View Full Version : Cork AUL 2011/12

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42

pacman
19/08/2011, 10:44 AM
Season starts tomorrow lads, how did the various pre-season games go?
We should be able to get the pre season results from Kinsale(shilts), Leeside (Boo, Bluey), Wilton(Holden), COachford(junglegym), Blarney Street (cas), Castleview(view), Blackstone(horse), Boh's(mario, scaffa) and Carrig(owl) from prem divisions.

Give us an idea of how each time is fixed for the start of the year. Havent seen any games pre-season so out of the loop a little

maninthemiddle
19/08/2011, 10:49 AM
We should be able to get the pre season results from Kinsale(shilts), Leeside (Boo, Bluey), Wilton(Holden), COachford(junglegym), Blarney Street (cas), Castleview(view), Blackstone(horse), Boh's(mario, scaffa) and Carrig(owl) from prem divisions.

Give us an idea of how each time is fixed for the start of the year. Havent seen any games pre-season so out of the loop a little

did everton v wilton the other night pacman.great game on a beautiful pitch. wilton won it 1-0. not many chances for either team apart from long range efforts that kept keepers busy.

very much your typical pre season game with lots of chopping and changing but both teams played some lovely football and twas great to see it. everyone flat out and shattered by the end.

the goal was a great strike.

pacman
19/08/2011, 11:21 AM
did everton v wilton the other night pacman.great game on a beautiful pitch. wilton won it 1-0. not many chances for either team apart from long range efforts that kept keepers busy.

very much your typical pre season game with lots of chopping and changing but both teams played some lovely football and twas great to see it. everyone flat out and shattered by the end.

the goal was a great strike.
Everton seniors?
Thats a great result if so and just shows how capable AUL teams are in comparison to their senior league counterparts even if it is a friendly

thebooboys
19/08/2011, 12:03 PM

Leeside A 3 - Brooklodge 1st Team 0 last week
Youghal Srs- 1 - Leeside A 2 (Last Night, dominated game, missed a pen too, ref gave a "consolation" penalty to youghal in the end for handball, NO way a pen)

Players In - Brian O Sullivan, Gavin Daly (CF), Ryan O Neill (GK) Joe Lyons returned from abroad. Plus Brian O Sullivan (CBK) returning from Australia in 3/4 weeks
Players Out - Paul Condon + Colin Keane

thebooboys
19/08/2011, 12:04 PM
Confirmed as well Jason Keegan to Wilton. Casement supposedly folding/in big trouble

Southsider
19/08/2011, 12:13 PM
Confirmed as well Jason Keegan to Wilton. Casement supposedly folding/in big trouble
Yes sadly this is true. Casement Seniors have folded thre AUL 2 side are the only team in the club for the season. Fair play to Keegan tho he stayed through to Casement with a hand full of others who trained with very small numbers until the committee called time on it all. Cant see many staying to play AUL 2 after playing Senior First Division last year....

Horse24
19/08/2011, 12:18 PM

It was a rough start to pre-season for us. Lost a few players early doors and one of our managers was unable to take part in pre-season. Played in Castleview tournament but it didnt really help us being a 7 a side tournament.

From that point really, things have being progressing well. New keeper, new Centre back, new winger and 2 or 3 young guys who have begun well. Two guys who were unavailable last season are fit and raring to go. In the Brannigans tournament, we lost 2-0 to Crescent, beat Catherdral 4-1 and lost 6-0 to Blarney Street. Mixed bag, but games in the legs.

No game on the first weekend for us but a derby V Bohs on Tuesday night. Scaff, will you leave a ticket on the gate for me on Sunday morning????

Horse24
19/08/2011, 12:20 PM
Yes sadly this is true. Casement Seniors have folded thre AUL 2 side are the only team in the club for the season. Fair play to Keegan tho he stayed through to Casement with a hand full of others who trained with very small numbers until the committee called time on it all. Cant see many staying to play AUL 2 after playing Senior First Division last year....

Sad to see. Best of luck to the club.
Have they underage teams?

