View Full Version : First Division Run In

Pages : 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18

bluewhitearmy
13/09/2011, 8:08 PM
Did you not read my post? We were getting things thrown at us, how does that not count? That doesn't happen in most grounds in the country, it shouldn't be viewed as a minor incident.

Funny how other fans of Shels seemed to think there wasnt any trouble then. Ive been outside the ground a few times and there was no trouble with Shels fans going back to buses the last time i seen any trouble was the time outside the train station.
If you are talking about up Hyde road then i really dont know why as its nothing to do with Limerick or Limerick fans then.

And this thing about the buses having to come up outside Jackman that has had to happen everytime we have been to Tolka since the Scanlon goal.

Also We don't post that up after every team in the division, even Cork (even after what happened at Tolka that night).
Could be something to do with the fact ye were given a Garda escort.

13/09/2011, 8:10 PM
Any word on either the FAI Cup appeal or the Finn Harps appeal yet?

as this effects both cork and LIMEICK and the shels/sherriff debacle efffects LIMERICK,expect all bad news from the FAI around 3 bells on today fm sports news on Friday. Thus smuthering this news in that nights games

born2bwild
13/09/2011, 8:17 PM
Ah but that was over our long running feud with Fingal.
Perhaps the McCarthy/Dundon v Keane/Collopy hatred will come to an end now as they unite to face the common foe of a defunct North Dublin football team.

GalwayRed
13/09/2011, 8:22 PM
Any word on either the FAI Cup appeal or the Finn Harps appeal yet?
From what I've heard we won our appeal.

born2bwild
13/09/2011, 8:28 PM

Heard the same thing myself.

Shedendinvisibl
13/09/2011, 8:43 PM
as this effects both cork and LIMEICK and the shels/sherriff debacle efffects LIMERICK,expect all bad news from the FAI around 3 bells on today fm sports news on Friday. Thus smuthering this news in that nights games

I have been informed as well, by a source close to the Shels BOM no less, that the club has been reinstated into the FAI Cup.

The Lilywhites
13/09/2011, 8:55 PM
http://www.shelbournefc.ie/news.php?id=1951

13/09/2011, 9:21 PM
They had no choice.
Innocent until proven guilty.

13/09/2011, 9:48 PM
What are the chances this match gets fixed for Monday or Tuesday?

If it is and its in Tolka I think it's harsh on us. Especially at such short notice.

OneForTheFuture
13/09/2011, 9:51 PM
What are the chances this match gets fixed for Monday or Tuesday?

If it is and its in Tolka I think it's harsh on us. Especially at such short notice.

I see what you did there.....

13/09/2011, 10:05 PM
Am delighted....with 3 of the top 4 in cup action, it mite leave them a bit tired out. Nice one FAI.

13/09/2011, 10:23 PM
There there wee wan.

13/09/2011, 10:24 PM
I see what you did there.....

I really really hope he meant that.

13/09/2011, 10:30 PM
I really really hope he meant that.

Sadly not :o

13/09/2011, 10:44 PM

Would love to know the Harps side of this though.

13/09/2011, 11:02 PM
No harps, just violins..

monsexile
14/09/2011, 11:08 AM
Harps appeal was not heard because of the Sheriff one - assume it will be heard today instead.

14/09/2011, 11:23 AM
Harps appeal was not heard because of the Sheriff one - assume it will be heard today instead.2 questions.

So did Sheriff have an appeal as well as Shels?

and did Harps appeal the actual award of the 3-0 win to Monaghan or just the severity of their fine?

monsexile
14/09/2011, 11:29 AM
Sherif certainly appealed. Think Harps have to appeal the lot - this is their statement: "FHFC have confirmed that the club will appeal the ruling that a suspended player took part in the game against Monaghan."

redron
14/09/2011, 11:32 AM
...did Harps appeal the actual award of the 3-0 win to Monaghan or just the severity of their fine?

I don't think they can appeal the severity of the fine. As far as I know, it's a fixed penalty for fielding an ineligible player. It's set out in either the FAI Rulebook or the Participation Agreement (both are available on the FAI website).
Anyway, why appeal at all if you are not appealing the actual finding against you?
If what I have read here about this is true, then the 0-0 draw will stand and the player will serve his suspension at the next available opportunity.

14/09/2011, 1:29 PM
Redron: having seen the suspension list there is no real grounds for appeal. It clearly states next competitive match. I hope they get fine quashed though.

14/09/2011, 1:37 PM
You saw the suspension notice Harps got??

Also if there's no grounds for appeal why do you hope the fine is quashed??

redron
14/09/2011, 1:45 PM
Redron: having seen the suspension list there is no real grounds for appeal. It clearly states next competitive match. I hope they get fine quashed though.

This paragraph appears at the top of the suspension list you were looking at, as released by the FAI every week:

THIS WEEK’S SUSPENSION LIST
Please note that this Press Release is for information purposes for members of the media and the general public. Clubs are officially notified by the FAI DCU of suspensions imposed on members of their Club. Only currently registered players included on this list.

14/09/2011, 1:59 PM
You saw the suspension notice Harps got??

