View Full Version : Cork AUL 2011/12

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42

offside rule
08/09/2011, 5:11 PM
Bluey, can see your point re: fixture congestion!(especially seen as some of todays papers predicting more snow, as early as Oct/Nov!), by did the Aul decide and request a delagate of our club to observe a coin toss in order to determine home adv in a playoff game, and then a matter of hours/days later decide Leeside go thro' on head2head - joke of a decision I think. As 'horse' says below, all rules should be determined prior to competition starting.

Disciplinary reasons you speak about - the Springfield player who was sent off served one auto match ban vs Carrig, played vs Blarney and was then informed by Aul of a further two match ban(one vs Leeds last week and the other vs Bohs in Lge this Sunday) without getting his chance to go in front of any Aul board to explain his actions!. Referee's reports are fine to go on, but there all one-sided!!!.

backpass
08/09/2011, 5:11 PM
PACMAN - Think u might be taking the 'coin toss' thing up wrong. It wasnt a toss to see, if there would be a playoff(heads) or Leeside go thro'(tails) - but a coin toss to see who would have home adv in a playoff game between us & Leeside to determine who progresses.

We were aked to have a delegate of the club at an Aul meeting last nite to observe this coin toss(as requested by Aul) - (@Bluey),
Only to be informed that the Aul decided to send Leesid thro' on head2head.
Why request a delegate to attend for a reason, and then a matter of hours/days later change your decision.
I agree that the aul made a hames of it as usual and should not have requested a meeting between both clubs to toss a coin for home advantage in a playoff.But I think the end result was fair with leeside going through on the head to head.But I state again they made a hames of it as usual

thebooboys
08/09/2011, 5:27 PM
(A) Leeside had no member present for any coin toss, we weren't told to????
(B) the discipline comment wasn't with regard to a player being sent off, I would imagine he meant the manager??
I think its logical that after goal difference you go to head to head but yes its a pity that all teams aren't aware of process beforehand.
I may be wrong but I think it's an FAI rule regarding head to head but am I open to correction on that.

pacman
08/09/2011, 8:53 PM
PACMAN - Think u might be taking the 'coin toss' thing up wrong. It wasnt a toss to see, if there would be a playoff(heads) or Leeside go thro'(tails) - but a coin toss to see who would have home adv in a playoff game between us & Leeside to determine who progresses.

Ya took it up all wrong.

freddieflinston
08/09/2011, 10:32 PM
I think the right decision was made in relation to the leeside/springfield situation but it should never have come to this

As for the sending off : Anytime a player is sent off he is automatically expected to attend the next disciplinary meeting
I dont know when the latest one was on but maybe ye're player missed it??? if he did they make their own decision without the player being there

offside rule
08/09/2011, 11:16 PM
I agree that the aul made a hames of it as usual and should not have requested a meeting between both clubs to toss a coin for home advantage in a playoff.But I think the end result was fair with leeside going through on the head to head.But I state again they made a hames of it as usual

Would have to say if it was explained to all clubs at the outset of the comp, the way things were decided if indeed teams finished level on pts, goal diff etc., what the process was with regard to who progresses - and all clubs notified of this, I too would be in agreement of the head2head result had this been made clear at the beginning.
But as for the AUL's rulebook(make it up as you go along), its a joke. One minute its a playoff and the next its head2head results!.
In fairness its only a 5team league comp, it doesnt take a genius to figure out that the laws of average will throw up this circumstance(level pts, level goal diff, etc.) - my issue is with our Geniuses up in AUL HQ who didnt have rules in place at the start of the competition explaining this circumstance.

Furthermore, and this one baffles me. Yes PACMAN we asked clarification on this from the AUL and do you know what reply we got from our 'INTELLECTS' in HQ . . . . . that the Aul doesn't recognise/use goal difference in their league competitions, and then they made a point in saying to us, - 'that they informed us of this last season when we were neck&neck with Carrig for promotion'.
So if the dont use goal diff - then why weren't Springfield sent thro' in Mossie Linane Group cos when we had a better head2head vs Blarney... Some tools they are!.