Southsider
19/08/2011, 12:49 PM
Sad to see. Best of luck to the club.
Have they underage teams?
No Horse. Didnt have Shoolboys for awhile. There was a Youths side 3 or 4 years back that was it. Best of luck to John Paul Nagle and his side for the coming season hopefully the lads can bring some joy back to the club.

maninthemiddle
19/08/2011, 12:52 PM
Everton seniors?
Thats a great result if so and just shows how capable AUL teams are in comparison to their senior league counterparts even if it is a friendly

it was everton seniors pacman. the top aul teams would compete no problem but its only a half dozen teams imo. everton domintaed posession but never really opened up wilton and wilton would hit them on the break.

both sides had some lovely ball players and it was being popped about in one and two touvh football as well.

it was a very competitive games as well and had plenty of challenges flying in.

Innishvilla
19/08/2011, 1:34 PM
Hi all - best of luck with the new season.

Just looking over the fixture list and comparing with the divisions previously posted on Billy's site - combined with comments here regarding Leeside C & Gratten B I've noticed that Postal Celtic don't have any fixtures as of yet - are they gone? Leeside C & Gratten B are gone. The 2 UCC teams (as expected) have not had any fixtures yet, but it seems that St John Bosco's have a 3rd team in the leagues. A div 2 team and two div 3 teams - can anyone confirm this, if correct that is fair play to the club to get three teams out...

thebooboys
19/08/2011, 1:45 PM
Hi all - best of luck with the new season.

Just looking over the fixture list and comparing with the divisions previously posted on Billy's site - combined with comments here regarding Leeside C & Gratten B I've noticed that Postal Celtic don't have any fixtures as of yet - are they gone? Leeside C & Gratten B are gone. The 2 UCC teams (as expected) have not had any fixtures yet, but it seems that St John Bosco's have a 3rd team in the leagues. A div 2 team and two div 3 teams - can anyone confirm this, if correct that is fair play to the club to get three teams out...

Yeah Boscoes have 3 teams. Supposedly had 80 odd training one night if that's to be believed.

pacman
19/08/2011, 3:55 PM
Confirmed as well Jason Keegan to Wilton. Casement supposedly folding/in big troubleWilton look very strong this year. have to start as favourites i would think

The 'View
20/08/2011, 4:37 PM
Very happy with our pre-season pacman. Lots of new players and youths. Won 4 out of 4. Beat Knocknaheeney 8-3, Blarney St.4-3, Rockmount Juniors 2-1 & Cresent 4-2. Looking forward to Bohs 2moro but can we turn pre-season form into league form? Hopefully.

Learpholl
20/08/2011, 5:03 PM
Watched Cathedral Celtic v Buttevant today, finished 3-1 to Cathedral Celtic who played decent enough football. Had two handy center forwards who caused Buttevant trouble all game.

scaffa7
20/08/2011, 7:10 PM
Great Result for Pearse down in Kinsale beating the Champions 3-2 ........
All the results......

SATURDAY'S AUL RESULTS:
Mossie Linnane League Cup: Group A: Blarney St Ath 5 Carrigtwohill Utd A 0;
Group B: Kanturk A 0 Killumney Utd 3;
Group C: Kinsale 2 Pearse Celtic 3;
Group D: Grattan Utd A 2 Park Utd A 5;
AUL 1: Knockraha 2 Watergrasshill 3; Cathedral Celtic 3 Buttevant 1;
AUL1A: Grangevale 0 Innisvilla 2; Glenthorn Celtic 3 Rathcoole Rovers 3; Dunbar Celtic 6 Richmond 2;
AUL 2: Ballincollig 3 Ard Na Laoi 0; Casement Celtic 4 Killowen 2; CFC Banteer 0 De Courcey Albion 1;
AUL 2A: Central Rovers 0 Brooklodge Utd 1; Churchvilla 2 Wilton Utd 4; Corkbeg 1 Springfield B 3; Glanworth Utd 2 Leeview Ath 3;
AUL 3: Ballinhassig 1 Afton Villa 3;
AUL 3A: Cork Road Celtic 1 Park Utd 2;
AUL 3B: Bweeng 1 Buttevant 0; Coachford 1 Strand Utd 1; Lakewood Ath 0 Newmarket 2

Learpholl
20/08/2011, 7:27 PM
Great Result for Pearse down in Kinsale beating the Champions 3-2 ........
Good result for Blarney St too. Tough start at Premier level for Carrig.

