View Full Version : Clubs divided over future LOI format?

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14

19/09/2012, 12:33 PM
Plenty of them

Thanks Truckitup how come you never post in the Mervue section and you couldnt even use the same name on 2 Forums. I guess it has to be Johnny as if Mervue pull out he will be the most affected.

19/09/2012, 12:38 PM
Ye want all 3 to merge is it or what?

Our Mission statement is "One City, One County, One Team" which speaks for itself. The FAI have gone public saying they want one team for Galway Representing all strands of opinion in Galway. We had the support of all bar 2 Teams in Galway City,County and Beyond when we applied last season plus a sound business plan which the FAI didnt even bother looking at.

We are willing to work with anyone to see this happen but as of yet we are the only Club willing to sit down and talk.

19/09/2012, 1:09 PM
In fairness, its a bit rich of you to bitch about the two teams who are already in the league because they don't want to accomodate you.

yeah, yeah bigger fan base blah blah.

What exactly have Mervue and Salthill done wrong? They're doing what they feel is right. if they choose to leave the league so be it, but if they choose to stay in it, and continue to pay their bills. Let them do it

19/09/2012, 1:33 PM
Dodge few slight mistruths in your statement. If you want to see LOI football wiped out in Galway so be it guess ill have to give up on it as the wisemen in the Pale and Limerick know all bout Galway Soccer.Mervue have been true to their ideals whereas Salthill threw out theirs.

19/09/2012, 1:36 PM
How did you get that I want football out of Galway? Point out the 'mistruths'

Answer the question;

What exactly have Mervue and Salthill done wrong?

bluewhitearmy
19/09/2012, 2:03 PM
As long as Mervue and Salthill are there then LOI is still in Galway though.

You say "We are willing to work with anyone to see this happen but as of yet we are the only Club willing to sit down and talk."but why should either of them talk to ye or try and help ye after the way members of GUST have slagged them off in public? Ye were very quick to point out anything negative ye got the chance to and now expect them to help ye out. Why should they do anything for ye?

19/09/2012, 2:21 PM
In terms of the league format for next year - I just saw a comment from a Harps official saying it's 'as you were'.

gufc2000
19/09/2012, 2:33 PM
Whether that means two divisions of 12 and 7, or two divisions of 12 and an expanded First Division is anyone's guess so for now

19/09/2012, 2:43 PM
In terms of the league format for next year - I just saw a comment from a Harps official saying it's 'as you were'.
Mons back in the Premier so.

19/09/2012, 2:55 PM
They'd really want to lower fee's for clubs participating in the First Division at least so. 7 teams would be a disgrace.

GUST, Tralee, Cobh, Fanad, Kilkenny, Carlow, Monaghan and whoever else is available, please do feel free to join.

EDIT: On another note, could we see the return of the First Division cup to increase the amount of games?

Trainee
19/09/2012, 2:55 PM

Didnt Waterford come out and say if there was not a change they would not be in the league next year.

bluewhitearmy
19/09/2012, 3:02 PM

Next years first division could be great craic altogether then...

Battery Rover
19/09/2012, 3:10 PM
The Board of Management of the Football Association of Ireland today (September 19) confirmed the structure of the Airtricity League for2013 season.
Prior to the decision, information meetings were held with clubs and the matter was also discussed by the National League Executive Committee.
The Board recommends a 12 club Airtricity League Premier Division for the 2013 season. The Board will also seek expressions of interest for First Division licences from clubs or new entities for the 2013 season. Interested clubs will be invited to contact the FAI in the first instance after which they will be forwarded a pack and a licensing manual to apply for an Airtricity League First Division license.

19/09/2012, 3:14 PM
Not looking forward to this.

Any chance Waterford would just go ahead and field a few suspended players and get a big points deduction?

19/09/2012, 3:44 PM
No mention of First Division structure. Will/Can they go with 6 teams?

I'm disappointed with today's announcement now. Really thought a one-tiered league was the best option.

19/09/2012, 3:46 PM
No mention of First Division structure

They said they're inviting application from clubs and new 'entities'

gufc2000
19/09/2012, 3:51 PM
Well at least that clears it up for the play-offs, they now take on serious consequence.

19/09/2012, 3:59 PM
They said they're inviting application from clubs and new 'entities'

That doesn't really mean anything though. They haven't stayed what structure it would have.
I assume they'll want at least 10 teams, which means finding 4 new entrants/victims for the First, assuming Salthill/Mervue give way to a new Galway team.
I just can't see them recruiting 4 additional clubs.

19/09/2012, 4:04 PM
Inviting new teams is all well and good but it needs to be done right. Applications should be required to be in for the end of October to mid November. A decision needs to be made on who qualifies by the end of January. If at that stage you are left with only 7 clubs in the division then that still leaves time to go down other routes e.g regionalise the division with the teams that applie reapplying because their costs should be lower.

gormacha
19/09/2012, 4:06 PM
Doesn't matter what they do to the First from here on in, it's phuqed any which way.

