Pages :
[
3]
passerrby
08/09/2011, 9:00 AM
Who what where and when and wow
total hoofball
08/09/2011, 9:42 AM
What Im told is the email stated "misses next A Championship game" plus there was no date on the email to suggest when the ban starts. Only 1 yellow was picked up playing for the 1st team, the rest were collected in the A league.
If that's correct then you should win your appeal.
If you don't win the appeal then the FAI based on their own precedent set this week with Shels will have to leave the Harps/Mons result stand and probably deduct Harps points. That will then result in Mons taking action. If Mons are awarded the victory then the FAI would have to award Shels the Sheriff victory. Looks like the FAI will have shot themselves in foot so quickly with their stunt on Shels.
monsexile
08/09/2011, 9:47 AM
Two different competitions so different rules can apply.
monsexile
08/09/2011, 10:09 AM
Seems the player involved picked up 3 yellow cards in A championship and one in First Division
bluewhitearmy
08/09/2011, 12:12 PM
Surely if thats true Harps should win the appeal.
passerrby
08/09/2011, 1:00 PM
look the fai dont make mistakes so will people get off there back ,if they say monaghan have to be awarded 3 points then who are we to argue.
08/09/2011, 2:21 PM
I support the Finn Harps secretary in his appeal. The man is a saint.
08/09/2011, 2:25 PM
I support the Finn Harps secretary in his appeal. The man is a saint.
He? Man? Secretary?......hmm..something doesn't add up.
monsexile
08/09/2011, 5:41 PM
Harps have appealed
http://www.highlandradio.com/2011/09/08/soccer-harps-appeal-points-docking-fine/?utm_source=twitterfeed&utm_medium=twitter
Finn Harps have confirmed today that they are appealing the decision of the Airtricity League to award Monaghan United the points from last Saturday’s Division One game between the two clubs. It centres on the fielding of an illegible player by Harps in the game which ended in a nil all draw. Defender Aaron O’Hagan had picked up four yellow cards in the now defunct A League. That competition has since been replaced by the U-19 League – but because O’Hagan is overage for that league, he was supposed to serve his one game ban with the senior team. Harps Chairman Joey O’Leary suggested O’Hagan’s inclusion in the team was a simple oversight and the club informed the League of their mistake on Monday. It was confirmed on Wednesday night that Monaghan have been awarded a 3-0 victory and therefore the three points while Harps have been docked a point and now face a fine. Given Harps position in the First Division table, the points docking won’t make or break the season but a heavy fine would have more serious implications.
passerrby
08/09/2011, 6:14 PM
seems a mite unfair fining the club when they pointed out the error ,hope tehy get a reduction on the fine..only
It really is heart breaking that such a poor club could have everything taken from them in such a callous way.
And of course I feel sorry for Harps as well. :D
passerrby
08/09/2011, 6:29 PM
really hope this does not effect moral at cork city ,id hate to see them bottling it now and limerick catching them
sheao
08/09/2011, 10:19 PM
Our game against Mons was pretty much a game we had to win, but I feel a win is an absolute must now.
RahenyBohs
10/09/2011, 12:01 AM
I hope Monaghan United get promoted. I have a soft spot for Roddy:)
10/09/2011, 12:20 AM
I hope Monaghan United get promoted. I have a soft spot for Roddy:)
Freshly dug, in your back garden?
total hoofball
10/09/2011, 10:13 AM
Two different competitions so different rules can apply.
Come off it, it's the same sport. If two teams are competitively disadvantaged by the opposition fielding ineligible players then both sides should be awarded the victory no matter what the bloody competition is. Deciding to award a victory to one side and not the other ****es over the rules of sport, its like allowing backpasses in cup matches and not league matches. FIFA should paying close attention to what the FAI conjures up over this.
10/09/2011, 10:37 AM
So that they can what? There are no surprises as to the FAI making a hames of it however, as was pointed out by Dodge and elsewhere as Shels didn't appeal they weren't going to be given the game. However it was open to them to appeal that the decision and we should be reinstated at that stage. Still clarification from the FAI would be nice at these times rather than silence and guessing games.
