View Full Version : Attendances 2014
14/09/2014, 12:23 PM
And BennoCelt.Your message file is full.Clear the fecking thing ffs. just back in basel, in time!
Fester
15/09/2014, 7:51 AM
Definitely more there last night but not 500 more.
Do Pats include Season Ticket holders for league games?
2015 at OP tonight.Decent Monday attendance,bad result for us :(
16/09/2014, 12:06 AM
2015 at OP tonight.Decent Monday attendance,bad result for us :(
2015! Must be an omen for the retention of the league and another push on a domestic treble, group stages of the CL too! Attendences are tough enough to gauge but I definately thought 2500 was there considering the 50 or so Shams fans that turned up and broke their boycott of Oriel!
PartySaint
16/09/2014, 11:54 AM
Do Pats include Season Ticket holders for league games?
All tickets get scanned now so I'd assume so
plenty of guests/media enter without tickets
16/09/2014, 1:36 PM
250 was the figure given for Avondale v Harps.
17/09/2014, 10:39 PM
793 official in Finn Park.
17/09/2014, 10:42 PM
That's not bad for a Wednesday night with Champions League on TV.
17/09/2014, 10:59 PM
Non-league side, Wednesday night, replay, Champions league...happy enough really.
Also, would have reckoned closer to 1,000
17/09/2014, 11:01 PM
Harps for Europe!
17/09/2014, 11:02 PM
Non-league side, Wednesday night, replay, Champions league...happy enough really.
How many do you reckon you'd get down to Dublin on a Sunday for a semi-final (hypothetically)?
18/09/2014, 7:56 AM
How many do you reckon you'd get down to Dublin on a Sunday for a semi-final (hypothetically)?
Never underestimate a Donegal bandwagon. Difficult to know how many, but with the gah finished, it could be anything between 500-1000 for a first semi final in 15 years.
At least half of them would be over 80 anyway
DaveyPats
18/09/2014, 12:16 PM
Is that your biggest gate of the year so far?
18/09/2014, 12:38 PM
Is that your biggest gate of the year so far?
It is not. 823 first game of the season. 757 is next closest. Started dropping midway through the season to 400 as it usually does with Harps. GAA is the first sport in Donegal the past few years and Harps cannot compete.
Trainee
20/09/2014, 8:44 PM
901 in Terryland for Galway fc v Harps
21/09/2014, 7:19 AM
901 in Terryland for Galway fc v Harps
Pleasantly surprised by the crowd. Good number in the old stand and a decent atmosphere. Definitely a place that needs Premier football.
Nah Nah Nah Nah
21/09/2014, 8:53 AM
1,247 in The Showgrounds
nr637
22/09/2014, 10:14 AM
What was the attendance for the League Cup Final at Oriel Park on Saturday anyone please?
ForzaForth
25/09/2014, 6:47 PM
482 at Wexford v Waterford
25/09/2014, 7:44 PM
Two First Division Rounds left...already.
PREMIER DIVISION
Athlone - 606 (754; 271; 200; 354; 462)
Bohs - 1,478 (1,597; 1,496; 1,488; 1,835; 2,366)
Bray - 624 (891; 965; 1,121; 952; 1,169)
Cork - 3,706 (1,965; 2,786; 2,128 FD; 1,693 FD; 2,681)
Derry - 1,171 (1,446; 1,460; 2,135; 1,965 FD; 2,436)
Drogheda - 1,118 (817; 977; 811; 859; 1,106)
Dundalk - 2,303 (1,997; 949; 1,355; 1,877; 2,371)
Limerick - 765 (1,649; 734 FD; 569 FD; 598 FD; 429 FD)
Pat's - 1,382 (1,687; 1,474; 1,346; 1,756; 1,631)
Rovers - 2,547 (2,763; 3,127; 3,779; 3,794; 3,611)
Sligo - 2,101 (2,342; 3,007; 2,103; 1,807; 1,756)
UCD - 371 (487; 506; 558; 610; 272 FD)
FIRST DIVISION
Cobh - 223 (439; 2008 - 1,122 PD; 681; 368; 403)
Harps - 453 (479; 429; 433; 644; 480) -
Galway - 992 (No previous)
Longford - 442 (379; 365; 315; 230; 260)
Rovers B - 261 (No previous)
Shels - 712 (1,114 PD; 1,187 PD; 781; 737; 972)
Waterford - 491 (478; 453; 466; 619; 434)
Wexford - 334 (227; 302; 216; 343; 494)
PREMIER AVERAGE: 1,508 (1,566; 1,630; 1,547; 1,512; 2,010)
FIRST DIVISION AVERAGE: 494 (391; 372; 578; 682; 417)
OVERALL AVERAGE: 1,128 (1,140; 1,125; 1,110; 1,095; 1,175)
OVERALL FIRST ATTENDANCE: 49,375
OVERALL PREMIER ATTENDANCE: 251,845
OVERALL COMBINED ATTENDANCE: 301,220
NeverFeltBetter
25/09/2014, 7:52 PM
Looking at Limerick's past numbers, it seems like last year was just a Premier Division newbies blip in the level of support generally, and has now dropped to more expected levels, just a few hundred above what it was in 2009. That's all promotion got the club.
