View Full Version : Attendances 2014

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 [17] 18 19 20 21 22 23

dundalkfc10
29/08/2014, 10:58 PM
What's the age profile of Dundalk's fans? I'd say you could take a few off for Electric Picnic and it's anything like Dublin, a lot of people will be heading into town rather than going to games. That's no excuse for Rovers' ****-poor attendance though, it mostly kids there this evening.

Yeh suppose Electric Picnic would have taken a few off and its many families last weekend of the summer with all the kids basically back to school full time on Monday but still think we should have hit 3000

Be very intresting to see our attendances are for our 2 games against yourselves in Oriel. You take the biggest away crowds by far usually and whether we like to admit it (or any LOI fans likes to admit) Rovers are the big "draw" for getting floating fans/non regulars to games

29/08/2014, 11:06 PM
Yeh suppose Electric Picnic would have taken a few off and its many families last weekend of the summer with all the kids basically back to school full time on Monday but still think we should have hit 3000

Be very intresting to see our attendances are for our 2 games against yourselves in Oriel. You take the biggest away crowds by far usually and whether we like to admit it (or any LOI fans likes to admit) Rovers are the big "draw" for getting floating fans/non regulars to games
I think we'll have a good crowd up on cup final day for the day that's in it - a lot of people come out of the woodwork for big away days and it's probably the only trophy we'll have a shot at this year. The league game might be a bit smaller than usual owing to the league being out of reach and people will already have paid for one trip up.

30/08/2014, 1:21 PM
Was 368 official in Finn Park last night. Awfully disappointing, but expected given that 30,000 are travelling to Croke Park on Sunday. Success of Donegal GAA has really affected Harps attendance stats in the past few years.

Comic Book Guy
31/08/2014, 10:16 AM
For what it's worth about 160 at Ramblers v wexford. Season cannot end quick enough for me.

31/08/2014, 11:23 AM
About 300 at Bray v UCD

disgruntled
31/08/2014, 1:11 PM
For what it's worth about 160 at Ramblers v wexford. Season cannot end quick enough for me.

I feel sorry for the genuine Rams fans.
I think the Soccer people of Cobh need to decide if they wan't League of Ireland football in the town at all.

citybone
31/08/2014, 4:47 PM
I feel sorry for the genuine Rams fans.
I think the Soccer people of Cobh need to decide if they wan't League of Ireland football in the town at all.

Relegation to the Munster Senior League? MSL might not accept them in the Premier division i think.

Comic Book Guy
31/08/2014, 5:36 PM
What has got me is a few senior experienced players who would have made a massive difference to the club decide to throw their lot in and play MSL 2nd division. These same guys were well looked after by the club in the good times. What price a bit of loyalty?

disgruntled
31/08/2014, 6:53 PM
What has got me is a few senior experienced players who would have made a massive difference to the club decide to throw their lot in and play MSL 2nd division. These same guys were well looked after by the club in the good times. What price a bit of loyalty?

Football can like that in general.
These day you only find loyalty in the dictionary.
I'm sure if there was money to be had :)

I hope Cobh continue in the League of Ireland.
I know its only the 1st Div but anything would be better that dealing with that shower the MFA.
Sure its a struggle but never give up.

ForzaForth
31/08/2014, 7:43 PM
250 at Wexford Youths v Finn Harps cup match.

31/08/2014, 8:54 PM
no mention of shels attendance..can anyone confirm official attendance.. I thought there was a good crowd at it including a superb turnout of Town fans.. I wouldnt like to make a guess !

31/08/2014, 9:54 PM
250 at Wexford Youths v Finn Harps cup match.

That's a surprise. Thought there was a fair bit more than that.

01/09/2014, 8:51 AM
738 at Eamonn Deacy Park.

surprised by that, our worst league attendance this season.

Comic Book Guy
01/09/2014, 9:35 AM
Football can like that in general.
These day you only find loyalty in the dictionary.
I'm sure if there was money to be had :)

I hope Cobh continue in the League of Ireland.
I know its only the 1st Div but anything would be better that dealing with that shower the MFA.
Sure its a struggle but never give up.