Good start in 1A for Innishvilla too, wouldn't be surprised to see them go up again this season.

pacman
20/08/2011, 8:16 PM

Good start in 1A for Innishvilla too, wouldn't be surprised to see them go up again this season.
Agreed, think innishvilla will do very well this year.
Blarney Street really do seem to be strong this year. Very suprising result down in Kinsale, nto often you see them conceding 3 goals at home. Suddenly all other teams in the group will have gotten more confident

pacman
20/08/2011, 8:17 PM
Watched Cathedral Celtic v Buttevant today, finished 3-1 to Cathedral Celtic who played decent enough football. Had two handy center forwards who caused Buttevant trouble all game.
Is monty playing up front for them? Fine player in his day.

Learpholl
20/08/2011, 8:22 PM
Is monty playing up front for them? Fine player in his day.
Don't know him, but yeah there was a striker they were calling Monty alright. Scored 2 today, one was an excellent left footed finish from outside the box to the top corner.

firsttouch
20/08/2011, 9:00 PM

Caught the first half of the Blarney st game Learpholl, to be fair Blarney st were strong, 2 solid fellas in the middle and a big tall target man up front, who got fed a lot of good ball. Carrigtwohill competed well, but looked dodgy at the back.

backpass
20/08/2011, 9:05 PM
i watched them play towards the end of last year and was suprised to see monty up front and one of the o neills who played with villa playing with them..2 very good players who should be surely playing well higher up the leagues...the team played good football that day also

thebooboys
20/08/2011, 9:51 PM
Caught the first half of the Blarney st game Learpholl, to be fair Blarney st were strong, 2 solid fellas in the middle and a big tall target man up front, who got fed a lot of good ball. Carrigtwohill competed well, but looked dodgy at the back.

Carrigtohill to be fair were missing half a team at least by the looks of it.

bluey
20/08/2011, 11:44 PM
Leeds v Leeside A is switched to Leeside Park, leeds park not ready for a few weeks.

Radiostar
21/08/2011, 7:18 AM
It was a tough start for us yesterday, but credit to Blarney St, they were sharper and fitter all over the pitch, gave us real lesson. Might be the kick in the hole we need.

backpass
21/08/2011, 12:15 PM
went to bohs v castleview this morning in the fairfield. Game finished 1-1.First half was a bit scrappy but catleview played well right from the start of the second. should of been a few up to be fair and got a penalty before giving away a soft equaliser.Lots of yellow cards.Castleview look very young and if they had one or two experienced players they could be a great team

six-yard-box
21/08/2011, 1:24 PM
went to bohs v castleview this morning in the fairfield. Game finished 1-1.First half was a bit scrappy but catleview played well right from the start of the second. should of been a few up to be fair and got a penalty before giving away a soft equaliser.Lots of yellow cards.Castleview look very young and if they had one or two experienced players they could be a great teamCan't remember Bohs keeper having to make a save.. Bohs had 2 great chances.. They came into it well after going 1 down to a stupid penalty. Thought the ref made the game bitty and handed out a few soft yellows..

backpass
21/08/2011, 2:24 PM
Can't remember Bohs keeper having to make a save.. Bohs had 2 great chances.. They came into it well after going 1 down to a stupid penalty. Thought the ref made the game bitty and handed out a few soft yellows..
yes the ref was a joke arite...bohs had a few chances but overall i tought castleview had the majority of the the play.i was well impressed with one or two of the bohs players.Thay had a good winger on the right and byrnsey was very solid....overall it was a good local derby and the league games will be a must to see

six-yard-box
21/08/2011, 3:27 PM
Is it one or two to come out of the mossie groups??

pacman
21/08/2011, 7:21 PM

Two teams

scaffa7
21/08/2011, 7:28 PM

2 come out each group six yard.........On our game today thought draw was a fair result not many chances bar them hitting the bar us hitting the bar and great save from the Castleview keeper from Collinsy.Thought the game was to big for the ref today took a fair bit of flak this morning but think he drawed it on himself with some of the decisions he made!!!