25/09/2014, 9:10 PM
I think a lot of away fans would have made a determined effort to check that off the away list last year due to the Thomond novelty factor.
25/09/2014, 9:39 PM
How are we looking at this stage nigel? Will FD attendances beat last seasons figures?
What was the attendance for the League Cup Final at Oriel Park on Saturday anyone please?
There were various figures reported, from 'estimated 4,500' to 3,200, the wide variance was partly due to safety limits and restricted amount of tickets put on sale by the FAI.
The figure that most agreed on as per the dlk fans forum appears to be 3,500.
26/09/2014, 8:35 AM
I think a lot of away fans would have made a determined effort to check that off the away list last year due to the Thomond novelty factor.
The opening game in Thomond was the live TV derby against Cork with a bumper crowd too. That added 100 or more to the average alone.
And it was rubbish, from what I recall. Bit like Rovers' opening game in the RDS - bumper crowd for that; 0-0; feck all next game.
And conversely, I think the sheer size of the place hinders them locally. It's clearly a great ground but with less than a thousand in it, the crowd feels way worse than it would in a 3,000 stadium
White Horse
26/09/2014, 9:52 AM
Thomond is probably my least favourite away ground despite the wonderful conditions. There could be 2,000 fans roaring their heads off and it would still be like a funeral. It's bad enough for away fans but I really feel for the home fans who have to go there every second game. The sooner Limerick have their Markets Field stadium, the better.
donnrua
26/09/2014, 10:00 AM
And conversely, I think the sheer size of the place hinders them locally. It's clearly a great ground but with less than a thousand in it, the crowd feels way worse than it would in a 3,000 stadium
Very true, the size of the place means there's no atmosphere. The s***e football we played under Stuart Taylor didn't help matters plus we went out of both cup competitions early. Our home form has been pretty dreadful since we got promoted which is a kick in the balls to attendances too. Personally I hate the place and I'd rather not go, and plenty of other regulars have said the same, but it looks like we're going to be stuck there for another season at least. Unless there's a serious improvement on the playing front next season I think attendances will drop even lower. We can't get into the Markets Field soon enough in my opinion. Thomond Park is slowly killing us!
NeverFeltBetter
26/09/2014, 1:08 PM
The opening game in Thomond was the live TV derby against Cork with a bumper crowd too. That added 100 or more to the average alone.
And it was rubbish, from what I recall. Bit like Rovers' opening game in the RDS - bumper crowd for that; 0-0; feck all next game.
Pretty much. I was there, dire game altogether.
26/09/2014, 9:57 PM
Harps v Shels - 404
wonder88
26/09/2014, 11:28 PM
Interesting views on Thomond Park expressed here. Was at the Bohs cup game this season and twice last year, and crowd and atmosphere was better then. But I would not go along with the opinion that the big stadium keeps fans away. It is just another excuse maybe. Talking to a long time Limerick supporter down there, I think you are looking at 3 years at least for Market Field to re-open. Do St Pats fans feel the rugby took away from the crowd for the visit of Shamrock Rovers?
