View Full Version : First Division Run In

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18

Dave_SRFC
17/09/2011, 7:35 AM
Dopey Dopey Shels...

TiocfaidhArmani
17/09/2011, 11:37 AM
Arse. 65 minutes of domination then they start sitting deeper than the Kursk - and just as doomed in the end.

So this is what it's like to follow Shels.

Can't wait for Athlone.

Welcome on board. Before the light comes the darkness :)

17/09/2011, 11:50 AM
got out of jail big time last night as shels bottled it again but some rovers fans at the game said from the first min that the ref was a pure homer and its hard to disagree with them. For the second away game going the ref awarded 7 yellow cards to limerick and none (0) to shels. At least crooked jimmy makell had the brains to give two soft cards to cork players in cork to try and cover any thoughts of him being crooked but too late jimmy and as for last night. He was so unfit he couldnt keep up so positioned himself like a GAA ref between the two 65s :)
so its the away games we seem to be screwed by the officails on.......i wonder whos going to be appointed for monaghan :rolleyes:

17/09/2011, 11:52 AM
Dopey Dopey Shels...Or are they?
I wonder what was the price on Shels half time, Limerick full time?

17/09/2011, 12:00 PM
got out of jail big time last night as shels bottled it again but some rovers fans at the game said from the first min that the ref was a pure homer and its hard to disagree with them. For the second away game going the ref awarded 7 yellow cards to limerick and none (0) to shels. At least crooked jimmy makell had the brains to give two soft cards to cork players in cork to try and cover any thoughts of him being crooked but too late jimmy and as for last night. He was so unfit he couldnt keep up so positioned himself like a GAA ref between the two 65s :)
so its the away games we seem to be screwed by the officails on.......i wonder whos going to be appointed for monaghan :rolleyes:

I wasn't at the match but even the lad updating on extratime.ie said it wasn't a dirty match at all. Can't believe we picked up so many. Isn't there a fine for if a club picks up a certain amount of yellows in a game?

bluewhitearmy
17/09/2011, 12:15 PM
Or are they?
I wonder what was the price on Shels half time, Limerick full time?

Shels stewards weren't too happy when we gave out loads of dockets with Shels H/T Sheriff F/T written on them.

Either was Colly James when he was handed one.

17/09/2011, 12:16 PM
every shels player that went down the ref gave a yellow to the limerick players standing anywhere near him. cassidy fell in front of gamble at one stage and the ref gave gamble a yellow. the right back for shels who was a coward and went down holding his head at every challenge got quinn booked but the ref was so far away the titanic could have been raised by the time the ref got there.

on another note, It would appear that the harps monaghan game would appear to have been handed to monaghan as i see they have an extra win now and two extra points as per the first division table. Can anyone tell me when the offical notice was announced of this result? amd why there arnt footbotes ie *** added to the table to indicate that mons gained points and haprs lost a point for some reason? seems a bit iffy

bluewhitearmy
17/09/2011, 12:22 PM
every shels player that went down the ref gave a yellow to the limerick players standing anywhere near him. cassidy fell in front of gamble at one stage and the ref gave gamble a yellow. the right back for shels who was a coward and went down holding his head at every challenge got quinn booked but the ref was so far away the titanic could have been raised by the time the ref got there.

on another note, It would appear that the harps monaghan game would appear to have been handed to monaghan as i see they have an extra win now and two extra points as per the first division table. Can anyone tell me when the offical notice was announced of this result? amd why there arnt footbotes ie *** added to the table to indicate that mons gained points and haprs lost a point for some reason? seems a bit iffy

At one stage he quite clearly pushed Gaffney in the back then went down holding his head for nothing with the lino right next to it and they got the free shocking stuff.

The Lep
17/09/2011, 2:24 PM
Its the shels way, they did the same against Fingal last year in the Leinster senior. Pinto kept running into the Fingal players and fell down and won the free kick all the time.
Same old shelbourne i said and the shels officials gave out to me ;).

17/09/2011, 3:21 PM
Isn't there a fine for if a club picks up a certain amount of yellows in a game?As if Lotsa Lolly Limerick need to worry about fines. :D

bluewhitearmy
17/09/2011, 8:48 PM
As if Lotsa Lolly Limerick need to worry about fines. :D

At least after the Shels fans last night people wont be making it up if they say players have money thrown at them to play for Limerick.

born2bwild
17/09/2011, 9:51 PM
At least after the Shels fans last night people wont be making it up if they say players have money thrown at them to play for Limerick.
And Limerick will never lose their bottle as long as they're bombarded with spares.

