15/09/2011, 10:45 PM
So ye have 3 games in 8 days?Yes.
FAI Cup, League and then League Cup.

bluewhitearmy
15/09/2011, 10:47 PM
Yes.
FAI Cup, League and then League Cup.

Didnt know that...Ya that is fairly awkward especially with Waterford being the game in between ye are probably the only ones they will really try against.

15/09/2011, 11:08 PM
None that is indisputable, but they are a big club at this level, with alot of good players and will also be able to attract good players in the close season due to their size. They've been very competitive in every season since they've been down bar this one, and I'd be surprised if they don't get themselves back competitive soon. Granted I don't know alot about their situation behind the scenes.

Points taken but I've heard from people who are generally fairly reliable that they are screwed financially.

Here's hoping. :p

15/09/2011, 11:17 PM
And the manager that will have delivered ZERO for yee will still hold a 2 year contract :o Crazy stuff from the LFC board !!
Regardless,i would love to see yee guys get promotion.:cool:

It has everyone down here baffled.

16/09/2011, 3:49 AM
Gutted by that, but expected it.

It's out of our hands now to go up automatically and we're just hoping for Monaghan to screw up. The game against Waterford is vital and I agree with razor it's likely we'll drop points there because of the fixtures. There tends not to be much in those games at the best of times.

16/09/2011, 1:17 PM
Reports in today's star that Gamble and Purcell are out for tonight as well.....I just hope that rag is wrong or we are screwed.

gormacha
16/09/2011, 2:11 PM
Gutted by that, but expected it.

The game against Waterford is vital and I agree with razor it's likely we'll drop points there because of the fixtures. There tends not to be much in those games at the best of times.

Ordinarily I'd agree with you, but Blues' morale is so low at the moment that it wouldn't surprise me to see the least competitive match between us perhaps, er, ever.

Obviously I hope I'm wrong, but at the moment I can't see anything but a Cork win. This isn't the usual supporter pessimism - more a dispassionate analysis of quite how far we've fallen this season.

16/09/2011, 2:13 PM
Ordinarily I'd agree with you, but Blues' morale is so low at the moment that it wouldn't surprise me to see the least competitive match between us perhaps, er, ever.

Obviously I hope I'm wrong, but at the moment I can't see anything but a Cork win. This isn't the usual supporter pessimism - more a dispassionate analysis of quite how far we've fallen this season.

I get that, but ye weren't exactly in top form when ye beat us last time either. Your players always seem to up their game against us, and I think they'll fancy their chances.

gormacha
16/09/2011, 2:18 PM
I get that, but ye weren't exactly in top form when ye beat us last time either. Your players always seem to up their game against us, and I think they'll fancy their chances.

The difference is though, whilst we were in shocking form prior to beating ye at the cross, we were still within shouting distance of the promotion places, and there was still a sense of "if we can get a good win, we can kickstart the season". That's not there now, and the feeling of despondency around the club is palpable.

born2bwild
16/09/2011, 3:53 PM
Reports in today's star that Gamble and Purcell are out for tonight as well.....I just hope that rag is wrong or we are screwed.
Yup - game over if so. Enjoy Div 1 South.

16/09/2011, 4:42 PM
Yup - game over if so. Enjoy Div 1 South.

Shush. Hate that talk. John Phelan had a banner in the 92nd minute in 2008.

16/09/2011, 4:46 PM
The difference is though, whilst we were in shocking form prior to beating ye at the cross, we were still within shouting distance of the promotion places, and there was still a sense of "if we can get a good win, we can kickstart the season". That's not there now, and the feeling of despondency around the club is palpable.

I hope you're right :)

16/09/2011, 5:59 PM
Shush. Hate that talk. John Phelan had a banner in the 92nd minute in 2008.

If it was the phoinex from the ashes one it was awful bad timing, I remember it being unveiled with a few minutes to go and then we equalised.

16/09/2011, 6:57 PM
If it was the phoinex from the ashes one it was awful bad timing, I remember it being unveiled with a few minutes to go and then we equalised.

Yep. I got up to that game late because of the Croke Park crowd that day because we were playing NZ in the Rugby so instead of being in my usual spot in the Richmond Road stand I was over in front of the club shop.