Move over FIFA & FAI -we have a new half shagged delagation trying to run a football league!!!.

thebooboys
08/09/2011, 11:28 PM
Understand the grievance but point to note - in the other Mossie groups teams level on points have been positioned with regard to their superior/inferior goal difference.

Example: Greenwood placed ahead of Kinsale
Macroom placed higher than Knockavilla

So on that minor point they are being consistent. And those finalised Mossie tables were published on the AUL site PRIOR to the "decision" last night.

bluey
09/09/2011, 12:00 AM
Look offside, i know ye do feel hard done by and thats fair enough. Head to head was suppose to be there first day.... We simply stated that in the AUL rule book there was nothing about head to head, but in the FAI rule book it does state that it goes head to head. Therefore FAI rule book overules the AUL book where it should have been first day..
Re: sending off, i was speaking about the sending from line and not the player sent off from play!!! And i think all clubs should know by now that if you get sent off (regardless what sending off was for) yo must attend the next disclipine meeting which is every wed night.

Innishvilla
09/09/2011, 8:07 AM
'that they informed us of this last season when we were neck&neck with Carrig for promotion'.

It has always (as long as I've been involved) been the position that promotion and league titles are not decided in the AUL by goal difference - this is due to numerous reasons but mainly to avoid suspicious 10:0 end of season results or the fact that a team giving a 3:0 walkover doesn't prevent a side from progressing due to goals difference...

It looks like they made an error in the mossie - not making the rules clear. It is a shame but I am getting a bit sick of the AUL bashing... If people think they can do a better job then why not volunteer, running 9 leagues with about 10 other cup competitions - throw in clubs folding etc... it is no easy job.

On the suspension - you get sent off you can attend next disiplinary meeting (if you choose) if you don't decision is taken in your absence.

offside rule
09/09/2011, 10:26 AM
RE: Sending Off!,
just a quick note for all ye 'attend a disciplinary meeting' experts out there.
The player served a one match auto ban. The club then received a written letter from AUL stating the player was suspended for a further 2games - never was informed of any meeting or requested to attend anything.
Again another example of the Aul going off on their own tangent(making their rules), away from so-called normal proceedues!.

Lads a final note on the head2head issue. As I previously stated, if head2head is to be the outcome so be it - but state it clearly at start of competition, dont wait for outcome to happen and then make multiple decisions of, goal diff, playoff(coin toss), head2head, etc . . . Have the rules clearly stated at the outset.

Finally,
a) AUL seem to be geting themselves in an awful muddle-up IMO!, they say goal diff is not recognised - so why would Blarney be down as top of our group ahead on Leeside & ourselves then, an also as 'boo' said earlier 'Greenwood placed ahead of Kinsale & Macroom placed higher than Knockavilla'
b) If head2head or playoff is to be the result of teams tied on level pts, then clearly state this!
c) If correct proceedure is for a player to attend a disciplinary meeting following sending off to explain his actions, then allow him so, without jumping to conclusions and taking one-side of the story(refs report)
- . Seriously HQ get ur house in order!

Innishvilla
09/09/2011, 10:53 AM
RE: Sending Off!,
just a quick note for all ye 'attend a disciplinary meeting' experts out there.
The player served a one match auto ban. The club then received a written letter from AUL stating the player was suspended for a further 2games - never was informed of any meeting or requested to attend anything.
Again another example of the Aul going off on their own tangent(making their rules), away from so-called normal proceedues!.

From the rules of the AUL:

"
DISCIPLINARY RULES
1. Players sent off the field of play must attend the next disciplinary committee meeting; club secretary will be advised of dates.
2. All decisions of this committee shall have immediate effect on receipt of decision in the post by the club secretary.
3. Clubs and members have the right of appeal any decision in accordance with Rule 25.
4. All fines to be paid within seven (7) days. Failure to do so may result in further action being taken against the club.
5. A player or member of a club shall not during the period of his suspension play or otherwise take part in any match or fixture under the jurisdiction of the League, hold any office in his club or act in any capacity under this League.
"

The only question was did the club secretary know of the date of the meeting - but there is no case of the player being informed that he has to attend - it is mandatory (if he wants to present his case).

offside rule
09/09/2011, 11:10 AM
Seen as your so weel in the know Innish U up-to-date with your rules, perhaps you can inform me as to when the first disciplinary meeting of this Season took place! . . . Was it not Wed nite(7th Sept)-where as previous posters mentioned, that a member of our club was in front of the AUL because of his dismissal from the line at this match(how they are privy to this info I dont know).

