View Full Version : Cork AUL 2011/12
maninthemiddle
04/11/2011, 1:29 PM
maninthemiddle to be fair some cards can be avoided i agree but at some point a guy has to make a challenge and not every foul is cynical/dangerous as im sure u will agree but the refs these days are just way to keen to whip out yellow cards. to be honest charging fellas in this climate for gettin booked is an absolote joke....fellas already have to play insurance to their clubs and weekly script so isnt that enough...clubs already give the league what i can only see as a fair memebership price each year to the league so what is this fines money actually used for...just seems like a bit of a scam to me....by the way not singling out the aul here as its in other leagues as well before anyone loses the plot:D
ps: in fairness that ref ye mention is awful..if ever there was a guy who should be reffing schoolboys its him..i mean give him credit for wanting to be involved but just like a player everyone has their level that should be at..he is certainly not at the top level of refs in cork no matter how bad the rest are:D
i take your point red and white but what you may see as a challenge not worthy of a yellow a ref will see as one that if let go will carry onto and develop into the next tackle or the player who took the challenge feels agrieved and goes looking for retribution.you simply cannot let a match get away from you or out of control as all hell breaks lose and fellas are free to do as they please.
how many fellas feel agrieved getting a yellow cos its the first tackle they made or its the first minute of a game? if you leave a fella go for those reasons then are ya supposed to continue for the rest of the 90 like that because if you do there will be 22 a 22 man brawl for sure.
i'd love not to book a fella for his first tackle or because its very early in a game but you then set a very dangerous precident then.
there are fellas playing that still think that getting the ball is 100% justification for any type of tackle.
winning the ball is irrelevant if the tackle is reckless and dangerous.
as for it being a fiver per yellow and 25 per red i agree. it is terrible in the times we live for clubs and players to be hit with those fines but i cant and dont let that effect my decision and we are certainly not influenced in any way shape or form to give cards in order to make money. thats just insulting to everyones intellegence.
another point is that with a ref he is tarnished for life if he makes a bad decision. if i give an important call against you and you feel i was wrong then i could go onto ref a world cup final and i will still be awful in your eyes.
we dont get reprieves.
rebelhead
04/11/2011, 8:25 PM
Well lads this has been done for a while as there been a lot of bitchness on here,so those any body have predictions on this weekend games couple of big games in the Fai Wilton/kinsale,local north side derby Leeds and glen Celtic /any big leauge games on??????
greengrass
04/11/2011, 8:36 PM
i had two fellas early on in the season go in for a 50/50 ball with great commitment. ball went out for a throw to one team.
the two lads got off the ground and were squaring up to each other.
one fella said to the other "ya ****in langer,you could have broke my leg"
the other fella says as they were just going head to head "shut up ya ****in *****".
i was right ther and blew the whistle as throw was being taken and just got myself between them and was having a word.
one fella says "ref are you going to allow him to call me a ***** like that" and the other fella says "you called me a langer sure".
i said "lads lads lads would ye ever calm down please. we will just say that ye are both right and we will just get on with it".
everyone agreed and we got on with it.
there is a line and if it gets crossed you take action. if we had to talk to every line and every player when there was a bit of verbals going on it would take 5 hours to get through a game. as i said there is a line.
cross it and out come the cards. if i had a penny for every time i was called a langer from the line or supporters i'd need no match fee.
well i would like to have a ref like you some day,
the majority of refs enjoy getting involved i reckon and by doing so make situations worse
zohan
04/11/2011, 10:06 PM
Well lads this has been done for a while as there been a lot of bitchness on here,so those any body have predictions on this weekend games couple of big games in the Fai Wilton/kinsale,local north side derby Leeds and glen Celtic /any big leauge games on??????
Fancy wilton to beat kinsale comfortably even down in kinsale, very impressed with wilton evrytime i seen them! Park to beat blarney st. Leeds to beat glen, pearse and corinthians be intersting with all the aul msl banter the last few days, leeside midelton aswell
villaman10
04/11/2011, 11:01 PM
Fancy wilton to beat kinsale comfortably even down in kinsale, very impressed with wilton evrytime i seen them! Park to beat blarney st. Leeds to beat glen, pearse and corinthians be intersting with all the aul msl banter the last few days, leeside midelton aswell
by all account's midleton comfortably beat leeside tonight!! leeside were well outplayed apparently! as for the aul/msl banter, midleton in the 2nd tier of the msl junior league!! think that says it all really
shetland
04/11/2011, 11:31 PM
i think that glen celtic could well shock leeds of prem a.
