04/10/2011, 3:02 PM
3-3 with loads of red cards.

One of them for putting Graham Cummins out of action for six weeks. :ball:

04/10/2011, 3:34 PM
One of them for putting Graham Cummins out of action for six weeks. :ball:
Graham's been a bit off form lately
We've score 18 goals in our last 4 league games and the lad has only got 5.

04/10/2011, 3:45 PM
A LOT of your play goes through him though.

gormacha
04/10/2011, 3:54 PM
A LOT of your play goes through him though.

I suspect he was being sarcastic. As well as reminding us of how many Cork have scored recently.

Pablo Escobar
04/10/2011, 4:07 PM
Graham's been a bit off form lately
We've score 18 goals in our last 4 league games and the lad has only got 5.

Is that all? :D

El-Pietro
04/10/2011, 4:38 PM
20 league goals for the season. his next one sets a new record for league goals by a City player in a season

I'm just heading for the Tavern now, very excited, very nervous. I heard Gav will likely start, Hoggy too, that gives us a much better chance

I'd start:

-------------Nults---------------
Hoggy, Gav Kav, Kalen, Danny
Turner, Gearóid, Duggy, Daryl
-------------VEC----------------
-------Super Graham----------

I reckon its either that or Irish Vinny starts up top

CSFShels
04/10/2011, 5:53 PM
Draw please. Or a Cork win if it someone has to. Fancy Cork for the win though. They seem to have less ability than us but more bottle about them than us which should see them through a big game like this better than we did.

gormacha
04/10/2011, 6:03 PM
Or a Cork win if it someone has to.

Huh? Surely putting more daylight between you and third is the best outcome for ye? A draw first, yes. But after that I would have thought a Mons win suits ye more?

CSFShels
04/10/2011, 6:14 PM
Huh? Surely putting more daylight between you and third is the best outcome for ye? A draw first, yes. But after that I would have thought a Mons win suits ye more?
The gap in disappointment between 1st and 2nd is much larger than the gap in disappointment between 2nd and 3rd for me. If we're bad enough to fall all the way back to 3rd, and then mess it up against Galway, then this is one of those occasions where we literally (not just as a figure of speech) do not deserve to be in the Premier Division next season.

04/10/2011, 6:14 PM
Good point gormacha but realistically we could finish 3rd if Mons catch up with us at this stage because we are bottlers of the highest order. The bigger the gap between us and second the better for our psyche.

04/10/2011, 6:50 PM
1-0 City within 2 mins. Blow it up ref!

04/10/2011, 7:17 PM
2-0 Cummins! Get in there!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

04/10/2011, 7:27 PM
Cummins making a fool of Mons players, McDonagh resorts to hacking him down and gets booked. Cummins limping.

04/10/2011, 7:32 PM
We need miracles now

born2bwild
04/10/2011, 7:34 PM
Hmm Cork must be targeting Mons' psychological weaknesses. Right, Roddy?

MagicMon
04/10/2011, 7:37 PM
Fair play to Cork, sounds like they've stepped up to the occasion in a way that Shels didn't. Roddy needs to work his magic at the half time team talk now.

04/10/2011, 7:42 PM
Mons apparently playing very dirty, Normal? or a surprised reaction to going behind?

MagicMon
04/10/2011, 7:45 PM
Not normal but McDonagh is diving in a lot (according to my source at the ground)

gormacha
04/10/2011, 7:48 PM
Mons apparently playing very dirty, Normal?

Not something I'd ordinarily associate with them.

04/10/2011, 7:51 PM
attendance:2502. Very good for a Tuesday

04/10/2011, 7:57 PM
Cummins off with that knock. Candau on. Time to hold out!

Hope its not serious, we'd be fecked altogether with cummins and davin out

04/10/2011, 8:10 PM
3-0 Sullivan. Woooooooooooooooooo!

gormacha
04/10/2011, 8:12 PM
Good point gormacha but realistically we could finish 3rd if Mons catch up with us at this stage because we are bottlers of the highest order. The bigger the gap between us and second the better for our psyche.

I think you and CSFShels are certifiable! Have you had a proper look at what the table will look like if Cork go on to win (which looks very likely)? You really could finish third.

04/10/2011, 8:13 PM
3-1, McDonagh.

MagicMon
04/10/2011, 8:18 PM
If Fabio would like to end his goal drought, now would be a good time

04/10/2011, 8:19 PM
I think you and CSFShels are certifiable! Have you had a proper look at what the table will look like if Cork go on to win (which looks very likely)? You really could finish third.

We'll be grand.

*gulp*

born2bwild
04/10/2011, 8:19 PM
We need miracles now
Maybe Mervue will hold Mons to a draw.

04/10/2011, 8:22 PM
Red for Sean Brennan for chopping down Duggan

Real ale Madrid
04/10/2011, 8:27 PM
Fabulous result if we can hold out. Getting updates from the ground - Mons have had lots of possession apparently.

04/10/2011, 8:33 PM
And now Ryan Brennan is sent off too, for a second yellow. Who do Mons platy next?

