View Full Version : First Division Run In
Pages :
[
11]
CSFShels
04/10/2011, 11:28 PM
Were you at the Salthill away match in the rain back in April/May?
I was...I seem to remember it taking a long time to get the goal.
Hope it's not as tight this time.
Of course, I may not even find the place this time...my breadcrumbs have probably all been scoffed by now.
Yeah our last 2 trips down there haven't been too straight-forward but if we can't go there and win then you may aswell just discount us from this thread.
adamd164
04/10/2011, 11:30 PM
Not just Cummins either but damn he must be sore tonight, his shin guards must be in bits at this stage.
They train in Dublin. Their website still lists Mick Cooke as manager.
Nuff said, joke of a club.
"Roddy, you're a c**t!".
bluewhitearmy
05/10/2011, 12:04 AM
What a load of toss. People, don't believe everything you read on biased-time. As one of the lads said, we played well between the goals! Eric Foley's yellow and Ryan Brennan's first yellow weren't even fouls in my biased opinion. Willo Mcdonagh's donkey impression made Cork look better than they are
Well im not bias and the Cork lads are spot on really.
More Limerick fans at the game tonight then Mons :frown:
05/10/2011, 12:59 AM
Three questions:
Do they both miss Wexford or Mervue??
Could straight red fella be looking at more than one game??
Which ones the good Brennan?? (besides Killian lulz)
05/10/2011, 1:10 AM
"Roddy, you're a c**t!".
The whole home for the dredges of Dublin football thing has always bothered me about Monaghan United.
As has the training in Dublin.
As has the near complete lack of support/interest.
As has the absolute rent a crowd they bring to away games when they're going well.
On the otherhand:
They never go bust.
Monaghan is a tiny little place in nowhere. They're arguably one of the best supported clubs in the country. Certainly better supported than Cork and Limerick.
They're duking it out at the top of the First Division with Cork and Shels with Limerick at bit behind.
Monaghan town has a population of what, 7000 people?? 90% of whom couldn't give a tuppeny ****. I agree with you to the extent that in an ideal world they have no place whatsoever in a League of Ireland setup, bar maybe down one of legendz pyramids. But at the moment the fact they can compete with the Corks and the Limericks kinda makes us the joke.
Pablo Escobar
05/10/2011, 7:35 AM
Three questions:
Could straight red fella be looking at more than one game??
Which ones the good Brennan?? (besides Killian lulz)
They will both be 1 game. Both Brennan's are very handy players.
The crowd last night were finally able to take some frustration out on Monaghan. The amount of times over the last 2 years that they sneaked goals against the run-of-play and held on with anti-football made them my most frustrating team in the league.
They will both be 1 game. Both Brennan's are very handy players.Is a straight red not more games than the 2 yellows?
Extratime also mentioned that Ryan Brennan confrnted the ref after his second yellow so whether that makes the refs report or not may get him an extra game.
Monaghan still in the driving seat though with that game in hand.
Pablo Escobar
05/10/2011, 9:17 AM
Is a straight red not more games than the 2 yellows?
Extratime also mentioned that Ryan Brennan confrnted the ref after his second yellow so whether that makes the refs report or not may get him an extra game.
Monaghan still in the driving seat though with that game in hand.
Straight red was definitely 1 game ban, unless they changed it recently. You might be correct about Ryan Brennan though and what happened there remains to be seen.
05/10/2011, 9:58 AM
Straight red has been one match ban but O'Flynn at the start of the season got more than one match because of what was in the refs report as far as I know so who knows what they might get.
Mr Maroon
05/10/2011, 10:07 AM
A straight red is an automatic one match ban. After the disciplinary committee meet, the player could get additional games depending on what the offence was.
MagicMon
05/10/2011, 11:24 AM
I think I'm right in saying that apart from last night there have only been 3 sendings off for Monaghan, the last of which was in April. And 2 of those red cards were in the one game. So yesterday was a bit of a freak in that respect.
As for jokes of clubs, the whole league is a joke if you want to look at it that way. Clubs winning the league and then going bust, clubs reincarnating themselves left right and centre, clubs being promoted on the basis of 'potential' and 'catchment areas' instead of results (how did that end up for Galway?), and the licensing system... I'm not even going to start on that.
