View Full Version : Clubs divided over future LOI format?

Pages : 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14

06/09/2012, 10:51 AM
A flawed system was ill-conceived, and unnecessary, in the first place.

Ill-conceived, yes, but unnecessary - no. That has nothing to do with it.

Is some kind of system regulating clubs' budgeting and facilities effectively a good thing? Yes.

Is our current system regulating clubs' budgeting and facilities effectively? No.

geezer
06/09/2012, 10:53 AM
Its not the process its the policing of it. You can sign any declaration tick every box and presto your in. A 1day annual visit to each club to look at ceditors listing tax returns and bank statements by an auditor would help highlight danger b4 it gets out of hand

A N Mouse
06/09/2012, 6:19 PM
Ill-conceived, yes, but unnecessary - no. That has nothing to do with it.

Is some kind of system regulating clubs' budgeting and facilities effectively a good thing? Yes.

Is our current system regulating clubs' budgeting and facilities effectively? No.

Either you've misread me, or I've come across like a piece of beach footwear.

I think we’re broadly in agreement on the need for licensing. Though we would seem to disagree on just how broken the current system is.

However I would ask- if the current system is so broken, has any good come of it?

I would contend, as I stated previously, that it has moved us in the right direction

A N Mouse
06/09/2012, 6:24 PM
Its not the process its the policing of it. You can sign any declaration tick every box and presto your in. A 1day annual visit to each club to look at ceditors listing tax returns and bank statements by an auditor would help highlight danger b4 it gets out of hand

Semantics - thats still process.

adamd164
07/09/2012, 4:15 PM
Had a browse of the Star earlier in Easons and happened on Pat Dolan's column.

As he does from time to time, he made some very valid points about playing a series of fixtures on the same day as an Irish international. The image that it portrays (rather than just possibly impacting on crowds) is just amateur and defeatist to the core. If we're competing for the hearts and minds of the Irish general public, then they'll rightly see us as a pub setup until basic things like this change.

adamd164
07/09/2012, 4:51 PM
Slightly off topic, but anyone hear the boys on RTE patronisingly talk about how some of the Kazakhstan players had been playing against St. Pats just recently, seemed like they were trying not to laugh.

Have a bit of schadenfreude watching Ireland losing now tbh.

07/09/2012, 4:53 PM
The lads in the studio? Geore Hamilton referenced it during the commentary too but in a neutral way.

adamd164
07/09/2012, 4:56 PM
The lads in the studio? Geore Hamilton referenced it during the commentary too but in a neutral way.
Bill O'Herlihy mentioned it earlier in studio too..."Surely there's no way we can't win, I mean St. Pat's essentially beat this team not so long ago!" Along those lines.

07/09/2012, 4:58 PM
The irony being that Pats won because they play actual football.

07/09/2012, 5:07 PM
So, essentially, we're looking at sending out Pat's team in the return game in the Aviva to show how it's done?

07/09/2012, 5:08 PM
Depends who the manager is.

Spudulika
07/09/2012, 6:37 PM
James McClean stirring on twitter - no sour grapes I guess....

Very happy that an ex-LOI man did the business on the night, would love to see this highlighted in our meeja. It's about time we followed a national plan to develop players. I might be wrong, but last time I was there one of the sports people told me that they're trying to develop players in a German way, could be wrong but it wasn't Dutch anyway. And they've nice little training bases for players. In tennis they just go to Russia and buy players, but in football and fighting sports they're trying to develop them. It just shows how far Irish football is, we send our kids over to be destroyed in Britain.

Mark
07/09/2012, 8:35 PM
Slightly off topic, but anyone hear the boys on RTE patronisingly talk about how some of the Kazakhstan players had been playing against St. Pats just recently, seemed like they were trying not to laugh.

Have a bit of schadenfreude watching Ireland losing now tbh.

Hamilton said something in commentary but it wasn't offence in any way. If O'Herlihy said what is being claimed here then he should apologise but we would be waiting a long time for that. I'm surprised he even knew Pat's played a Kazakh team....a year ago...

07/09/2012, 9:18 PM
He doesn't really have anything to apologise for other than being an ignorant tw@t in general. His latest comments aren't all that offensive and probably reflective of a few conversations in the build up to the game.

He's still an ignorant tw@t though, don't get me wrong!