TiocfaidhArmani
19/09/2011, 1:47 PM
We really can't afford a slip up this weekend with Monaghan around the corner. Nervy times ahead no matter what anybody thinks.

19/09/2011, 2:24 PM
We really can't afford a slip up this weekend with Monaghan around the corner. Nervy times ahead no matter what anybody thinks.

I think you are safe but you never know. It's not like you ever blew up v Athlone before...........

Would love to have you in the mix until the last day if only to make sure you are at your best v Cork.

If you can beat Monaghan it will really open up 2nd & 3rd and setup an absolute belter at turners Cross on October 4th.
Sure to be twists and turns yet but I'd much rather be in Shels position than anyone else's.

LeixlipRed
19/09/2011, 3:05 PM
Its the shels way, they did the same against Fingal last year in the Leinster senior. Pinto kept running into the Fingal players and fell down and won the free kick all the time.
Same old shelbourne i said and the shels officials gave out to me ;).

I can't read this post, it just comes up blank to me. Almost like it doesn't exist....

Two of the Lims yellow cards were for blatant handballs, don't see any mention of that?

20/09/2011, 12:33 PM
I believe limerick aren't letting our extra points gain lie.

20/09/2011, 12:36 PM
I wouldn't blame them, the decision was outright wrong in my opinion.

But what can they do about a decision regarding FHFC though?

passerrby
20/09/2011, 1:07 PM
Don't understand how they can appeal someone else's case if they win then we will appeal and if we win the cork can appeal and if they win well then shels could.....

20/09/2011, 1:09 PM
I believe limerick aren't letting our extra points gain lie.

I would think Cork are also very inerested in what happens here.

From reading what I have of it Finn Harps have been punished for the FAI's error.

20/09/2011, 1:09 PM
Don't understand how they can appeal someone else's case if they win then we will appeal and if we win the cork can appeal and if they win well then shels could.....

I agree its hard to see what we can do at this stage.

20/09/2011, 1:43 PM
Waterford away tonight.
Can't make it down myself but I believe our lads know what they need to do.
Here's hoping they can do it

bluewhitearmy
20/09/2011, 1:49 PM
Waterford away tonight.
Can't make it down myself but I believe our lads know what they need to do.
Here's hoping they can do it

Waterford are not very good and are missing 2 of their best players.....Should be a Cork win handy enough.

20/09/2011, 3:01 PM
waterford away tonight.
Can't make it down myself but i believe our lads know what they need to do.
here's hoping waterford can do it

fyp :D

sullanefc
20/09/2011, 7:56 PM
2nd Half, Waterford 0-2 City. Gearoid Morissey and Graham Cummins.

20/09/2011, 8:42 PM
Waterford 1-3 Cork

As expected.

El-Pietro
20/09/2011, 11:00 PM
huge 3 points. we may have been fortunate though. Probably shaded it but if they took some of the chances they created they could have been 2 or 3 up

bluemovie
21/09/2011, 1:43 PM
Waterford are not very good and are missing 2 of their best players.....Should be a Cork win handy enough.

4. Murphy, McSherry, Murray suspended. Sinnott still injured. Did reasonably well considering. Hit the underside of the bar twice and had several other good chances. Cork were much more clinical though and deserved the win. We should've been ahead before they scored, but they completely ran the first 30 minutes of the second half before we came back into it. All meaningless to us though.

adamd164
24/09/2011, 9:39 PM
As things stand:

http://i52.tinypic.com/2a7wy14.jpg

Despite their large win, Limerick's goal difference is still way behind which could come back to haunt them.

Crucial game next week is Mons v Shels. I'd be happy to see Shels win it and us to slip into 2nd place with the second automatic spot. Shels can have the trophy, I don't care once we get out of the graveyard division.

24/09/2011, 10:11 PM
As things stand:

http://i52.tinypic.com/2a7wy14.jpg

Despite their large win, Limerick's goal difference is still way behind which could come back to haunt them.

Crucial game next week is Mons v Shels. I'd be happy to see Shels win it and us to slip into 2nd place with the second automatic spot. Shels can have the trophy, I don't care once we get out of the graveyard division.

A win for Shels suits ye down to the ground as it means Shels will most likely have nothing to play for against ye last day of the season.

It will probably also suit us. If Shels can beat Mons, then ye can beat them to go second which gives us the chance if we beat them the second last game of the season to most likely go third. I know thats asking a lot but the only thing Limerick, Shels and Cork in common is that they all have to play Mons.

born2bwild
24/09/2011, 10:26 PM
A win for Shels suits ye down to the ground as it means Shels will most likely have nothing to play for against ye last day of the season.