When I saw him come out my heart sank. I just knew. I'm never one for bravado at the best of times but never when themes only a goal in it and the final whistle hasn't gone.

He passed me as I was beside the gap and I half jokingly, half seriously told him to cod on.

Turned to my mate; said they would score and then...

...ye did.

I turned on my heels when the whistle went, let out a primal scream, kicked the club shop wall and then hit the front bar in Fagans.

That moment will forever rank up in my all-time top 3 sporting horrors with Ray Cosgrove's free v Armagh in 2002 and the handball in Paris.

*rant ends*

16/09/2011, 7:36 PM
Get in...

1-0 Shels 35 min
Philly

Only one team out there. Dire match.

16/09/2011, 7:39 PM
\happy out with that!

16/09/2011, 7:57 PM
Get in...

1-0 Shels 35 min
Philly

Only one team out there. Dire match.

That's Philly Hughes' regular goal against us down. From the sounds of it though we really need to get our act together.

16/09/2011, 8:01 PM
Well second half about to start...

Heres your chance.

16/09/2011, 8:09 PM
I'd say peno to Lims denied.

16/09/2011, 8:13 PM
Free on edge of box...

16/09/2011, 8:14 PM
...cleared. terrible.

16/09/2011, 8:47 PM
You're having a laugh.

Limerick just scored a header from a corner.

Paudie Quinn, 91min

16/09/2011, 8:47 PM
2-1 to Lims.

16/09/2011, 8:48 PM
Screw you Shels, screw you.

16/09/2011, 8:48 PM
Beale, 93

16/09/2011, 8:50 PM
Do you mean Behan?

16/09/2011, 8:53 PM
Un-****ing believable, get in!!!!!

O ya Scully Out :D

16/09/2011, 8:56 PM
My phone does indeed. It's a wonder I even typed that. Only short of ****ing my phone away.

2 chances 2 goals.

We were cruising. Didn't take what chances we had.

Ah September, the leaves turn, the kids go back to school and we bottle it.

MagicMon
16/09/2011, 9:32 PM
The Limerick knee-jerk reaction will be some craic, the past few weeks they've been as bipolar as anything.

2 games and 1 point in hand on 4th, 1 game and 1 point on 3rd but worse goal difference, 7 points and worse goal difference off top but with a game in hand.... and still have to play all 3 teams- what would Roddy do?

http://1.bp.blogspot.com/_xdN0QQwsP1A/TH0KrkEDGpI/AAAAAAAAKb0/sVIDcgyUYR0/s400/In+Rod+We+Trust.jpg

16/09/2011, 9:47 PM
The Limerick knee-jerk reaction will be some craic, the past few weeks they've been as bipolar as anything.

2 games and 1 point in hand on 4th, 1 game and 1 point on 3rd but worse goal difference, 7 points and worse goal difference off top but with a game in hand.... and still have to play all 3 teams- what would Roddy do?

http://1.bp.blogspot.com/_xdN0QQwsP1A/TH0KrkEDGpI/AAAAAAAAKb0/sVIDcgyUYR0/s400/In+Rod+We+Trust.jpg

We are back in it for one more week anyway. Keeps the pressure on above us. As we have said, all we can do is try pick up 3 points every week and it's out of our hands.

total hoofball
16/09/2011, 9:53 PM
Un-****ing believable

If you were at the 'Colin Scanlon' match and tonight's match you wouldn't have been surprised, deja vu. Shels cruising, comfortably the better side 1st half, give Limerick too much respect 2nd half, Limerick never really look like doing anything for 44 minutes until Shels deservedly get bitten on the ass, twice this time round.

born2bwild
16/09/2011, 10:48 PM
Arse. 65 minutes of domination then they start sitting deeper than the Kursk - and just as doomed in the end.

So this is what it's like to follow Shels.

Can't wait for Athlone.

hoops1
16/09/2011, 11:10 PM
Thats what its like to follow football really. Moments like tonight will only make winning the league sweeter.

16/09/2011, 11:43 PM
You've finally come out as a born again Shels fan born2bwild, fair play.

born2bwild
16/09/2011, 11:49 PM
You've finally come out as a born again Shels fan born2bwild, fair play.
If they don't get promoted I'm moving to Moyross.

adamd164
17/09/2011, 12:30 AM
Just got in and seen the Shels/Lims result. What in the f*ck?!

