View Full Version : League of Ireland in Europe 2014
01/07/2014, 3:56 PM
https://twitter.com/JeunesseEsch
Updates every minute or so on Jeunesse twitter account.
01/07/2014, 4:01 PM
Nonsense..this Ibrahimovic has a much better scoring record. Actually, has a ridiculously high scoring record.
It's ok. I guess... (http://ie.soccerway.com/players/sanel-ibrahimovic/141149/)
Though if Suarez can get a sneak loan deal to Kosovo, you never know what Zlatan would get up to.
ger121
01/07/2014, 4:04 PM
All Dundalk so far based on the uefa match tracker
01/07/2014, 4:14 PM
7 shots to 1 so far, Cherrie yet to be woken up.
01/07/2014, 4:20 PM
A case for me of watching one game, updates on another and missing both
Crowd shot
https://twitter.com/DundalkFC/status/483999135897755649/photo/1
ger121
01/07/2014, 4:44 PM
I hope Dundalk take some of these chances they're creating. 11-2 in terms of shots.
01/07/2014, 4:59 PM
1-0 Dundalk, Towell penalty.
DannyInvincible
01/07/2014, 5:01 PM
Good stuff!
01/07/2014, 5:02 PM
Be nice to see them go on and get another one or two.
01/07/2014, 5:11 PM
2-0, Towell again.
PartySaint
01/07/2014, 5:18 PM
Fair play to Dundalk, any win away in Europe should be celebrated.
01/07/2014, 5:19 PM
PartySaint with the tactical jinx there.
PartySaint
01/07/2014, 5:20 PM
PartySaint with the tactical jinx there.
Hopefully not, I want them to get through a few rounds.
01/07/2014, 5:21 PM
Towell denied his hat-trick by a good save from the keeper.
Suarez on Jeunesse Esch.ibra also playing !!
Jeunesse Esch @JeunesseEsch (https://twitter.com/JeunesseEsch) · 11s (https://twitter.com/JeunesseEsch/status/484024106158149634)
Esch now have Ibrahimovic and Suarez on the pitch!
pateen
01/07/2014, 5:36 PM
Mightened as well book your tickets to Split lads.
Well done Dundalk.
UEFA updates were pretty good.
01/07/2014, 5:36 PM
Good result for Dundalk. Sounds a better performance than their last trip to Luxembourg. I still reckon they can make an impact on Europe this season.
MeathDrog
01/07/2014, 5:40 PM
Great result from Dundalk. Well done.
Dave77
01/07/2014, 5:46 PM
Great to get an away win. Hopefully derry, Sligo and pats can get some good results too.
Jim Murphy stat on OrielWeb.
First away win in Europe since Linfield 1979 (also 2-0) and Towell got the first double since Cathal Muckians two in the same match.
TheBoss
01/07/2014, 7:33 PM
A Few other minor stats:
First LOI win since July 2012, when Pats beat Siroki Brijeg.
First 2 goal win since July 2011, when Pats again beat Shakhter Karagandy.
First Away win since Shamrock Rovers beat Partizan Belgrade in August 2011 (13 matches between both wins).
40th time that a LOI team has scored 2 or more goals in an Away match, 33rd time with 2 goals only.
3rd time that a LOI team has won 2-0 Away.
Well done to Dundalk. Hopefully they can win the home leg as well. They've come a long way since Sean McCaffrey.
Good result for Dundalk. Sounds a better performance than their last trip to Luxembourg. I still reckon they can make an impact on Europe this season.
Well to be fair Hajuck Split (baring a major collapse) will be a massive test and unless we can get something out of the away leg that will be as far as we'll go.
I was in Lux last time, 2010 we were cruising at 3-1 up but really struggled for the last 20 with the 30c heat, then again that was a completely different team 4 years ago and Fozzie wasn't the best at organising defences.
Very happy with the result tonight though, I had a mate at the game, said we dominated 2nd half, should have got a 3rd, but still a brilliant win.
adamd164
01/07/2014, 8:56 PM
Great result, congrats and well done!
those coefficient points won't go astray.
02/07/2014, 12:16 AM
A Few other minor stats:
Some more minor stats here
http://statsthatarepointless.wordpress.com/2014/07/01/complete-records-for-the-2014-league-of-ireland-entries-in-uefa-competitions/
those coefficient points won't go astray.
Today's win added 0.05 to every club's co-efficient for next season
02/07/2014, 12:22 AM
If Dundalk win another 20 games we'll be laughing so.
02/07/2014, 12:35 AM
If Dundalk win another 20 games we'll be laughing so.
We'll try.
