View Full Version : Attendances 2014

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23

20/04/2014, 9:00 AM
A bit more than that but not much more, I'd say 300ish. Disappointing, no real excuses, but we should have played it last night really.

Can play it any night ya want it won't make a difference considering we don't even put the match day signs up In the town anymore, absolutely no promotion of te club going on at all, if ya drove through Longford you wouldn't know we have a club let a lone a game. 200 or 300 for an Easter weekend and superb weather is awful.

PartySaint
20/04/2014, 10:49 AM
Yeah is say it was under 2,500 but still more than 2,084 that was given, good Bohs crowd

poster
20/04/2014, 11:54 AM
You wouldn't know with some of the Sligo fans that post on here, they genuinely seem a bit touched.

Ha..

Galway.

Olander
20/04/2014, 12:13 PM
Ha..

Galway.
Obviously you are one of the few that wasn't banned off here for posting pictures of penises, a hilarious, well thought out gag by Sligo supporters. A real bright bunch.

poster
20/04/2014, 12:29 PM
Obviously you are one of the few that wasn't banned off here for posting pictures of penises, a hilarious, well thought out gag by Sligo supporters. A real bright bunch.

Ha...

20/04/2014, 5:58 PM
They're back. Galway have a teanm again (this year)

Olander
20/04/2014, 6:22 PM
They're back. Galway have a teanm again (this year)
Another survivor from #penisgate rearing his ugly head.

Go on the RHOVVVVEEERSSSS!!!!!!

Fivesilver
20/04/2014, 7:06 PM

In fairness, @poster, he has a point - that was a very lazy comeback. You could have put a bit of effort into it - at the very least a DVD and a spreadsheet.

WoodquayBoy
21/04/2014, 1:12 AM
And he should listen to you because that comeback was so much better. You know how people say the old ones are the best? They're wrong - the old ones are just that, old ones. YAWN

Fivesilver
21/04/2014, 5:41 AM
Sorry, it is a bit old alright. No one uses DVDs any more. Next promotion bid to be presented live via Google Hangout then? With a regional block on Dundalk, naturally.

Crusty-baiting isn't what it used to be...

poster
21/04/2014, 10:11 AM
Another survivor from #penisgate rearing his ugly head.

Go on the RHOVVVVEEERSSSS!!!!!!

How very mature of you.

Enjoy.

Battery Rover
21/04/2014, 5:29 PM
Athlone Town vs Dundalk 502 official

adamd164
21/04/2014, 5:33 PM
442 at UCD v Cork City. Looked like a majority of away fans... and I'm not joking.

Dalymountrower
21/04/2014, 6:28 PM
442 at UCD v Cork City. Looked like a majority of away fans... and I'm not joking.

UCD have a couple of hundred loyal fans, fair play to them.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
21/04/2014, 7:43 PM
1,140 in Dalymount

harry crumb
21/04/2014, 8:36 PM
1,140 in Dalymount

The "Big" club.

What a joke.

White Horse
21/04/2014, 8:41 PM
Athlone Town vs Dundalk 502 official

We had a decent number of fans there.

Where have all the Athlone fans gone?

ATFC-1887
21/04/2014, 9:07 PM
Broken record i know, but as far as i know alot of the tickets are not being scanned on the way in. Mine wasnt anyways. Season tickets arent being scanned either. So whatever total them machines are giving is wrong. And even by looking at it was way more than 502 at it. And to be fair when a team are 9 games without a point people arent going to show up. As Dundalk know from 2011 when ye played bray and attendance was 200+. Not a dig, just saying it happens to all clubs when yer losing.

White Horse
21/04/2014, 9:17 PM
Broken record i know, but as far as i know alot of the tickets are not being scanned on the way in. Mine wasnt anyways. Season tickets arent being scanned either. So whatever total them machines are giving is wrong. And even by looking at it was way more than 502 at it. And to be fair when a team are 9 games without a point people arent going to show up. As Dundalk know from 2011 when ye played bray and attendance was 200+. Not a dig, just saying it happens to all clubs when yer losing.

It did look more than 500. We had 200-250 in a very small section of the stand. As I looked down the stand there seemed to be a decent number of people.

21/04/2014, 9:17 PM
We had a decent number of fans there.

Where have all the Athlone fans gone?
They had a committee meeting that clashed with the match.

