View Full Version : League of Ireland in Europe 2014
CuanaD
17/07/2014, 8:40 PM
Dundalk result is about what I would have expected - not what I was hoping for of course
But I thought Derry had the best chance of the 4 LOI teams this week, so that one disappoints me most
still, 1.75 on the coeff & none of the ties are dead yet (well, Dundalk would need a huge turnaround, but I live in hope)
ger121
17/07/2014, 8:41 PM
Shame Dundalk and Derry both lost at home. Puts a bit of dampener on Sligo's excellent peformance.
The Blues are one up
Decent shift put in but with no reward it seems from all accounts.
The attendance was 3014 which was also Brilliant.
And a dedication to the Saint Pats fan who passed away in Warsaw.
RIP Chris.
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BsxgnmACQAA-xTN.jpg
Louth4sam
17/07/2014, 9:09 PM
Decent shift put in but with no reward it seems from all accounts.
The attendance was 3014 which was also Brilliant.
We were fantastic tonight Dunny and deserved at least a draw. Think they had two shots all game and scored both. It was all Dundalk in the second half but just couldn't make the break through. Hoban hit post in first half too.
17/07/2014, 9:34 PM
Sounds like Pats last night.
Ezeikial
17/07/2014, 9:45 PM
I am not used to seeing our lads play so well, yet come out the wrong side of the 0-2 result.
ger121
17/07/2014, 9:52 PM
Up to 40th according to Bert's ranking. Tied with Liechtenstein in 39th.
http://kassiesa.home.xs4all.nl/bert/uefa/data/method4/crank2015.html
redarmyfaction
17/07/2014, 10:10 PM
RIP Chris, I am not joking I when I say I seemed near to my last breath tonight watching our stream. I was told by a young lad in the pub that the man who passed away, passed nearly every eejit in Ireland going the opposite way, when he travelled to see Pats of a weekend, thousands apparently going to the English grounds, anyways the kid thought this was going on for ever, until I told him how I remembered going over to Liverpool (86ish) to see them beat Luton 1-0, I think Stevie Foster was Luton Captain, €5 on the Kop, a score for the ferry and and score for the Adelphi, cheap weekend from Dublin if you gave a **** about Liverpool, which I didn't, but we met only one other Liverpool supporter on the ferry and that was Ronnie Whelan's Dad, it wasn't until Sky you got the mania here.
But I digress, I was a solid opponent of summer football in the LOI, but wisdom nay even foresight is too strong a word for the decision that decided on summer football but it has resulted in a much better LOI, and there are those better able to confirm this via the co-efficients or on Bert's site(most credits to Pats). God be without the days with the ball stuck in the mud in the six yard of the Showgies shed for a seeming eternity, as Fago and Stenie tried to hack it away from Gino Lawless or Sacky Glenn's boot in a sweeping Atlantic gale. Good surfaces and good conditions have allowed our players and teams up to come up to a pretty decent level, and I really enjoy our bread and butter league, as for the rest let them their eat cake.
Yossarian
17/07/2014, 11:03 PM
While we we played well tonight I wouldn't go as far to say we were fantastic. Hajduk had two chances and scored and we had three clear cut chances and didn't take them.Hoban could have had a hatrick. Against opposition like that you can't afford to miss chances and that proved tonight.
We deserved a draw but we showed nerves and made some poor decisions when close to their goal. They did their homework and didn't allow us any space in midfield. It's a pity we didn't even get one to make the second leg interesting but I think the tie is over now.
jinxy lilywhite
17/07/2014, 11:10 PM
Splits second goal was a killer especially when we were gaining the upper hand. Finishing IMO was the difference but I feel if split needed to up a gear or two then they could. This tie will be a massive education for us. If we can do half of what split did to us in regards to of the ball running, anticipation of the breaking ball and finishing they we will be flying
Still no disgrace in losing to these guys. They are some machine w
Djm1901
17/07/2014, 11:59 PM
Draw for the next round is tomorrow at 11 for the champions league
if pats can get by legia they'll face the winners of the matches involving Celtic, BATE, Dinamo Zagreb, Sheriff or Salzberg.
the good news for sligo is that if they complete the job against rosenborg they'll take their seeding for the next round and may have an easier draw.
