View Full Version : First Division Run In

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 [17] 18

CSFShels
25/10/2011, 10:21 PM
Thanks all, I can't remember a better night in my life, which is sad, but I could not care less:)

25/10/2011, 10:26 PM
Looking forward to a repeat of the epic 2009 encounters next season! :)

Well done Shels. Had to happen some year; reckon ye've served enough of a penance.

Aaron
25/10/2011, 10:41 PM
If Cork come up in place of Galway, and possibly Mons or Limerick depending on how things go at Bohs, next years Premier has the potential to be very strong IMO

Real ale Madrid
25/10/2011, 10:59 PM
Congratulations to Shelbourne. Enjoy the celebrations, especially the players, They deserve a good few days on the lash. Just Turn up on time saturday....

25/10/2011, 11:14 PM
Congrats Shels. A couple of seasons' frustration must make it all the sweeter.

25/10/2011, 11:19 PM
Well done Shels. Pleased for Alan Mathews and the lads who were with him in Longford, Jacko Smyth, Shay Kelly. Paisley too, didn't leave us in the happiest of circumstances but he's a decent guy.

25/10/2011, 11:40 PM
Heartening to see all the good will for us.

Ecstatic so I am.

GalwayRed
26/10/2011, 12:34 AM
Nice to see all the positive messages on here. It hasn't sunk in for me yet but a fantastic night all the same.

Pablo Escobar
26/10/2011, 9:07 AM
Congrats to Shels, the most consistent team for the 1st 2/3 of the season. It sets Saturday's game up very nicely for yourselves. Also, it's crazy to think that at full-time, both teams may be celebrating. Although a draw is the only result that constitutes that provided Monaghan win.

SwanVsDalton
26/10/2011, 9:34 AM
Looking forward to reigniting the aul Shels rivalry. Well done.

Sunny Jim
26/10/2011, 9:48 AM
Congrats to Shels, well deserved and about time.

CSFShels
26/10/2011, 10:47 AM
Congrats to Shels, the most consistent team for the 1st 2/3 of the season. It sets Saturday's game up very nicely for yourselves. Also, it's crazy to think that at full-time, both teams may be celebrating. Although a draw is the only result that constitutes that provided Monaghan win.
Which is ok enough for me after Roddy's comments about us on extratime.ie. I'd have no real problems with a draw sending up as Champs and hopefully dumping Roddy into a playoff and allow Galway do a Bray and discover how to play football for one night against the Mons.

El-Pietro
26/10/2011, 11:05 AM
how would you feel about a loss

CSFShels
26/10/2011, 11:42 AM
how would you feel about a loss
Not so well but I think I could pick myself up from it. After 5 years down here the league title can't represent as much as last night did. Icing and cake are 2 very apt words.

frenchman
26/10/2011, 12:01 PM
sorry maybe I'm blind but why doesn't anyone (even on the national airwaves) talk of European football for Shels) Rightly so the league was number one, the cup could be a bonus but surely Euopean footbal is already guaranteed!!!I know that there is a bit on another thread about pat's getting the cup winners place and also talk of derry not being allowed in........ but for me, it's the cup finalists who have always gone through to Europe in this type of case......the league cup being different as last year we lost to sligo and hence our European dream was over!!

Nah Nah Nah Nah
26/10/2011, 12:10 PM
sorry maybe I'm blind but why doesn't anyone (even on the national airwaves) talk of European football for Shels) Rightly so the league was number one, the cup could be a bonus but surely Euopean footbal is already guaranteed!!!I know that there is a bit on another thread about pat's getting the cup winners place and also talk of derry not being allowed in........ but for me, it's the cup finalists who have always gone through to Europe in this type of case......the league cup being different as last year we lost to sligo and hence our European dream was over!!

I think that if we win the cup that the place for Europe goes to the league standings and not to Shels.

El-Pietro
26/10/2011, 12:16 PM
the association gets to decide who gets the European place in a situation where the cup winners have already qualified. The FAI have always given the place to the league. Nothing different about this year. If Shels want Europe then they need to win the FAI Cup.

26/10/2011, 12:37 PM
Well done Shels and well deserved.

26/10/2011, 1:48 PM
Well done to Shels. About time. Hopefully a couple of nights in the Riverside to come.

Rovers' best night in 2006 was sealing top spot by beating Finn Harps 4-0 in the second last game in Tolka and it's worked out ok, so history may repeat itself...

26/10/2011, 1:53 PM
Well done to Shels. About time. Hopefully a couple of nights in the Riverside to come.