It will probably also suit us. If Shels can beat Mons, then ye can beat them to go second which gives us the chance if we beat them the second last game of the season to most likely go third. I know thats asking a lot but the only thing Limerick, Shels and Cork in common is that they all have to play Mons.

Depends on which Shels shows up. Last week's team (which,absurdly, lost) would beat Mons...tonight's team would struggle.

I don't think that Matthews will set up next week like he did tonight. He went out with 2 wingers, 2 strikers (one of whom was basically redundant) and 2 outnumbered centre mids - a formation with 'we don't fancy you lot very much' written all over it. Save one or two close calls Athlone never came within an ass's roar of hitting the net.

Surrendering the midfield like that against Monaghan would be suicide.

passerrby
25/09/2011, 11:38 AM
If I calculated right Limerick can only get 66 points, we are on 55 with 6 games left so we can afford to lose 2 and still be a point ahead of Lims , lot of ifs

legendz
25/09/2011, 11:46 AM
I hope Limerick get promoted. Hat's off to Mons though, they are in a great position and are making that hope turn impossible. Limerick will travel to Mons late in the season. Is that 6 pointer included in your calculations passerby? There's always twists and turns, count eggs, not chickens!!

25/09/2011, 11:54 AM
If I calculated right Limerick can only get 66 points, we are on 55 with 6 games left so we can afford to lose 2 and still be a point ahead of Lims , lot of ifs

Ya it's in mons and corks hands. Limerick can only take it one game at a time at the moment and hope for slip ups.

passerrby
25/09/2011, 1:01 PM

No not counting that game if we beat Lims cork or shels the equations change

25/09/2011, 3:49 PM
Shels v Mons
Cork v Mons

Scenario A:

Mons win both.

Reasult: Shels might not roll over for Cork on last day. Limerick can go up by winning their last four games.

Scenario B:

Mons lose both.

Result: Limerick will finish at least third by winning their last four games.

Scenario C:

Mon beat Cork, Lose to Shels.

Result: Limerick are ****ed

Scenario D:

Mons beat Shels, Lose to Cork.

Scenario E:

Mons draw one, lose one.

Result: Limerick will finish third if they win their last four games.

Scenario F:

Mons draw both.

In Summary then: :bulgy:

monkey9
25/09/2011, 4:31 PM
Exciting stuff at the top of both divisions!!

CSFShels
25/09/2011, 4:48 PM
Shels v Mons
Cork v Mons

Scenario A:

Mons win both.

Reasult: Shels might not roll over for Cork on last day. Limerick can go up by winning their last five games.

Scenario B:

Mons lose both.

Result: Limerick will finish at least third by winning their last five games.

Scenario C:

Mon beat Cork, Lose to Shels.

Scenario D:

Mons beat Shels, Lose to Cork.

Scenario E:

Mons draw one, lose one.

Result: Limerick will finish third if they win their last five games.

Scenario F:

Mons draw both.

In Summary then: :bulgy:
Alot of that ain't too accurate. If Mons draw both. Limerick just have to beat Monaghan by maybe 2 goals and keep up their good goalscoring form and they're ahead of Mons on goal difference, only a 7 goal swing needed. Also, any scenario that sees Cork lose is a good one for your lot. You stay on level points with them and Cork are away to us on the last day of the season. Can't say they won't win it if required but they'll be odds against to do so and there ain't a hope in hell we'll be doing any rolling over for that crowd. If it were Mons we were playing on the last day you may have had more cause for worry.

25/09/2011, 4:59 PM
If Mons draw both. Limerick just have to beat Monaghan by maybe 2 goals and keep up their good goalscoring form and they're ahead of Mons on goal difference, only a 7 goal swing needed.

7 goal swing is a BIG deal to a team as anaemic as us infront of goal. Our goal difference is ****e for a reason.

Looking at games where you'd potentially make up goals, we both have to play Mervue away (which is a toughie for us never mind a goalfest!!) We both have to play Athlone and Mons have Wexford at home, we have Waterford at home (and I can't see them giving up four or five goals to us)

Also, any scenario that sees Cork lose is a good one for your lot. You stay on level points with them and Cork are away to us on the last day of the season. Can't say they won't win it if required but they'll be odds against to do so and there ain't a hope in hell we'll be doing any rolling over for that crowd.

I don't think anyone is (I'm certainly not anyway) suggesting that Shels would go "tee hee hee let's shaft Limerick" for Corks flipping benefit!! I just think if Shels have the league wrapped up by then (which they should) you're players aren't going to try particularly hard. Human nature.

