View Full Version : Attendances 2014
17/06/2014, 8:59 PM
There was an attendance of 328 at the match in Athlone and yet Drogs fans were(apparently) able to get down the tunnel and to the dressing room doors to confront Drog officials.I'm asking about the security at the ground in this instance?
I don't know the story since they have been promoted as we haven't been up there yet but when they were in the first division it was always fairly easy to walk in to the dressing room/tunnel area if someone wanted to.
ATFC-1887
18/06/2014, 12:23 AM
I thought you were banned ATFC-1887, at least that is what you said in the athlone town statement thread?
We appealed the ban, so we had to be let in until the ban appeal hearing.. All very formal and that
redarmyfaction
20/06/2014, 1:07 PM
It is when you've only been a midtable team for a few weeks and started the season with 2500-3000 a week.
Yeah thats right we were bottom half/relegation zone before that.
27/06/2014, 8:24 PM
2,726 at Turner's Cross. They got more for Derry last month. This World Cup is a pox.
27/06/2014, 8:39 PM
There were no games on today Chuck. No excuses. Except maybe summer.
27/06/2014, 8:54 PM
Summer finished on Wednesday, no excuses. People have been exposed to a barstooling fiesta for the past two weeks.
27/06/2014, 9:26 PM
Summer finished on Wednesday, no excuses. People have been exposed to a barstooling fiesta for the past two weeks.
Must be the endless sunshine here that makes me forget about home's weather. Ah well. I'll continue to barstool from here. No direct bus to Tolka ya see.
27/06/2014, 9:33 PM
Ah yeah, I forgot you were out there where all those awful people are.
27/06/2014, 10:11 PM
Canadians truly are the worst. So brash and loud.
adamd164
27/06/2014, 10:25 PM
Disappointing alright - still the highest attendance in either division though tonight so could be worse all the same! We'll take the hit and move on.
27/06/2014, 10:53 PM
Scarcely 300 in Finn Park tonight. Very disappointing altogether, but hopefully the win, added with a good result against Shamrock Rovers B next week could see a rise in attendance for the next home game.
1065 for Galway v Longford
Ezeikial
28/06/2014, 8:32 PM
According to extratime only 780 at St Pats V Bray.
Surely this can't be correct for the League Champions?
PartySaint
28/06/2014, 8:52 PM
According to extratime only 780 at St Pats V Bray.
Surely this can't be correct for the League Champions?
There was no official number given but there wasn't a good crowd at it.
oriel
28/06/2014, 11:56 PM
I saw a photo of the main stand at Pats last night and it didn't look good. Why has there been such a sharp drop in crowds?
Getting less than 1k and I'm hearing it was a lot less than 800 for Pats v Bray is very worrying.
I've no idea how we managed it and I was unfortunate to have gone to most that year, but the dreadful Dundalk side of 2012 (that probably should have been relegated) got an average of 900 that season.
Why would anyone other than a Pats fan care?
Crowds there have been poor for a long time now.
The faux concern is funny.
29/06/2014, 11:30 AM
302 official attendance Harps v Waterford.
05/07/2014, 12:19 AM
300 max at Limerick v Bohs.
If we keep "performing" like that your gonna see the curious phenomenon of a minus figure crowd before seasons out.
Tonight was first time i saw people get nasty. Athlone away next week could be rowdy.
NeverFeltBetter
05/07/2014, 12:54 AM
I've seen abuse flung at Taylor before in Thomond that got fairly venomous, at the first Athlone game actually. It died down when Limerick went ahead the second time. There's been an undercurrent of dissatisfaction with him for a while, and his pitchside behavior doesn't help.
I have no idea how they can get more people into Thomond, other than to start winning and never stop. They can ask for as much feedback as they like on Facebook and the website, but that's what it all comes back to.
05/07/2014, 1:03 AM
Could do with leaving Thomond asap, though I know it's not as simple as that as there's no ready alternative. Must be costing a fortune though.
05/07/2014, 8:21 AM
For anyone interested, here's the crowd just before half time.. There was 30-50 Bohs fans in the opposite stand.
05/07/2014, 8:45 PM
Many at the Rovers vs. Pat's match tonight?
Ezeikial
05/07/2014, 8:51 PM
Many at the Rovers vs. Pat's match tonight?
Careful now
Dong will be after you for fauxing
Louth4sam
05/07/2014, 9:00 PM
Pats sold out their allocation. Was plenty of empty seats in same stand on Rovers side and plenty of empty seats over on home side. Thought there would be a lot more at it. The World cup games hit the attendance for a few hundred I'd guess.
05/07/2014, 9:25 PM
Decent crowd in Longford tonight (relative to the norm). Didn't get any figures but looked like about 700-800 to me. Maybe 150-200 Shels dotted around.
06/07/2014, 12:22 AM
Decent crowd in Longford tonight (relative to the norm). Didn't get any figures but looked like about 700-800 to me. Maybe 150-200 Shels dotted around.
I was thinking the same myself. The stand had a very good crowd in it . Fair play to Shels for sortin out the bad blood as they were quiet tonight singing wise!
