View Full Version : First Division Run In

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18

25/09/2011, 10:15 PM
From reading what I have of it Finn Harps have been punished for the FAI's error.

correct 100%

in fact im still waiting for any mention of Mons points award it just seems to have been applied to the league table with no *** stating a points gain for reasons other then football and harps ** a points deduction for reasons other then football

25/09/2011, 10:39 PM
I can't read this post, it just comes up blank to me. Almost like it doesn't exist....

Two of the Lims yellow cards were for blatant handballs, don't see any mention of that?

blatent being one hit his shoulder as he was running back to his own goal while being pushed by Philly. There were seven (7) yellow cards. and none to the home team. 7 0 wasnt the result i was looking for going there.

CSFShels
26/09/2011, 12:05 AM
did some rough estimations today and I had it with Shels and Mons going up together on level points with Cork finishing 3rd
Jesus Christ you must really think Mons are Barcelona and we're bleedin Hull. You must think Mons are going to beat us and Cork?

monsexile
26/09/2011, 7:47 AM
I think most Mons fans deep down fancy us to get something from the Shels and Cork games and then feck up yet again against Mervue. Would be delighted with second at this stage and happy enough with third.

26/09/2011, 7:51 AM
I think most Mons fans deep down fancy us to get something from the Shels and Cork games and then feck up yet again against Mervue.I certainly think ye can get something out of our game at the Cross but the bottom line is we have to beat ye. Mervue without Gaffney are not as much a threat.

Would be delighted with second at this stage and happy enough with third.My sentiments exactly.

passerrby
26/09/2011, 11:44 AM
Would I be right in saying if we were beaten by shels and cork and draw with Lims we would still be ahead of them assuming we both win the other remaining games?

Corquistador
26/09/2011, 11:56 AM
You are correct, let's hope that doesn't happen though, Monaghan is a kip for an away trip.

legendz
26/09/2011, 12:22 PM
Would I be right in saying if we were beaten by shels and cork and draw with Lims we would still be ahead of them assuming we both win the other remaining games?

You are right with that. Limerick need ye to lose two games and they probably will need to beat ye themselves as well. In fairness if ye lose to all 3 ye know ye'reselves it'll ruin ye're promotion push.

harpin
26/09/2011, 1:09 PM
And the 2 points Mons were given for Harps game could play a big part.

Also the +3 in their goals for column

passerrby
26/09/2011, 1:23 PM
Also the +3 in their goals for column

whatever came of the limerick objection has an appeal date been announced

26/09/2011, 1:45 PM
whatever came of the limerick objection has an appeal date been announced

Haven't heard anything of an official appeal coming from Limerick but if there has been I'd be surprised if we have any grounds to appeal. Yes it affects us and Cork but it was something that happened in another league game so I can't see how we would have a leg to stand on.

26/09/2011, 10:30 PM
The big question limerick fans are asking though, no its not the markets field, nor is it who we are signing for next season. The big question is who will be reffing the game in monaghan in a few weeks.

Shall it be Jimmy McKell (JD appointment, 7 yellows), not fit enough to ref at junior level, who ventured as far north as Athlone last weekend as a trial to see could he find monaghan in a few weeks. From a novice ref to the ref who gets all limericks big games of late. Well connected through patronage

Phil Caschera, the longest unpromoted first division ref in the history of the first division. As a club we have never won a game with him in charge at any level. Last chance to be a prem ref if he performs as instructed on the night

Paul McLoughlin, The derry city supporter, Donegal born, Monaghan based guard who was given some saucy expenses this year reffing games in Limerick and waterford. For a novice ref was given a prem game this season allready.

Conor Fitzgerald, my choice for the game. This GAA style ref (refs from the half way line) Has reffed games in monaghan and Harps before. This totally unfit ref lost out on his chance of getting promoted to the prem panel last week by failing to lose limerick the game at shels (limerick 7 yellow shels 0) Met him in a chip shop getting double portions once in monaghan, would appear to have visited said establishment many times since.

So with this fine selection of ammm officials can we have a prem and eufa qualified ref for this one please :good:

27/09/2011, 3:49 PM
Someone needs to bundle Phil Caschera into the boot of a car and take him somewhere out of harm's way until he's too old to ref any more.

27/09/2011, 6:20 PM
and the ref for the Mervue Vs Limerick game in Galway this Friday....all the way from Dublin....mr Phil Caschera. one game from the prem panel Phil just make sure limerick dont get 3 points :p

LFC-Zulu
27/09/2011, 8:01 PM
The big question limerick fans are asking though, no its not the markets field, nor is it who we are signing for next season. The big question is who will be reffing the game in monaghan in a few weeks.