08/09/2012, 12:34 AM
Hamilton said something in commentary but it wasn't offence in any way. If O'Herlihy said what is being claimed here then he should apologise but we would be waiting a long time for that. I'm surprised he even knew Pat's played a Kazakh team....a year ago...
Nothing wrong with what O'Herlihy said. The entire Kazakh team bar one play in the domestic league. Pat's beat one of their sides (including at least one player who played tonight) last year. Ireland should have had no problem given Pat's could win. Valid way of putting the Kazakh team in context.

adamd164
08/09/2012, 9:50 AM
On the format of the league, maybe I'm reading it wrong but the fact that Mervue and Salthill are on this sub-committee of clubs who are looking at possible changes in format surely suggests that they both intend on hanging around next year!?

08/09/2012, 1:41 PM
Or maybe they just like going to meetings.

10/09/2012, 12:16 PM
Nothing wrong with what O'Herlihy said. The entire Kazakh team bar one play in the domestic league. Pat's beat one of their sides (including at least one player who played tonight) last year. Ireland should have had no problem given Pat's could win. Valid way of putting the Kazakh team in context.

None of them realilsed that Pats actually lost in Kazakhstan, but sure why would they care? hamilton referenced it in commentary merely to say the guy played for Shakter, who Pats played last year. matter of fact stuff

Didn't hear Billo but doesn't sound patronising from the quotes above.

10/09/2012, 12:38 PM
None of them realilsed that Pats actually lost in Kazakhstan, but sure why would they care? hamilton referenced it in commentary merely to say the guy played for Shakter, who Pats played last year. matter of fact stuff

Didn't hear Billo but doesn't sound patronising from the quotes above.

I think it's a case of people looking to nitpick and find any reason to criticise anyone who looks at the league even slightly sideways.

10/09/2012, 1:22 PM
In fairness, Pat's won on aggregate; I think it was still a valid enough point to bring up as about the only point of reference to Kazakh football.

I don't doubt that he was likely just reading words off a page without necessarily knowing who Karagandy or St Pat's were.

10/09/2012, 1:40 PM
I think it's a case of people looking to nitpick and find any reason to criticise anyone who looks at the league even slightly sideways.

And what's that supposed to mean!?!?!?!?

10/09/2012, 2:28 PM
And what's that supposed to mean!?!?!?!?

Whatever you want it to mean ;)

Guitd
17/09/2012, 12:19 PM
this is what a mervue utd player thinks of the Galway suitation
"The madness of the current situation. Is summed up perfectly by a Galway native who has played for all three clubs . Thanks Cian mcbrien who sums it up perfectly in his post on Facebook last night.

After getting spanked 7-1 by Derry City tonight! What can only be a further illustration in the gulf of class that exists between professional and amature players, i thought this galway soccer struggle can't get worse until i heard tonite that mervue are looking to be accepted into the league again next year. Mervue and SD Galway need to pack it in for themselves! BRING BACK GALWAY UNITED!!! A fan base and the ability to offer semi professional terms can only improve the standard of loi football in Galway!! Not this ****e of expecting players to travel around the country for nothing to be spanked every 2nd week. Mervue and SD points make 28 in the league and the next team are athlone who are on 29. If thats not proof enough i dont know what is!!

17/09/2012, 12:59 PM
Oh yeah, we should defo make decisions on the structures of the league based on facebook posts of players who've just been thumped 7-1

bluewhitearmy
17/09/2012, 3:34 PM
"The madness of the current situation. Is summed up perfectly by a Galway native who has played for all three clubs . Thanks Cian mcbrien who sums it up perfectly in his post on Facebook last night.

One of his reasons for wanting it is because he wants more money for playing so not exactly a great lad to be taking advice from is it.

Trainee
17/09/2012, 3:47 PM
Is there a deadline for the clubs to agree on structure of the league so it will be changed to be changed? I presume clubs will need to know soon, so they can put budgets in place for next season.

17/09/2012, 3:47 PM
One of his reasons for wanting it is because he wants more money for playing so not exactly a great lad to be taking advice from is it.
He wants MORE than a tenner a month?

Is there a deadline for the clubs to agree on structure of the league so it will be changed to be changed? I presume clubs will need to know soon, so they can put budgets in place for next season.
Haha, of course not. The clubs will find out hours before the first ball is kicked and will be grateful for the advanced warning.