Real ale Madrid
04/10/2011, 8:36 PM
Home to Wexford.

04/10/2011, 8:36 PM
Maybe Mervue will hold Mons to a draw.

Hopefully, Brennan most likely out for 2 of their remaining games so he'll be a loss.

Would be an interesting last game if it comes down to cork and Shels for the title last day.

Shannonsider
04/10/2011, 8:38 PM
Mons at home to Wexford on Friday.

MagicMon
04/10/2011, 8:40 PM
Wexford, then Mervue. The loss I can take, Cork away on a Tuesday was always going to be tough. But the sendings off I'm raging about, our two best attacking players. The promotions will be decided by winning the games against the 'non top 4' teams, it was irrespective of the Cork result and that will be a lot harder without the Brennans.

Pablo Escobar
04/10/2011, 9:02 PM
Mons should have had more sent off. Cynical, cynical team. Outplayed and outclassed by an understrength Cork City side. I'm absolutely delighted with that performance. Our defensive frailties showed again, but going forward nobody in this division can handle us like that. I don't think Cummins injury looked bad, but a Mons player got injured stretching for the ball at the end and is definitely out for the season.

monutdfc
04/10/2011, 9:10 PM
What a load of toss. People, don't believe everything you read on biased-time. As one of the lads said, we played well between the goals! Eric Foley's yellow and Ryan Brennan's first yellow weren't even fouls in my biased opinion. Willo Mcdonagh's donkey impression made Cork look better than they are

04/10/2011, 9:10 PM
Mons should have had more sent off. Cynical, cynical team. Outplayed and outclassed by an understrength Cork City side. I'm absolutely delighted with that performance. Our defensive frailties showed again, but going forward nobody in this division can handle us like that. I don't think Cummins injury looked bad, but a Mons player got injured stretching for the ball at the end and is definitely out for the season.

Have to agree, ye are definitely the most dangerous team going forward.

04/10/2011, 9:11 PM
What a load of toss. People, don't believe everything you read on biased-time. As one of the lads said, we played well between the goals! Eric Foley's yellow and Ryan Brennan's first yellow weren't even fouls in my biased opinion. Willo Mcdonagh's donkey impression made Cork look better than they are

Don't believe biased-time but do believe biased Mons fan :confused:

Pablo Escobar
04/10/2011, 9:15 PM
Don't believe biased-time but do believe biased Mons fan :confused:

I'm not even going to comment on the post you referred to.......that is all!

CSFShels
04/10/2011, 9:15 PM
Who? That question is for ANYONE btw.

CSFShels
04/10/2011, 9:18 PM
Again, I'd be more heartbroken about the loss of the title after having it looking sewn up for so long. I thoroughly believe that we'll be promoted one way or another (even if it comes from a penalty shootout of 180 minutes of goalless football against Galway) and my focus is really on winning the league. That may come back to bite me in the arse but I'm pretty happy with a 4 point lead over Mons and a 2 point lead with a game in hand against Salthill Devon over Cork.

04/10/2011, 9:21 PM

anyone any idea who this is?

monutdfc
04/10/2011, 9:26 PM
Aidan Collins

CSFShels
04/10/2011, 9:28 PM
Aidan Collins
Big loss? He pretty much spent his whole Shels career injured.

born2bwild
04/10/2011, 9:40 PM
Again, I'd be more heartbroken about the loss of the title after having it looking sewn up for so long. I thoroughly believe that we'll be promoted one way or another (even if it comes from a penalty shootout of 180 minutes of goalless football against Galway) and my focus is really on winning the league. That may come back to bite me in the arse but I'm pretty happy with a 4 point lead over Mons and a 2 point lead with a game in hand against Salthill Devon over Cork.
Were you at the Salthill away match in the rain back in April/May?
I was...I seem to remember it taking a long time to get the goal.
Hope it's not as tight this time.
Of course, I may not even find the place this time...my breadcrumbs have probably all been scoffed by now.

legendz
04/10/2011, 9:43 PM
Great win for Cork, Limerick need a bit of luck.

04/10/2011, 10:00 PM
One of them for putting Graham Cummins out of action for six weeks. :ball:Well you got your way.
Kicked out of the game tonight, McDonagh hacked him before half time, lasted til 53 minutes.
Here's hoping it's not 6 weeks though.

Pablo Escobar
04/10/2011, 11:11 PM
anyone any idea who this is?

McDonagh, if razor, above is correct. Lots of intent to injure Cummins and succeeded.

adamd164
04/10/2011, 11:15 PM
Even Roddy raised smile at the end of the game as he went off the pitch to chants of "Oh Roddy Collins, you're only a boy" in reference to him calling Tommy Dunne 'a boy in a mans job' earlier in the season.

(I don't know if he was quite as pleased at the "Roddy, you're a c**nt. Roddy Roddy, you're a c**nt" chants throughout the game though :p )

04/10/2011, 11:26 PM
Lots of intent to injure Cummins and succeeded.

Not just Cummins either but damn he must be sore tonight, his shin guards must be in bits at this stage.