View Full Version : Clubs divided over future LOI format?
Pages :
[
10]
Life without LTID makes no sense.
01/11/2012, 6:37 PM
How badly it can affect a club depends who you owe the €20k to. The FAI, bad as they are, aren't going to throw clubs out if they haven't paid all of the fee. If you owe it to players or the Revenue it could be a different story.
01/11/2012, 6:39 PM
Life without LTID makes no sense.
Always gets three pages. :cool:
01/11/2012, 6:39 PM
1K is enough to sink a club if their cash flow is bad enough and there's a big enough ****** looking for it.
My point is that people need to ask why this is the case.
Not bang on and on about the 19 grand like twould sort everything.
But nobody said it would. The point is that it's an unnecessary expense that makes budgeting that bit harder. I'd be saying the same if the FAI decided to charge clubs 19k each to pay for a lovely party at the end of the season.
01/11/2012, 6:43 PM
But nobody said it would.
The amount of people implying that a reduction or scrapping of the fee would somehow make the league far more enticing and viable for new clubs is staggering and probably runs into the thousands. (I haven't read the whole thread.)
There's bigger issues going on.
http://baylormatt.files.wordpress.com/2009/06/kent-brockman1.jpg?w=450
01/11/2012, 7:02 PM
It wouldn't make it much more enticing but it would surely help prospective clubs keep their costs under control. As it is, it's just another of many barriers to entry.
01/11/2012, 7:20 PM
The biggest problem is that the clubs arent getting any of that 19000 back. If the prize money was in accordance with the entrance fee it would be much much easier for clubs.
geezer
01/11/2012, 8:22 PM
The biggest problem is that the clubs arent getting any of that 19000 back. If the prize money was in accordance with the entrance fee it would be much much easier for clubs.
i have seen fines for a season up to 15k, A bit of a money collecting racket as well
sullanefc
01/11/2012, 10:35 PM
I'm not saying it's right that it's 19 grand, or that it shouldn't be reduced. I'm just saying the talk on here from a lot of people like removing the 19 grand would be some kind of panacea for all the leagues ills and would make insolvent clubs suddenly solvent is an absolute nonsense.
I did not suggest that it would when I mentioned it previously. Your putting words in peoples mouths.
NeverFeltBetter
01/11/2012, 10:49 PM
People certainly seem to focus on it a lot though, but I suppose that's tied in to dislike for the FAI.
oriel
02/11/2012, 12:37 AM
But if it is new club without affiliation, how can they block that ?
Saw 3 Newry men in Oriel Park for our play off game, only noticed them by their training jackets, so maybe there was something in the application rumour. Also noticed a good few other LOI tops around the ground too (cold turkey already lads:cool:), and at least 2 Drogs, fair play all.
gufcfan
02/11/2012, 12:45 AM
Or they were down to see if there was anyone worth robbing after the playoff.
03/11/2012, 8:01 PM
Or they were down to see if there was anyone worth robbing after the playoff.
To do what?
El-Pietro
05/11/2012, 7:54 AM
What does any of this mean??
Didn't think Cork would be that monied.
We're not, but we have been looking for a competitive league for our younger players to play in. We've had a few very good youth teams graduate, but with no where to go, theres too big a gap between the U19 league and the LOI.
05/11/2012, 12:47 PM
We're not, but we have been looking for a competitive league for our younger players to play in. We've had a few very good youth teams graduate, but with no where to go, theres too big a gap between the U19 league and the LOI.
Any chance of a MSL team out of sheer curiosity??
I know we half looked at a Junior team a couple of years ago..... for about 30 seconds until we realised we hadn't a hope!
05/11/2012, 1:46 PM
I know we half looked at a Junior team a couple of years ago..... for about 30 seconds until we realised we hadn't a hope!
We could only have three players who were on Citys books at any one time play on an MSL team, and as the seasons overlap its a complete non-runner, that along with some other ridiculous criteria made it laughable. Basically completely preventative.
El-Pietro
05/11/2012, 2:55 PM
its been discussed informally but doesn't look like it'll happen any time soon.
geezer
05/11/2012, 10:38 PM
Looks like the First division is consigned to some type of hybrid reserve division of league of Ireland for next year
NeverFeltBetter
05/11/2012, 10:45 PM
Said who?