Rovers' best night in 2006 was sealing top spot by beating Finn Harps 4-0 in the second last game in Tolka and it's worked out ok, so history may repeat itself...

We're good like that. Always for helping the clubs. Funnily enough we got Shamrock Rovers on their way financially with a bucket collection too when they were struggling. Pity the favour doesn't get returned ;P

26/10/2011, 3:11 PM
You gotta love the LOI.

We spend March til October at each others throats and then when Its all decided we get to reflect on the merits of who won what and who went up etc.

It's fupping brilliant and really goes to show that we are all a bit mental.

S.E.P.1990
26/10/2011, 4:10 PM
You gotta love the LOI.

We spend March til October at each others throats and then when Its all decided we get to reflect on the merits of who won what and who went up etc.

It's fupping brilliant and really goes to show that we are all a bit mental.

Much more than a bit, to be fair!!

26/10/2011, 5:02 PM
Well I was trying to avoid dealing with our resident space cadets.

26/10/2011, 8:09 PM
Congratulations Shels, well deserved.

What do yous reckon crowds will be like next year? I noticed in the attendances thread they've gone down 66% since relegation. Even allowing for the lower away support that seems a shocking decline.

edit: that sounded bitchy, wasn't meant to be.

It's hard to know really. I think this Saturday's game will give a decent indication.

Gingerh
26/10/2011, 9:56 PM
It's hard to know really. I think this Saturday's game will give a decent indication.

.... but they'll be mostly City supporters:D

26/10/2011, 10:11 PM
Probably. But, I think you know what I mean.

26/10/2011, 10:38 PM
Full house in Turners Cross then on Saturday, should be brilliant to see. If those fuppin eejits at RTE would cop on now they'd have a right game on their hands.

El-Pietro
26/10/2011, 10:42 PM
Full house in Turners Cross then on Saturday, should be brilliant to see. If those fuppin eejits at RTE would cop on now they'd have a right game on their hands.
game is on in Tolka.

we have 20 buses confirmed to be travelling

26/10/2011, 10:46 PM
Christ...my mistake. No full house so.

jafrazer
26/10/2011, 10:46 PM
Short highlights of the Redsurrection

http://vimeo.com/31168637

27/10/2011, 7:08 PM
What did I say about Sullivan that wasn't true?

No mention in your post of the slur you made about a multi-millionaire laying off some workers to fund a LoI First Division club??

Big surprise. :rolleyes:

Another year in the First Division? Must be the FAI's fault

Ask your clubs secretary. x x

Provided you can find the time to drag yourself away from talking rubbish about Limerick. :bulgy:

27/10/2011, 7:09 PM
If those fuppin eejits at RTE would cop on now they'd have a right game on their hands.

The deadest of dead rubbers surely??

gormacha
27/10/2011, 8:18 PM
The deadest of dead rubbers surely??

No-one's bitten yet. G'wan, I dare you.

born2bwild
27/10/2011, 8:57 PM
No-one's bitten yet. G'wan, I dare you.
Germany v Austria 1982 World Cup finals?
Hope not.

legendz
27/10/2011, 9:01 PM
Good win by Shels last night. Finn Harps had a similar impressive win by the same score. I think Shels will secure promotion on Tuesday night, it's where my money would go.

Predictions for the week:
Shels 2-0 Harps

Athlone 1-1 Mons
Limerick 2-1 Waterford
Shels 1-1 Cork

My own predicted outcome:
1. Shels 69pts
2. Cork 67pts
-------------------
3. Limerick 66 pts
-------------------
4. Monaghan 65 pts

I wouldn't bet against Monaghan at all though. They are more than well capable of getting the win they require in Athlone. If I was given a free bet to put money on it, I'd say draw 1-1.

I was wrong with the Shels scoreline but still see the 3 games this weekend going along the lines I'm predicting. Though the Mons might be expected to win away to Athlone, I think it'll end in a draw. Shels v Cork is a hard one to call, could go either way. I think a draw will be ok with both teams going up to the Premier. Any slip by the Mons, I expect to see Limerick take full advantage but Limerick do need a lot of luck, it's out of their hands.

gormacha
27/10/2011, 9:28 PM
I was wrong with the Shels scoreline but still see the 3 games this weekend going along the lines I'm predicting. Though the Mons might be expected to win away to Athlone, I think it'll end in a draw. Shels v Cork is a hard one to call, could go either way. I think a draw will be ok with both teams going up to the Premier. Any slip by the Mons, I expect to see Limerick take full advantage but Limerick do need a lot of luck, it's out of their hands.

