View Full Version : Attendances 2014

Pages : 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23

PartySaint
29/03/2014, 2:14 PM
Apparently 845 was the official attendance.

No official figure given but if you're taking the Extratime attendance for the Limerick game you must aye the 2,500 they estimated for the UCD game :)

29/03/2014, 2:28 PM
Apparently 845 was the official attendance.

There wasn't one. Think they're still having issues with the new scanners

Battery Rover
29/03/2014, 4:01 PM
There wasn't one. Think they're still having issues with the new scanners

I couldn't make the game on Friday but I believe we are still having issues with them as well hence the official attendance of only 690 at the ATFC vs Cork City game. Definitely more than that there.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
29/03/2014, 4:25 PM
I couldn't make the game on Friday but I believe we are still having issues with them as well hence the official attendance of only 690 at the ATFC vs Cork City game. Definitely more than that there.

You weren't at the game but are certain there was more then 690 there?

citybone
29/03/2014, 4:34 PM
690 at Athlone v Cork according to Extratime.

and about 150 of that was Cork fans.

Battery Rover
29/03/2014, 4:34 PM
You weren't at the game but are certain there was more then 690 there?

Have had a number of enquiries from all areas of the press asking was it correct and people who know the lay out of the ground are also saying there was more than that.

I was on the gate scanning the first game against Rovers and there was constant issues with invalid scans. I was told there were issues again last night. The problems with the new scanners will sort themselves out over time as the system settles in.

ATFC-1887
29/03/2014, 6:25 PM
I know its easy say, but there was a lot more than 690 at our game. Dunno whats going on with the scanners but 690 is a mile off the attendance.

Town Legend
29/03/2014, 7:47 PM
Have had a number of enquiries from all areas of the press asking was it correct and people who know the lay out of the ground are also saying there was more than that.

I was on the gate scanning the first game against Rovers and there was constant issues with invalid scans. I was told there were issues again last night. The problems with the new scanners will sort themselves out over time as the system settles in.

Have ye opened up more than just the one side of the ground? Genuine question. Last season I think ye only had the stand open.

wonder88
29/03/2014, 9:42 PM
4300 at Windsor Park today for the top of the table game in Belfast. Unlikely now to make an Irish league game before the season ends but hope someday to go to a game up there. Would this fixture be the best one to go to? any suggestions

29/03/2014, 10:39 PM
757 in Finn Park v Galway.

oriel
30/03/2014, 12:32 AM
4300 at Windsor Park today for the top of the table game in Belfast. Unlikely now to make an Irish league game before the season ends but hope someday to go to a game up there. Would this fixture be the best one to go to? any suggestions

I've only been to Wndsor once for a Setanta Cup game with Dlk and I thought the stadium is lost on league games. For most games the stand the camera is facing is virtually empty, save for middle upper section for away fans.

While Linfield and Cliftonville are the current top 2 sides, I would tend to go to a home match for Clifttonville as it would seem a better atmosphere. The only other IL ground (apart from Newry) that I've been to is Solitude, where Crusaders play, that'sa nice compact ground, recently improved with all seating.

Suppose if you could make an end of season game, another option would be the IFA Cup Final in late April or early May.

Ps while 4,300 may have attended today, Linfield.s avg crowd is around 1,700, and I think Cliftonvlle's is a a good bit lower, I was very surprised to see some matches last season under 1,000 but I have not been tracking either this season.

30/03/2014, 11:21 AM
that I've been to is Solitude, where Crusaders play, .

Jaysus, don't be saying that to any Cliftonville supporters!!

30/03/2014, 2:54 PM
The problems with the new scanners will sort themselves out over time as the system settles in.

I'd hope Athlone will be a small bit more proactive than that in dealing with the issue. :D

oriel
31/03/2014, 11:08 AM
Jaysus, don't be saying that to any Cliftonville supporters!!

Sorry my bad. I was at Seaview home of Crusaders, never been to Solitude, sorry Reds!