Tribesman2
17/09/2012, 8:25 PM

This lad is at Mervue for about a month. He played with Salthill all of his underage career. He has a bad attitude and absoloutely zero respect for the club he represents and his teammates. He has hardly been tearing up trees since he arrived at Mervue, I've been told that the goalkeepers are even fitter than him.

Lets not forget Mervue went down to Waterford and won 4 nil in the last 16.

Of course all the GUST heads are jumping on this as more proof as to why they should be running a Galway based club this year. They're going to sweep in and sign John Russell and Stephen O Donnell and Vinny Faherty etc. Well lads, don't expect to be paid on time or at all.

bluewhitearmy
17/09/2012, 10:28 PM
He wants MORE than a tenner a month?

No-one forced him to sign for Mervue did they? And getting more money is not going to improve him as a player will it?

17/09/2012, 11:13 PM
After getting spanked 8-0 by Sligo tonight! What can only be a further illustration in the gulf of class that exists between professional set ups and our own, i thought this galway soccer struggle can't get worse until i heard tonite that gust are looking to be accepted into the league again next year. Galway United need to pack it in! GIVE SALTHILL AND MERVUE A CHANCE!!! A small bit of organisation and can maybe improve the standard of loi football in Galway!! Not this ****e of expecting players to travel around the country for nothing to be spanked every 2nd week. Galway United have 6 points and the nearest club is Drogheda on 25. If thats not proof enough i dont know what is!!

There, a small bit of tweeking and it could have been a Galway United player talking last season.

What's the point of all the bickering and petty point scoring are ye not trying to get into bed together?!

17/09/2012, 11:13 PM
What arse did you pull a tenner a month out of? Far as I know they get paid in petrol vouchers.

17/09/2012, 11:14 PM

Haha, of course not. The clubs will find out hours before the first ball is kicked and will be grateful for the advanced warning.

Anybody care to point me at any recommendations the clubs have made to the FAI re next season??

Anyone??

Exactly.

18/09/2012, 12:10 AM
Oh yeah, we should defo make decisions on the structures of the league based on facebook posts of players who've just been thumped 7-1

Even people that seem like they shouldn't make sense, sometimes do...

http://getnloose.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/01/patdolan.jpg

JC_GUFC
18/09/2012, 11:20 AM
There, a small bit of tweeking and it could have been a Galway United player talking last season.

What's the point of all the bickering and petty point scoring are ye not trying to get into bed together?!

That's true but it's not exactly like it was some grand master plan of GUST to take over the running of the LoI Premier club with about 5 days notice to the start of the season.
The easy thing would have been to pull out early on in the season like Monaghan did. In fact in hindsight it would have saved the supporters a lot of money as we ended up not being granted a licence anyway for the following season and paid off some of the debts built up by previous boards of the club. I don't think anyone has truly acknowledged that, certainly not in the FAI. It is unfair of anyone to judge the actions of GUST on the 2011 LoI Prem season (FFS look at the joke of the situation of even trying to sack the manager!) GUST should be judged on the way things have been run since then and in to the u19 season this year.
The fact that Galway United Ltd didn't apply for a licence when GUST withdrew their support at the end of last season shows the situation we were dealing with. In Cork TNB was determined to hold on to the licence himself but the FAI, rightly, denied him this and gave it to FORAS.
You have to ask why the same didn't happen in Galway? The reason is that the FAI felt that fans would just start supporting the newly branded SD Galway. This experiment clearly hasn't worked so it will be interesting to see what solution the FAI come up with now.

As you say though Lim, there's a lot of dirty washing being aired in public but I think there is a frustration that outside of Galway no-one really knows what's going on. A lot of fans I meet when going to LoI matches in Dublin seem to think that SD Galway is Galway United. MNS have never once dealt with the issue on their show and I'd be pretty sure none of the print media have either.

18/09/2012, 12:03 PM
Am I remembering right that Galway had a bigger budget last year than 3-4 of the other clubs (Drogs, Bray, etc)?

bluewhitearmy
18/09/2012, 12:13 PM
GUST should be judged on the way things have been run since then .

How can they be judged on the running of a club that is not there?

Patrick Dunne
18/09/2012, 12:19 PM
[Of course all the GUST heads are jumping on this as more proof as to why they should be running a Galway based club this year. They're going to sweep in and sign John Russell and Stephen O Donnell and Vinny Faherty etc. Well lads, don't expect to be paid on time or at all.[/QUOTE]

These players have all been fully paid up by Galway United FC/GUST, and have also been very supportive of GUST in the national papers, social media and in person to our members.

bluewhitearmy
18/09/2012, 12:30 PM
These players have all been fully paid up by Galway United FC/GUST, and have also been very supportive of GUST in the national papers, social media and in person to our members.

