View Full Version : Clubs divided over future LOI format?
Pages :
[
8]
gufc2000
21/10/2012, 5:34 PM
so what I heard about Cherry Orchard is that they fed up of having players poached for the U19 league and so they applied to enter but were told they couldn't have an U19 team unless they applied for an LOI team as well.
Does that mean Letterkenny have had to apply as well?
gufc2000
21/10/2012, 5:42 PM
What's Cobh's story? Their U-19 side are doing pretty well in the Elite League, any willingness to go back Senior next season?
El-Pietro
21/10/2012, 6:12 PM
What's Cobh's story? Their U-19 side are doing pretty well in the Elite League, any willingness to go back Senior next season?
all i know on them is they owed money to Davin O'Neill and Greg O'Halloran last year and made no effort to pay them back.
El-Pietro
21/10/2012, 6:12 PM
Does that mean Letterkenny have had to apply as well?
no idea, i don't even know how true the Cherry Orchard story is, just a rumour on facebook from people I'd believe.
I'd be shocked if Cherry Orchard wanted anything to do with the LOI tbh
21/10/2012, 7:06 PM
Funnily enough, I actually heard the name Cherry Orchard mentioned myself. Thought it was absolutely ridiculous.
As for Letterkenny, it's well known up around here they've been harbouring LOI ambitions for a while now. They applied last year, and put in a new 250 seat stand in their ground to coincide with it thinking (naively) they were shoe ins to be elected.
21/10/2012, 7:11 PM
Funnily enough, I actually heard the name Cherry Orchard mentioned myself. Thought it was absolutely ridiculous.
As for Letterkenny, it's well known up around here they've been harbouring LOI ambitions for a while now. They applied last year, and put in a new 250 seat stand in their ground to coincide with it thinking (naively) they were shoe ins to be elected.
I take it Letterkenny have a good setup. Would they get decent support though?
Cherry Orchard seems a strange one purely because they are up against it immediately with well established Dublin Clubs already going strong in the League.
Any interest from Castlebar? From what I have heard they have an excellent setup.
21/10/2012, 7:22 PM
Cherry Orchard joining would be insane.
21/10/2012, 7:35 PM
I take it Letterkenny have a good setup. Would they get decent support though?
Cherry Orchard seems a strange one purely because they are up against it immediately with well established Dublin Clubs already going strong in the League.
Any interest from Castlebar? From what I have heard they have an excellent setup.
Letterkenny joining the league would almost be as mental as Cherry Orchard joining.
It would be disastrous for Harps if Letterkenny were to join. There's 15 minutes separating the two teams and Letterkenny is one of those catchment areas Harps rely on.
Letterkenny Rovers haven't really that great of a setup, but they have money being pumped into them. Although it's actually a nice little stand they put in, but just a cheap job.
You'd be looking at crowds of about 200-ish if they stepped up to senior. They're not even the best supported in the Ulster Senior League.
Fanad would be a much better option and even I wouldn't even imagine them being a successful club in any form.
Essentially, there's no point in any Ulster Senior League club joining, but Letterkenny and Fanad would be the two most financially viable.
Looking at it, they would be no worse than Mervue or Salthill, but not a huge amount better.
cheifo
21/10/2012, 8:37 PM
We all know the licensing process has to be thorough but the formation of the league needs to be sorted asap so participating Clubs can prepare and raise finance for new season . I know they can do that anyway but it in terms of marketing season tickets, assembling squads etc it does help to know how many and what teams you are playing. Adding another Donegal team would be insanity on a whole new level. Harps, Derry, Sligo, Fanad and Letterkenny and scouts from England are already all in the ear of Donegals elite young players for u19 league etc and its close to a feeding frenzy. To be honest its counter productive for football up here and its not great for the mindset of the young lads either.
21/10/2012, 8:51 PM
Jaysus, we're screwed if Cherry Orchard join!
21/10/2012, 9:37 PM
Jaysus, we're screwed if Cherry Orchard join!
Who, UCD or the league in general. Is this still rumour or what? Is there any truth to it at all? Nothing on their website (http://cherryorchardfc.ie/) that i can see anyway.
NeverFeltBetter
21/10/2012, 11:24 PM
The obvious negatives of Letterkenny and Fanad will probably we weighed against the possibility of that 6/7 team First Division. You'd be worried the FAI will go all in on the short term solution of letting any interested club in, and in a few years we'll have a couple more Monaghans.
gufcfan
21/10/2012, 11:51 PM
Cherry Orchard joining would be insane.
Cherry Orchard in the LOI makes more sense than Mervue and Salthill both, but it's still a terrible idea.
bluewhitearmy
21/10/2012, 11:52 PM
Cherry Orchard in the LOI makes more sense than Mervue and Salthill both, but it still a terrible idea.
How...?
21/10/2012, 11:58 PM
Cherry Orchard in the LOI makes more sense than Mervue and Salthill both, but it's still a terrible idea.