31/03/2014, 11:16 AM
Cliftonville has 2 good stands behind the goals. The away stand is small enough but perfect for what they need. On one side of the ground is nothing, while the other has an old stand that was empty the couple of times I was there bar a few lads standing on the terrace beside it.

This site is great if you're planning a trip;
http://www.footballgroundguide.com/northern-ireland/index.htm

01/04/2014, 2:19 PM
Have Shelbourne been charging 15 euro into the ground all season so far? Noticed the prices for the Harps game online there. Shocking prices for First Division. 15 adults, 10 students..very steep altogether.

01/04/2014, 2:31 PM
That's their usual price.

Same as last year

http://www.shelbournefc.com/news.php?id=2758

01/04/2014, 2:32 PM
Week 4:

PREMIER DIVISION

Athlone - 1,242 (754; 271; 200; 354; 462)
Bohs - 2,530 (1,597; 1,496; 1,488; 1,835; 2,366)
Bray - 525 (891; 965; 1,121; 952; 1,169)
Cork - 4,036 (1,965; 2,786; 2,128 FD; 1,693 FD; 2,681)
Derry - 1,300 (1,446; 1,460; 2,135; 1,965 FD; 2,436)
Drogheda - 1,515 (817; 977; 811; 859; 1,106)
Dundalk - 1,884 (1,997; 949; 1,355; 1,877; 2,371)
Limerick - 1,081 (1,649; 734 FD; 569 FD; 598 FD; 429 FD)
Pat's - 1,250 (1,687; 1,474; 1,346; 1,756; 1,631)
Rovers - 3,307 (2,763; 3,127; 3,779; 3,794; 3,611)
Sligo - 2,182 (2,342; 3,007; 2,103; 1,807; 1,756)
UCD - 544 (487; 506; 558; 610; 272 FD)

FIRST DIVISION

Cobh - 400 (439; 2008 - 1,122 PD; 681; 368; 403)
Harps - 677 (479; 429; 433; 644; 480) -
Galway - 1,723 (No previous)
Longford - 600 (379; 365; 315; 230; 260)
Rovers B - 330 (No previous)
Shels - 765 (1,114 PD; 1,187 PD; 781; 737; 972)
Waterford - 677 (478; 453; 466; 619; 434)
Wexford - 197 (227; 302; 216; 343; 494)

PREMIER AVERAGE: 1,783 (1,566; 1,630; 1,547; 1,512; 2,010)
FIRST DIVISION AVERAGE: 694 (391; 372; 578; 682; 417)

OVERALL AVERAGE: 1,364 (1,140; 1,125; 1,110; 1,095; 1,175)

OVERALL WEEKLY ATTENDANCE: 10,612 (9 games)

OVERALL FIRST ATTENDANCE: 10,411
OVERALL PREMIER ATTENDANCE: 42,789

OVERALL COMBINED ATTENDANCE: 53,200

01/04/2014, 2:33 PM
That's their usual price.

Same as last year

http://www.shelbournefc.com/news.php?id=2758

Surely though, 15 euro is just too much to be charging into a First Division match. Most clubs charge 10 euro for adults, never mind students.

citybone
02/04/2014, 7:46 AM
Surely though, 15 euro is just too much to be charging into a First Division match. Most clubs charge 10 euro for adults, never mind students.
Were Mervue charging less? €5?? Still Cork City only charged €10 when in the first division! Shels are just greedy.

02/04/2014, 9:13 AM
Were Mervue charging less? €5?? Still Cork City only charged €10 when in the first division! Shels are just greedy.