18/07/2014, 3:21 AM
Massive learning curve for the lads tonight. I thought they were a bit slow to anticipate a quick free or a set move. We had plenty of the ball especially for 'bout 30 mins in the second half but lacked that cutting edge when a chance was created and that little bit of luck too. Could Hadjuk have stepped it up if we scored? It is unlikely that we will get back in to the tie next thurssday but never say never i suppose - one thing is that we wont be taken for granted! In domestic terms I think there could well be a push on in quality last 3rd of the season as our representitives get exposed to that extra bit of savvy. It is a massive well done to Pats (i dont know the chap Chris but how proud a man he'd be) and Sligo. Some question the annual LoI European love in, but I've never been able to begrudge our leagues sucesses, albeit erratic and I hope the good work is not undone at home! Now of course i'm not at all looking at the possibility of some possible title contenders having a trip to as far away as possible next round...if only Cork had to travel to the back of beyond, even Donegal would do :p
18/07/2014, 7:54 AM
Up to 40th according to Bert's ranking. Tied with Liechtenstein in 39th.
http://kassiesa.home.xs4all.nl/bert/uefa/data/method4/crank2015.html
From 43, small steps an all:D
18/07/2014, 8:03 AM
Had forgotten we were as high as 29th just five years ago
Nah Nah Nah Nah
18/07/2014, 8:11 AM
Group 1
FC Chornomorets Odesa (UKR)
FC Luzern (SUI)/Saint Johnstone FC (SCO)
Rosenborg BK (NOR)/Sligo Rovers FC (IRL)
JK Sillamäe Kalev (EST)/FC Krasnodar (RUS)
Olympique Lyonnais (FRA)
1. FSV Mainz 05 (GER)
FK Mladá Boleslav (CZE)/NK Široki Brijeg (BIH)
PFC Litex Lovech (BUL)/ Diósgyőri VTK (HUN)
RNK Split (CRO)/Hapoel Beer Sheva FC (ISR)
FC Zestafoni (GEO)/FC Spartak Trnava (SVK)
Kardemir Karabükspor (TUR)
RoPS Rovaniemi (FIN)/Asteras Tripolis FC (GRE)
Nah Nah Nah Nah
18/07/2014, 8:13 AM
Job half done but at least we're guaranteed a packed Showgrounds on Thursday night now as there would have been no one there if we'd taken a hammering. If they defend like that next week would fancy us to score again. Suppose it's all about the balance as once they don't score 2 we're definitely through. Great night though. So proud of them all.
El-Pietro
18/07/2014, 8:15 AM
Group 3
Real Sociedad de Fútbol (ESP)
FC Astana (KAZ)/Hapoel Tel-Aviv FC (ISR)
Atromitos FC (GRE)
PFC CSKA Sofia (BUL)/FC Zimbru Chisinau (MDA)
MFK Košice (SVK)/FC Slovan Liberec (CZE)
SV Zulte Waregem (BEL)/Zawisza Bydgoszcz (POL)
FC Astra (ROU)
FK Čukarički (SRB)/SV Grödig (AUT)
Aberdeen FC (SCO)/FC Gronigen (NED)
Linfield FC (NIR)/AIK Solna (SWE)
FK Sarajevo (BIH)/FK Haugesund (NOR)
Derry City FC (IRL)/FC Shakhtyor Soligorsk (BLR)
Group 5
Dundalk FC (IRL)/HNK Hajduk Split (CRO)
CFR 1907 Cluj (ROU)/FK Jagodina (SRB)
Rio Ave FC (POR)
Bursaspor (TUR)/FC Chikhura Sachkhere (GEO)
Club Brugge KV (BEL)
Győri ETO FC (HUN)/IFK Göteborg (SWE)
FC Dinamo Minsk (BLR)/Myllykosken Pallo-47 (FIN)
Neftçi PFK (AZE)/FC Koper (SVN)
FK Atlantas (LTU)/FC Shakhter Karagandy (KAZ)
Brøndby IF (DEN)
PartySaint
18/07/2014, 8:28 AM
Not a nice pot for Sligo even tho they will be seeded.
Our potential opponents
FC Salzburg (AUT)
KR Reykjavík (ISL)/Celtic FC (SCO)
FC BATE Borisov (BLR)/KS Skënderbeu (ALB)
GNK Dinamo Zagreb (CRO)/VMFD Žalgiris (LTU)
FC Sheriff (MDA) v FK Sutjeska (MNE)
Legia Warszawa (POL)/Saint Patrick's Athletic (IRL)
Cliftonville FC (NIR)/Debreceni VSC (HUN)
ŠK Slovan Bratislava (SVK)/The New Saints FC (WAL)
Valletta FC (MLT)/Qarabağ FK (AZE)
Aalborg BK (DEN
Maybe its the excitemment of the other reuslts so far but I am a bit disappointed with Derrys result, am I being harsh Derry fans? How good were the Belorussians?
can't fault Dundalk at all, I heard they created loads of changes but Spilt I'm sure are a cut above LOI standard, maybe even the best opponents a LOI team has faced so far this season.
