View Full Version : First Division Run In

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 [14] 15 16 17 18

19/10/2011, 10:33 PM
First you go telling us of a 0-1 away win against all the odds in 07 and then put all of your 10 houses on us to win, something isn't right here.
That '07 win wasn't against all the odds in itself we were on a great run of form and Mooney was scoring for fun. Staying up despite the points deduction would have been against the odds. Relax, there's no way ye won't score against our defence and we don't score many these days. We got our surprise point down there earlier in the season that's our quota for a few years!

20/10/2011, 7:55 AM
Interesting to see Cork fans hoping for a favour from Limerick. I hope we can do it and you might well get it. However be careful what you wish for as 2 draws and you could end up 4th. 2 wins for us and draws for Monaghan. Cork and Shels i nthe others mean we win the title. Not going to happen I know but still hopes that a couple of results could go our way and leave us 3rd.

bluewhitearmy
20/10/2011, 11:03 AM
Well for Friday you can put your house on Cork as, whats that guy who hangs about with cork city all the time....the manager? no the kit man? no oh yea its JIMMY MCKELL. Meanwhile in Monaghan we have the veteran of the first division agent Phil Casceara :sarcastic:

Hopefully the very big numbers of away support heading to the game will stop him being too one sided.

El-Pietro
20/10/2011, 12:17 PM
Interesting to see Cork fans hoping for a favour from Limerick. I hope we can do it and you might well get it. However be careful what you wish for as 2 draws and you could end up 4th. 2 wins for us and draws for Monaghan. Cork and Shels i nthe others mean we win the title. Not going to happen I know but still hopes that a couple of results could go our way and leave us 3rd.
we're aware that we could well mess up against Longford and Shels. We are not looking over our shoulders though - we're very confident and we want the title

MagicMon
20/10/2011, 12:28 PM
Paddy Power don't rate the goalscoring prowess of most of the Monaghan and Limerick team

http://monaghanunited.tumblr.com/post/11691010962/jason-marks-alan-byrne-paul-whelan-shane-grimes

monsexile
20/10/2011, 12:35 PM
Caschera has reffed 6 Mons league matches this season - 4 wins, 1 draw and 1 defeat, Sent off two opposition opponents and one of ours - Fabio against Shels.
In cahrge of two Lims matches- 3-0 win over Salthill and recent 1.0 win over Mervue - no red cards in either.

citybone
20/10/2011, 12:41 PM
We were very lucky up in Longford in July. Could have been a draw or win for Lonford easily if some decisions didnt go our way. I would rate Longford highly, yes city will be favourites but i would expect it to tight anyway.

El-Pietro
20/10/2011, 1:16 PM
Paddy Power don't rate the goalscoring prowess of most of the Monaghan and Limerick team

http://monaghanunited.tumblr.com/post/11691010962/jason-marks-alan-byrne-paul-whelan-shane-grimes
and Joe Gamble is 14/1? madness, the guy has about 3 goals in his LOI career

20/10/2011, 1:29 PM
Interesting to see Cork fans hoping for a favour from Limerick. I hope we can do it and you might well get it. However be careful what you wish for as 2 draws and you could end up 4th. It would be nice if ye could but I won't hold my breath.
Other results haven't really gone our way this season. (especially those involving Monaghan)
If we look after our own business first, 3 points against Longford and then at least we are guaranteed a playoff at worst.

S.E.P.1990
20/10/2011, 2:07 PM
It would be nice if ye could but I won't hold my breath.
Other results haven't really gone our way this season. (especially those involving Monaghan)
If we look after our own business first, 3 points against Longford and then at least we are guaranteed a playoff at worst.
Think you will hammer Longford, they have nothing to play for and your in good form at the moment. Would be surprised if you didnt win by 3.

monsexile
20/10/2011, 2:29 PM
Really is all set for a fascinating two weeks.
Two wins for us and we're definitely up and probably champions.
three wins for Shels and they're champions.
Two wins for Cork and they're definitely up and possibly champions.
So effectively for those three, its all in their hands.
Remarkably, Monaghan could quite conceivably finish champions or miss out on everything in fourth.