BTW Dundalk's 2-0 "away" win v Linfield in '79 was played behind closed doors in Harleem,Netherlands(Now dissolved i believe) following trouble in OP in the 1st leg.Behind closed doors meant nothing to some supporters at that time because at least 25 Dundalk fans were in the ground that night.
Ezeikial
02/07/2014, 8:49 AM
BTW Dundalk's 2-0 "away" win v Linfield in '79 was played behind closed doors in Harleem,Netherlands(Now dissolved i believe) following trouble in OP in the 1st leg.
Thats an understated description of what happened that night in Dundalk!
http://www.dundalkfc.com/history/dundalk-fc-in-europe/1979-european-cup-linfield/
I think that still should be considered an away game, I wouldn't agree it meant nothing, was a very important win as it put the club into the last 32 of the EC as it was at the time to play Hibs Malta next, then we lost 3-2 on agg to Celtic in the last 16.
02/07/2014, 11:23 AM
Well to be fair Hajuck Split (baring a major collapse) will be a massive test and unless we can get something out of the away leg that will be as far as we'll go.
I agree with that. But that's exactly what Shels did a few years back. And are they that different to Partizan, who Rovers beat?
I just reckon the current Dundalk team are more likely than most recent LoI teams to be able to produce a shock.
02/07/2014, 11:54 AM
Thats an understated description of what happened that night in Dundalk!
http://www.dundalkfc.com/history/dundalk-fc-in-europe/1979-european-cup-linfield/
'5 minutes before the break a cross from Terry Daly eluded Muckian but a bad bounce took it away from Dunlop. Only a miraculous clearance by Peter Dornan kept the score goalless at half time'.
That damn Oriel pitch again!
oriel
02/07/2014, 12:46 PM
I saw a photo at the time of Liam Devine (rip) celebrating scoring for Dlk and in the background two fans are on the pitch fighting, one was on the ground. The home match in Oriel Park that summer in 1979 was definitely up there with the most violent crowd disturbances ever at a sporting event in the country.
Keely mentions other mad stuff during the match on the report that was posted.
02/07/2014, 1:43 PM
Thats mad stuff, great read.
Esch being in pre-season helped, but to be honest we looked a different class to them. Very pleasing performance, result and trip!
swinfordfc
02/07/2014, 7:41 PM
Well done Dundalk - 0.25 in the co-efficient bag already - same as last year!
TheBoss
03/07/2014, 3:29 AM
A brief clip from the Banga-Sligo press conference is on the Banga site here: http://www.fkbanga.lt/index.php/media/video/1314-banga140702
Forward to about 02:50 for Sligo.
03/07/2014, 6:31 AM
Well done Dundalk - 0.25 in the co-efficient bag already - same as last year!
Had to check that, wow last year was really that bad.
Straightstory
03/07/2014, 8:59 AM
I see the Sligo game is at 4pm. Any live streaming anywhere?
Nah Nah Nah Nah
03/07/2014, 10:03 AM
I see the Sligo game is at 4pm. Any live streaming anywhere?
www.futbolo.tv
Straightstory
03/07/2014, 10:12 AM
Very good. Thanks!
03/07/2014, 10:20 AM
Hope to catch the game live. Watched Zalgiris v Pat's last year on that website and it was pretty good quality.
pateen
03/07/2014, 10:23 AM
www.futbolo.tv
Will this happen do you think?
Fotbolo did the same for the Dundalk game
03/07/2014, 10:44 AM
Will this happen do you think?
Fotbolo did the same for the Dundalk gameYes, it's perfect quality too. 4pm here http://www.futbolo.tv/rungtynes/1501/banga-sligo-rovers-fc
pateen
03/07/2014, 10:57 AM
Yes, it's perfect quality too. 4pm here http://www.futbolo.tv/rungtynes/1501/banga-sligo-rovers-fc
Brilliant,
I'll get the dutch gold in
03/07/2014, 11:16 AM
Sligo had better beware, their opponent's team is full of bangers.
PartySaint
03/07/2014, 12:18 PM
It's looking like our home leg is going to be moved to tallaght, the Gardai have decided this not the club.
03/07/2014, 12:44 PM
It's looking like our home leg is going to be moved to tallaght, the Gardai have decided this not the club.
A small bit of a disaster for Pats really to surrender the home advantage. Maybe the RDS would be a better option? Maximise a bit of a crowd and make a big event of it? Or is that crazy talk?
Sligo had better beware, their opponent's team is full of bangers.
http://tropdamour.files.wordpress.com/2013/02/grumpy4.jpg
White Horse
03/07/2014, 2:40 PM
Why? Presumably it is all ticket. Only those with tickets should turn up.