Bit wierd playing against 6 former teammates from last year but thats the way things change i suppose......Some good signings we made to cover those losses this year and think they stood out today and did the club proud

Have Blackstone now Tuesday night so expecting another tough local derby down in Monard!

bluey
21/08/2011, 10:00 PM
On that ref scaffa,had him 2 years ago in aul 3 game. Was shocking, more intersted in colours of socks and shorts and also yellow cards and names of spectators on both sidelines than the run of the game that day down shanbally. He was in Msl last year and i think ended up a ref of the year and also was ref in an msl junior cup final.. must be grade a ref this year so i say this is not last we hear about said!!!!!

Innishvilla
22/08/2011, 7:22 AM

A good start but only one game - highlight being MArk Murphy back to the club from Douglas Hall last year - I think he got both goals - wasn't at game so waiting to hear match report... Dunbar Celtic had an impressive start as Richmond are normally a strong side...

Just got a short report - I think Innishvilla were down to 10 men after about 30 minutes so a very good result considering...

casilles
22/08/2011, 1:35 PM
Blarney St Ath 5 Carraigtwohill 0

Great team performance on Saturday, goals from Alan o Brien 2, Lar Betts 2 and Paul Connlly. We were missing a few to with injuries and holidays so looking forward to getting us all together. Leeds on Sunday morning now which i hear will be in Monard.

donaldihno
22/08/2011, 4:03 PM
KANTURK 0 KILUMNEY 3

Not the start we were looking for,but to be fair we were beat by a very good fit kilumney team!
On to coachford now tuesday night,hopefuly these games will stand to us goin into the league!

the owl
22/08/2011, 9:18 PM
Blarney St 5 Carrigtohill 0

Well beaten by a fit and clinical Blarney St. A good wake up call for our guys who im sure will learn from. Spot on Boo but to be fair we were out played for the majority of the match. Enough said.

thebooboys
22/08/2011, 9:40 PM
Blarney St 5 Carrigtohill 0

Well beaten by a fit and clinical Blarney St. A good wake up call for our guys who im sure will learn from. Spot on Boo but to be fair we were out played for the majority of the match. Enough said.

Was it the upcoming senior hurling semi final?? Amazed to hear a former keeper of yer's and ours sitting on bench for Glen Celtic at weekend??

thebooboys
23/08/2011, 9:14 PM
I know its early days yet but some odd results. Great result for Pearse again.

Group A: Carrigtwohill Utd A 3 Leeds 0; Leeside A 1 Springfield A 0.
Group B: Coachford A 1 Kanturk A 2; Killumney Utd 3 Knockavilla Celtic 0.
Group C: Kilreen Celtic 2 Kinsale 1; Pearse Celtic 2 Wilton Utd A 2.
Group D: Blackstone Rovers 1 Bohemians 2; Castleview 6 Grattan Utd 1.

scaffa7
23/08/2011, 9:25 PM
BLACKSTONE 1 -2 BOHEMIANS

Tough game tonight in Monard in the Mossie Lin cup not the prettiest game but we "ll take the 3 points and move on to the next game with a bit more confidence.......

On the game tight start between the 2 teams for the first 15 mins until Mark Heaphy for Bohs crossed in a great ball that started to swerve into the corner of the net only for a great save by the Blackstone keeper who tipped it onto the post....We hit the crossbar next after 20 mins when Wayne Doherty crashed his header of the woodwork.
That seemed to wake up Blackstone who came into it a bit more but did nt really threaten our Keeper a few shots here and there.

We made 1-0 after 25 mins when a free kick was headed back into Wayne Doherty who pounced to get his 1st goal of the season but the lead did nt last long as Blackstone were awarded a penalty after 30 mins (very soft in my opinion!) ball hit Paul Mooneys leg and cliped his hand.Skilly stuck the peno to make it 1-1.
But again we went back at Blackstone and made it 2-1 in the 42 min when great ball over the top was finished brilliantly by Wayne O Connor for his 1st goal of the season.

2nd half have started again like the 1st tight and edgy ref was blowing for a lot of frees which turned the game into a start stop and players were getting frustrated on both sides but Blackstone started to get on top in the last 25 mins and only for 2 great saves from our keeper David Rea the game could have been levelled.