The Lawd
05/11/2011, 3:20 AM
Villaman sort out your junior team and come back to me.. Heard they running your club??? Stacky sort yourself out kidor should i say Lawd!!!
thebooboys
05/11/2011, 5:01 AM
leeside are a joke tonight??????? and the players have to deal with that
thebooboys
05/11/2011, 5:02 AM
i dont care who ye are. questions to be answered.
thebooboys
05/11/2011, 5:05 AM
Are we up for it
pacman
05/11/2011, 7:55 AM
Doing a bit of soul searching early this morning Boo?
villaman10
05/11/2011, 7:57 AM
Villaman sort out your junior team and come back to me.. Heard they running your club??? Stacky sort yourself out kidor should i say Lawd!!!
what junior team do i have?? don't manage anybody bud, just a hurler on the ditch these days! any way what have i said that has gotten you riled up,??did you not say a few page's back (p39. post 773 to be precise) that you have nothing to do with leeside? I just put up a report of a game i got off a couple of the lads as no one else had written anything yet, was at rockmount douglas game myself so had to rely on other source's for your'e teams game! am i supposed to be ''stacky''??? or ''the lawd''??? maybe you might post again as your'e last one has confused me!!
greengrass
05/11/2011, 8:23 AM
by all account's midleton comfortably beat leeside tonight!! leeside were well outplayed apparently! as for the aul/msl banter, midleton in the 2nd tier of the msl junior league!! think that says it all really
certainly should put things in perspective on here
Radiostar
05/11/2011, 12:03 PM
Was at the Midleton v Leeside game, was a poor game with nothing in it until Leeside went down to 10 men early second half, gave Midleton the chance to get ball into their dangerous frontmen Barrett and Deasy, some nasty challenges in this game and both teams could have had more players sent off. The ref Liam Murphy is a very good/fair ref anytime I have had dealings with him, and he did his best to control and calm down some of the players, but he wasn't helped by the sheer amount of abuse/crap directed at him from the line which was way out of order.
thebooboys
05/11/2011, 12:35 PM
the ref was terrible,lost control very early. midelton better team could have been 4 or 5 in the end but i thought we we had it easy first half until we made mistakes to hand them the game,
Shilts
05/11/2011, 4:12 PM
Fai jun cup
Kinsale 1
Wilton United 0 after extra time
Tight game
Could have gone either way
Kinsale scored the winner in the last min of extra time
overthehill
05/11/2011, 6:25 PM
Oh BOO. What a difference a week makes! Today u say the ref was terrible yet an unbiased view from Radio says he handled it ok. Yet last week when ye won, many viewers said the ref hadnt a good day and you thought he was great!! Both weeks people have commented on the abuse directed from the line..... perhaps you could give your views?
magpie
05/11/2011, 9:25 PM
the ref was terrible,lost control very early. midelton better team could have been 4 or 5 in the end but i thought we we had it easy first half until we made mistakes to hand them the game,
i knew this wud happen. The ref would get the blame for this defeat. he had a great game. before he actually sent off a leeside player there should have been two leeside players sent off, one for the penalty and one 4 the disgraceful tackle on johnny barrett, who tormented the leeside defence all night.
midleton won the game in all areas of the pitch, and finally put the msl/aul debate to bed. A first division msl team beating a aul prem division team fair and square end of story. :p
Where to start, magpie the ref is getting no blame, at the end of the day its down to the players,job wasnt done simple as.It was a very poor performance and midelton did play v well, was speaking to one of their players coming off the pitch and he said that they will never play like that again. They where up for it more and won the game, simple as.
To the ref, as i said he is not getting the blame, just made some bad decisions. Delea got booked for a tackle that wasnt very bad, just before it ryng was halved, scars to show from it and there was no card!! the sending off, if sending our player off, the midelton player should of went also as he kicked out and raised hands also. The pen, was a pen, but our player shouldnt of been sent off cause the keeper already had ball in hands when foul was committed. The bad tackle from our player in first half was pure fustration cause a few seconds earlier he was also badly tackled and nothing given.
Villaman your away with the cuckoo's boy, fair play ye won game on friday night but paid for it today, Thats what happens when you put your seniors out on friday and your juniors out on saturday, hammered 3-1 by marys, you had a very bad game yourself today actually!!!!!! junior team dictating whats going on in club, bad sign....
magpie
05/11/2011, 10:30 PM
Where to start, magpie the ref is getting no blame, at the end of the day its down to the players,job wasnt done simple as.It was a very poor performance and midelton did play v well, was speaking to one of their players coming off the pitch and he said that they will never play like that again. They where up for it more and won the game, simple as.