Hopefully both sides can get an away goal in the return leg even if it's just something to give the fans who travel something to cheer about.
DannyInvincible
18/07/2014, 9:00 AM
Hajduk had two chances and scored and we had three clear cut chances and didn't take them.Hoban could have had a hatrick. Against opposition like that you can't afford to miss chances and that proved tonight.
Unfortunately, that's the difference at this level. They're clinical, efficient finishers. One lapse and you're punished, whilst getting a goal back often requires the exhaustion of numerous chances and concerted spells of pressure, which is, of course, very draining, both physically and mentally.
Maybe its the excitemment of the other reuslts so far but I am a bit disappointed with Derrys result, am I being harsh Derry fans? How good were the Belorussians?
The conceded goal was solely down to an unforgivable McEleney brain-fart - his careless back-pass to Doherty fell short and was intercepted by the oncoming attacker who rounded the keeper to score - but Salihorsk did have quite a few other chances with Doherty producing a number of good saves to match them. It must be remembered they were the seeded team. Derry's chances weren't as numerous. Patterson had an effort comfortably cleared off the line later in the game but there was little else to shout about.
DannyInvincible
18/07/2014, 10:02 AM
CL draw live on UEFA.com now: http://www.uefa.com/uefachampionsleague/season=2015/draws/index.html
DannyInvincible
18/07/2014, 10:04 AM
A bit of UEFA self-congratulation there with Gianni Infantino extending appreciation to the German football association with their World Cup success for reminding everyone that the best football in the world is, of course, played in Europe... :rolleyes:
ger121
18/07/2014, 10:10 AM
Has the draw started? I'm getting just a message that draw will start shortly.
DannyInvincible
18/07/2014, 10:12 AM
Has started, aye.
DannyInvincible
18/07/2014, 10:13 AM
Cliftonville will play BATE Borisov or Skënderbeu if they make it past Debrecen.
ger121
18/07/2014, 10:16 AM
Cliftonville will play BATE Borisov or Skënderbeu if they make it past Debrecen.
Could end up with Cliftonville and Skënderbeu. Probably won't but you got to love the permutations
oriel
18/07/2014, 10:19 AM
Very good performance by us last night, we really deserved a goal and probably deserved a result in the end. Hoban missed two glorious chances, one hitting post, another unmarked in the box and just didn't contact properly, inches wide with keeper stranded. They took their chances and kept the ball better.
Congratulations to Sligo and also to Pats earlier in the week for their fantastic performances, I haven't read anything yet about Derry, but they'll be disappointed with that result.
ger121
18/07/2014, 10:22 AM
So if Pat's go through it will be an all irish tie:p
DannyInvincible
18/07/2014, 10:27 AM
If St. Pat's make it through, they'll play Celtic. (Edit: Or Reykjavík. Apologies in advance, geysir! :) ) First leg will be at "home" on either the 29th or 30th of July with the second leg in Scotland (or Iceland) on either the 5th or 6th of August. No doubt, if they (and Celtic) progress, St. Pat's will not be playing the first leg in Inchicore if the Gardaí weren't prepared to let the Legia game go ahead there.
18/07/2014, 10:28 AM
Or KR Reykjavík.
Technically!
DannyInvincible
18/07/2014, 10:30 AM
Or KR Reykjavík.
Technically!
Hehe, of course!
18/07/2014, 10:31 AM
Rather I correct you than geysir!
Flexy
18/07/2014, 10:45 AM
Congratulations to Sligo and also to Pats earlier in the week for their fantastic performances, I haven't read anything yet about Derry, but they'll be disappointed with that result.[/QUOTE]
Derry didnt play as well as they have been doing Last night, The Belarusans had a game plan to stop Derry getting the ball to Paddy MaEleney and the wide players, they also had everyone behind the ball but broke at real pace from the Fullback areas. Dangerous team but there wasnt that much between the teams. The real mistake was playing McBride at Fullback and having Mc Eleney in centre of Defence. Id have had Danny Ventre at Fullbck at kept the Partnership of McBride and Byrne in centre of Defence. Hoping next week it will be a bit more open allwing our flair players to open them up. Heres hoping
Nah Nah Nah Nah
18/07/2014, 10:47 AM
I presume the Gardai would make them move the Celtic game to Lansdowne if it all worked out.........
desaintsno.12
18/07/2014, 10:48 AM
I presume the Gardai would make them move the Celtic game to Lansdowne if it all worked out.........
would prefer the RDS, but it hink i heard there are some ground improvements being done there. no idea when
18/07/2014, 11:02 AM
Ahh the last time St Pats played Celtic (at least the way i remember it)I was sitting in the pub among plenty of Celtic fans - on one TV Shels were 3 up against Rangers and S t Pats were winning in Parkhead...it was fun while it lasted :think:
Nah Nah Nah Nah
18/07/2014, 11:07 AM
Ahh the last time St Pats played Celtic (at least the way i remember it)I was sitting in the pub among plenty of Celtic fans - on one TV Shels were 3 up against Rangers and S t Pats were winning in Parkhead...it was fun while it lasted :think:
It was 0-0 in Parkhead. How drunk were you?!