Town Legend
06/07/2014, 12:26 AM
A lot of stewards over their side as well keeping them in their box! But in fairness to Shel's I think they pinpointed the bad eggs after the last time and made sure they didn't get on a supporters bus or make it into the ground if they did get this far.
06/07/2014, 12:35 AM
Their last visit cost Shels as a club a fair bit of money in fines so they weren't going to let it happen again. The FAI were providing stewards as well I believe.
06/07/2014, 1:03 AM
Paid my first visit of the season to Longford. Lovely ground and a decent crowd. Look like going up fairly comfortably and will be delighted to bring 4/500 from Sligo for what was always an enjoyable excursion. Highly amused by the sight of Johnny Mc playing at being a football managerf with arm waving and head clasping and all.
ATFC-1887
06/07/2014, 1:16 AM
The Shels fans weren't all angels tonight. Heard one or two "nasty" remarks towards Don Cowan from one lad in particular. Longford should p**s that division. Shels were absolute dirt. Id say Galway will finish ahead of them too.
06/07/2014, 5:43 PM
The Shels fans weren't all angels tonight. Heard one or two "nasty" remarks towards Don Cowan from one lad in particular. Longford should p**s that division. Shels were absolute dirt. Id say Galway will finish ahead of them too.
great to see ye lads at the game.. hope club will sort out your ban otherwise we will keep singing JUSTICE FOR THE ATHLONE SIX!
Not LoI but official attendance at Esch v Dundalk was 790. Playing it on Tuesday afternoon didn't help.
gufcfan
07/07/2014, 9:08 AM
Not LoI but official attendance at Esch v Dundalk was 790. Playing it on Tuesday afternoon didn't help.
Their average crowd was 1,000 last season so 790 is all right for a 1st round Europa Lge 1st leg, played in the afternoon on a weekday, as you said.
And directly clashing with a world cup game too- pretty mental piece of scheduling!
07/07/2014, 10:59 AM
Scheduling was because the ground wasn't available on the Thursday in fairness to them
CuanaD
07/07/2014, 11:20 AM
For anyone interested, here's the crowd just before half time.. There was 30-50 Bohs fans in the opposite stand.
Give us a higher resolution & we could count them all individually!
ATFC-1887
07/07/2014, 12:35 PM
great to see ye lads at the game.. hope club will sort out your ban otherwise we will keep singing JUSTICE FOR THE ATHLONE SIX!
Good game to be at too. Ah they still haven't got back to us about the appeal, so i don't know if they have just let it go, or they are just taking their time. And its the Athlone Four. Was originally 6 :D
Our thoughts are with those who died before receiving justice. Free the surviving four.
07/07/2014, 1:40 PM
Will get this thread updated in the next day or two. A lot of missing figures though, will give a rundown when I get a chance.
07/07/2014, 1:55 PM
Give us a higher resolution & we could count them all individually!
There's size restrictions regarding uploads, but this one's a good bit higher res :cool2:
07/07/2014, 2:03 PM
There's size restrictions regarding uploads, but this one's a good bit higher res :cool2:
I'd say about 17,965. They're all wearing a remarkably similar shade of red hat though.
07/07/2014, 8:07 PM
Press had attendance of 700 people at it. I am gobsmacked that Athlone's crowd has gone badly as they only got 390 v Derry. Must be in solidarity of the Athlone 6! Are ye Athlone lads joining us on a free transfer pending the result of the appeal?
ATFC-1887
08/07/2014, 2:55 AM
Press had attendance of 700 people at it. I am gobsmacked that Athlone's crowd has gone badly as they only got 390 v Derry. Must be in solidarity of the Athlone 6! Are ye Athlone lads joining us on a free transfer pending the result of the appeal?
I would never go that far ;) that was a once off last Saturday, for now.
Get a room you two...
303 at Waterford United v Galway. Poor crowd but to be expected when on at same time as World Cup quarter final and Daytripper music festival in Waterford.
Nah Nah Nah Nah
13/07/2014, 6:59 PM
1800 in The Showgrounds for the Cork match. That's what our programme had on Thursday night.
Very small crowd in UCD today. Someone mentioned 102 but don't know if that's true.
13/07/2014, 7:14 PM
Certainly wouldn't have put it higher than 150 anyway
poster
14/07/2014, 2:57 PM
1800 in The Showgrounds for the Cork match. That's what our programme had on Thursday night.
Very small crowd in UCD today. Someone mentioned 102 but don't know if that's true.
The official attendance was 242.
TheBoss
14/07/2014, 4:39 PM
The only ones that appear to be missing are:
27/06/14: Derry City 2-2 Dundalk
04/07/14: Bray Wanderers 1-3 Drogheda United
06/07/14: Athlone Town 0-1 Derry City
13/07/14: Derry City 5-0 Bray Wanderers
Bray Head
14/07/2014, 5:19 PM
The only ones that appear to be missing are:
27/06/14: Derry City 2-2 Dundalk
04/07/14: Bray Wanderers 1-3 Drogheda United
06/07/14: Athlone Town 0-1 Derry City
13/07/14: Derry City 5-0 Bray Wanderers
Bray v. Drogheda was around 450. Our last two home games have been on same time as world cup fixtures and team are on a bad run.