To the ref, as i said he is not getting the blame, just made some bad decisions. Delea got booked for a tackle that wasnt very bad, just before it ryng was halved, scars to show from it and there was no card!! the sending off, if sending our player off, the midelton player should of went also as he kicked out and raised hands also. The pen, was a pen, but our player shouldnt of been sent off cause the keeper already had ball in hands when foul was committed. The bad tackle from our player in first half was pure fustration cause a few seconds earlier he was also badly tackled and nothing given.
Villaman your away with the cuckoo's boy, fair play ye won game on friday night but paid for it today, Thats what happens when you put your seniors out on friday and your juniors out on saturday, hammered 3-1 by marys, you had a very bad game yourself today actually!!!!!! junior team dictating whats going on in club, bad sign....
Ok bluey i take your point, but weather or not his tackle was outta frustration or not it was a straight red. The spotter was a red, after the tackle was made the ball rolled into the keepers hands because the striker was on the floor. None of last nights players were senior players. Each one of them have been playing junior since pre-season.
According to one or two of the leeside players they were expecting a stroll around knockgriffin last night and arrived with the wrong attitude.
bluey
05/11/2011, 11:01 PM
Is that why 3 of ye who played last night played against rockmount last friday night, you, muccie and tucker. Also there is players who played last night wanted non stop to play on senior team and wont cause of goggs.
villaman10
06/11/2011, 8:33 AM
ha ha!! this aul thread is way better than the msl one, bluey& lawd am sorry to tell ye that ye have the wrong man, but sure look keep going if ye want!! and was nowhere near knockgriffen yesterday my playing days are over!! ye're report card should read abit like leeside's fri night... must try harder!!
The Lawd
06/11/2011, 11:21 AM
ha ha!! this aul thread is way better than the msl one, bluey& lawd am sorry to tell ye that ye have the wrong man, but sure look keep going if ye want!! and was nowhere near knockgriffen yesterday my playing days are over!! ye're report card should read abit like leeside's fri night... must try harder!!
According to bluey, you were playing Friday night? You told me you don't play anymore? But you seem to know a lot about the match for a fella who was there. Just sounds a little strange that you know so much about the match.
pacman
06/11/2011, 11:34 AM
AUL vs MSL
Lads, I was not at the game Friday night but anybody who thinks a one off game betwen two sides can tell which league is better isnt approaching the subject with any sort of objectivity. On one hand we have Leeside members admitting they were well below par and in fairness to Midleton they have won 6 out of 6 in their division this year so they might not be an accurate representation of the standard in MJL division 1.
Knowing a few lads that play with the Midleton juniors they certainly have an extremely strong squad and I would fancy them to win the MJL premier league if they were on it. At the same time I think they would do very well also in the AUL premier division. However at the same time looking back at results between top Aul teams and MJL teams over the last 3 or 4 years would suggest the AUL are stronger overall.
As for Leeside their form seems to be very inconsistant and after next Sunday could be out of everything but the league.
shetland
06/11/2011, 5:52 PM
headed to leeds park today,and saw the game between leeds and glen celtic.i left with 10minutes to go with the glen winning 4 goals to 2 and full value for it. leeds were poor to be honest they seemed to have 18 or 19 players togged out but even though they were reduced to ten men they were poor all round. glen celtic have improved a lot this year and a few x leeds players lined out with the glen. mark nolan and shambo in midfield .glen were also without star player john corcoran due to suspension.any one else at this game with comments.
goal-achio
06/11/2011, 6:00 PM
i was at the game shetland obviously,its a known fact your not a fan of leeds but in all fairness we were winning 2 - 1 when we went down to 10 men unjustly. not saying we would have went on to win.In saying that the glen have a fantastic team who would put it up to most teams and deserved to win today.Best of luck to them in the next round and being honest no disrespect to any teams in their league i think they will win the league as well.
Is john corcoran their star player cos he played with ballyvolane?GET A GRIP BOY!!!!!!They have 2 or 3 players as good if not better.
shetland
06/11/2011, 6:54 PM
i was at the game shetland obviously,its a known fact your not a fan of leeds but in all fairness we were winning 2 - 1 when we went down to 10 men unjustly. not saying we would have went on to win.In saying that the glen have a fantastic team who would put it up to most teams and deserved to win today.Best of luck to them in the next round and being honest no disrespect to any teams in their league i think they will win the league as well.