If there was more focus on the football and less on the other sh*te then maybe we'd all be better off.
05/10/2011, 12:26 PM
"Roddy, you're a c**t!".
Thats our old website and even our local lads are at college or work in Dublin so whats the point in bringing them to Monaghan to train.
We will see what a joke we are at the end of the season, until then whisht.
Very disappointed in last nite's result but even more annoyed about the 2 Brennan's sendings off and Collins injury. :-(
gormacha
05/10/2011, 1:11 PM
Thats our old website and even our local lads are at college or work in Dublin so whats the point in bringing them to Monaghan to train.
I suspect and hope that a couple of the Cork lads were just blowing off steam after seeing Cummins getting subbed. Us in Waterford have more reason than most to mouth off agin Monaghan, but I've never felt they were a dirty team.
As for training in Dublin - can't see the big deal. Monaghan is a very small provincial town. It is unavoidable that many of the people who are connected to Monaghan live and work elsewhere. If its more convenient to train in Dublin, then so be it. Seems pointless to slag them off for an accident of geography. I don't see how that qualifies as bieng a "joke of a club". Anyway, people in glass houses shouldn't throw club-being-a-joke stones, should they?
Huge win for Cork nonetheless. They could well go on to win the division, as they seem to be getting stonger as the season progresses.
05/10/2011, 1:43 PM
Huge win for Cork nonetheless. They could well go on to win the division, as they seem to be getting stonger as the season progresses.
Shels won the league last night tbf.
El-Pietro
05/10/2011, 1:58 PM
most likely, but if Shels (not including their game against us) and Mons each slip up once between now and the end of the season and we win all our games, then we go up as Champions.
Big ask, but not impossible.
most likely, but if Shels (not including their game against us) and Mons each slip up once between now and the end of the season and we win all our games, then we go up as Champions. Having said that we are reliant on other teams messing up.
It's entirely in Shels & Monaghans hands right now.
Best off just doing our own thing and seeing how it goes.
If we have to go to Galway then so be it.
El-Pietro
05/10/2011, 3:26 PM
agreed. I'd be confident enough that Mervue or Limerick will be tricky games for Monagahn, but realistically Shels should have enough to win all their games leading up to the match against us.
TiocfaidhArmani
05/10/2011, 4:23 PM
agreed. I'd be confident enough that Mervue or Limerick will be tricky games for Monagahn, but realistically Shels should have enough to win all their games leading up to the match against us.
We should but I'm not confident about Waterford at all, we're bottling these big tests now and it's worrying. If we win this week we're up. If not, we're deep in it.
Good luck to Cork though, you as a club belong in the Premier.
05/10/2011, 5:25 PM
Waterford have nothing to play for, apparently they didn't look all that interested against us last week and we're the only team they can catch in the league.
gormacha
05/10/2011, 5:42 PM
Waterford have nothing to play for, apparently they didn't look all that interested against us last week and we're the only team they can catch in the league.
We haven't looked interested since the end of the first series.
Pablo Escobar
05/10/2011, 7:30 PM
We haven't looked interested since the end of the first series.
Except when you played us in Turners Cross ;)
gormacha
05/10/2011, 8:22 PM
Except when you played us in Turners Cross ;)
Go away with ya. You're just mad because that result dirties your W D L figures. ;)
born2bwild
05/10/2011, 9:06 PM
I think I'm right in saying that apart from last night there have only been 3 sendings off for Monaghan, the last of which was in April. And 2 of those red cards were in the one game. So yesterday was a bit of a freak in that respect.
As for jokes of clubs, the whole league is a joke if you want to look at it that way. Clubs winning the league and then going bust, clubs reincarnating themselves left right and centre, clubs being promoted on the basis of 'potential' and 'catchment areas' instead of results (how did that end up for Galway?), and the licensing system... I'm not even going to start on that.
If there was more focus on the football and less on the other sh*te then maybe we'd all be better off.
Didn't Keith Quinn get sent off up in Sligo?
05/10/2011, 9:30 PM
I saw on the waterford forum that the waterford fans arent happy with paul o brien as mgr and they could be changin manager at the start of the season again..I cant see Shels losin in RSC tbh...