But that shouldn't be an argument for it. As a Ballyfermot native and a Cherryer fan I would have welcomed it as a kid... but I can't see what another senior Dublin club in the catchment area of Pat's (And with a direct bus to Tallaght) can bring to the league as it currently stands.
Adding clubs for the craic just because you failed miserably to run a league properly and have become desperate IS insane.
At least Mervue and Salthill had the A League to use for progression.
22/10/2012, 6:38 AM
Who, UCD or the league in general. Is this still rumour or what? Is there any truth to it at all? Nothing on their website (http://cherryorchardfc.ie/) that i can see anyway.
UCD obviously. We've taken a huge amount of players from Cherry Orchard in the past.
Comic Book Guy
22/10/2012, 8:30 AM
I heard that some attempt to pay them back but obviously it wasn't acceptable. I don't know much more, and nobody else seems to know, the sad and maddening thing is that the club has produced (and is producing) some very promising players but with no senior outlet at the moment all this talent is lost to the club.
The thing is that I miss and don't miss the LOI, I don't miss the perennial s**** that seems to be endemic to Irish club football; I do miss the buzz around match nights though, I miss travelling to away games etc.
Above all I want a senior outlet back for my club, I don't really care at this stage what level it is at but it represents the best opportunity for my club to get back on it's feet.
El-Pietro
22/10/2012, 9:12 AM
my information is almost a year old, I'd heard that Greg had agreed to several repayment schedules that Cobh fell through on and at that point he just wanted what was owed to him and was not willing to agree to another schedule.
I'm not a Greg sympathiser by the way, I'm delighted hes no longer involved with my football club, only player paid in full by TNB afaik
22/10/2012, 10:00 AM
Lads Cherry Orchard don't even have dressing rooms. The schoolboy set up is almost completely seperate to the LSL set up (similar to the old Home Farm system)
Thats not to say there aren't people involved who don't think they're the world's best football club
El-Pietro
22/10/2012, 10:38 AM
I'd doubt they would be playing at their own facility should they get a license. More than likely theyd be looking to rent Richmond or Dalymount Park
22/10/2012, 10:43 AM
But the point is, if they've been a top intermediate side for decades and still haven't arranged dressing rooms, what makes people think they'll spend at least 100k putting a team into the LOI?
Richmond is clearly the closest ground. I'm sure SDCC would like them in Tallaght too. They'll be playing in front of 5 people if they play in Dalymount
Deacypark1
22/10/2012, 10:49 AM
rumours:
Newry, GUST, Fanad and as unbelievable as it sounds.... Cherry Orchard
GUST have made an expression of interest, not a rumour
22/10/2012, 12:03 PM
But the point is, if they've been a top intermediate side for decades and still haven't arranged dressing rooms, what makes people think they'll spend at least 100k putting a team into the LOI?
Richmond is clearly the closest ground. I'm sure SDCC would like them in Tallaght too. They'll be playing in front of 5 people if they play in Dalymount
Maybe the club colours will confuse the Phibsboro massive!
Sure they can tog out in the Leisure Centre or Ballyfermot United's Social Club and play in the Lawns. Simples.
El-Pietro
22/10/2012, 12:16 PM
I dont expect they'll get a license, that doesn't mean they haven't expressed an interest. I'd believe who I heard it from. The fact that a Harps fan heard the same would also add credence to the idea.
22/10/2012, 12:34 PM
The fact that a Harps fan heard the same would also add credence to the idea.
That's a bit like saying Mark's Gospel backs up Matthew's though.
22/10/2012, 12:34 PM
Yeah, sorry wasn't dismissing the rumour (which I've heard too). Just pointing out why its laughable
Real ale Madrid
22/10/2012, 12:41 PM
A First division containing Fanad, Letterkenny, Finn Harps and Newry would be fabulous news.....
.....for the bus company that drives Wexford youths to games. (or do they still have thier own bus?)
El-Pietro
22/10/2012, 1:20 PM
That's a bit like saying Mark's Gospel backs up Matthew's though.
well it does a bit! two different sources and all that, and Cork and Ballybofey are fairly well separated. Doesn't mean its true, just makes it more likely.
El-Pietro
22/10/2012, 1:21 PM
Yeah, sorry wasn't dismissing the rumour (which I've heard too). Just pointing out why its laughable
oh agree fully. plus you know the fact that they are famous as a nursery school for sending players to England rather than the LOI. It actually might make sense to get them on board from that point of view
I know, lets call them Dublin City!
El-Pietro
22/10/2012, 1:22 PM
A First division containing Fanad, Letterkenny, Finn Harps and Newry would be fabulous news.....
.....for the bus company that drives Wexford youths to games. (or do they still have thier own bus?)
don't forget Dundalk....
Blue Bear
22/10/2012, 2:06 PM
Can anyone find official confirmation for the new clubs who applied? Or when will the FAI make their decision and release a statement?
22/10/2012, 2:20 PM
well it does a bit! two different sources and all that, and Cork and Ballybofey are fairly well separated. Doesn't mean its true, just makes it more likely.