Is john corcoran their star player cos he played with ballyvolane?GET A GRIP BOY!!!!!!They have 2 or 3 players as good if not better.goal icho ,as reguards john corcoran he is a star wheather he played with ballyvolane or not,i never said other glen players werent but john with his set pieces and over all play is a huge loss to any team.,in my oppinion he is too good for first division ,.football is about oppinions and they were by far the fitter team at the end of this game and i think would have won even if leeds had 11. i think its you need to get a grip.,leeds made two substitutes that were never going to change things..it was no surprise to me the result i actually predicted it .,and even though it was to be a home game for glen it was switched to leeds park.
Fai jun cup
Kinsale 1
Wilton United 0 after extra time
Tight game
Could have gone either way
Kinsale scored the winner in the last min of extra time
Was at this game, was an ok game... Wilton prob had more of posession and more chances, probably will feel like they left it after them at 90minutes, but can never write kinsale off... Solid defensive display and looked like they wanted it more in extra time!
shetland
06/11/2011, 7:50 PM
not bad for a team thats been written off by so many.
thebooboys
07/11/2011, 3:23 AM
lets be honest here john corcoran is quality and i have played against him but he is raw and thats the way he is going to stay with his attitude, it seems to me that he does not care. Wilton next week can delea produce another performance like last week as he did against kilumney. hopefully ricky getts does not play the same as he did against middleton as he was terrible,hes been poor all year.
hope he steps it up. the finger has to come out???
thebooboys
07/11/2011, 3:53 AM
is keegan going to have delea and slick rick in his pocket or is slick going to pull it out of the fire and is delea going to wipe those tears away from keegans face. which delea is going to turn up sunday the one that is hungry, or full,
shetland
07/11/2011, 9:16 AM
lets be honest here john corcoran is quality and i have played against him but he is raw and thats the way he is going to stay with his attitude, it seems to me that he does not care. Wilton next week can delea produce another performance like last week as he did against kilumney. hopefully ricky getts does not play the same as he did against middleton as he was terrible,hes been poor all year.
hope he steps it up. the finger has to come out???i agree john maybe a bit raw but he is only 20 years of age and the best is yet to come.
Inswinger
07/11/2011, 9:35 AM
Lads i think we should all be heading down to Little Island and Glounthaune for our nights out, it seems to be open till all hours. Who's up for it, must be great craic? :p
Inswinger
07/11/2011, 9:46 AM
Coachford 4 Buttevant 2
Lucky enough with this one after a very poor first half performance, went down a goal in 1st half , equalised and gave away a really soft goal after. Second half totally stepped it up and ran out convincing 4-2 winners. Michael O Sullivan (2), Liam Eager (pen) and Mark Long with the goals. Hope our foreign contingent are looking in. Looking forward to seeing who we get next, one more round and its the open draw so there s a nice carrott to play for.
Some interesting results over the week end, Blarney St getting a hammering by Park who are going v. nicely, Leeside and Pearse losing and Kinsale doing what they do best, winning big games.
shetland
07/11/2011, 10:16 AM
to take up the blarney street point lads,whats gone wrong there,casillias gone very quiet.after a promiseing start a few bad results,seems to have all began with the loss of king to australia and garry nolan also.
villaman10
07/11/2011, 12:00 PM
According to bluey, you were playing Friday night? You told me you don't play anymore? But you seem to know a lot about the match for a fella who was there. Just sounds a little strange that you know so much about the match.
hey lawd, if you actually read the post i made about the game, it should be clear that i wasn't there! was not harsh/unfair to anyone in the post, just relating a view off someone who was there, was actually ''booboy'' who in his post was way more critical of your'e team than anything i've said! i will stand by my original post as by all accounts midleton did deserve to beat ye, midleton are not good enough to go much further, but were good enough to beat ye!