Didn't Keith Quinn get sent off up in Sligo?
Aye,
http://extratime.ie/fixtures/detail/17463/2/
Go away with ya. You're just mad because that result dirties your W D L figures. ;)
Don't try to hide the fact that it was your cup final for this year :P .
MagicMon
05/10/2011, 10:20 PM
Aye,
http://extratime.ie/fixtures/detail/17463/2/
My mistake, I only looked at league games.
06/10/2011, 8:48 AM
http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6100/6216364643_e24235aed3_o.jpg
06/10/2011, 11:52 AM
Our main problem face hasn't been our main rivals, it's been draws with Athlone, Longford, Mervue and Wexford.
CSFShels
06/10/2011, 5:17 PM
http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6100/6216364643_e24235aed3_o.jpg
Yup but those are the only 16 points we've dropped all season.
06/10/2011, 5:27 PM
And managed to drop six of them in a horrendous week.
CSFShels
06/10/2011, 7:19 PM
And managed to drop six of them in a horrendous week.
No we've not gone 2 league games without winning all season.
06/10/2011, 9:16 PM
No we've not gone 2 league games without winning all season.
Sorry, that Athlone game completely passed me by. Oops.
Yup but those are the only 16 points we've dropped all season.And your ability to put away the weaker teams will be the reason ye win the league.
06/10/2011, 10:19 PM
Our ability to get more points than the rest of Ye, even the ones I forget, us what will win us the league.
I'm dreading us needing anything on the last night. Dreading it as much as Armenia on Tuesday.
Pablo Escobar
06/10/2011, 11:19 PM
I'm dreading us needing anything on the last night.
I'm loving the thought of that......more us needing something, but if it came down to a 2 horse race, that would be perfect! ;)
El-Pietro
06/10/2011, 11:23 PM
Shels drawing with Waterford, Monaghan drawing with Limerick and then the last night of the season three teams could win the league
07/10/2011, 12:39 AM
*Bleh*
bluemovie
08/10/2011, 8:53 AM
I saw on the waterford forum that the waterford fans arent happy with paul o brien as mgr and they could be changin manager at the start of the season again..I cant see Shels losin in RSC tbh...
Got slightly the wrong end of the stick there. Paul is very popular, but was only given an extended caretaker status until the end of the season to see us through a bad year. It's just that there's a general realisation that it doesn't look like he's going to be a long-term option. Great coach, not necessarily suited to management, but will be thanked for his contribution. If things had worked out well, we all hoped he'd be given the job permanently, but he's been dealing with some poor and some underperforming players. Think we need a good clearout. I'd love to see Reynolds back, but he has a great regional development job that he would have to give up and has assembled a Tramore team that has a serious shot at winning the FAI Junior Cup.
City 3 up at half time.
Shels somehow still at 0-0. Even missed a penalty.
adamd164
08/10/2011, 6:53 PM
I just lumped on Shels at slightly better than evens at HT.
Can't see Waterford holding out there.
YESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS! Waterford 1 up.
adamd164
08/10/2011, 7:40 PM
I just lumped on Shels at slightly better than evens at HT.
Can't see Waterford holding out there.
Holy jaysus.
I'll never be happier to lose money. Totally underestimated Shels' capacity to bottle it.
adamd164
08/10/2011, 7:51 PM
Top of the league!
Game on! Thank you bottlers FC
Totally underestimated Shels' capacity to bottle it.
http://www.riverbank.ie/files/images/Brendan%20Grace%20Bottler.jpg
Game on! Thank you bottlers FCWe're only a point ahead and they have a game in hand in Salthill.
Meaning we'd still have to win on the last day. Although having said that I never did really think we'd see the summit.
adamd164
08/10/2011, 8:11 PM
http://i52.tinypic.com/2nskeg.jpg
08/10/2011, 8:46 PM
http://i52.tinypic.com/2nskeg.jpg
town have played 28 and have 39 points now
sullanefc
08/10/2011, 8:54 PM
town have played 28 and have 39 points now
The Longford game finished 45 mins after the City game, so I assume that table was taken in that period. I was looking at the form table on soccerway and Shels are fifth!!! :D