Salthill, Mervue and Youths will be fine. It's Athlone, Harps, and which ones of Longford, Waterford and Limerick who don't go up who will be in real difficulty. You can't be semi-pro with enough seriousness to try and (re)establish Premier football with that kind of FD.

adamd164
19/09/2012, 4:07 PM
Didnt Waterford come out and say if there was not a change they would not be in the league next year.

Well if Waterford are promoted I doubt they'll drop out!

gormacha
19/09/2012, 4:16 PM
Well if Waterford are promoted I doubt they'll drop out!

Even if we do manage to get promoted, I'll still be very much in favour of a single division. Whoever doesn't get up before the trapdoor is pulled up this season are facing near insurmountable problems.

bluewhitearmy
19/09/2012, 4:17 PM
That doesn't really mean anything though. They haven't stayed what structure it would have.
I assume they'll want at least 10 teams, which means finding 4 new entrants/victims for the First, assuming Salthill/Mervue give way to a new Galway team.
I just can't see them recruiting 4 additional clubs.

Mervue have said they plan on being there next season i believe.

19/09/2012, 4:29 PM
Even if we do manage to get promoted, I'll still be very much in favour of a single division. Whoever doesn't get up before the trapdoor is pulled up this season are facing near insurmountable problems.

until next year when you're relegated and Dundalk win the first by 30 points.

Will Waterford threaten to resign again?

19/09/2012, 4:34 PM
Mervue have said they plan on being there next season i believe.

I certainly hope the two Galway teams decide to stay now. We need as many teams as possible now.

bluewhitearmy
19/09/2012, 4:45 PM
I certainly hope the two Galway teams decide to stay now. We need as many teams as possible now.

Ya need everyone to stay now. Would be great if Cobh and Tralee were ready too.

19/09/2012, 4:56 PM
Any sign of Sporting Fingal?

19/09/2012, 5:43 PM
No club in their right mind will enter the LOI while this crazy 19,000 entry fee still exists. The first division is known as the graveyard division for a reason, next season could spell disaster for a club like longford or waterford should they not be promoted.

gormacha
19/09/2012, 5:47 PM
until next year when you're relegated and Dundalk win the first by 30 points.

Will Waterford threaten to resign again?

Now now, no call for that. You enjoy your little slap-down's don't you?

As I said, irrespective of Waterford's fate, now or next season, I will advocate for a single division until there is a viable first.

culloty82
19/09/2012, 6:13 PM
Ya need everyone to stay now. Would be great if Cobh and Tralee were ready too.

If clubs need to pay €19k before any budgeting, like outspoken says, that's both of them ruled out, I'd imagine.

19/09/2012, 7:19 PM
Now now, no call for that. You enjoy your little slap-down's don't you?

Very much so when i see cry babys wailing. The facts are that Waterford will take a place in next season 12 tam premier if offered. They won't take a place in the 7 team first. So what happens if it continues and they're relegated?

Whilethey might advocate a 16 team premier, they won't say no to a 12 team spot.

Louth4sam
19/09/2012, 7:36 PM
next season could spell disaster for a club like longford or waterford should they not be promoted.

Can't see Dundalk surviving if we are relegated to a six team division.

19/09/2012, 8:08 PM
http://www.athlone.ie/images/767.jpg

Tribesman2
19/09/2012, 8:21 PM
As long as Mervue and Salthill are there then LOI is still in Galway though.

You say "We are willing to work with anyone to see this happen but as of yet we are the only Club willing to sit down and talk."but why should either of them talk to ye or try and help ye after the way members of GUST have slagged them off in public? Ye were very quick to point out anything negative ye got the chance to and now expect them to help ye out. Why should they do anything for ye?

Precisely

They pay their bills, they have integrity (well Mervue do anyway), they have fantastic underage setups and facilities, they don't sign contracts that they don't and won't see through, and most of all in my opinion they have the experience of running a club for years and years, and that's not just a LOI team, it's over 20 juvenile teams and 2 junior teams as well.

GUST have one year experience running a football club, a year which culminated in the end for Galway United. With that track record, I think it's kind of obvious why the FAI didn't accept their licence last year. The GUST lads seem to have missed this point.

oriel
19/09/2012, 11:20 PM
Maybe the FAI will have another look at this if say only 6 teams are willing to participate in the FD. What then if another club follows the suggestion by Waterford (if they dont get promoted), and suddenly only 4 teams remain.Its too fragile to have clubs in that situation of threatening to pull out. Mons did it easy enough after 3 months, whats stoppping others doing it pre season?

I wouldnt rule out an EGM at a later stage with a single division back on the table.

Even if we surived the play off (or somehow escaped it) I would still be in a favour of an expanded single division, not sure how many teams though. 16 perhaps, 15 home and away, keep it simple.

NeverFeltBetter
19/09/2012, 11:27 PM
I thought the plan (someone mentioned it in some other First Division thread) might be to supplement the First Division with top tier reserve sides, ala the A Championship/Spanish system?

Certainly, they do not appear to be any rumblings of any non-league club seriously considering an application (aside from GUST).

Who are the even likely ones anyway? Tralee, Cobh I suppose. Fanad? Carlow? Castlebar? Anyone else who could possibly survive in the LOI?