Radiostar
07/11/2011, 4:44 PM
Red & White, I think you are being unfair to Midleton Juniors, they are a very handy side! No doubt one of the best junior MSL teams, whether they are in 1st division or not.
the ghost
07/11/2011, 5:45 PM
If I remember correctly Wilton beat Rockmounts juniors comfortably aswell as Kinsale beating Rockmounts juniors, quick to forget them results so ye can take them back to your MSL forums!!!
villaman10
07/11/2011, 5:54 PM
If I remember correctly Wilton beat Rockmounts juniors comfortably aswell as Kinsale beating Rockmounts juniors, quick to forget them results so ye can take them back to your MSL forums!!!
quite right ghost!! end of the day anyone can beat anyone at this level of football!! it's just funny how aul seem to think that they have a divine right to beat msl junior teams, and the slagging that was on here after msl beat the aul would have you thinking that the msl junior section is a complete waste of time! is nice every now and again to get 1 over the 'noisey neighbours':laugh:
the ghost
07/11/2011, 6:08 PM
My apologies kinsale beat Douglas hall juniors
the ghost
07/11/2011, 6:37 PM
I know that villaman no one has a right to win a match and the Oscar T game proves your point, but by all accounts that Midleton team are better than the div there playing in? You would agree? and judging by booboys harsh posts leeside are alot better than they played that night. I've seen them play and I know some of them have some serious medals at home so they ARE a good Cork junior team at any level
Redandwhite your either just stirring it up or you don't have a clue
Toebomb 11
07/11/2011, 7:51 PM
Hi Lads,have'nt been on for a while, not too much good news to report from the Gratts I'm afraid...I was at the Midleton/Leeside match last Friday and firstly I'd just like to congratulate Midleton on the fantastic set-up they have down there, its second to none..the match itself was fairly poor I thought,Midleton were deserved winners and tried to play good football throughout,I've never seen Leeside play so bad,could'nt string 3 passes together, looked very dis-jointed and fellas didnt seem to show much interest either. Just wondering Bluey, were Leeside missing a few?..who was the centre half that was around 4 stone overweight and only lasted 10 mins??..He was a pity that fella..thought it was a very strange team selection, Brian o sullivan captained the Oscar Trainer to all Ireland glory a few years back and cant get in centre half over that other 'player'..surely,they are fitter centre halfs playing with the second team?..it just looked a bit strange looking at it from the line thats all..If they put a team out like that next weekend against Wilton,Wilton will run riot..
The Lawd
07/11/2011, 9:00 PM
Hi Lads,have'nt been on for a while, not too much good news to report from the Gratts I'm afraid...I was at the Midleton/Leeside match last Friday and firstly I'd just like to congratulate Midleton on the fantastic set-up they have down there, its second to none..the match itself was fairly poor I thought,Midleton were deserved winners and tried to play good football throughout,I've never seen Leeside play so bad,could'nt string 3 passes together, looked very dis-jointed and fellas didnt seem to show much interest either. Just wondering Bluey, were Leeside missing a few?..who was the centre half that was around 4 stone overweight and only lasted 10 mins??..He was a pity that fella..thought it was a very strange team selection, Brian o sullivan captained the Oscar Trainer to all Ireland glory a few years back and cant get in centre half over that other 'player'..surely,they are fitter centre halfs playing with the second team?..it just looked a bit strange looking at it from the line thats all..If they put a team out like that next weekend against Wilton,Wilton will run riot..
That centre back was prob the best centre in the aul 2 years ago. Went to Australia for a year and did absolutely no training while away. It does take time to get fit and get into it after being away for so long. You most not follow aul soccer at all to come out with a statement like that.
the owl
07/11/2011, 10:05 PM
John Corcoran a "star"........a good player, but no star. Have played with him and to be honest was never blown away with anything he did. Has a very lazy attitude which is a shame because he prob has the potential. Had the opportunity to play Prem with a few sides but decided to play with Glen Celtic. Best is yet to come Shetland ???.......would love to be proved wrong but i cant see it. Nothing against john, hes a great lad but i just feel he believes hes better than he is which is prob not his fault but the fault of people in his ear telling him how much of a STAR he is.
Toebomb 11
07/11/2011, 11:05 PM
That centre back was prob the best centre in the aul 2 years ago. Went to Australia for a year and did absolutely no training while away. It does take time to get fit and get into it after being away for so long. You most not follow aul soccer at all to come out with a statement like that.
What a ridiculous comment lawd!..according to your logic so if you were good 2 years ago, you should automatically start when you have'nt done any training or played for over a year??..I'd love to know what the subs would think about that!..I can appreciate the fact that it does take time to get fit but it just beggars belief that anyone could think that this guy was fit enough to start a match!!..were you at the match on Friday night?..if you were,you would have not posted the above statement..
bluey
07/11/2011, 11:49 PM
I think the ridiculous comment came from yourself toebomb, 1st of all the centre half came off after 10mins because he pulled his calf in opening 5min. Yes he was away in Australia and didnt train for 12-13 months as he was living the dream and hes dead right!!! Also i think if you had the medals that he has you wouldnt be saying he is a bad player,only medal he dont have in aul and munster is a prem div medal. Obviously you havent seen any other leeside games this season as the player in question has been playing v well and the reason he is in team is because he got his chance early on in season and has been moved from there by anyone!!!!!!! Who is on about he should be automatically started cause he was good 2 years ago, no one said that. Leeside where missing a few the other night, hackett, shaw, gavin daly, paidi sull and graham keane. As i said in recent post it was a bad night for leeside and dont worry toebomb this wont be happening next sunday morning.
bluey
07/11/2011, 11:57 PM
Leeside AFC AGM next sat 12th november 5.30pm in Little Island Sports Centre. All Welcome!!!!!