Shall it be Jimmy McKell (JD appointment, 7 yellows), not fit enough to ref at junior level, who ventured as far north as Athlone last weekend as a trial to see could he find monaghan in a few weeks. From a novice ref to the ref who gets all limericks big games of late. Well connected through patronage

Phil Caschera, the longest unpromoted first division ref in the history of the first division. As a club we have never won a game with him in charge at any level. Last chance to be a prem ref if he performs as instructed on the night

Paul McLoughlin, The derry city supporter, Donegal born, Monaghan based guard who was given some saucy expenses this year reffing games in Limerick and waterford. For a novice ref was given a prem game this season allready.

Conor Fitzgerald, my choice for the game. This GAA style ref (refs from the half way line) Has reffed games in monaghan and Harps before. This totally unfit ref lost out on his chance of getting promoted to the prem panel last week by failing to lose limerick the game at shels (limerick 7 yellow shels 0) Met him in a chip shop getting double portions once in monaghan, would appear to have visited said establishment many times since.

So with this fine selection of ammm officials can we have a prem and eufa qualified ref for this one please :good:

Phil Caschera has referried one game of Limerick's this year. Ironically, it was against a Galway side, and we won 3-0. Don't just make up "facts". Thank you Sir. :rolleyes:

27/09/2011, 9:36 PM
Phil Caschera has referried one game of Limerick's this year. Ironically, it was against a Galway side, and we won 3-0. Don't just make up "facts". Thank you Sir. :rolleyes:
indeed you are correct good sir, salthill twas and made Phil get his first limerick win under his belt. Twas a game that was hard to lose or draw for a fact as salthill were pretty muck to be fair

27/09/2011, 11:14 PM

Phil Caschera is a clown, a potentially costly clown in the context of a promotion push.

Congrats on the pedantry though, you've made the world a richer place. :good:

bluewhitearmy
28/09/2011, 1:24 AM
Well we have to win 2 games before we worry about anyone reffing Monaghan or not anyway...Starting with a very tough game Friday.

28/09/2011, 1:41 AM
I am WORRIED about Friday.

Everyone seems to be getting ahead of themselves, Mervue aren't garbage like.

A FIVE to ONE saver of my weekend could be in order just in case. :p

bluewhitearmy
28/09/2011, 1:53 AM
I am WORRIED about Friday.

Everyone seems to be getting ahead of themselves, Mervue aren't garbage like.

A FIVE to ONE saver of my weekend could be in order just in case. :p

Very nervous about it the only thing that gives me hope is if they come out and attack we should have enough to get at them im praying fro Gaffney to get the goal against his ex club like happens so often.

28/09/2011, 9:58 AM
Twas a game that was hard to lose or draw for a fact as salthill were pretty muck to be fair

It should be hard be hard to draw against Salthill, shouldn't it? :(

Shannonsider
28/09/2011, 4:45 PM

What about Graham "I am sexual attracted to penalties" Kelly? He would do a fine job up in Monaghan.

legendz
28/09/2011, 7:45 PM
Monaghan are a good team but I don't think they'll get more than a point out of 6 in their two games against Shels and Cork.

MagicMon
30/09/2011, 8:40 AM
Right, I'm going to go to sleep and wake up on Wednesday, and when I do Monaghan will be 1 point off top spot, and Fabio will have found his shooting boots, and Gemma Arterton will be in the bed next to me.

30/09/2011, 8:58 AM
Look at you trying to do an Osarusan.

MagicMon
30/09/2011, 9:20 AM
It worked that time didn't it!? And I got about 5 hours sleep last night so I feel like I could sleep till Wednesday.

30/09/2011, 9:46 AM
Torrential down here all morning so far, if it continues much more the Harps game could be in doubt.

monsexile
30/09/2011, 11:03 AM
Off on safari for two weeks from tomorrow so will miss most of the run-in; a win tonight would be the perfect send-off. Two draws would be good results isolation but you can't really afford to drop too many points at this stage even away to Shels and Cork. Mons at 7/2 on bet 365 worth a flutter as is Sean Brennan at 11s on Paddy Power to be first scorer.

gormacha
30/09/2011, 11:51 AM
Monaghan are a good team but I don't think they'll get more than a point out of 6 in their two games against Shels and Cork.

What are you basing that on?

Mons record against Cork and Shels is very solid (P4 W1 D2 L1), and they are unbeaten against them both away from home.

30/09/2011, 12:10 PM
I'm getting the feeling we could be looking at 3 draws tonight. Finn Harps will want to make up for the beating they got down there earlier in the year and are on a decent run. Mervue will be tricky for us and Shels vs Mons will be tight.

monsexile
30/09/2011, 12:12 PM
I'd be very happy with that outcome Jofspring.

MagicMon
30/09/2011, 12:18 PM
Originally Posted by legendz http://foot.ie/images/buttons/viewpost-right.png (http://foot.ie/showthread.php?p=1537122#post1537122)

What are you basing that on?

Probably google maps and the AA road distance calculator

KUFCMan
30/09/2011, 12:56 PM
Mervue at 13-2 with Boyles and PP is a massive price at home.
Even 7-4 Mervue and Draw looks tasty.