10/09/2011, 10:50 AM
Vital for us to win tonight, to stay in touch with 2nd. Pressure's on now, we'll see what the lads are made of.
born2bwild
10/09/2011, 10:53 AM
Vital for us to win tonight, to stay in touch with 2nd. Pressure's on now, we'll see what the lads are made of.
87% water, I think.
I reckon you'll win - unless Athlone field a banger. In which case you'll get nothing.
10/09/2011, 11:03 AM
87% water, I think.
I reckon you'll win - unless Athlone field a banger. In which case you'll get nothing.
There's no excuse not to win really, but I find with City it's better always to expect the worse. It's when they get your hopes up you're screwed :D
born2bwild
10/09/2011, 11:10 AM
There's no excuse not to win really, but I find with City it's better always to expect the worse. It's when they get your hopes up you're screwed :D
Wouldn't find heading to the Monaghan match next week. Hope yis win that, anyway.
El-Pietro
10/09/2011, 11:45 AM
Wouldn't find heading to the Monaghan match next week. Hope yis win that, anyway.
were playing St. Pats next week. Monaghan game is October 4th
gormacha
10/09/2011, 2:19 PM
If you don't win that, you don't deserve to go up. With all due respect to AT fans on here, they are shocking. They made Waterford United look top drawer, so make of that what you will. The following Friday will tell you more about your lads.
Game against Pats? Won't tell us much!
If you meant the Mons game, that's not til the 4th of October now.
legendz
10/09/2011, 2:59 PM
Monaghan are making it tough for the two Munster clubs looking to get promoted. It'll be a big game down in Cork next week.
Once again, the game against Monaghan is not until the 4th of October.
10/09/2011, 4:20 PM
What time next Friday is the Cork v Monaghan game on?? :ball:
gormacha
10/09/2011, 5:23 PM
What time next Friday is the Cork v Monaghan game on?? :ball:
I imagine it's the same time as usual, on the usual Friday night.
10/09/2011, 6:25 PM
I imagine it's the same time as usual, on the usual Friday night.
Next Friday is the 16th so I'd say it's that night.....the same night we may or may not be playing Shels in the League or maybe even the cup.
legendz
10/09/2011, 8:04 PM
Oh yeah, the Cup. Big night for Cork in fairness. Live game on TV and all. After all that's gone on, a high profile game like that will be a good one for them to win but I think it'll be Pat's.
Oh yeah, the Cup. Big night for Cork in fairness.
Least important game that's left this season for us really. Obviously winning would be nice, but lowest priority.
6-0 up against Athlone, great for the goal difference!
Athlone Town 0-7 Cork City FT
Derek with 2, Davin, Duggan, Duffer, Danny and Vinny
Cummins came off at half time, hope he ain't injured.
bluewhitearmy
10/09/2011, 10:17 PM
Athlone Town 0-7 Cork City FT
Derek with 2, Davin, Duggan, Duffer, Danny and Vinny
Cummins came off at half time, hope he ain't injured.
Hes not unfortunately.
El-Pietro
11/09/2011, 6:41 PM
Morrissey went off injured towards the end, when we were 6 up. we had no subs left
legendz
11/09/2011, 7:29 PM
Least important game that's left this season for us really. Obviously winning would be nice, but lowest priority.
6-0 up against Athlone, great for the goal difference!
I know what you mean but in fairness a win there and the kudos is important as well after the last few years.
Oh yeah, the Cup. Big night for Cork in fairness. Live game on TV and all. After all that's gone on, a high profile game like that will be a good one for them to win but I think it'll be Pat's.
Think Pats will mean business coming down Friday night as they are intent on winning the FAI cup this year.
Our prioritys win or lose lie elsewhere in the form of promotion .
TiocfaidhArmani
12/09/2011, 10:10 AM
Shels have Limerick at home the weekend, gonna be a tough one. Even though every non-Shels fan thinks we're a cert now it makes me more nervous that it looks so good at the moment. Fear all these game. We lose this one and I'm sure some of us will start to brick. We get past this test with three points and I'll even start to thnik myself it's a cert.
gormacha
12/09/2011, 10:24 AM
it makes me more nervous that it looks so good at the moment. Fear all these game.