The Lawd
08/11/2011, 7:56 AM
What a ridiculous comment lawd!..according to your logic so if you were good 2 years ago, you should automatically start when you have'nt done any training or played for over a year??..I'd love to know what the subs would think about that!..I can appreciate the fact that it does take time to get fit but it just beggars belief that anyone could think that this guy was fit enough to start a match!!..were you at the match on Friday night?..if you were,you would have not posted the above statement..
What so ridiculous about the comment toebomb?? Not at any point in my post did i say that if he was a good player 2 years ago, he a good player now... But I will say it now. He is a very good centre back, yes he is lacking fitness but still so far this season he hasn't done much wrong in the games he has played. Sounds like to me your just trying to take a dig at the player.. And yes I was at the match Friday night...
Inswinger
08/11/2011, 1:58 PM
COACHFORD A.F.C FUNDRAISER
Killinardrish / Coachford AFC have recently launched their latest fundraising draw. The proceeds from this draw will be used to get the second pitch at the Glebe up and running for next season.
The development of this pitch to date has involved the building of a concrete reinforcing wall along the southern side-line boundary and the insertion of a full drainage system, along with levelling and re-seeding work. The cost of this work so far has been in the region of €110,000.
To get it finally up and running requires a further outlay of money to provide a net barrier on top of the wall which runs to about 110m long and also new goalposts and netting behind the goals. The pitch will be the main pitch for the schoolboys teams when it is playable.
Whilst the club is cognitive of the times we are living in, they feel that they have put forward a draw which is affordable to everyone and offers top prizes which include;
· A week for 2 in the Algarve, Portugal. Accommodation is in a 4* beach side hotel and all transfers to and from Faro airport are also included.
· €500 sponsored by Dooniskey Construction
· €300 sponsored by O’Callaghans Bar
· €200 sponsored by TJ Lyons Footwear
· Hi-If system sponsored by Murphy’s Electrical.
As well as the main prizes listed above there is also a very attractive sellers prize of a weekend for two in Manchester to see Man Utd take on Fulham in March 2012. This prize includes flights, accommodation and match tickets.
All the above is available at a cost of just €3 per line or for better value and more of a chance of winning you may purchase 4 lines for €10. The club would hope that people would be in a position to buy the 4 line option.
All schoolboy players, adult players, committee members and local businesses will have the cards available to purchase
The club is optimistic of a very positive response from the public to this draw as they have always been very supportive in the past. The facilities provided at the Glebe so far are a testament to the support which we have received to date.
We would also like to take this opportunity to sincerely thank the sponsors of the prizes and to wish all who purchase tickets the best of luck in the draw.
shetland
08/11/2011, 2:21 PM
John Corcoran a "star"........a good player, but no star. Have played with him and to be honest was never blown away with anything he did. Has a very lazy attitude which is a shame because he prob has the potential. Had the opportunity to play Prem with a few sides but decided to play with Glen Celtic. Best is yet to come Shetland ???.......would love to be proved wrong but i cant see it. Nothing against john, hes a great lad but i just feel he believes hes better than he is which is prob not his fault but the fault of people in his ear telling him how much of a STAR he is.owl you didnt see much of john last year to be fair ,the main reason he is with glen celtic is because his father is the manager and he saID he would give him a year.yee in carraigtwohill must have seen something in him ,as yee tried to sign him once or twice and he trained with yee.he is only twenty years of age ,and as reguards star as anyone from knockavilla who saw the winning goal he got last season against them will verify,they stood and aplauded.he was a minor when you saw most of his games ,and as u said you didnt see him first hand last year when he scored 18 goals. he will ive no doubt prove you wrong. i would definately say your oppinion would be different if he was playing with yee and you saw him on a regular basis.ps owl i didnt think you ever played with john as your unfortunate injury i thought happened berfore he came up from the minors,or maybe im wrong..