Innishvilla
09/09/2011, 11:21 AM
Lads a final note on the head2head issue. As I previously stated, if head2head is to be the outcome so be it - but state it clearly at start of competition, dont wait for outcome to happen and then make multiple decisions of, goal diff, playoff(coin toss), head2head, etc . . . Have the rules clearly stated at the outset.

Finally,
a) AUL seem to be geting themselves in an awful muddle-up IMO!, they say goal diff is not recognised - so why would Blarney be down as top of our group ahead on Leeside & ourselves then, an also as 'boo' said earlier 'Greenwood placed ahead of Kinsale & Macroom placed higher than Knockavilla'
b) If head2head or playoff is to be the result of teams tied on level pts, then clearly state this!

I don't have a copy of the 2011 handbook but the 09/10 handbook covers the Mossie:

MOSSIE LINNANE LEAGUE CUP
1. This cup shall be called the Mossie Linnane League Cup and shall be competed for annually and be open to all teams in the premier divisions of our league.
2. All ties after the group stages will be decided at the first time of asking and will include 10 minutes each way extra time and penalties if needed up to and including the final.
3. If two (or more) teams finish level after the group stage of the competition, the group winners will be decided using the following criteria:
(a) Result of game between the teams.
(b) Goal difference between the teams.
(c) Teams with most goals scored
(d) Toss up between teams if they cannot be separated on above criteria.

If you look at that with Blarney St, Leeside and Springfield all tied on points it goes to the games between the three teams - the table would then look like:
Team Played Won Lost GF GA Pts
Blarney St 2 1 1 2 2 3
Leeside 2 1 1 2 2 3
Springers 2 1 1 1 1 3

So Blarney & Leeside qualify on goals scored in the head to head games - now I stand to be corrected but unless the've since deleated these rules from the AUL handbook that covers the situation.

Finally from the rule book regarding regular league season (championship) and the non use of goal difference...
Junior League Rules
"Rule 1(c) Averages for the Championships shall be taken from wins and draws (and not from number of goals scored) to be counted as follows; three points for a win and one for a draw."

I think a lot of your grievences are covered in the rule book.

pacman
09/09/2011, 11:26 AM

I think that is a fair point and ye probably have a case here. By their logic it would be a three way playoff given the results between the 3 teams.
As Boo said at least they've been consistant and for a competition like the mossie using goal difference probably makes sense but i guess if the rule isnt there, ye can rightly feel aggrieved.

From just seening the post by Inish the AUL do seem to have it covered, so looks like justice has been done

Innishvilla
09/09/2011, 11:27 AM
Seen as your so weel in the know Innish U up-to-date with your rules, perhaps you can inform me as to when the first disciplinary meeting of this Season took place! . . . Was it not Wed nite(7th Sept)-where as previous posters mentioned, that a member of our club was in front of the AUL because of his dismissal from the line at this match(how they are privy to this info I dont know).

Look all I'm doing is opening up my copy of the AUL handbook - I'm not my club secretary I don't know how good the communications are at secretary level - I do know that any time I get an e-mail regarding a meeting through just being on billy lyons' mailing list when I contact our club secretary to pass on the info he always knows about it so the communication channels to club secretaries must be fairly good - I stand to be corrected but is it not a set date every month for the disiplinary meetings i.e. first Wednesday of the month or something like that???