To be honest, at this stage I'd still be happy with third. Think we're playing Limerick at exactly the wrong time with them in peak form and us without arguably our 3 best players. Four points could be enough for automatic promotion if Cork and Shels draw next week anyway - though I think Cork are now the best team in the division and might show it next week.

El-Pietro
20/10/2011, 2:39 PM
looks like half our defense is out injured.

Danny is suspended, Greg and Gav Kav rated very doubtful, everyone else available so plenty going forward - I fancy some goals in this game

MagicMon
20/10/2011, 2:45 PM
and Joe Gamble is 14/1? madness, the guy has about 3 goals in his LOI career

Grrr, thanks for that, he'll score a hat-trick tomorrow night now :mad:

El-Pietro
20/10/2011, 2:53 PM
I hope so!

bluewhitearmy
20/10/2011, 3:27 PM

The man refuses to shoot EVER no matter what kind of position he is in he wont shoot.

20/10/2011, 3:51 PM
The man refuses to shoot EVER no matter what kind of position he is in he wont shoot.

Agree with this. A few times he has got himself in great positions to have a crack from far out but never does. It's the only frustrating part of his play.

20/10/2011, 3:52 PM

We never understood that actually, he'll really do himself a favour if he even tested the keeper 1 out of every 10 chances he gets.

20/10/2011, 4:12 PM
On a slightly related note, Shels are 8/11 to win to nil in Salthill with Paddy Power. Based on what I saw of Salthill last weekend that's a great bet. Shels will surely have gained confidence from the cup games.

sheao
20/10/2011, 10:51 PM
Not looking beyond tomorrow's game at all, despite the talk from some about a possible title charge from us. Football can be a strange game and i just hope the lads will go out and do what is required to get the 3pts tomorrow night.

However if we win tomorrow night, then i'm going to really look forward to Shels .

21/10/2011, 9:31 AM
Feel sick. Why oh why does it have to be Limerick we are playing in one of the most crucial games ever? Why not Salthill? :-(

OneForTheFuture
21/10/2011, 9:38 AM
Salthill would probably rattle yiz :p.

You will take care of Lims. 1-0 Mons.

monsexile
21/10/2011, 9:51 AM
Match is live on Live95 in Limerick and Northern Sound in Monaghan

Mons preview is here (http://monaghanunited.tv/?p=1362)

21/10/2011, 11:59 AM
Could any Mons fans give me the quickest way to drive up?

Limerick- (motorway) - Dublin - Monaghan?

or

Limerick up towards Athlone and basically cross country then?

MagicMon
21/10/2011, 12:09 PM
Match is live on Live95 in Limerick and Northern Sound in Monaghan

Mons preview is here (http://monaghanunited.tv/?p=1362)

If its the same commentary team as Northern Sound had for the games last season then it'll be good. The main commentator sounded like he was going to have a heart attack every time anything happened (and hes something to do with Longford so he was pretty clued up about the LOI). Meanwhile Tom Britton co-commentating was like a drier version of Ray Wilkins

21/10/2011, 12:27 PM
Could any Mons fans give me the quickest way to drive up?

Limerick- (motorway) - Dublin - Monaghan?

or

Limerick up towards Athlone and basically cross country then?

I always find the motorway via Dublin as best route personally.

If its the same commentary team as Northern Sound had for the games last season then it'll be good. The main commentator sounded like he was going to have a heart attack every time anything happened (and hes something to do with Longford so he was pretty clued up about the LOI). Meanwhile Tom Britton co-commentating was like a drier version of Ray Wilkins

Yup, Tony Ghee will be commentating and he is so fantastic.

21/10/2011, 12:38 PM
I always find the motorway via Dublin as best route personally.

Was talking to one of the lads and he said the team went up by Dublin yesterday too. Better roads so I think i'll go that way. Cheers Magicme.

21/10/2011, 4:30 PM
Yep. That was good craic when we had him and Colin Healy in midfield. They could have rounded the keeper and they'd both just pass the ball back and forth between each other!