CSFShels
25/09/2011, 5:22 PM
7 goal swing is a BIG deal to a team as anaemic as us infront of goal. Our goal difference is ****e for a reason.

Looking at games where you'd potentially make up goals, we both have to play Mervue away (which is a toughie for us never mind a goalfest!!) We both have to play Athlone and Mons have Wexford at home, we have Waterford at home (and I can't see them giving up four or five goals to us)

I don't think anyone is (I'm certainly not anyway) suggesting that Shels would go "tee hee hee let's shaft Limerick" for Corks flipping benefit!! I just think if Shels have the league wrapped up by then (which they should) you're players aren't going to try particularly hard. Human nature.
I'm suggesting the opposite though. Cork are a team we will want to beat. As would Limerick be in the same scenario. If teams went into such games with that sort of mindset we would be in the Premier Division a few years now. If it was Monaghan we were playing on the last game of the season, as I said, things would be different. We would want them to go up ahead of you and Cork. My hopes are Monaghan to finish second to us and Galway to pull off a miracle.

25/09/2011, 5:43 PM
At the end of the day all we can is win all our games. I'm resigned to the fact we will be in the first division next season.

The loss to Wexford at home and draw to Salthill are really coming back to haunt us now.

25/09/2011, 6:19 PM
did some rough estimations today and I had it with Shels and Mons going up together on level points with Cork finishing 3rd

bluewhitearmy
25/09/2011, 6:38 PM
At the end of the day all we can is win all our games. I'm resigned to the fact we will be in the first division next season.

The loss to Wexford at home and draw to Salthill are really coming back to haunt us now.

And the 2 points Mons were given for Harps game could play a big part.

25/09/2011, 7:20 PM
I just think if Shels have the league wrapped up by then (which they should) you're players aren't going to try particularly hard. Human nature.from a human nature perspective I think Shels will definitely be trying against us, they'll have a point to prove after their humiliation last time out.

monutdfc
25/09/2011, 7:58 PM
Getting nervous just reading this. I think we will lose to Shels and lose a tough game away to Cork just 4 days later. But this team keeps surprising me. We can beat Limerick at home to clinch he playoff spot; against Galway in a one-off tie they could up their game and beat us. Or any other Permutation of results could happen. Don't forget both Limerick and Shels have a cup-tie and one of them will have a semi-final as well.

Should have put Bray away in the playoff last year (should have been out of sight at half time in the first leg)

El-Pietro
25/09/2011, 8:01 PM
playoff is two legs

25/09/2011, 8:06 PM
from a human nature perspective I think Shels will definitely be trying against us, they'll have a point to prove after their humiliation last time out.

I don't know man. None of these players care about the club or the shirt or any of that nonsense, we're looking at it through fans eyes, so Shels got hammered in Cork, big whoop, the proof is in the pudding, they've the league won. I know if twas me and I was on the batter all week, league winners medal in my pocket, and there's a fifty-fifty ball to be won with Greg O'Halloran, I'm gonna think "balls to that, when can I have my shower"

Maybe this is me just displaying one of the many reasons I'll never be a LoI footballer?? :)

Don't forget both Limerick and Shels have a cup-tie and one of them will have a semi-final as well.

I will be astonished if Limerick put out even a 31st cousin of a first teamer for that cup tie.

monutdfc
25/09/2011, 8:08 PM
playoff is two legs

Thanks. Wasn't sure, so I said one-off tie instead of one-off game. In fact, I had assumed the Fai would have it a one-off game with the premier side at home.

25/09/2011, 8:11 PM
The playoff should, should, be a pointless farce imo, with the First Division participants going up regardless of the result.

Like even on the off chance Galway win, are they in any position to play Premier next year??

And that's before you even get into Bohs or Bray or Dundalk or flip knows who else in the next few weeks!!

25/09/2011, 8:35 PM
I know if twas me and I was on the batter all week, league winners medal in my pocket, and there's a fifty-fifty ball to be won with Greg O'Halloran, I'm gonna think "balls to that, when can I have my shower"
tie.Your cynicism is admirable and given the Sheriff debacle also possibly justified.

legendz
25/09/2011, 9:54 PM
My predictions for both games is Shels and Cork both to beat the Mons at home. If Limerick are to get promoted they need to be beating Mervue (A) and Athlone (H). Monaghan will probably beat Wexford (H) and Mervue (A). It'll have everything set-up for a massive promotion 6 pointer between Monaghan and Limerick.