Horse24
09/09/2011, 12:10 PM
Lads, Blackstone Rovers V Cathedral Celtic is off tomorrow due to bereavement in Cathedral's club. Our condolences are offered to Cathedral.

offside rule
09/09/2011, 12:12 PM
I don't have a copy of the 2011 handbook but the 09/10 handbook covers the Mossie:

MOSSIE LINNANE LEAGUE CUP
1. This cup shall be called the Mossie Linnane League Cup and shall be competed for annually and be open to all teams in the premier divisions of our league.
2. All ties after the group stages will be decided at the first time of asking and will include 10 minutes each way extra time and penalties if needed up to and including the final.
3. If two (or more) teams finish level after the group stage of the competition, the group winners will be decided using the following criteria:
(a) Result of game between the teams.
(b) Goal difference between the teams.
(c) Teams with most goals scored
(d) Toss up between teams if they cannot be separated on above criteria.

If you look at that with Blarney St, Leeside and Springfield all tied on points it goes to the games between the three teams - the table would then look like:
Team Played Won Lost GF GA Pts
Blarney St 2 1 1 2 2 3
Leeside 2 1 1 2 2 3
Springers 2 1 1 1 1 3

So Blarney & Leeside qualify on goals scored in the head to head games - now I stand to be corrected but unless the've since deleated these rules from the AUL handbook that covers the situation.

Finally from the rule book regarding regular league season (championship) and the non use of goal difference...
Junior League Rules
"Rule 1(c) Averages for the Championships shall be taken from wins and draws (and not from number of goals scored) to be counted as follows; three points for a win and one for a draw."

I think a lot of your grievences are covered in the rule book.

Thank you for ur expalnation of the rules! - The rules are the rules and I dont have a problem with them.

My annoyance is with the ones who are supposed to be issueing these rules. Clearly the cant follow their own rules.

Y would they firstly decide there would be a playoff and request a member of our club to observe a coin toss to determine home adv and then secondly go with the head2head - clearly thy cant follow their own rules. If these ar indeed the correct rules you mention above, then y didnt they say to us these ae the rules and the outcome when teams finish level(and also make them known to all clubs at outset of comp) - instead of them making fools of themselves with all their mind changing!!!

the owl
09/09/2011, 12:15 PM
Have heard enough about this " who should go through" argument !!! Lets just disqualify Leeside and Springfield, like it says so in my rule book and put Carrig through !!!
Problem solved. Any questions ??

freddieflinston
09/09/2011, 2:01 PM
All i'm hearing from Springfield on here is whinge whinge whinge - ye've been on the favourable side of some questionable decisions ye're selves in the past so suck it up and get on with it

offside rule
09/09/2011, 3:08 PM
Have heard enough about this " who should go through" argument !!! Lets just disqualify Leeside and Springfield, like it says so in my rule book and put Carrig through !!!
Problem solved. Any questions ??

1win - 3pts. Simply not good enough to go thro'!.

scaffa7
09/09/2011, 3:37 PM
Thank you for ur expalnation of the rules! - The rules are the rules and I dont have a problem with them.

My annoyance is with the ones who are supposed to be issueing these rules. Clearly the cant follow their own rules.

Y would they firstly decide there would be a playoff and request a member of our club to observe a coin toss to determine home adv and then secondly go with the head2head - clearly thy cant follow their own rules. If these ar indeed the correct rules you mention above, then y didnt they say to us these ae the rules and the outcome when teams finish level(and also make them known to all clubs at outset of comp) - instead of them making fools of themselves with all their mind changing!!!

Offside dont think your doing your team any justice with the constant bitching about the AUL .......infairness i know you feel a great injustice has happened to your club but jesus man get over it!!
We have read from your numerous posts how the AUL F***ED up but let it go will you im sure some of the AUL VOLUNTEERS read this forum too and wont be a bit a happy about the way you and your club are slating them!!
The decision was made so drive on and concentrate on the next agenda its not like there going to change there minds and come on ....are ye really that upset im not putting the Mossie Lin cup down but there are bigger cups to still be won..........

the owl
09/09/2011, 4:36 PM
Really Offside ???.........i was hardly serious.

backpass
09/09/2011, 4:43 PM
All i'm hearing from Springfield on here is whinge whinge whinge - ye've been on the favourable side of some questionable decisions ye're selves in the past so suck it up and get on with it
Thats the most sensible and truthful comment I have heard. Springfield are gone out of the mossie so end off.Its taking up to much room on the forum so just get over a mickey mouse cup and drive on with other things more important.