30/09/2011, 2:27 PM
I'm getting the feeling we could be looking at 3 draws tonight. Finn Harps will want to make up for the beating they got down there earlier in the year and are on a decent run. Mervue will be tricky for us and Shels vs Mons will be tight.

I'm nervy about our game anyway. Huge pressure on the lads and by the sounds of it they'll be playing in a swimming pool. That generally leads to shocking football and fluky goals, whatever way they may go.

Think ye'll be too strong for Mervue, ye're in excellent form atm, and Shels and Mons will draw, but I hope Shels hammer them.

TiocfaidhArmani
30/09/2011, 2:58 PM
I'm nervous and all. We've let ourselves down a bit in some of these sort of games in recent years, especially at home. We win tonight I might start to relax about us getting promotion.

An evening in the airport on the internet awaits. Wish I had holidays from work left, pain in my behind looking at updates on Shelsweb. Corner. Ball cleared. Booking. Some dick shouting at Caso. Nice pass there to Gorman but couldn't control. Corner. Aaaaggghhhh I wanna be there :(

30/09/2011, 3:13 PM
So the only fans not ****ting themselves at the moment in the run in is Mons.

Would Turners Cross not have great drainage I would have thought micls or is it one of those pitches the water just sits on top?

30/09/2011, 3:32 PM
Backed Cork, Mons +1, and Limerick in my accumulator along with Derry. So at least one of those will not happen.

30/09/2011, 3:35 PM
Backed Cork, Mons +1, and Limerick in my accumulator along with Derry. So at least one of those will not happen.

Money should never ever ever be put on Limerick..............could be a good bet in the FAI cup on Monday though with it bein Shels :p

30/09/2011, 3:50 PM
I've won money on bets including them in their last two games, including against us. They're probably due a **** up I guess.

passerrby
30/09/2011, 3:53 PM
Sean Brennan is 11/1 to score first , the shels lads will make a fortune

30/09/2011, 3:59 PM
Would Turners Cross not have great drainage I would have thought micls or is it one of those pitches the water just sits on top?
In general it's excellent, games are rarely called off, but the weather has been torrential and people expected it to be called off so I'd say it'l be pretty bad.

30/09/2011, 5:10 PM
Money should never ever ever be put on Limerick..............could be a good bet in the FAI cup on Monday though with it bein Shels :p
Whatever chance ye would have with our Vegas Boys, Frank and Irene will see us sound I'd say.

Who do you reckon will be found to be ineligible on Tuesday?

adamd164
30/09/2011, 9:24 PM
http://i54.tinypic.com/i3cmki.jpg

Getting tighter by the week. City vs Mons on Tuesday is a big game.

MagicMon
30/09/2011, 9:42 PM
Zzzz quit hogging the duvet Gemma zzzzz

gormacha
30/09/2011, 11:00 PM
Getting tighter by the week. City vs Mons on Tuesday is a big game.

Just a bit. You've got to think that a Mons win would be decisive, as I'd expect them to take a minimum of 9 points from their last four games. They could go up as champions yet.

monutdfc
30/09/2011, 11:17 PM
Monaghan United
Cork (A) 4 Oct
Wexford (H) 9 Oct
Mervue (A) 14 Oct
Limerick (H) 21 Oct
Athlone (A) 29 Oct

Cork City
Monaghan (H) 4 Oct
Salthill (A) 8 Oct
Longford (H) 21 Oct
Shels (A) 29 Oct

Shelbourne
Waterford (A) 8/9? Oct
Harps (H) 14 Oct
Salthill (A) 22 Oct
Cork (H) 29 Oct

Limerick
Athlone (H) 14 Oct
Monaghan (A) 21 Oct
Waterford (H) 29 Oct

30/09/2011, 11:27 PM
Shels 71
Monaghan 70
Cork 66
Limerick 66

Thats the way I see it finishing looking at everyones fixtures.

30/09/2011, 11:35 PM
So Shels need to slip up twice, Cork at home and once other and Monaghan win every game except Cork away, that puts Shels third...?

What the best hope of that happening..Waterford? Harps? Mervue away for Monaghan...hmm..

adamd164
01/10/2011, 8:21 AM
For us to finish ahead of Shels, we'd need to win our last 4 games and they'd have to draw one of their other games (presumably Waterford or Harps). That way we'd be level on points and probably with a better goal difference.

Do Galway fans have any preference as to who they want to finish 3rd for the playoff?

01/10/2011, 8:52 AM
Wanted Shels to win last night, but the result certainly makes things interesting.

Now, there's realistically 3 teams that can win the division, though Shels still have the upper hand. Tuesday's game is absolutely huge. If either team wins that there's major pressure on Shels and a bottling is possible.

Obviously I hope it's us, and I'd love to have a chance to win the league in Tolka on the last day.

On the other hand, if Mons we we'll be scrapping it out to finish in a playoff going to Tolka, with Shels tryng to win the division.

It's never boring anyway! Already nervous about Tuesday!