Also if there's no grounds for appeal why do you hope the fine is quashed??

I said suspension list. I think there should be leniency on all fines like that as the point deduction is enough punishment coz bar limerick clubs don't have a spare few thousand to throw away.

Edit: Sorry Ron just saw your post. I am aware of that but don't you think the club secretary should have looked at both notices and if he had queries rang Michael Hayes? We suffered similar consequences a few years ago and you just have to suck it up. Admin errors occur but the penalty is there to encourage carefulness.

14/09/2011, 2:07 PM
I said suspension list..

Then you saw the first paragraph redron quoted which kind of contradicts your flat "there is no real grounds to appeal" statement ;)

I think there should be leniency on all fines like that as the point deduction is enough punishment coz bar limerick clubs don't have a spare few thousand to throw away

Rules is rules surely though??

Any club which is fretting over a couple of grand should probably be sitting down having a hard think about whether to remain in senior football. That's not a dig at Harps and I realise it may cost us up to 15 clubs, but it's a fact.

14/09/2011, 2:10 PM
Admin errors occur but the penalty is there to encourage carefulness.

A penalty you don't want Harps to pay??

14/09/2011, 2:15 PM
Then you saw the first paragraph redron quoted which kind of contradicts your flat "there is no real grounds to appeal" statement ;)

Rules is rules surely though??

Any club which is fretting over a couple of grand should probably be sitting down having a hard think about whether to remain in senior football. That's not a dig at Harps and I realise it may cost us up to 15 clubs, but it's a fact.

You wouldn't have said that a few years ago when you hadn't even a tea cup to pee in never mind a pot. Nice to be protected in your ivory tower of wealth but the reality is, particularly at this time in the season, money is harder to come by and a big fine like that could case serious problems at many clubs.

As for contradiction I don't think so. It's easy to check things out and they would've had few days to do so before fielding a player so there are no grounds to appeal when the information is in your hands and the fai are but a phone call away.

My stance on the fine is its too high and just an fai money spinner.

Edit: again just seeing your last post. Dam phone is no place for arguing on internet. The penalty I refer to is the loss of a point and having another loss on the table rather than a draw. If it was us that it had happened to it would have been a major penalty and may cost promotion but as things stand it hasn't too much effect on harps but it is still a penalty.

14/09/2011, 3:39 PM
Harps simply cannot afford this fine.

Any club which is fretting over a couple of grand should probably be sitting down having a hard think about whether to remain in senior football

This is a very stupid remark. As Magicme said, only a couple of years ago this sort of fine would have threatened Limericks existence in senior football. Dare we mention the demise of Limerick a few years ago and the start of Limerick 37?

I'm not going to go on about Harps dire financial situation, simply for the sake of the club, I'd happily take the loss of points long as the fine is taken away. John Delaney may be able to lift 2 and a half grand out of his back pocket any day he wishes, but for the FAI to expect a club on the brink to cough up for their own mis-information is downright criminal.

14/09/2011, 3:59 PM
You wouldn't have said that a few years ago when you hadn't even a tea cup to pee in never mind a pot. Nice to be protected in your ivory tower of wealth but the reality is, particularly at this time in the season, money is harder to come by and a big fine like that could case serious problems at many clubs.

Any club who's existence is threatened by a couple of grand should be asking serious questions about whether to reamian in senior football. It's shocking stuff.

A couple of grand, three days of Joe Gambles wages.

Edit: again just seeing your last post. Dam phone is no place for arguing on internet. The penalty I refer to is the loss of a point and having another loss on the table rather than a draw. If it was us that it had happened to it would have been a major penalty and may cost promotion but as things stand it hasn't too much effect on harps but it is still a penalty.

It's an irrelevance to a tem involved in a tussle for eight and ninth.

There has to be a financial penalty or you would leave the whole thing open to match fixing. Simples.

Harps simply cannot afford this fine.

This is a very stupid remark. As Magicme said, only a couple of years ago this sort of fine would have threatened Limericks existence in senior football. Dare we mention the demise of Limerick a few years ago and the start of Limerick 37?

No, when Limerick were in a similar position they had no business in senior football either.

A couple of grand??

The very existence of a club which has new stadium plans would be threatened by a couple of grand

Shambles.

passerrby
14/09/2011, 4:03 PM
I think if shels win on fri and that's a big if then Lims promotion aspirations are over for this year

born2bwild
14/09/2011, 4:14 PM
I wonder will Lims actually go for it?
They may be thinking that Wexford, Mervue, Athlone, Mons and Waterford are more winnable and try to play for a draw - Mons essentially being the cup final of that run in.
That kind of thinking got them spanked by Shels in Limerick in the summer.
I can see it going 3-1 to Shels if Lims play for a draw - the opposite if they actually try to win.
Have they got the bottle?

14/09/2011, 4:17 PM
Bottles of fudge all round.

passerrby
14/09/2011, 4:18 PM
If they don't they could be 6 points( provided we get the 2 of finnharps) behind while the mons would have two games in hand.

born2bwild
14/09/2011, 4:35 PM
Bottles of fudge all round.