21/04/2014, 9:41 PM
Damn scanners keeping people away from the match

21/04/2014, 10:33 PM
Right boys and girls. Let's cut the inter club fighting here. I enjoy it as much as the next man but it's drowning out the actual information and dragging the thread down. I don't have time to get rid of the garbage right now but may revisit tomorrow.

ger121
21/04/2014, 10:40 PM
The "Big" club.

What a joke.

It wasn't that long ago your crowds weren't so great either when you were further down the table.

PartySaint
21/04/2014, 10:53 PM
Looked less than 502 in Athlone on Soccer Republic just there, mainly Dundalk fans.

Dalymountrower
22/04/2014, 9:01 AM
The "Big" club.

What a joke.

Over a thousand on a bank holiday monday was more than I expected. T

So you are apparently old enough to remember the "big" club but too young to remember Cork opening their gates for free attendance and still getting a crap crowd?

Anyway Bohs twice the crowd pullers than Cork for the respective away gams v UCD this season

23/04/2014, 9:16 AM
Alan Cawley's views on attendances here

http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/irish/2014/0422/610286-cawley/

I think the Easter attendances were very impressive, and Cawley says that with a bit of imagination they could be better. I agree.

The League seems to be shaping up into a very interesting contest this year with 5 or 6 sides all playing well. There seems to be a great buzz down in Cork.

EAFC_rdfl
23/04/2014, 4:12 PM
Right boys and girls. Let's cut the inter club fighting here. I enjoy it as much as the next man but it's drowning out the actual information and dragging the thread down. I don't have time to get rid of the garbage right now but may revisit tomorrow.

Thank God I got it read before you got round to cleaning up, great craic!!

citybone
25/04/2014, 7:39 AM
Over a thousand on a bank holiday monday was more than I expected. T

So you are apparently old enough to remember the "big" club but too young to remember Cork opening their gates for free attendance and still getting a crap crowd?

Anyway Bohs twice the crowd pullers than Cork for the respective away gams v UCD this season

our average in the first division was bigger than that.

ForzaForth
25/04/2014, 9:05 AM
Attendance at Wexford v Galway was 302

25/04/2014, 11:54 AM
Attendance at Wexford v Galway was 302

Credit to the Wexford fans behind the double the attendance campaign, they said after the Longford game they wanted to double the shocking attendance of 198 and they've nearly done that in the games since to be fair. Fan iniative can go a long way.

NeverFeltBetter
25/04/2014, 12:10 PM
Did Derry/Limerick have an announced attendance?

25/04/2014, 4:16 PM
Week 7: (Including last Mondays games)

PREMIER DIVISION

Athlone - 895 (754; 271; 200; 354; 462)
Bohs - 1,734 (1,597; 1,496; 1,488; 1,835; 2,366)
Bray - 613 (891; 965; 1,121; 952; 1,169)
Cork - 4,441 (1,965; 2,786; 2,128 FD; 1,693 FD; 2,681)
Derry - 1,240 (1,446; 1,460; 2,135; 1,965 FD; 2,436)
Drogheda - 1,330 (817; 977; 811; 859; 1,106)
Dundalk - 2,256 (1,997; 949; 1,355; 1,877; 2,371)
Limerick - 1,101 (1,649; 734 FD; 569 FD; 598 FD; 429 FD)
Pat's - 1,827 (1,687; 1,474; 1,346; 1,756; 1,631)
Rovers - 2,471 (2,763; 3,127; 3,779; 3,794; 3,611)
Sligo - 2,395 (2,342; 3,007; 2,103; 1,807; 1,756)
UCD - 414 (487; 506; 558; 610; 272 FD)

FIRST DIVISION

Cobh - 275 (439; 2008 - 1,122 PD; 681; 368; 403)
Harps - 614 (479; 429; 433; 644; 480) -
Galway - 1,342 (No previous)
Longford - 450 (379; 365; 315; 230; 260)
Rovers B - 353 (No previous)
Shels - 769 (1,114 PD; 1,187 PD; 781; 737; 972)
Waterford - 652 (478; 453; 466; 619; 434)
Wexford - 258 (227; 302; 216; 343; 494)

PREMIER AVERAGE: 1,750 (1,566; 1,630; 1,547; 1,512; 2,010)
FIRST DIVISION AVERAGE: 624 (391; 372; 578; 682; 417)

OVERALL AVERAGE: 1,370 (1,140; 1,125; 1,110; 1,095; 1,175)

OVERALL WEEKLY ATTENDANCE: 17,311 (Not including Monday games)

OVERALL FIRST ATTENDANCE: 16,843
OVERALL PREMIER ATTENDANCE: 92,748

OVERALL COMBINED ATTENDANCE: 109,591

25/04/2014, 4:25 PM
Anything official from Tallaght or Hunky Dunky park on Monday?