sharpshooter
09/09/2011, 4:57 PM
MUNSTER JUNIOR CUP
Preliminary Round Draw

Kanturk v City Wanderers
Blackpool Celtic v Casement Celtic
Glenvale v Macroom "A"
Macroom "B" v Blarney Street Ath
Park United v Grattan Utd.
Greenwood "A" v Kinsale

1st Round Draw

Glenthorn Celtic v Glenvale or Macroom "A"
Park United or Grattan Utd v Leeside "A"
Springfield v Richmond
Dunbar Celtic v Leeds
Macroom "B" or Blarney St Ath v Ard -na -Laoi
Douglas Hall (AUL) v Coachford
Blackpool Celtic or Casement Celtic v Greenwood "B"
Greenmount Rangers v Kanturk or City Wanderers
Innishvilla v Ballinhassig "A"
Castleview v Grangevale
Rathcoole Rovers v Wilton United "A"
Knockavilla Celtic v Leeside "B"
Killumney United v Cathedral Celtic
Parkview Celtic v Greenwood "A" or Kinsale
Ballinhassig "B" v Blackstone Rovers
Carrigtwohill Utd v Kilreen Celtic
Hibernians FC v Pearse Celtic
Fairview v Ballincollig
Glen Celtic v Buttevant AFC
Leeview Ath v Waterloo
2nd Round
Dunbar Cel or Leeds v Rathcoole Rovers or Wilton Utd "A"
Killumney Utd or Cathedral Cel v Glenthorn Cel or Glenvale or Macroom "A"
Knockavilla Cel or Leeside "B" v Leeview Ath or Waterloo
Castleview or Grangevale v Greenmount Rgs or Kanturk or City Wanderers
Fairview or Ballincollig v Parkview Cel or Greenwood "A" or Kinsale
Innishvilla or Ballinhassig "A" v Park Utd or Grattan Utd or Leeside "A"
Hibernians FC or Pearse Cel v Springfield or Richmond
Douglas Hall (AUL) or Coachford v Ballinhassig "B" or Blackstone Rvs
Glen Cel or Buttevant v Macroom "B" or Blarney St Ath or Ard-na-Laoi
Blackpool Cel or Casement Cel or Greenwood "B" v Carrigtwohill Utd or Kilreen Cel

3rd Round
I v F
G v B
H v E
J v A
D v C

thebooboys
09/09/2011, 11:55 PM
Leeside A lost 2-1 AET to Douglas Hall in Moneygourney in poor conditions. At one stage around half time thought the game would be abandoned due to fog/mist but it cleared up again. Very disappointed to be out of a cup we normally do very well in but fair play to Douglas. They had the better of first half and got a deserved lead. Towards the end of 1st half Terry Lotty scored direct from a free kick. Bossed the 2nd half, if we had taken one of our chances would have probably gone on to win. Missed chances came back to haunt us with Douglas scoring a very fortunate goal where a shot was going about 10 yards wide only to hit another Douglas player and deflect into the goal. Unfortunately, and its no excuse we lost another player to injury this evening bringing our MIA list to 8 players.

offside rule
10/09/2011, 1:54 PM
Obviously 'owl'!. It was said as a comment to wind u up!.
Although if offered to ye, I d imagine ye'd jump at it. Another progression for ye without winning anything!!!

freddieflinston
10/09/2011, 5:45 PM
offside rule why do you contstantly underline everything its VERY annoying Do you have anything positive to say??? You are turning into as big a moaner as that pair ye have on the line

the owl
10/09/2011, 5:50 PM
Offside, i dont know anyone who would refuse a helping hand every now and then. Ye should know that better than anyone else !!!!!!......now,where is that underline button........

firsttouch
10/09/2011, 5:53 PM
offside rule why do you contstantly underline everything its VERY annoying Do you have anything positive to say??? You are turning into as big a moaner as that pair ye have on the line

Have to second that Freddie, never thought this was meant to be a forum for lads to let off steam and post dubious comments. Keep that lark for the pub lads...

offside rule
10/09/2011, 11:02 PM
Didn’t think this forum was an English class/lesson!, what difference does it make whether my posts have BOLD, Italic or Underline in them – just read them and get on with it. Its not like Ive time to got thro’ and rectify you on any of your own grammer & punctuation mistakes.