Our keeper was a bit lucky to stay on the pitch when he brought down the Blackstone centre forward just outside the box he was booked which i thought was fair because he seemed to be going away from goal and we had 2 defenders getting back anyhow.Davd McCarthy had a chance for us but just headed over in the last 5 mins.Blackstone pushed hard in the last couple of mins but we held out for a good win.

Next game on Sunday morning when we host Gratton for another northside derby in The Mossie Lin!

The 'View
24/08/2011, 12:20 AM
Great report scaffa. We beat Grattan tonight 6-1. We played well but Grattan are really struggling, hopefully they pick up. Watched the game Sunday morning, good game. Very impressed with Bohs played some nice football. Draw was probably fair result but conceding a goal in the last minute was tough. A few ex Bohs playing with Castleview but a few ex Castleview also playing with Bohs. Agree with a few lads that the ref was not great but thought the treatment he got was well over the top. On 3 or 4 occasions he was actually pushed by players after making a decision. If it had been a more experienced ref I'd say a few would have been sent off.

Horse24
24/08/2011, 12:04 PM
BLACKSTONE 1 -2 BOHEMIANS

Tough game tonight in Monard in the Mossie Lin cup not the prettiest game but we "ll take the 3 points and move on to the next game with a bit more confidence.......

On the game tight start between the 2 teams for the first 15 mins until Mark Heaphy for Bohs crossed in a great ball that started to swerve into the corner of the net only for a great save by the Blackstone keeper who tipped it onto the post....We hit the crossbar next after 20 mins when Wayne Doherty crashed his header of the woodwork.
That seemed to wake up Blackstone who came into it a bit more but did nt really threaten our Keeper a few shots here and there.

We made 1-0 after 25 mins when a free kick was headed back into Wayne Doherty who pounced to get his 1st goal of the season but the lead did nt last long as Blackstone were awarded a penalty after 30 mins (very soft in my opinion!) ball hit Paul Mooneys leg and cliped his hand.Skilly stuck the peno to make it 1-1.
But again we went back at Blackstone and made it 2-1 in the 42 min when great ball over the top was finished brilliantly by Wayne O Connor for his 1st goal of the season.

2nd half have started again like the 1st tight and edgy ref was blowing for a lot of frees which turned the game into a start stop and players were getting frustrated on both sides but Blackstone started to get on top in the last 25 mins and only for 2 great saves from our keeper David Rea the game could have been levelled.

Our keeper was a bit lucky to stay on the pitch when he brought down the Blackstone centre forward just outside the box he was booked which i thought was fair because he seemed to be going away from goal and we had 2 defenders getting back anyhow.Davd McCarthy had a chance for us but just headed over in the last 5 mins.Blackstone pushed hard in the last couple of mins but we held out for a good win.

Next game on Sunday morning when we host Gratton for another northside derby in The Mossie Lin!

Scaff, I am away with work so missed the game but we were dispointed to get nothing from the game. Your report seems to indicate what the lads were saying - game of two halves. Disapointed with the goals we gave away and 50/50 on the sending off incident. As King Kenny said last week about Suarez - how are you supposed to go round the keeper if you dont go away from the goal?? The lads seemed to think the ref was a bit young and timid and used the yellow cards way too much. Adults will react with an eff and blind to decisions - experienced refs will read it as a second of frustration and move on. He who called loudest got the decisions!! We needed a performance and got it. A few injuries before and during the game, all of which we hope will be available for the visit of Park. A few more into the squad so competition will make us better. All in All - hate losing any game but ok for first kickabout of the season.

shetland
24/08/2011, 1:46 PM
as a non club member this season i will be able to sit on the fence so to speak,some interesting results so far but its early days ,a few have hit the ground running ,blarney street who i think will press for honors this season.,also killumney with dereck melerick manageing without me ha ha,also doing very well.could they do a wilton and win premier.my predictions,wilton utd premier ,next best blarney street leeside dark horses killumney utd,,relagation.,knockavilla and macroom.premier,im going for pierce with castleview.relagation,leeds,gratten united .carraigtwohill and springfield the promoted teams should be ok ,with springers the better equipped to push on.