Spot on, I guess 160 is probably to be expected given the season we are having, some clubs probably wouldn't even get that if there were in our situation.
No I hope the club don't give up but I know that if and when the good times come back the people who have deserted us will be back in droves as though nothing happened. That's the bit that gets me, loyalty is skin deep.

01/09/2014, 5:46 PM
surprised by that, our worst league attendance this season.

The fact your saying that is a good sign if you ask me, people will say the size of Galway Etc should be getting more than that for an important leage game but after everything that's gone on in recent years it's great to see a stable GFC back in the league, long may it continue.

01/09/2014, 5:46 PM
no mention of shels attendance..can anyone confirm official attendance.. I thought there was a good crowd at it including a superb turnout of Town fans.. I wouldnt like to make a guess !

Quoted as 800 in the town notes today, seemed about right. 200 from Longford

04/09/2014, 3:27 PM
Think the FAI have won this year's thread by exaggerating their attendance last night by at least 300%.

05/09/2014, 7:59 PM
3,265 at Turner's Cross.

05/09/2014, 8:29 PM
3,265 at Turner's Cross.

Thought there would be a lot more to be honest which says it all about the excellent work done by CCFC this season

05/09/2014, 8:29 PM
What was the att in Inchicore tonight lads? Goal.com had It at over 1600 but surely that's too low?

05/09/2014, 8:30 PM
Thought there would be a lot more to be honest which says it all about the excellent work done by CCFC this season
First Munster game of the season in Limerick probably drew a good few away.

PartySaint
05/09/2014, 9:15 PM
What was the att in Inchicore tonight lads? Goal.com had It at over 1600 but surely that's too low?

It was given as that but that looked a good 500 off.

nr637
06/09/2014, 6:22 PM
[QUOTE=outspoken;1776904]Thought there would be a lot more to be honest which says it all about the excellent work done by CCFC this season[/QUOTE

There was at least 4,000 at the Cross last nite, the figure quoted covers all the scanned tickets. There were loads of kids from under age clubs invited and were allowed through as part of the CCFC local community drive.
Check out the atmosphere at the end of the game and look at the crowd as the teams come off the field.

https://plus.google.com/photos/+tonytobin1/albums/6055699319844663185/6055704126286544226?pid=6055704126286544226&oid=108646912622354413796

trevy
06/09/2014, 6:40 PM
473 at Waterford United v Shelbourne.

Pablo Escobar
06/09/2014, 9:50 PM
First Munster game of the season in Limerick probably drew a good few away.
I'd doubt that it had much impact. The fans of either are virtually mutually exclusive as far as I can make out.

07/09/2014, 9:36 AM
149 at UCD v Limerick

Comic Book Guy
07/09/2014, 3:13 PM
Counted 183 at Ramblers v Harps. I thought it would be less but still disappointing. There'll probably be more at the under 19 game with City next week.

07/09/2014, 8:08 PM
Counted 183 at Ramblers v Harps. I thought it would be less but still disappointing. There'll probably be more at the under 19 game with City next week.

what does that mean for Cobhs future in the LOI? I wonder do ye regret coming back to the league?

cobhlad
07/09/2014, 9:07 PM
what does that mean for Cobhs future in the LOI? I wonder do ye regret coming back to the league?

What kind of comment is that? Oh yes of course we'd rather be a folded club just like Kildare, Kilkenny. People seem to think that Cobh are being forced into the league. It's the best thing that has happened Cobh football in years

Comic Book Guy
07/09/2014, 9:45 PM
To be fair given that this is our worst season in loi I think the attendances compare reasonably well to other clubs who have been through the same. I've been to other grounds where the attendances have been worse.
There's no doubt to me though that the first needs revamping because most of the crowds have been poor.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
08/09/2014, 8:45 PM
1,040 in The Showgrounds tonight. Long time since we had a league crowd that small.

08/09/2014, 8:57 PM
2100 approximately in Oriel.

oriel
08/09/2014, 9:25 PM
2100 approximately in Oriel.