It's hardly greed when the numbers are so small. More about survival

I'm not defending them but talk of greed for clubs that struggle to break even is ludicrous

wonder88
02/04/2014, 4:20 PM
A while since I have been at the cinema, what is the cost(full not student) of going in to watch a film?
Years ago it used to be a little cheaper to watch a game of footie than go to the pictures. I paid 15euro into a hurling league match on a number of recent sundays, up 2euro this year which shows that going to sport in Ireland is not cheap anymore. Most of my LoI games are covered by season ticket by the way. Facilities at most sporting venues I go to have improved in recent time, but I still think the price of cinema and soccer/gaa game should be similar.

citybone
02/04/2014, 7:31 PM
It's hardly greed when the numbers are so small. More about survival

I'm not defending them but talk of greed for clubs that struggle to break even is ludicrous

ya but price determines attendances too for example if the Charge €15 and get 800 through the gat = €1,200 or charge €10 and get 1,200 through the gate = €12,000 but the extra 400 might get a program or cup of tea when available ;-) Not sure would it make that much of a difference but anyone on a tight budget or with a few kids might not go/not bring the kids. Also a bigger crowds looks better and creates a bit more of a buzz.

02/04/2014, 8:06 PM
The only problem being that there's not a hope reducing the price would increase the crowd by 50%.

CityRebel
03/04/2014, 1:14 PM
Tomorrow night could be a sell-out at the Cross.

Pablo Escobar
03/04/2014, 2:13 PM
Tomorrow night could be a sell-out at the Cross.
Initial allocations to the club shop, Soho and UCC have already sold out. The interest is phenomenal.

UPDATE: The club shop have more available now, but The Beer Garden have sold out. They will have more later on.

gufcfan
03/04/2014, 3:51 PM
Really can't understand why the club can't/don't give attendances to put this to bed once and for all.

Sure even when they do you can't take it as a given that it is correct.

03/04/2014, 4:28 PM
Would be bloody fantastic to see a league game sell out here. Cork marketing and advertising team should be given a feckin award by the fans this season.

03/04/2014, 4:37 PM
What was the last sell-out in the league? Rovers at UCD in 2011? Or did Sligo have a sell out in 2012?

03/04/2014, 4:51 PM
I'd imagine there may have been in some of the smaller grounds alright, but 7,500 would be a most excellent crowd for any LOI game. What allocation did Shamrock Rovers get, and have they sold that out?

03/04/2014, 5:18 PM
I'd imagine there may have been in some of the smaller grounds alright, but 7,500 would be a most excellent crowd for any LOI game. What allocation did Shamrock Rovers get, and have they sold that out?
Tickets at the ground I think.

El-Pietro
03/04/2014, 5:37 PM
7,500 seats won't be available. There are two sections in the St. Annes closed off. Thats probably 800 or so off the 7,500. There will also be seats closed off for segregation. 6000/6500 would be an effective sell out.

Pablo Escobar
03/04/2014, 5:43 PM
Tickets at the ground I think.
You'll have a full section of the St.Anne's End set aside so I wouldn't worry about you getting tickets.

PartySaint
03/04/2014, 6:56 PM
Was the first game of the season not as close to a sell our as Turners Cross can get? There was no room left in the stands and a lot of Cork fans seemed to be standing

Pablo Escobar
03/04/2014, 7:56 PM
Was the first game of the season not as close to a sell our as Turners Cross can get? There was no room left in the stands and a lot of Cork fans seemed to be standing
This is what we were saying. There had to have been more than 5300. Apparently there was a problem with some scanners which could explain it.

CityRebel
03/04/2014, 8:22 PM
Official capacity is 6900 (taking into account the closed off section for segregation).

Nah Nah Nah Nah
03/04/2014, 8:26 PM
What was the last sell-out in the league? Rovers at UCD in 2011? Or did Sligo have a sell out in 2012?

Our last 2 games at home in 2012 were sold out

03/04/2014, 8:33 PM
Our last 2 games at home in 2012 were sold out
Ah right, cool. Now that I think about it I think the Galway match in 2011 sold out as well.

oriel
03/04/2014, 9:31 PM
I have no doubt tomorrow night in Cork will exceed 6,000 and that would have been a great match to see on tv, however it prob would have effected the crowd, plus on selfish note I would have missed our game v Pats.