Nah Nah Nah Nah
18/07/2014, 11:15 AM
If we get through we have Kardemir Karabükspor (TUR) next
18/07/2014, 11:17 AM
Hehe, of course!
That's okay Danny,
from a KR fan's perspective, Legia Warsaw is a good draw.:p
18/07/2014, 11:20 AM
If we get through we have Kardemir Karabükspor (TUR) next
European debutantes who only qualified because three teams above them were disqualified from European qualification.
Scored less than a goal a game last season (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2013%E2%80%9314_S%C3%BCper_Lig) too. As third round draws go, it's doable.
Bloody awkward trip I'd say though.
18/07/2014, 11:25 AM
Dundalk v Hadjuk highlights.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o7nxiuu1phU
DannyInvincible
18/07/2014, 11:29 AM
Derry or Salihorsk will play Zulte Waregem of Belgium or Zawisza Bydgoszcz of Poland. Dundalk would play Shakter Karagandy of Kazakhstan or FK Atlantas of Lithuania if they can manage to over-turn the first-leg deficit.
18/07/2014, 11:32 AM
Would imagine it's the end of the road for Derry and Dundalk, but you never know what can happen once you get an early goal.
Massive games next week for Pats and for Sligo. Would love to head down to both games, but alas, will have to hope for some sort of live coverage, however unlikely to happen that is.
18/07/2014, 11:36 AM
Derry or Salihorsk will play Zulte Waregem of Belgium or Zawisza Bydgoszcz of Poland. Dundalk would play Shakter Karagandy of Kazakhstan or FK Atlantas of Lithuania if they can manage to over-turn the first-leg deficit.
Real kick in the teeth for Dundalk after last night's defeat. Two very beatable teams.
Nigel - the home Pat's game is on Setanta afaik. And Sligo may well do their own stream like last night.
18/07/2014, 11:40 AM
Real kick in the teeth for Dundalk after last night's defeat. Two very beatable teams.
Nigel - the home Pat's game is on Setanta afaik. And Sligo may well do their own stream like last night.
Twas Rosenborg that ran the stream last night. Would like to see Sligo run their own stream though for those who can't make it. The stadium will be a sellout regardless, so won't be losing any revenue over it, in fact, if they ran a stream and charged a few quid like Rosenborg did, they'd soon make a heap of money from Norwegian viewers.
18/07/2014, 11:41 AM
Was it? Fair enough. They were charging for it; would have expected some graphics or something beyond a guy with a camera if they were charging.
DannyInvincible
18/07/2014, 11:42 AM
Dundalk v Hadjuk highlights.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o7nxiuu1phU
Bah, Hoban was in acres of space for that effort that hit the post. The defending was very casual, but you have to take those chances when they're gifted to you.
Nah Nah Nah Nah
18/07/2014, 11:47 AM
Was it? Fair enough. They were charging for it; would have expected some graphics or something beyond a guy with a camera if they were charging.
Yeah it was Rosenborg. They do it for all their home games if they're not on Norwegian TV apparently (well when I say all they did it for their league game at the weekend as well so am presuming so). In fairness they advertised it as one camera, standard definition and no replays.
Don't know if we'll do a stream. We did one a few years ago for one of the games but didn't charge for it.
18/07/2014, 11:49 AM
It was 0-0 in Parkhead. How drunk were you?!
Ah yes I do recall now but the crazy match that was going on in Tranmere could have convinced anyone they were blind drunk on water! The great memory of that evening still stands though no matter how foggy and that was the utter disbelief by so many around that LoI clubs were really putting it up to Scotlands big two at the time before Shels imploded. (didnt they concede late the previous season against Kilmarnock....a regular issue for Loi sides in Europe it seems).
18/07/2014, 11:54 AM
There's highlights of our game http://www.tv2.no/v/829833/
DannyInvincible
18/07/2014, 12:01 PM
There's highlights of our game http://www.tv2.no/v/829833/
I can't really make out what happened for Rosenborg's goal due to the picture quality. Did Rogers flap it into the net?