White Horse
19/09/2012, 11:49 PM
This plan will see some long established clubs closing.

It is not possible to survive economically in a 6 team first division.

adamd164
20/09/2012, 12:44 AM
Certainly, they do not appear to be any rumblings of any non-league club seriously considering an application (aside from GUST).

Who are the even likely ones anyway? Tralee, Cobh I suppose. Fanad? Carlow? Castlebar? Anyone else who could possibly survive in the LOI?
I believe Cobh and Tralee both indicated after being rejected for this year's league that they will try again next year. Along with GUST if all are approved you would be looking at a 10 team first division.

adamd164
20/09/2012, 12:47 AM
This plan will see some long established clubs closing.

It is not possible to survive economically in a 6 team first division.
Maybe I'm missing something here, but how could the first division only have 6 teams (even if no new clubs were allowed in)?

bullit
20/09/2012, 12:53 AM
I believe Cobh and Tralee both indicated after being rejected for this year's league that they will try again next year. Along with GUST if all are approved you would be looking at a 10 team first division.
All including GUST would inflict huge harm on the leauge.Three teams in Galway is not viable in any way shape or form and that is the bottom line.
The FAI can't be that blind?

adamd164
20/09/2012, 1:03 AM
All including GUST would inflict huge harm on the leauge.Three teams in Galway is not viable in any way shape or form and that is the bottom line.
The FAI can't be that blind?
Huge harm on a division that already includes Salthill and Mervue? Have you been to Drom!?

bullit
20/09/2012, 1:08 AM
Huge harm on a division that already includes Salthill and Mervue? Have you been to Drom!?
Yup.I don't know what you're try'in to tell me here?

White Horse
20/09/2012, 2:30 AM
Maybe I'm missing something here, but how could the first division only have 6 teams (even if no new clubs were allowed in)?

I'm assuming only one team from Galway. Even if there were two teams from Galway and the league comprised 7 teams, it still isn't viable.

That is fine, if the objective is to concentrate on football in big cities/towns and leave the rest of the country to the GAA.

20/09/2012, 8:55 AM
I thought the plan (someone mentioned it in some other First Division thread) might be to supplement the First Division with top tier reserve sides, ala the A Championship/Spanish system?

I think people saw "entities" and ran with that meaning reserve sides too. Could also mean brand new clubs, as per Kildare County, rather than a simple promotion of an existing team. It may turn out to be the case, simple because the idiots read this thread and think it's a great idea - I don't see anything from the FAI to suggest that's what they are thinking now.*

If teams that applied last year (but were denied a licence) get in this year, it will be interesting what improvements they've made. Or how much the criteria is reduced. Whilst I am 100% sure a 6 or 7 team premier isn't viable, I'm not convinced parachuting clubs in not up to the required standard just to make up the numbers will automatically make it viable either. The whole thing is a mess that needs long term, and radical, solutions.

*not that the idea of reserve sides in it is idiotic, but that the administrators won't have thought of it.

prince20
20/09/2012, 9:47 AM
http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/league-of-ireland/first-division-clubs-fume-at-fai-decision-to-keep-12team-premier-league-3234965.html

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2012/0920/1224324200228.html

20/09/2012, 10:03 AM
While it would be great to have Galway United back it is very hard to argue with the fact that salthill and Mervue have conducted themselves well in keepng their clubs running. Mervue in particular can be a tough team to play and are doing it on very limited resources. Until there is proof otherwise it's hard to see how they can be convinced to get together with GUST. The only thing they can offer is a bigger support base but if salthill and Mervues names were to be gone and they played under the name Galway United or GUST then they may as well just pull out altogether and let GUST go it alone.

bluewhitearmy
20/09/2012, 10:03 AM
]I think people saw "entities" and ran with that meaning reserve sides too.[/B] Could also mean brand new clubs, as per Kildare County, rather than a simple promotion of an existing team. It may turn out to be the case, simple because the idiots read this thread and think it's a great idea - I don't see anything from the FAI to suggest that's what they are thinking now.*

If teams that applied last year (but were denied a licence) get in this year, it will be interesting what improvements they've made. Or how much the criteria is reduced. Whilst I am 100% sure a 6 or 7 team premier isn't viable, I'm not convinced parachuting clubs in not up to the required standard just to make up the numbers will automatically make it viable either. The whole thing is a mess that needs long term, and radical, solutions.

*not that the idea of reserve sides in it is idiotic, but that the administrators won't have thought of it.

Seen as the reserve sides thing came out before the FAI gave any statement involving "entities" i doubt that is what happened.

20/09/2012, 10:05 AM
http://www.breakingnews.ie/sport/soccer/twelve-clubs-set-to-compete-in-next-airtricity-premier-division-567526.html

20/09/2012, 10:15 AM

I was talking to someone who should know, and the reserve team thing has been on the table for a while. Most FD teams oppose it apparently

gufc2000
20/09/2012, 10:18 AM
I was talking to someone who should know, and the reserve team thing has been on the table for a while. Most FD teams oppose it apparently
And rightly so, it's a ridiculous idea