There are other players that are owed money though.

Tribesman2
18/09/2012, 12:57 PM

Plenty of them

prince20
18/09/2012, 1:12 PM

Im sure it was the same when the various different football clubs that used the "Limerick" name went out of business over the years.

Those in glasshouses.........

bluewhitearmy
18/09/2012, 2:20 PM
Im sure it was the same when the various different football clubs that used the "Limerick" name went out of business over the years.

Those in glasshouses.........

Where have i said there isnt? He is correcting a post saying that they owe money to players when its a fact they do owe money to players.

And the people that owe money in Limerick are nothing to do with LOI football now so are not telling others how to run things like the GUST lads who were involved in the club that owes people money.

prince20
18/09/2012, 2:30 PM
Where have i said there isnt? He is correcting a post saying that they owe money to players when its a fact they do owe money to players.

And the people that owe money in Limerick are nothing to do with LOI football now so are not telling others how to run things like the GUST lads who were involved in the club that owes people money.

You sure about that????

bluewhitearmy
18/09/2012, 2:50 PM
You sure about that????

Who does Pat O'Sullivan owe money to?

Danny Drew owes money and he is nothing to do with Limerick FC anymore im 100% sure of that he is the only one i know that owes money.

prince20
18/09/2012, 3:53 PM
Who does Pat O'Sullivan owe money to?

Danny Drew owes money and he is nothing to do with Limerick FC anymore im 100% sure of that he is the only one i know that owes money.

Can you tell me which of the members of GUST board owe money? They inherited a debt which had nothing to do with them. The name Galway United is still currently there unlike Limerick 37 or whatever they were called.

Your arguments are at the best ignoract of the facts and at worse inflammatory imo.

Tribesman2
18/09/2012, 4:38 PM
Can you tell me which of the members of GUST board owe money? They inherited a debt which had nothing to do with them. The name Galway United is still currently there unlike Limerick 37 or whatever they were called.

Your arguments are at the best ignoract of the facts and at worse inflammatory imo.

GUST took over the running of the club for a year in what time they ran up a debt, some of which was money owed to players

bluewhitearmy
18/09/2012, 5:44 PM

They took over the running of Galway United when you take over the club you take over the debts. Pat O Sullivan took over debts when he took over from Jack McCarthy.

The club that are there now are Limerick 37 they just changed name.

The team that GUST took over last year owe people money the same way that the Danny Drew run Limerick FC owe people money...Obviously they wont owe money if they come back as GUST FC best way to get rid of debts in LOI is to let one club die and bring back another.

18/09/2012, 6:55 PM
This lad is at Mervue for about a month. He played with Salthill all of his underage career. He has a bad attitude and absoloutely zero respect for the club he represents and his teammates. He has hardly been tearing up trees since he arrived at Mervue, I've been told that the goalkeepers are even fitter than him.

Lets not forget Mervue went down to Waterford and won 4 nil in the last 16.

Of course all the GUST heads are jumping on this as more proof as to why they should be running a Galway based club this year. They're going to sweep in and sign John Russell and Stephen O Donnell and Vinny Faherty etc. Well lads, don't expect to be paid on time or at all.

Let it go man, Cian plays for mervue now and not salthill. Where did GUST say they were bringing back all those lads or even say they would be paying players?

Keep the faith, truckitup ! :cool:

bluewhitearmy
18/09/2012, 7:06 PM
Let it go man, Cian plays for mervue now and not salthill. Where did GUST say they were bringing back all those lads or even say they would be paying players?

Keep the faith, truckitup ! :cool:

Young Cian wont be too impressed if they dont he might have to take to facebook again.

JC_GUFC
18/09/2012, 8:11 PM
How can they be judged on the running of a club that is not there?

Obviously I mean the way Galway United Supporters Trust FC has been run.

bluewhitearmy
19/09/2012, 12:36 AM
Its over 10weeks now sincee a so called czar was sent down to galway. Gust presented him with a blueprint that included the 2 other galway clubs and the only other radical suggestion was an independent chairman to run a joint effort including everyone. Not a dickie bird since from anyone

Ye want all 3 to merge is it or what?