Hopefully the Beast can do us a favour tonight. Won't matter a tap though unless we do the job ourselves first. Nervous!

MagicMon
21/10/2011, 4:59 PM
Its more than you thats nervous. Its a tough league to get out of but if we can beat Limerick without some of our best players then thats the sort of result that deserves promotion to the Premier.

GalwayRed
21/10/2011, 6:48 PM
If Mons win tonight then that's one promotion spot gone I reckon. I reckon relying on Cork to slip up is a hopeless case. Still if we win our next two and go into the Cork game still needing a result we are more than capable of getting one so it's up to ourselves really. But some help from Longford and Limerick would be much appreciated :)
Very nervous.

21/10/2011, 6:53 PM
Longford 1 up. It's gonna be a long night

GalwayRed
21/10/2011, 7:01 PM
Cork will still win 8-1 I reckon. There's absolutely no place for optimism being a Shels fan over recent years.

21/10/2011, 7:12 PM
1-1 now. Davin.

Limerick 1 up too.

21/10/2011, 7:45 PM
Hmm well we made it to half time and aren't losing, more than I expected. Sounds like it's only a matter of time before Cork score though...

21/10/2011, 7:50 PM
Good crowd at the cross 3433

21/10/2011, 7:50 PM
You can do it Longford. Make this spare I give you free Gelato.

21/10/2011, 7:52 PM
Yessss! 2-1 Daryl Horgan

GalwayRed
21/10/2011, 7:54 PM
Well at least they didn't wait until the last minute...that would've just been mean

21/10/2011, 8:13 PM
Booooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo

21/10/2011, 8:31 PM
3-1 Cummins from the spot.

hat should be 3rd guaranteed. Now, here's to Limerick holding out and us going for the title in Tolka!

GalwayRed
21/10/2011, 8:43 PM
If Limerick can hold out for 5 more mins tonight will have been a success.

Hairy Bowsie
21/10/2011, 9:29 PM
3-1 Cummins from the spot.

hat should be 3rd guaranteed. Now, here's to Limerick holding out and us going for the title in Tolka!

You can have it for all i care, if we have already secured promotion by then. In that case, by going for it you risk automatic promotion for play offs with Galway.

CSFShels
21/10/2011, 9:35 PM
You can have it for all i care, if we have already secured promotion by then. In that case, by going for it you risk automatic promotion for play offs with Galway.
I can not emphasize how funny it would be if Cork went out all guns blazing against us (which they will), we beat them and then Galway turned it on for 180 minutes and condemned Cork City 2010 to a 3rd season in this ****hole.

gormacha
21/10/2011, 9:45 PM
and then Galway turned it on for 180 minutes

hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha

CSFShels
21/10/2011, 9:49 PM
I can not emphasize how funny it would be if Cork went out all guns blazing against us (which they will), we beat them and then Galway turned it on for 180 minutes and condemned Cork City 2010 to a 3rd season in this ****hole.

born2bwild
21/10/2011, 10:00 PM
So funny you posted it twice. Jaysus, foot.ie is getting very hard to use.

21/10/2011, 10:04 PM
hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha
Indeed. Salthill would put up a better fight probably, Mervue definitely would.

22/10/2011, 10:00 AM

Well worth the risk. I trust our lads. If we don't manage to beat ye, then I trust they are good enough and professional enough to do the job against Galway. We're going for the win!

MagicMon
22/10/2011, 10:59 AM
The early goal was an absolute killer, just like v Cork. Limerick's were well set up to defend a 1-0 lead because then they could go back to 4-5-1, and the long ball tactics aiming for Byrne just played into their hands.

I hope we go out and demolish Athlone as a response to this. Though we need Shels to do the business v Cork because I couldn't face another play-off!

23/10/2011, 11:26 PM
sounds like you have a major crush on the guy magicme! spill the beans!!:)

do you want me to put in a word for you??;)

sheao
24/10/2011, 1:57 PM

What is funny is how badly this season ye botteled it. Was it12 pts ye were ahead at one stage ? .