@ Owl: ‘take the bait and they will bite’. Seriously . . . bit of banter between neighbours – gullible still in the dictionary!!!.
Helping hands – we prefer to do our talking with our feet/football.

@Firsttouch: nothing dubious about my posts, all 100% factual!!!.

@ Scaffa: Im a keen supporter of Springfield FC (both A&B teams) – why would a supporters comments (positive or negative)influence what the Aul think about my club. Don’t think the English FA are too worried about my posts on Liverpool Forums or the FAI are worried about my posts on Cobh Rams (foot.ie) forum!.
Im well aware that this is a public forum and obviously anyone (volunteer) can read it. As you say it’s a ‘forum’, meaning a debate/discussion – So what I/We decide to discuss is entirely our issues – if anyone from Aul wants to come on here and discuss topics there more than free to!.
Thanks for your concerns – but if the Aul where to hold negative vibes towards Springfield FC because of comments made on this forum – then that would be very unproffesional of them.

On the whole playoff/head2head – as I posted previously I accept the rules ‘rules are the rules & don’t have a problem with them’. – issue is with the enforcers of our league who cant seem to enforce these in the proper or correct manner(as I spoke about previously). END OF DISCUSSION REGARDING THIS TOPIC!

Just on the sending off issue,
Our player was sent off vs Leeside on 23rd Aug, missed 1game auto ban vs Carrig on 28th Aug, then back playing vs Blarney on 30th!. Club then 24/48hrs (@ 1st Sept) later received a written letter from Aul saying our player has to serve an immediate further 2game ban. If the first disciplinary meeting was on Wed 7th Sept – how would it have been possible for the player to attend any meeting before this date to answer his charge regarding the sending-off. Presume Aul went on refs report!.
As ‘Inish’ posted regarding Disciplinary Rules – player must attend the next disciplinary meeting(apologies ‘Wilma about the underlining & bold – just pasteing from previous post!!!).
So does this mean Aul broke there own rules/agenda in not allowing player attend disciplinary meeting – (for the Aul lovers out there, this is a serious question and not a slating of Aul Volunteers)

Oh ‘Wilma’(freddieflinston) what club are you affiliated with?

scaffa7
11/09/2011, 12:05 AM
On the beer tonight offside?.......some rant there!

Oh ya you keep calling yourself a supporter in your reply to me.............are you not one of the attacking players too?
My point would be that one Springfields players attacking the AUL on this forum dose nt look good for there team .......i know i would nt like one of our players doing it anyhow

offside rule
11/09/2011, 6:19 AM
No beer taken at all Scaffa (nite, before a game -tut!tut!) - dont need any dutch courage to make my posts.
Can see yur point - but if the Aul are that way inclined, it woud be very unproffesional of them!.
Thanks for your concern about our players, you look after yer own and we'l keep ours under tabs.

Best of luck later on in the game. Shaping up to be a nice morning down here in Cobh!.
(ps-long time since ive seen match at 07.30 in the morning - c'mon Irl (rugby WC))

backpass
11/09/2011, 1:31 PM
some interesting results in all leagues and cups this weekend. Leeside out of aoh big dissapointment for the club id say. Springfield thumping bohs.I went up watching grattan game yesterday and it was awful.The weather was terrible but the standard of football was very poor.Good to see grattan go into the next round tho and get a win under their belt.

offside rule
11/09/2011, 2:23 PM
Springfield vs Bohs Prem A lge, sunday 11th Sept.