Guitd
05/11/2012, 11:01 PM
reports coming from meeting in galway tonight with delaney/gavin /gust /salthill/mervue is that fai tell gust to go fly a kite we want only 2 teams in galway now not one as they said last month ,,,as we need the numbers up to keep 1st div alive and salthill can go back up to drum nest season
Trainee
06/11/2012, 11:15 AM
reports coming from meeting in galway tonight with delaney/gavin /gust /salthill/mervue is that fai tell gust to go fly a kite we want only 2 teams in galway now not one as they said last month ,,,as we need the numbers up to keep 1st div alive and salthill can go back up to drum nest season
Fai turned down GUST request to apply for a licence, rumors it will be a 10 team first div next season with 7 first div clubs with 3 reserve teams from premier teams
GCdfc
06/11/2012, 11:24 AM
So where does that leave GUST?
06/11/2012, 11:33 AM
Fai turned down GUST request to apply for a licence, rumors it will be a 10 team first div next season with 7 first div clubs with 3 reserve teams from premier teams
So Waterford won't be pulling out?
How could they simply turn down GUST like that? Surely either their license is in order or it isn't?
Not that it would surprise me of course.
White Horse
06/11/2012, 12:01 PM
I heard from a contact in Drogheda that they were asked if they were interested in entering a reserve team. They thought the idea was hilarious.
Did anyone else hear that this is an idea being promoted by the Shams?
Partizan
06/11/2012, 12:27 PM
I heard from a contact in Drogheda that they were asked if they were interested in entering a reserve team. They thought the idea was hilarious.
Did anyone else hear that this is an idea being promoted by the Shams?
Indeed. The idea of slotting in 3 reserve teams in the First is a laughable attempt at attempting a short fix solution to a problem that needs urgent attention. I cant see too many clubs signing up to this option due to obvious costs involved. Entering a reserve team will end up in clubs losing alot of money as it would already add on to the costs involved of actually running a club. Once again the good folks in Abbottstown are living in la-la land.
06/11/2012, 12:34 PM
I doubt the option of a reserve side will be open to the clubs that are haemorrhaging money already.
06/11/2012, 12:43 PM
Indeed. The idea of slotting in 3 reserve teams in the First is a laughable attempt at attempting a short fix solution to a problem that needs urgent attention. I cant see too many clubs signing up to this option due to obvious costs involved. Entering a reserve team will end up in clubs losing alot of money as it would already add on to the costs involved of actually running a club. Once again the good folks in Abbottstown are living in la-la land.
All true. But 3 clubs actively pushed for their inclusion, and the league needs 3 more clubs for the first division. So as long as no new clubs applied, it was always going to happen
JC_GUFC
06/11/2012, 12:55 PM
Not at all surprised if this is true. Why did they commission an independent report and then seemingly ignore it?
Having 3 Galway teams couldn't be any worse than the half-assed idea of having reserve teams. Was there any effort made to mediate between the parties and come up with a 1-team solution? It seems to me like they got the report and did nothing with it.
It really is gutting for someone who has been supporting GUFC for pretty much all my life. It can only be worse for those volunteers who have been working tirelessly for the last year and a half for GUST.
One other disappointing aspect is the total lack of media coverage this has received. MNS have never addressed the issue on their show.
L.T.F.C.
06/11/2012, 1:04 PM
Not that bothered for the GUST fans. Doses.
culloty82
06/11/2012, 1:25 PM
The FAI might as well take the next logical step and run the First Division on the A Championship format, at least then it might prove practical for Tralee, Cobh and other clubs to revisit entering.
JC_GUFC
06/11/2012, 1:36 PM
Not that bothered for the GUST fans. Doses.
Stick to the bogball you redneck!
republican
06/11/2012, 1:52 PM
i dont know i think it is a good idea about the reserve teams, but if for example, sligo, rovers and pats were to be the 3 reserve teams would they do away with their 19s teams with the best 19s stepping up to the reserve team?, because as you said the cost of running the 3 teams would be too much i would say.
The 3 teams are Rovers, Sligo and Cork and none are thinking of doing away with their 19s. They see the reserves as an extension of the 19s
My reading of the report on Galway football was that there should ideally be one club and that this should be basically based around the old Galway United. Therefore it seems to me that if you're going to arbitrarily reject applications the GUST one should the last in line for that. And given the shortage of clubs, it would make sense to let them in anyway for an interim period.
If the reports are true, GUST and indeed Galway football in general have been very poorly served here.
gufcfan
06/11/2012, 2:06 PM
FAI tell an "independent 3rd party" what conclusion to come to and then contradict it a month later.
Gavin and co. can go and ****e. Finished worrying about this nonsense.
Would players be able to move freely between the premier and reserve D1 teams does anyone know? That is- could a player play for the premier team one week and the reserves the next?