PartySaint
27/09/2014, 12:54 AM
2,188 given as the attendance for Richmond tonight which it hilarious. Easily 3,000 there
adamd164
27/09/2014, 8:43 AM
3,077 at Turner's Cross last night. TV might have reduced it a bit.
Hope for higher next week anyway.
27/09/2014, 9:11 AM
Harps v Shels - 404
Has to be an error!
27/09/2014, 9:17 AM
Has to be an error!
That made me laugh more than it should have. Shame on you.
wonder88
27/09/2014, 2:33 PM
Good to see a correction, with a 3k plus crowd at Richmond, sadly less than thousand at Dalymount. So difficult to get fans to go to Loi games especially in Dublin. I think rugby has taken away some of the support(however small) in recent years.
27/09/2014, 2:35 PM
I think rugby has taken away some of the support(however small) in recent years.
They were worse ten years ago, when Leinster could barely get 1000 for an interpro.
Dalymountrower
27/09/2014, 4:40 PM
Leinster hoovering up LOI fans in Dublin is one excuse I havent heard before.!
4 games being squeezed into eleven days makes it diffcult for any fan to attend all of them
White Horse
27/09/2014, 7:03 PM
The eggchasers aren't hoovering up fans in Dundalk. Then again, they are really a Dublin team despite their name.
27/09/2014, 7:24 PM
The eggchasers aren't hoovering up fans in Dundalk. Then again, they are really a Dublin team despite their name.
A team based in the capital of a country or region hardly means a team is exclusive to the capital. Im sure Munster is a lot more than a Limerick club, or the Republic of Ireland a Dublin team either. There are plenty of Leinster fans in Dundalk. Whether it impacts on attandances in Oriel I dont know. It was damn annoying when the Cork v Sligo match was turned over in the pub for the Leinster game, those watching LoI didnt get their way!!
Sorry Nigel, hope ye didnt have a mouthfull of tea when reading what I thought was a pretty lame joke myself!
27/09/2014, 7:29 PM
Leinster is a bit more province-wide than it would have been a decade ago and they've put a lot of effort into deflecting from the Dublin posh-boy image. They wouldn't have had the success they've had if they hadn't been able to broaden their appeal, I think. It's something I'd love to see LOI clubs do but the money's not there - it would have to come from the FAI.
Paddyfield
28/09/2014, 8:12 PM
Connacht Rugby frequently attract 3,000 to games. There were 5000+ at the last home game. Last year, they had 9000+ at one game.
I've been to 2 Connacht games ever and it is really a brilliant set up. The facilities at The Connacht Sportsgrounds should not be underestimated. It's only a few hundred meters walk to Eyre Square which is a hub for all city buses. There is a fine grandstand with a high standard of catering facilities and bars. It's not a patch on Thomond Park or RDS but rugby has definitely grown as a spectator sport in the west of Ireland.
Galway FC's last home game was switched from Friday to Saturday so as to not clash with Connacht V Leinster
30/09/2014, 4:23 PM
during that game the temperature fell to minus 9 and plenty of people left as it was so damn cold.
patrickccfc
30/09/2014, 6:01 PM
during that game the temperature fell to minus 9 and plenty of people left as it was so damn cold.
Yeah never forget how cold it was that day
Calcio Jack
30/09/2014, 7:52 PM
24,000 attended the 0-0 draw with Pats but not quiet feck all at the second match in the RDS - it was against Derry and 12,500 turned up to see a 1-1 draw... I take your point though
wonder88
30/09/2014, 8:27 PM
931 at St Pats v Bohs. Poor crowd also at Tallaght, can Dublin support so many Loi teams? It is understandable from a cost point of view, but it is not helping the game of soccer/league to develop, to have so many teams based in the capital.
This is a dreadful crowd by Pats, can't really expect Bohs to take many as they have nothing to play for. Pats on the other hand are trying to seal a euro spot and are in the cup semi final.
Will be interesting to see what the crowd was in Tallaght.
Re Pats and Bohs Dublin was a nightmare traffic wise due to what happened on the motorway. People were still arriving at 810 to the ticket booth, saying what was normally a 15 minute drive was over an hour tonight. A lot of lads who I would normally stand with, missed game for the above reason. I imagine both had some effect on the crowd.
A couple of our players even turned up late due to the mess with the traffic!