And Cork and Letterkenny are slightly further separated ;)
Can anyone find official confirmation for the new clubs who applied?
There's been nothing confirmed by FAI, and I haven't read anything official by clubs either.
El-Pietro
22/10/2012, 2:46 PM
And Cork and Letterkenny are slightly further separated ;)
and sure I'm living on the southside of the city, further again!
Any chance that Monaghan will look to return to division 1 I wonder? If not this year then maybe in future.
Can anyone find official confirmation for the new clubs who applied? Or when will the FAI make their decision and release a statement?
that wasn't announced until february last time out, weeks before the start of the season.
geezer
22/10/2012, 3:26 PM
that wasn't announced until february last time out, weeks before the start of the season.
at this rate it could be a 22 team 1st division. Kildare County, Kilkenny City, Thurles Town, Cork Alberts, Cork Hibs, Sporting fingal, Drumcondra, anyone
Partizan
22/10/2012, 3:35 PM
Any chance that Monaghan will look to return to division 1 I wonder? If not this year then maybe in future.
Highly unlikely I would wager.
22/10/2012, 8:34 PM
They could split the cost of the bunting with Bohs though. Savings to be made across the board.
23/10/2012, 11:19 AM
I actually kinda want tostay in the First Division for a year to see how this pans out.
Like we have the money anyway so no biggie.
Screw it I'm officially throwing Limericks name into the hat, how many do we have now? 5? 11?
sullanefc
23/10/2012, 4:39 PM
I actually kinda want tostay in the First Division for a year to see how this pans out.
Like we have the money anyway so no biggie.
Screw it I'm officially throwing Limericks name into the hat, how many do we have now? 5? 11?
Be careful what you wish for.
23/10/2012, 5:20 PM
Are Rockmount, Avondale, Douglas Hall or any of the stronger MSL clubs capable of drawing support? Have any of those got the facilities or finance?
Would the likes of Pike Rovers, Fairview, St Michaels, Malahide, etc fancy their chances?
23/10/2012, 5:34 PM
Are Rockmount, Avondale, Douglas Hall or any of the stronger MSL clubs capable of drawing support? Have any of those got the facilities or finance?
Would the likes of Pike Rovers, Fairview, St Michaels, Malahide, etc fancy their chances?
Certainly not Fairview and Pike are big fish here so see no reason to move on. They wouldn't have the support either.
St.Michaels actually have a decent set up and would at least cater for the tipp crowd but there again I'm not sure how many people would get behind Michaels.
A big problem is if a local club go LOI who would support them. For example pike step up to LOI, Fairview supporters, Janesboro supporters etc... Aren't going to suddenly go out and watch them. Most people out watching their games are ex club men/players of family and friends. Certainly not enough to sustain a LOI.
Even down to Tralee Dynamos, they represent one club and that would make it harder to get support but if for example they were Kerry FC they might have a better chance of getting a following as there is a sense of representing a whole county.
Outsode of Dublin and maybe Cork the populations are too small to have smaller clubs stepping up in my opinion.
Certainly not Fairview and Pike are big fish here so see no reason to move on. They wouldn't have the support either.
St.Michaels actually have a decent set up and would at least cater for the tipp crowd but there again I'm not sure how many people would get behind Michaels.
A big problem is if a local club go LOI who would support them. For example pike step up to LOI, Fairview supporters, Janesboro supporters etc... Aren't going to suddenly go out and watch them. Most people out watching their games are ex club men/players of family and friends. Certainly not enough to sustain a LOI.
Even down to Tralee Dynamos, they represent one club and that would make it harder to get support but if for example they were Kerry FC they might have a better chance of getting a following as there is a sense of representing a whole county.
Outsode of Dublin and maybe Cork the populations are too small to have smaller clubs stepping up in my opinion.
this is a perfect explanation to whats happened in Galway !!!!
23/10/2012, 9:53 PM
Be careful what you wish for.
BRING IT ON!!!!!
If we win the First Division five years in a row we get to keep the trophy. :ball:
El-Pietro
24/10/2012, 7:22 AM
Avondale, Douglas and Rockmount are all City clubs, I don't think adding a club like that would work, a Cobh or a Mallow or Fermoy might have better luck, get a town behind them, maybe a West Cork club
Douglas is only a mile or two from the Cross.
24/10/2012, 8:34 AM
Pike are big fish here
In Dublin they are too. :)
24/10/2012, 2:24 PM
There was talk at one stage that Carlow IT would be looking to enter.
They have an excellent football programme in there and have a very good team in place (of other clubs players it must be said). They won the cup and league double last year in Colleges football (not sure of proper name of competition).
El-Pietro
24/10/2012, 2:49 PM
FC Carlow you mean? Didn't they have an A Championship side? They were looking to play out of Buckley Park for this season but obviously they weren't granted a license.
24/10/2012, 2:51 PM
FC Carlow were a victim of the property crash.
Shane Tracy and Bobby Tier were on that Carlow IT team, think there was a few Harps and Athlone players aswell?? Some kind of FAI course being ran in the college.