White Horse
06/11/2012, 2:16 PM
The 3 teams are Rovers, Sligo and Cork and none are thinking of doing away with their 19s. They see the reserves as an extension of the 19s
Fair play to any club who can afford to run a first division club in addition to a premier division team and an U19 team.
I don't how they can afford it, but it should benefit their young players.
My reading of the report on Galway football was that there should ideally be one club and that this should be basically based around the old Galway United. Therefore it seems to me that if you're going to arbitrarily reject applications the GUST one should the last in line for that. And given the shortage of clubs, it would make sense to let them in anyway for an interim period
While I agree that Galway football has been messed around, I don't think the FAI could go from their report stating there's too many clubs and there should be one max, to then admitting a "new" third club into the league from Galway.
Of course they should still have been allowed apply for a license (license doesn't guarentee anything...) as who knows if Mervue/Salthill will pass :rolleyes:
Trainee
06/11/2012, 2:31 PM
I Feel sorry for first div clubs as its near impossible to do a budget for next year when you dont know how many home games they are going to have, knowing the Fai they will wait till after licening to confirm structure of first div.
geezer
06/11/2012, 2:41 PM
I Feel sorry for first div clubs as its near impossible to do a budget for next year when you dont know how many home games they are going to have, knowing the Fai they will wait till after licening to confirm structure of first div.
Plenty to run on this yet, Everyone needs to stop the cat and mouse games though soon,
Declan Devine in interviews outlines what this league means to his city and community, there are a large batch of LOI supporters in Galway working, cleaning and preparing to get back in to the League however long it takes. Lets see who is left standing and will Terryland Eamonn Deacy park become derelict for LOI football. Hopefully it wont come to this.
JC_GUFC
06/11/2012, 2:54 PM
While I agree that Galway football has been messed around, I don't think the FAI could go from their report stating there's too many clubs and there should be one max, to then admitting a "new" third club into the league from Galway.
Of course they should still have been allowed apply for a license (license doesn't guarentee anything...) as who knows if Mervue/Salthill will pass :rolleyes:
There could be more to this anyway, as always when going on leaks not everything comes out.
Seeing as the meeting was only yesterday it's probably unlikely that the FAI came down, told GUST to **** off and OKd the other 2 for next season, particularly if Salthill are going back to Drom.
JC_GUFC
06/11/2012, 2:58 PM
I don't really have an issue with the FAI saying no to a 3rd team, that goes totally against the report too but I don't see how they can justify running with what was there last season.
peadar1987
06/11/2012, 3:07 PM
Is it really so hard for the FAI to come up with sensible, intuitive, and easily verified and enforced licensing conditions, and apply them evenly to all clubs? You don't see them saying "Waterford haven't won a trophy in a while, let's make them FAI Cup champions", so why start rejecting clubs on the vague notion that there are too many in one particular area? If licensing is sorted out, clubs that are viable will get licenses, clubs that aren't, won't. If there are "too many" in a certain area, the smallest ones won't have the fanbase and therefore finances to get a license.
bluewhitearmy
06/11/2012, 3:07 PM
I don't really have an issue with the FAI saying no to a 3rd team, that goes totally against the report too but I don't see how they can justify running with what was there last season.
Equally why would they go with a new club when they already have 2 there? No guarantee GUST would be a success.
blue til i die
06/11/2012, 3:47 PM
Having reserve teams in the First Division is nonsensical.
An awful 7-team league even makes more sense. :(
White Horse
06/11/2012, 3:52 PM
Having reserve teams in the First Division is nonsensical.
An awful 7-team league even makes more sense. :(
A 16 team premier division makes even more sense. However, the self styled "big clubs" don't want that.
06/11/2012, 7:55 PM
there are a large batch of LOI supporters in Galway working, cleaning and preparing to get back in to the League however long it takes.Trying to lose the Krusty name are ye?
sullanefc
06/11/2012, 7:59 PM
Really feel for the Galway Utd fans if this is true. What are the FAI trying to do to LOI in Galway?
geezer
06/11/2012, 9:02 PM
Galway United Nua
Would you buy a share? Would you play in the Irish league? Would you get on the Gust bus to Windsor Park. We need a team in Terrylands Deacy Park for 2013 for our community our county our city and our sanity. Galway United Nua . Www.galwaysoccer.com or come to Deacy Park this friday at 8pm for the United v longford game u19. join the debate with free tea under the stand at half time
Plenty still to play hope for even in the new League Of Ireland reserve division (formerly known as the graveyard or 1st division)
friday at 8pm for the United v longford game u19. join the debate with free tea under the stand at half time
http://www.metro.co....lly-boys-outing