Not sure whether it's good or bad for us... looking over the shoulder at Limerick but Shels still in sight and yet to play us and Mons.

17/09/2011, 12:36 AM
Shels have no one to blame but themselves for that tonight.

Said it to one of the lads when I saw Dawson coming on at halt time they're ceding the possession and the midfield but are we good enough to take it??

And we weren't until right at the death. Shocking bottle job even by Shels standards at the end, after our first goal went in none of them wanted to go near the ball. Then 90 seconds later Delaney comes out flapping like a big flapping flapper and BEAST keeps up his Gerd Muller impersonating. :D

Well done to the Shels fans at the end who rained our players with bottles and coins. :bulgy:

adamd164
17/09/2011, 12:38 AM
Shels fans are a classy breed alright...

17/09/2011, 12:43 AM
12 point deduction in order tbf. :ball:

Shur how do you expect the kids to behave with the example their serial cheat players are giving them. :(

bluewhitearmy
17/09/2011, 12:55 AM
12 point deduction in order tbf. :ball:

Shur how do you expect the kids to behave with the example their serial cheat players are giving them. :(

Dont forget the fan that ran over and tried to attack a Limerick player going down the tunnel until stewards got to him. Classy classy stuff.

17/09/2011, 12:58 AM
Dont forget the fan that ran over and tried to attack a Limerick player going down the tunnel until stewards got to him. Classy classy stuff.

Top notch stewards aswell. :good:

Don't worry I'm sure that running child and all the bottle and coin throwing children were provoked by Limerick players having the audacity to celebrate a last gasp miracle therefore it's all Limericks fault. :ball:

bluewhitearmy
17/09/2011, 1:04 AM
Or as some Shels are saying cos we broke FIFA rules when our subs celebrated the winner on the pitch we should be ashamed.

17/09/2011, 1:07 AM
Or as some Shels are saying cos we broke FIFA rules when our subs celebrated the winner on the pitch we should be ashamed.

http://i.dailymail.co.uk/i/pix/2011/07/09/article-0-0C5CF6A300000578-530_468x329.jpg

bluewhitearmy
17/09/2011, 1:10 AM
http://i.dailymail.co.uk/i/pix/2011/07/09/article-0-0C5CF6A300000578-530_468x329.jpg

I hope he hammers us for such shameful behaviour.

And you just know that we wouldn't have celebrated like that if it was anyone other then Shels.

17/09/2011, 1:15 AM
And you just know that we wouldn't have celebrated like that if it was anyone other then Shels.

Shur when we got the last minute winner against Longford last week I reacted by spitting on my dog.

17/09/2011, 1:23 AM
Arse. 65 minutes of domination then they start sitting deeper than the Kursk - and just as doomed in the end.

So this is what it's like to follow Shels.

Can't wait for Athlone.

Welcome to the funhouse. All that stuff that's gone on this season;- this is the real deal. This is the beauty of this game sometimes. Have to hand it to Limerick for keeping at us. We should've been out of sight at that stage and the first goal should have been a consolation.

Well done.

Now... time for athlone!

bluewhitearmy
17/09/2011, 1:26 AM
Shur when we got the last minute winner against Longford last week I reacted by spitting on my dog.

This is brilliant from Shelsweb about Barry Ryan

Well, I don't agree with people throwing stuff at players, but it should be remembered that he was funding Ireland's murdering gangs through his recreational choices. ..

He should be stoned(Insert joke here) bottles are too good for him i tell you.

17/09/2011, 1:29 AM
In a small way Barry Ryan MURDERED Veronica Guerin :(

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jtjGAcALQbM

Really brings it home to you man. It's just a game of ball afterall. :(

bluewhitearmy
17/09/2011, 1:34 AM
In a small way Barry Ryan MURDERED Veronica Guerin

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jtjGAcALQbM

Really brings it home to you man. It's just a game of ball afterall. :(

Dont know how he gets his gloves on with the blood on his hands :(

17/09/2011, 2:16 AM

So did I, your dog that is.