Won this game quiet comfortably 9(nine) - 2, without really having to get outta 2nd gear!.
Our stiker got a hatrick and we had 6others on the score sheet.
We conceeded 2goals which could have been avoided(soft pen & goalkeeping error!).
Bohs had man sent off after @30/40mins.
Game blown up with @10mins left!.

freddieflinston
11/09/2011, 2:43 PM
Hi onside - currently i'm playing for BEDROCK FC ;-) but had a career that included City Wanderers , Northvilla , Tramore and Douglas Hall . But i have a teribble attitude so Bedrock want me out. Hang on a second with an attitude like mine I would surely be welcome on the Great Island!!!!

scaffa7
11/09/2011, 2:55 PM
Springfield vs Bohs Prem A lge, sunday 11th Sept.

Won this game quiet comfortably 9(nine) - 2, without really having to get outta 2nd gear!.
Our stiker got a hatrick and we had 6others on the score sheet.
We conceeded 2goals which could have been avoided(soft pen & goalkeeping error!).
Bohs had man sent off after @30/40mins.
Game blown up with @10mins left!.

Ya cant argue hear we wer shocking goalkeeping errors in the first 15 mins ended this game and getting our man sent off did nt help either going to get this one out of system a quickly as possible...............

offside rule
11/09/2011, 3:01 PM
Ya cant argue hear we wer shocking goalkeeping errors in the first 15 mins ended this game and getting our man sent off did nt help either going to get this one out of system a quickly as possible...............

Were ye short in goals today - just that the keeper ye had looked like he was just filling in.
Goalkeeping error(s) early on, did really put an end to your chances.

offside rule
11/09/2011, 3:06 PM
Hi onside - currently i'm playing for BEDROCK FC ;-) but had a career that included City Wanderers , Northvilla , Tramore and Douglas Hall . But i have a teribble attitude so Bedrock want me out. Hang on a second with an attitude like mine I would surely be welcome on the Great Island!!!!

So your retired!. (Injury or old-age?)
Spending your time now so with Wilma, Barney, Betty & co.
Were quiet happy with the numbers and the attitude of the squad we got here, but on your way down call into the small island, they might welcome you!.

JRyno
11/09/2011, 4:51 PM
De Courcey 6-2 shandon cel... Tight first half, 1-1 at half time... One of our midfielders got 4, 3 in the 2nd half.. Good team performance from ourselves!

Horse24
11/09/2011, 7:18 PM
De Courcey 6-2 shandon cel... Tight first half, 1-1 at half time... One of our midfielders got 4, 3 in the 2nd half.. Good team performance from ourselves!

Talking the other day, and I think De Courcey are one of the teams we have never played. About 10 in total Id say. All the city sides Id say we have played. Any close neighbours anyone has never played or, especially for the likes of Castleview, have ye played everyone in the 50 years? Maybe not Glounthane I suppose!

junglegym
12/09/2011, 8:21 PM
Knockavilla Celtic v Blackpool Celtic / Buttevant B
UCC B v Waterloo
Crescent Ath v Springfield B
Los Zarcos v Blackstone Rovers /Cathedral Celtic
Hibernians B v Grangevale
Pearse Celtic v Blarney St Ath
Corkbeg v St Johns Boscos B
Glenthorn Celtic v Cork Road Celtic / Kinsale
Kanturk A v Glen Celtic B
Dunbar Celtic B v Greenwood A
Wilton Utd A v Killumney Utd / Rylane Celtic
Ard Na Laoi v Buttevant A
Dunbar Celtic A v Springfield A
Macroom A v Park Utd A
Glounthane v De Courcey Albion
Kilreen Celtic v Watergrasshill Utd
Bohemians v Rathcoole Rovers A
Fairview v Hillington
Glen Celtic A v Casement Celtic / Innishvilla B
Ballincollig v Dillons Cross
UCC A v Ballinhassig A
Knockraha v Carrigtowhill Utd A
Killowen v Carrigaline Utd
Knocknaheeny Celtic v CFC Banteer
Grattan Utd v Innishvilla A
Leeside B v Hibernians A
Glanworth Utd v Newmarket
Lakewood Ath v Park Utd B / Churchvilla
Douglas Hall v Greenmount Rangers
Richmond v Castleview
St John Boscos A v Coachford A
Brooklodge Utd v Wilton Utd B.