Erm, you're 9 points clear of second, with only 21 points left available; you have to play your top three rivals yet, but you are at home for all of those games; those same rivals also have games against each other; your three away games are all against teams playing terribly - and I mean terribly; and all in the context of only having dropped ten points all season long.
I think you can afford to be a little more bullish.
Not to get promoted would require a collapse the like of which I have never seen*.
* That's not quite true. For those of a certain age and persuausion, you might recall that the England cricket team of the early to mid-'80s might have conjured up such a collapse.
MagicMon
12/09/2011, 10:35 AM
Its definitely swingers on the line time for the teams chasing promotion
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zChQOmFrvto&feature=channel_video_title :excruciating:
TiocfaidhArmani
12/09/2011, 10:38 AM
I know but we're actually better away from home (I think) this season against the 'better' teams, so the fact we're at home means little. Not sure why but still a bit nervous. I just think what if those games go against us and then we might panic. I'm in the airport every Friday evening flying home to Ireland, always the same watching it on livescore and Shelsweb on the internet in the airport, it's murder not seeing what's going on! I'll start to relax if we get a result Friday :)
12/09/2011, 1:08 PM
Wouldn't be like us to bottle it. At home. Against Limerick. Already have the cold sweats.
12/09/2011, 1:10 PM
Even if we beat ye on Friday ye will still pick up enough points elsewhere. Ye may as well not beat us and then just go out and beat Monaghan and everyone else.
So Shels - Limerick, the league game, is going ahead this Friday???
or is it pending the result of Shels appeal on the cup front?
12/09/2011, 1:58 PM
Which we find out about tomorrow I understand.
12/09/2011, 2:00 PM
Even if we beat ye on Friday ye will still pick up enough points elsewhere. Ye may as well not beat us and then just go out and beat Monaghan and everyone else.
that's tempting fate isn't it? Surely some of your lads would be able to come to an arrangement with our lads. God knows we are willing.
Gonna be a whopper run-in.
S.E.P.1990
12/09/2011, 3:14 PM
I know but we're actually better away from home (I think) this season against the 'better' teams, so the fact we're at home means little. Not sure why but still a bit nervous. I just think what if those games go against us and then we might panic. I'm in the airport every Friday evening flying home to Ireland, always the same watching it on livescore and Shelsweb on the internet in the airport, it's murder not seeing what's going on! I'll start to relax if we get a result Friday :)
You're nervous because that is the natural emotion of a Shels fan........! With all the false dawns in the last few years I am not even going to start pondering promotion until I see the fixture list for next season. Bottom line is that we have to win the league as I am pretty sure the FAI will come up with a ridiculous logic to keep us down if we are involved in the play-offs (see, naturally pessimistic!!!)
12/09/2011, 3:19 PM
that's tempting fate isn't it? Surely some of your lads would be able to come to an arrangement with our lads. God knows we are willing.
Gonna be a whopper run-in.
Well let's just hope if something is arranged between the players they at least have the decency to give both sets of fans a heads up and we all come away happy.
12/09/2011, 4:27 PM
You're nervous because that is the natural emotion of a Shels fan........! With all the false dawns in the last few years I am not even going to start pondering promotion until I see the fixture list for next season. Bottom line is that we have to win the league as I am pretty sure the FAI will come up with a ridiculous logic to keep us down if we are involved in the play-offs (see, naturally pessimistic!!!)
Like that could give you any confidence (http://foot.ie/threads/147136-Licences-2011?highlight=fixtures+2011)!!!
I mean Shels could well be on the initial fixture list for next year...
Enruoblehs
12/09/2011, 6:56 PM
So Shels - Limerick, the league game, is going ahead this Friday???
or is it pending the result of Shels appeal on the cup front?
Definitely league on Friday.
12/09/2011, 8:25 PM
Definitely league on Friday.
So are they just going to fit in the cup match at a later stage if it comes to that?