Official attendance 2,171 @dundalkfc

09/09/2014, 1:31 PM
1,040 in The Showgrounds tonight. Long time since we had a league crowd that small.

It's surreal for a first division fan to sit in a stand with over 1000 people and listen to everyone complain about the glory days being over and the attendances being crap. For a nothing to play for Monday night game with only 16 away fans it wasn't a bad attendance

09/09/2014, 3:08 PM
It's surreal for a Longford Town fan to sit in a stand with over 1000 people and listen to everyone complain about the glory days being over and the attendances being crap. For a nothing to play for Monday night game with only 16 away fans it wasn't a bad attendance

Fixed that for you.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
09/09/2014, 6:16 PM
Crowds that small (or big depending on your point of view) won't pay the bills

10/09/2014, 4:17 PM
Fixed that for you.

Last time harps had 1000 in Finn cattle shed park?

10/09/2014, 9:35 PM
Last time harps had 1000 in Finn cattle shed park?

Last season. I'm not sure what your point is.

poster
11/09/2014, 3:18 PM
Last season. I'm not sure what your point is.

He's dissing your crib.

Quayman
11/09/2014, 3:22 PM
Our crowds have not lived up to expectations this season although with two home games left we will probably get a fair few fair weather heads up to the ground with a possible league cup pending(not saying its a sure thing yet)

oriel
11/09/2014, 10:40 PM
Our crowds have not lived up to expectations this season although with two home games left we will probably get a fair few fair weather heads up to the ground with a possible league cup pending(not saying its a sure thing yet)

I'd probably agree, and given the season and quality of football on offer we should have been able to attract a little more. The current avg is 2,300, this is due to only two matches so far been over 3k. There was a 3rd one, but that's not counted in league terms (Hajduk Split)

Two of our biggest games though are our last 2 and we should be able to exceed 3k for the visit of Rovers and 4k for the final game v Cork.

I'm not sure what would be considered a big crowd anymore, we are drawing from a local population of 37k, so it's not a huge base to start with. We also have supporters from the surrounding areas and even over the border, also a lot are are based in Dublin. This obviously involves traveling for fans to see home games, some might pick matches, but there is no reason we can't build on these areas and continue to attract more support next season.

I think it's probably better to have moderate to good crowds but on a consistent basis, as opposed to only a few big crowds, then returning to poor crowds.

Facilities might also be a factor, and it's obvious the old ground needs upgrading. It would be nice to see some improvement in that area sooner rather than later.

12/09/2014, 8:14 PM
952 at Drogs v Derry

12/09/2014, 10:38 PM
Tallaght tonight was 1717

MeathDrog
12/09/2014, 10:43 PM
Two fairly poor crowds for FAI Cup QFs.

wonder88
12/09/2014, 10:50 PM
They are poor crowds for q/f cup matches on a nice evening. Are people still sure that friday night is better than saturday to have the games on. I know that 1 game was a dublin derby and Dundalk are not that far from Dublin so it was not a factor tonight, but saturday is much handy for away fans. It really is proving difficult to get decent numbers into LoI games and for me better facilities would only be a small part(10%) of the reason for this.

PartySaint
12/09/2014, 10:55 PM
2,158 at Richmond, looked about right, although funnily enough that means there was 500 more there than against Dunadlk last week which there wasn't, about the same at both games

13/09/2014, 4:04 AM
Shams fans on their forum calling for a boycott of OP because of poor facilities at the ground.Looks like they were getting some early practice in at Tallaght tonight !! I'm not here to slag off attendances but...Just saying ;)

13/09/2014, 4:10 AM
And BennoCelt.Your message file is full.Clear the fecking thing ffs.

13/09/2014, 9:24 AM
2,158 at Richmond, looked about right, although funnily enough that means there was 500 more there than against Dunadlk last week which there wasn't, about the same at both games

I thought far more at Bohs game than the Dundalk game

PartySaint
13/09/2014, 9:32 AM
I thought far more at Bohs game than the Dundalk game

Definitely more there last night but not 500 more.