They'll be handing out free fudge at the 'hey presto Shels are back' v Limerick cup match.

14/09/2011, 6:36 PM
Limerick HAVE TO WIN Friday.

No ifs, ands, or maybes.

We already need Cork to slip up twice.

Have to win all our games and hope for the best.

Having said that I reckon we'll romp the First Division South :cool:

redron
14/09/2011, 7:18 PM
As for contradiction I don't think so. It's easy to check things out and they would've had few days to do so before fielding a player so there are no grounds to appeal when the information is in your hands and the fai are but a phone call away.

My stance on the fine is its too high and just an fai money spinner.

Again, if what I have read on here regarding the official notification of the sanction and suspension of the Finn Harps player is true, he was not actually suspended for the particular match.
It does appear that this notice contained an error regarding the implementation of the suspension, but apparently this was not corrected in any official communication with the club.

The weekly press release issued by the FAI summarising the current suspensions is not an official notice, as it clearly says in its opening paragraph. So there is no way that a club should base any decision regarding eligibility of players on this. However, it is perfectly logical for an opposing team to refer to this, as they do not receive directly a copy of the notices of sanction/suspension of players on their opposing teams. So this explains the basis of Monaghan Utd's complaint, but does not make an outcome in their favour a foregone conclusion. Finn Harps claim they were working off all the official notices issued to them.

This is what should happen tomorrow:
1) The notice issued to Finn Harps will be verified. The error will be noted and a new suspension notice will be issued. (He will be suspended from next week's match.)
2) The player was not officially suspended from the particular match in question, so the original result (0-0) will stand.

On the separate issue of the severity of the fine, without going to the trouble of looking it up, I believe this is part of a fixed penalty. Surely this is something that the clubs agreed to. In my opinion it is a severe penalty. Maybe there should be a lesser penalty for First Div clubs? But arguments about the Participation Agreement are probably best dealt with in another thread...

CSFShels
14/09/2011, 8:29 PM
Limerick HAVE TO WIN Friday.

No ifs, ands, or maybes.

We already need Cork to slip up twice.

Have to win all our games and hope for the best.

Having said that I reckon we'll romp the First Division South :cool:
Wouldn't count on it, Waterford will be better next year.

passerrby
14/09/2011, 9:41 PM
If he was not suspended then whydid Finn harps bring it to the attention of the league , my guess is that harps will appeal on the grounds that the paperwork was misleading but then this notification is not meant to inform the club but the media .

14/09/2011, 9:44 PM
Waterford will be better next year.

Any evidence for this, I'd be interested to hear it??

My impression was Waterford are a sulky ex chairman away from being totally funked

15/09/2011, 7:09 PM
Our 2 points are confirmed now.

CSFShels
15/09/2011, 7:14 PM
Any evidence for this, I'd be interested to hear it??

My impression was Waterford are a sulky ex chairman away from being totally funked
None that is indisputable, but they are a big club at this level, with alot of good players and will also be able to attract good players in the close season due to their size. They've been very competitive in every season since they've been down bar this one, and I'd be surprised if they don't get themselves back competitive soon. Granted I don't know alot about their situation behind the scenes.

15/09/2011, 7:24 PM
Our 2 points are confirmed now.

Any official confirmation of this? Any word on size of fine?

MagicMon
15/09/2011, 7:41 PM
€2500 according to an extratime columnist on twitter, and extratime have updated their table.

edit it's on monaghanunited.ie now too

I'm delighted with United moving into 2nd, but you have to feel a bit sorry for Finn Harps since they were the ones that told the FAI, presumably to try to get a reduced punishment before the ref's report went in.

CSFShels
15/09/2011, 7:47 PM
Has that decision pretty much condemned Limerick to 3rd spot at best?

15/09/2011, 8:53 PM
Has that decision pretty much condemned Limerick to 3rd spot at best?

Ya maybe 3rd spot at best but I think our job is still the same. We need to just keep winning and it's out of our hands then. If we lose tomorrow that's it for us.

bullit
15/09/2011, 9:42 PM
Ya maybe 3rd spot at best but I think our job is still the same. We need to just keep winning and it's out of our hands then. If we lose tomorrow that's it for us.
And the manager that will have delivered ZERO for yee will still hold a 2 year contract :o Crazy stuff from the LFC board !!
Regardless,i would love to see yee guys get promotion.:cool:

15/09/2011, 10:36 PM
Has that decision pretty much condemned Limerick to 3rd spot at best?With our hectic cup schedule and the fixture backlog it will cause, it would seem to be between us and Limerick for third spot.

bluewhitearmy
15/09/2011, 10:37 PM
With our hectic cup schedule and the fixture backlog it will cause, it would seem to be between us and Limerick for third spot.

So far ye have one extra cup game then us in fairness.

15/09/2011, 10:40 PM
So far ye have one extra cup game then us in fairness.Your game isn't til October, we have 2 in the next 8 days with a lovely trip to Waterford in between.

bluewhitearmy
15/09/2011, 10:44 PM
Your game isn't til October, we have 2 in the next 8 days with a lovely trip to Waterford in between.

So ye have 3 games in 8 days?