That's the least predictful prediction I've ever seen. You seem to have mastered the art of saying nothing in lots of words. You should have run for Prez. :)

For me, Mons to hammer Athlone (who are dreadful); Cork to beat Shels and go up as champs; and Limerick to get beat by the odd goal by Waterford United (what? biased? me?) scored by young Sean Maguire.

27/10/2011, 10:05 PM
That's the least predictful prediction I've ever seen. You seem to have mastered the art of saying nothing in lots of words.
And you seem to have mastered the art of making them up :p

gormacha
28/10/2011, 8:39 AM
And you seem to have mastered the art of making them up :p

You are absolutely correct. Mea culpa.

Being a complete language geek, I did stop and think about that word, and couldn't think of one that could capture the meaning I wanted to communicate. So I made a word up. Question is, did you understand the point I hoped it would make?

Oh-oh. I've really outed myself as an utter geek. I'll go and play in the yard on my own. :)

28/10/2011, 9:03 AM
You are absolutely correct. Mea culpa.

Being a complete language geek, I did stop and think about that word, and couldn't think of one that could capture the meaning I wanted to communicate. So I made a word up. Question is, did you understand the point I hoped it would make?

Oh-oh. I've really outed myself as an utter geek. I'll go and play in the yard on my own. :)

Your level 65 sword has been stolen on WOW...I suggest you go find it. ;P

monsexile
28/10/2011, 9:24 AM
The bookies suggest wins for Mons and Shels are the most likely outcoems. For once I hope they are right - though I'll have my money on the Shels/Cork draw

gormacha
28/10/2011, 9:29 AM
Your level 65 sword has been stolen on WOW...I suggest you go find it. ;P

Steady now. Geek I may be - 2wat I'm not. :)

gormacha
28/10/2011, 9:40 AM
double post. usual apols.

adamd164
28/10/2011, 9:52 AM
Odds with PP:

Shels (6/4) vs. Cork City (13/8)

Athlone (15/2) vs. Mons (2/7)

Limerick (2/5) vs. Waterford (7/1)

Waterford looking a bit on the high side perhaps, much and all as Lims will be expected to win?

derm
28/10/2011, 9:52 AM
Shels won't be busting a gut for the win but they won't want to lose either, whereas this game is all that's left for the City players to garner some glory. If City score first then Shels will do everything they can to at least equalize but if Shels score first I'd expect them to sit back and defend it.

28/10/2011, 12:14 PM
We're good like that. Always for helping the clubs. Funnily enough we got Shamrock Rovers on their way financially with a bucket collection too when they were struggling. Pity the favour doesn't get returned ;P

Any Monster Draws or raffles or anything that people could enter..

gormacha
28/10/2011, 1:07 PM
Waterford looking a bit on the high side perhaps

Perhaps?

Clearly I have a declared interest in Waterford United, but those odds beggar belief.

We've been kack as often as we've been good this season, but we've won three on the trot, including beating Shelbourne, and irrespective of how poor we've been this season, we are always capable of clicking on any given night. A puncher's chance, you might say. I would have thought 4/1 would have been generous, lets alone 7s.

28/10/2011, 2:00 PM
Any Monster Draws or raffles or anything that people could enter..

Mucho gracious to all the Shamrock Rovers fans who bought tickets today.

Also, Nigelharps1954, Rovers did help us out in the early 00's.

Great set of fans imo (the genuine one's that is)

S.E.P.1990
28/10/2011, 2:16 PM
Shels won't be busting a gut for the win but they won't want to lose either, whereas this game is all that's left for the City players to garner some glory. If City score first then Shels will do everything they can to at least equalize but if Shels score first I'd expect them to sit back and defend it.
It's a strange game for us, we're not used to being relaxed before games! While we obviously want to win, the main aim was to get up. Now that's done I don't know how that is going to affect us tbh. It's also tricky for Cork, if they push too hard and get caught out then the pressure is on. Has the makings of a cracking game with a good crowd. Whilst a draw will do us both (from a promotion point of view) Cork really seem to want to get the win......Looking forward to it!

28/10/2011, 2:51 PM
Mucho gracious to all the Shamrock Rovers fans who bought tickets today.

http://www.facebook.com/shamrockrovers

Hopefully get a few more from that as people read it, good 20,000 there.

28/10/2011, 4:30 PM
I know this. The ';P' indicates sarcasm. I know the Rovers fans have helped Harps over the years too and I'm delighted to see where they are now and only hope we can go a similar route in years to come.