety. Its moments like this that would make business people of the town appreciate the club
White Horse
15/07/2014, 10:30 AM
Thats a piety. Its moments like this that would make business people of the town appreciate the club
Small towns can't compete with the millions that are spent promoting Dublin as a tourist destination internationally.
It's just a fact of life. From tweets I've had with Hajuk fans, they want to spend the night in Temple Bar and visit the Diageo storehouse.
However, local businesses will appreciate the custom of the 3,000 Dundalk fans, many of whom are travelling from all parts of Ireland, and some from further afield.
15/07/2014, 11:48 AM
Any facility to buy online? A few here thinking of heading up. Any chance of actually being available on the night?
Tickets won't be on available online. The club are expecting a sell out. There has been huge numbers of Poles looking for tickets. So I doubt you will find any on general sale come the night of the match.
red bellied
15/07/2014, 4:50 PM
I seen Pats are 22/1 on Ladbrokes which is massive, might be worth a fiver for a fun bet. Going on what I seen of Warsaw last season against Molde they are hardly world beaters, they were lucky to go through over the two legs.
jinxy lilywhite
15/07/2014, 6:12 PM
Personally I think pats, rovers, Derry and dundalk can get positive results this week. Number of reasons include that the teams we are playing may not respect us enough and may not be fully match fit.
I don't believe any team will progress but I wouldn't be surprised if the home teams for a minimum draw. I think only Derry are away and they have the most difficult as they are the team we know the least
DannyInvincible
15/07/2014, 6:42 PM
What could Dundalk have done about it if Hajduk Split and their fans would rather stay in Dublin?
15/07/2014, 7:24 PM
BATE held at home by an Albanian team. Maybe not quite the team they were a couple of years ago getting into group stages. I reckon Derry have a great chance against their lot. They're basically seeded because of bate's exploits
15/07/2014, 7:32 PM
All the Irish teams are facing sides with underwhelming recent records, albeit better than them in most cases.
Legia haven't qualified for the Champions League groups in almost 20 years and have only been to the Europa groups twice.
Shakytor have never progressed past Q2 having lost the past three years.
Hajduk have only made the group stages once since the format was changed.
Rosenborg have the most pedigree but they fell at Q2 last season to St Johnstone.
15/07/2014, 7:54 PM
All the Irish teams are facing sides with underwhelming recent records, albeit better than them in most cases.
That's fair. I reckon one of them will go through
15/07/2014, 8:55 PM
Climville 0-0 Debrecen. Great result for them.
TNS in with a chance after losing 1-0 away to Slovan Bratislava.
Even plucky irish side celtic not out of it after grabbing a late winner in Iceland.
Lots of positives for Pat's there.