Innishvilla
25/08/2011, 2:09 PM
So a big Thursday fixture list for Div 1 & div 2. Early season but it is important to not drop too many points early.
Some interesting games:
AUL 1:
4 of the 5 opening day winners meet: Dillons X meet Village & Watergrasshill meet Cathedral Celtic; 4 side who lost their opening day fixture meet Buttevant v Crescent & Knockraha v Leeside - in Div 1 last year the two winners dropped 10 & 12 points respectively so after two weeks to drop 6 will leave a team with a steep hill to climb
AUL 1A:
Innishvilla host Greenmount Rangers; Dunbar who had an impressive win first day out travel to Donoughmore; Milstreet & Grangevale meet with both having lost their first game they can afford to loose again...

AUL 2:
our local neighbours De Courcy meet high scoring City W and Rylane host the other high scorers Blackpool in the highlighs of this division

AUL 2A:
The four winners from day one all avoid each other so I suppose the (relative) local derby between Bosco's & Corkbeg could be the highlight...

JRyno
25/08/2011, 9:17 PM
Lost 4-1 to city wanderers, very even game until 15 to go. Ref had a shocker, gave a very suspect peno and took about 10 seconds to make a decision. Nothing against wanderers, took their chances though score doesn't reflect the game... Disappointed but will move on!

thebooboys
27/08/2011, 4:58 PM
Mossie Linnane League Cup:
Group B: Kanturk 1 Knockavilla Celtic 2;
Group C: Kinsale 2 Greenwood A 4;
Group D: Blackstone Rovers 2 Park Utd A 4;
AUL 1: Village Utd 1 Glen Celtic 5; Watergrasshill 3 Crescent Ath 4; Cathedral Celtic 4 Dillons Cross 1;
AUL 1A: Donoughmore Ath 0 Glenvale 4; Rathcoole Rovers 2 Greenmount Rangers 2; Richmond 1 Grangevale 2;
AUL 2: Killowen 1 De Courcey Albion 0; Macroom 1 City Wanderers 1; Rylane Celtic 0 CFC Banteer 2; Waterloo v Ballinhassig (off);
AUL 2A: Central Rovers 1 Corkbeg 1;
AUL 3A: Carrigaline Utd 2 Cork Road Celtic 2; Knocknaheeny Celtic 4 Glen Celtic B 0; Park Utd B 1 Dunbar Celtic 1; St John Boscos 2 Carrigtwohill Utd 3;
AUL 3B: Buttevant 2 Coachford B 1; Los Zarcos 1 Newmarket 3

Another few surprising results

pacman
27/08/2011, 8:47 PM
Another few surprising results

Oh the euphemisms...
What is happening down in Kinsale. My guess is that after such a late finish to the season last year they must have decided to write off the mossie and use it as pre-season. If i'm incorrect then there are serious problems down there

sharpshooter
27/08/2011, 9:23 PM
Oh the euphemisms...
What is happening down in Kinsale. My guess is that after such a late finish to the season last year they must have decided to write off the mossie and use it as pre-season. If i'm incorrect then there are serious problems down there
wouldnt read too much in to it you dont become a bad team over night heard they are missing a few also.would be shocked if they were'nt challenging for the league again this year....

Nedge
27/08/2011, 10:00 PM
i said it here a couple of weeks ago about Kinsale new keeper, he s already conceded more goals this year than almost all of last season, You cant win leagues with a sub standard keeper who wont deal with the high pressure situations.

wesleyBHFC
27/08/2011, 11:23 PM
i said it here a couple of weeks ago about Kinsale new keeper, he s already conceded more goals this year than almost all of last season, You cant win leagues with a sub standard keeper who wont deal with the high pressure situations.

would have to agree with you there NEDGE. kinsale will struggle big time with a poor keeper. kinsale might have very good outfield players but will not do aswell this year with this new keeper. i think doyle is his name. saw him a few times with balllinhassig seniors last year. Very poor signing on kinsales behalf..

the ghost
28/08/2011, 12:07 AM
Nedge and WesleyBHFC that's the second time ye followed each other up with a dig at there keeper! A sub standard keeper who won't deal with high pressure situations?? What a comment! And if yere out watching Ballinhassig's league I doubt ye know much about standard to be honest. Ye only posted on this subject so I'd say it's personal with ye. From what I heard if not for him in a few games they would have been beat by more. I'd agree with sharpshooter come the league they'll still be everyones joint favs.