On actual crowd figures as opposed to capacity, does anyone know any specific high figures for league games, I'm thinking any that were over 6 or 7,000 and for a league match over the last 10 seasons for eg? Can't have been too many.

Cork v Derry for an end of league or title deciding match in 2006 or 2007 is possibly one.

Also Cork v Dundalk was 12,000 last day 1991, but that's a long way back.

03/04/2014, 9:40 PM
I wonder if the Cork-Rovers game being on TV would affect attendances though? It seems like there is a real buzz in Cork right now and everybody wants to get to the big games, and Rovers were always going to bring a big crowd, so I'd be reasonably confident it would still sell out. It would be amazing to see a sold-out game in a big stadium on TV during the regular season. That said, it's bad if you have the same teams on TV every week and all but one televised game so far has featured Rovers or Cork.

Ezeikial
04/04/2014, 8:15 AM
. What allocation did Shamrock Rovers get, and have they sold that out?

Unless they have changed their policy, Rovers tend to pay lip service to the concept of selling ticket allocations for away matches.

Certainly this has been the case with any high demand matches they have played in the last few seasons in Oriel Park - where they have taken tickets and then returned the vast majority unsold, even though the demand may have exceeded the supply.

citybone
04/04/2014, 8:22 AM
I have no doubt tomorrow night in Cork will exceed 6,000 and that would have been a great match to see on tv, however it prob would have effected the crowd, plus on selfish note I would have missed our game v Pats.

On actual crowd figures as opposed to capacity, does anyone know any specific high figures for league games, I'm thinking any that were over 6 or 7,000 and for a league match over the last 10 seasons for eg? Can't have been too many.

Cork v Derry for an end of league or title deciding match in 2006 or 2007 is possibly one.

Also Cork v Dundalk was 12,000 last day 1991, but that's a long way back.

Cork City vs Derry City last game of the season in 2005 had approx 10,000 when Cork won the league
Derry City vs Cork City last game of the season 2006 had a sell out in the Brandywell i believe but a smaller overall crowd maybe 4-6k? I know Cork Brought up 400, Derry lost out to $h€l$ for the league that night although $h€l$ went bust before the next season and Derry took their spon in the Champions league.

PartySaint
04/04/2014, 9:13 AM
I wonder if the Cork-Rovers game being on TV would affect attendances though? It seems like there is a real buzz in Cork right now and everybody wants to get to the big games, and Rovers were always going to bring a big crowd, so I'd be reasonably confident it would still sell out. It would be amazing to see a sold-out game in a big stadium on TV during the regular season. That said, it's bad if you have the same teams on TV every week and all but one televised game so far has featured Rovers or Cork.

The problem would be not only would it be on tv but they would change the kick off time to 7.05 which would affect the attendance. Great to see such good crowds in Cork. I've said it before but i think they're the best supported team in the country.

04/04/2014, 11:01 AM
Don't think we'll hit the 6,900 to sell out, but I think we'll be around the 6,000 mark anyway. Will certainly look full. Huge credit to the marketing group, video promos, advertising by media partners, 50euro for the 4 games initiative, groupon, billboards, they've really gone full tilt at it and it seems to be working. Credit to Johnny C and the team too, we wouldn't be getting near this if we didn't have such a fantastic (and somewhat unexpected) start to the season.

04/04/2014, 2:22 PM
The downsides of such a buzz around it is that there are some people who have said they aren't going tonight because it's sold out (it's not), so some confusion. We ran out of tickets again at the club shop, the university and the outlets selling in the city. Now are going to be selling at the ground from 3.30. Definite learning curve here.

ger121
04/04/2014, 8:22 PM
ET saying attendance is 5676.

04/04/2014, 8:25 PM
That's the official number from the club.

04/04/2014, 8:25 PM
779 at Tolka.

Dalymountrower
05/04/2014, 7:23 AM
Extratime estimates 2,000 at Bohs v Bray.Looked like 1600 to me.

05/04/2014, 8:34 AM