Innishvilla
13/09/2011, 10:28 AM
Knockavilla Celtic v Blackpool Celtic / Buttevant B
UCC B v Waterloo
Crescent Ath v Springfield B
Los Zarcos v Blackstone Rovers /Cathedral Celtic
Hibernians B v Grangevale
Pearse Celtic v Blarney St Ath Both started season strong
Corkbeg v St Johns Boscos B
Glenthorn Celtic v Cork Road Celtic / Kinsale
Kanturk A v Glen Celtic B
Dunbar Celtic B v Greenwood A
Wilton Utd A v Killumney Utd / Rylane Celtic I'm assuming Killumney overcome Rylane
Ard Na Laoi v Buttevant A
Dunbar Celtic A v Springfield A Dunbar started very strong but need to bounce back from big defeat by Douglas Hall
Macroom A v Park Utd A Prem v Prem say no more
Glounthane v De Courcey Albion
Kilreen Celtic v Watergrasshill Utd Both have started season well
Bohemians v Rathcoole Rovers A
Fairview v Hillington
Glen Celtic A v Casement Celtic / Innishvilla B
Ballincollig v Dillons Cross
UCC A v Ballinhassig A
Knockraha v Carrigtowhill Utd A
Killowen v Carrigaline Utd
Knocknaheeny Celtic v CFC Banteer
Grattan Utd v Innishvilla A Innishvilla have started solidly - not spectacularly as we had hoped!!!
Leeside B v Hibernians A
Glanworth Utd v Newmarket
Lakewood Ath v Park Utd B / Churchvilla
Douglas Hall v Greenmount Rangers AUL 1A rivals
Richmond v Castleview
St John Boscos A v Coachford A
Brooklodge Utd v Wilton Utd B.

Billy's website said there were a few tasty clashes - I'm inclined to agree, I've highlighted a few that will be close calls... There are others but I felt these were the pick...

backpass
13/09/2011, 12:38 PM
A few good games but the tie of the round is if Killumney get a win against Rylane they face Wilton. Should be a belter of a game

Kearney
13/09/2011, 8:14 PM
Hi Lads,

New to this forum but been following these threads the last 3 seasons so I eventually took the plunge and decided to get involved.

Would prefer to stay neutral a while, agree that there is some interesting fixtures to be played. Who are people tipping?

The 'View
13/09/2011, 10:18 PM
Talking the other day, and I think De Courcey are one of the teams we have never played. About 10 in total Id say. All the city sides Id say we have played. Any close neighbours anyone has never played or, especially for the likes of Castleview, have ye played everyone in the 50 years? Maybe not Glounthane I suppose!
Horse had to ask a few of the oldies and more knowledgable members. They figure only about 4 of the current teams. Banteer, Bweeng, Cork Road Celtic & De Courcey. Not sure about Glounthane, definetly played them at youth level.

thebooboys
13/09/2011, 10:27 PM
This is Glounthaune's first ever year Junior. They have been around for roughly ten years when they split from us (Leeside)

backpass
14/09/2011, 11:47 AM
Hi Lads,

New to this forum but been following these threads the last 3 seasons so I eventually took the plunge and decided to get involved.

Would prefer to stay neutral a while, agree that there is some interesting fixtures to be played. Who are people tipping?

Welcome Donnie, better off staying neutral and not getting caught up in some of the madness that goes on here. I'm tipping the winners of Wilton and killumney. Two very good teams on their day

JRyno
14/09/2011, 2:50 PM

We've (de courcey) only been an AUL club since 2002, so theres plenty of teams who never played us. Plus we didnt have a team from 2005-2007, so i think 6/7 is the most we've played in the AUL, we'd always been west cork before that...

Kearney
14/09/2011, 3:13 PM
Wilton will definately be the favourites in my opinion as they are the Champions plus I heard they have strengthened the squad nicely in the summer. Should be a good contest though.

The Pearse v Blarney game should be a good game also and I'm sure there will be a good few upsets along the way.

Dixie's Cousin
14/09/2011, 3:19 PM
Welcome Donnie, Good call by Backpass. it can get heated so better off stay neutral and just call it as it is