Pablo Escobar
25/04/2014, 6:08 PM
I'd expect ours to be affected tonight due to awful weather.

adamd164
25/04/2014, 8:04 PM
3,711 at Turner's Cross. Not bad considering that the weather was awful in Cork tonight, but would have expected higher otherwise.

25/04/2014, 8:10 PM
443 in Waterford

ForzaForth
25/04/2014, 9:52 PM
Credit to the Wexford fans behind the double the attendance campaign, they said after the Longford game they wanted to double the shocking attendance of 198 and they've nearly done that in the games since to be fair. Fan iniative can go a long way.

Thanks Outspoken. There seems to be a lot of volunteer effort off the pitch this year and it seems to be paying dividends. Credit to all those involved.

25/04/2014, 10:22 PM
819 at a pretty underwhelmed Thomond Park

PartySaint
26/04/2014, 1:18 AM
1,257 at Richmond tonight

Green&whitearmy
26/04/2014, 8:55 AM
I'd say around 1000 in Bray last night with maybe 250 dundalk fans there. very good game as well with both keepers making some great saves.

NeverFeltBetter
26/04/2014, 2:20 PM

And that's with Taylor being aired in every organ asking for fans to turn up. What a terrible advertisement for Limerick it turned out to be.

oriel
26/04/2014, 2:50 PM

What season is the most realistic return to Markets Field, 2015 or at some point during 2016? That would surely make a difference to fans around the city, and would provide a huge boost surely?

bluewhitearmy
26/04/2014, 3:01 PM
What season is the most realistic return to Markets Field, 2015 or at some point during 2016? That would surely make a difference to fans around the city, and would provide a huge boost surely?

Honestly no I don't think so not with how poor the plans are.

NeverFeltBetter
26/04/2014, 3:41 PM
You can have the best Market's Field possible, but the results and type of football played right now would have it hosting Jackman Park numbers very quickly.

27/04/2014, 1:23 AM

The Markets Field is a local scandal being perpetrated by a clueless quango.

It has the serious potential to finally kill senior football in the city.

But thats a fight for a small bit down the road, at the moment its smply a case of terrible team attracts terrible crowds.

The board gambled on cutting the budget by the looks of things and it aint working out too well

27/04/2014, 1:25 AM
Did Derry/Limerick have an announced attendance?

I actually counted 456 about five minutes before kick off (i need to reevaluate my life!) it filled up a nice bit after but id be amazed if there was more than 700 there.

27/04/2014, 1:44 AM
The Markets Field is a local scandal being perpetrated by a clueless quango.

It has the serious potential to finally kill senior football in the city.
I don't understand this. Even a basic ground is surely better than paying top-drawer for Thomond?

27/04/2014, 3:23 AM
I don't understand this. Even a basic ground is surely better than paying top-drawer for Thomond?

Thomond was only ever stop gap and wouldnt be happening without pos money anyway.

The Markets Field is supposed to be your home for the future and Wexford aside will be the worst ground in the country.

I cannot over emphasise how bad it is but the fact its quite a bit worse than Jackman should give you an idea

donnrua
27/04/2014, 9:09 AM
The plans are nowhere near as bad as Jackman. I admit the plans are pretty poor but anything, and I repeat anything, is better than Thomond Park. I have been a Limerick supporter since the late 70's and I will not be attending matches in Thomond Park again. It has nothing to offer from a football perspective. From day one the football crowd have been treated like Ryanair passengers, the pitch is poor,there's a complete lack of atmosphere, postponed games, no parking, the football on offer doesn't help either. The sooner we're out of there the better. The Markets Field is the spiritual home and The Markets Field is where we need to be, and fast. Another season in TP and we're as good as dead! Imagine what the player budget will be like next season if we have to stay in TP? It doesn't bear thinking about but I reckon it would be something close to the teams Noel O'Connor put out.

WoodquayBoy
27/04/2014, 10:09 AM
Woeful crowd in Longford last night, steward from gate told me 350, and about 50 of those were Galway so that's very poor from the locals. Then again, if your team lives in greater Dublin area and trains in Leixlip, I'd imagine it is hard to build a relationship with the town? Or is there more to it than that? Spotted Johnny Glynn there - is he being lined up to replace Cousins, or was he 'spying' for Shels, who Longford play next week?