View Full Version : Cork AUL 2011/12
lawman
15/04/2012, 2:35 PM
Horse, Kanturk played an illegal player against us at the start of the season, they lost the 3points but we were not awarded the game as we were told we did not put in the objection. Cant understand the logic behind that decision, if its an illegal player it should be the same punishment no matter who puts in complaint. Just another make it up as we go along rule i suppose from the Aul.
not possible that ye didnt get the points surely. is it? never heard of that before. see lots of examples at all levels of teams being docked points for irregularitys with money etc (rangers.) but would have thought that if a team drops points to a team who have played an illegal player then they would get the 3. obviously if the team with illegal player had been beaten the opponents would not receive another 3 points but the offending team could still be deducted 3 more as punishment. not feasible in current climate to impose fines so taking points would be a good detterant.
backpass
15/04/2012, 3:10 PM
Maybe they should be named and shamed...i was watching match few months ago and I knew two lads who were playing that shouldnt of been...they play with the first team and were then playing with second team under a differnt name...to make things worse one of them got an equaliser with the last kick of the game...unfair to teams who are honest
the sub
15/04/2012, 3:55 PM
I spoke too a few ex cobh player when I read the thread comments.. They said they are playing with the same squad for the last two years and they have not played illegal players.. Maybe the person who made those comments maybe part one of the other teams in the running. Went to the part v Pearce yesterday strong team lost in penos what I saw they have a nice team who play good football on the ground. Park scored from a stoke City type throw ball into the box with 3 min to go in extra time
Radiostar
15/04/2012, 5:12 PM
Lawman, dont get me wrong we lost on the day to Kanturk so we didnt deserve the points and we didnt make an issue of not getting the points when we heard about it. Its just in all my time involved in Aul football, ive seen plenty of times where if there was an illegal player playing the other team were automatically awarded a 3 nil win. I would just like to see consistency and there should be one punishment for breaking the same rule whether we objected or whether the aul found out by spotchecking matchcards. Im only speaking from experience too, where at my former club we were at the end of those punishments before.
lawman
15/04/2012, 5:38 PM
Lawman, dont get me wrong we lost on the day to Kanturk so we didnt deserve the points and we didnt make an issue of not getting the points when we heard about it. Its just in all my time involved in Aul football, ive seen plenty of times where if there was an illegal player playing the other team were automatically awarded a 3 nil win. I would just like to see consistency and there should be one punishment for breaking the same rule whether we objected or whether the aul found out by spotchecking matchcards. Im only speaking from experience too, where at my former club we were at the end of those punishments before.
Agree 100% with you
Glenbuck
15/04/2012, 6:08 PM
off topic here lads. anybody know why 1 off your cork refs is reffin here in limerick, a buttimer?Think he is living down that direction now.
Chiefscout
16/04/2012, 8:51 AM
Was at coachford match weekend and have to say the referee was an absolute disgrace
Chiefscout
16/04/2012, 9:58 AM
Tully was trying to ref it.was the worst display I've ever seen
Horse24
16/04/2012, 12:00 PM
Horse, Kanturk played an illegal player against us at the start of the season, they lost the 3points but we were not awarded the game as we were told we did not put in the objection. Cant understand the logic behind that decision, if its an illegal player it should be the same punishment no matter who puts in complaint. Just another make it up as we go along rule i suppose from the Aul.
I thought they lost the points for somebody illegal in FAI cup? I maybe wrong. If a team loses 3 points for a game, then other team should get them. The Committee is there to make sure everything runs fairly and smoothly - so if they catch someone then the other team should get the points.
As expected, Pearse did not play anybody illegal and dont even know where the rumour started. They just dont seem that kinda club/team.
What about this club who have been caught 3 or 4 seasons in the last 6/7? Should the punishment be the same each time or should it get bigger each time? It is in the ethos of the club, and the only times they arent caught is when the other team wins as was in our case. They played an illegal player against us with 2 legal guys on the bench?
They got caught in a cup match they won earlier this season, and as the aggrieved team were walking out of the AUL meeting, the cheating side passed a comment - "Bad form for reporting us" - I mean in fairness!!!
The other side of this coin is are we punishing the volunteer who is scrapping a team together.
Innishvilla
16/04/2012, 2:04 PM
Just a short note to wish Innishvilla all the best in their top of the table clash with Douglas Hall in 1A on Thursday.
Should be a cracker - Innishvilla have been playing catch-up since they lost their 2nd league match of the season, but have gone unbeaten since. Douglas Hall are still unbeaten and are 3 points clear at the moment.
The two Division 1's seem to have 3 exceptional teams in them, Glen Celtic, Douglas Hall and Innishvilla have between them from 41 games lost 2 games total, drawn 5, scored 150 conceeded 24...
donaldihno
16/04/2012, 2:31 PM
Yes horse your right!!
Just to clarify,we regiesterd a player at the start of the season who played for the last 4 years with lissilton in kerry league!
The player played a F.A.I cup match in april with them!
There was a big brawl at the end of the game,and the player we regiesterd in july was handed a year ban by the FAI.He was accused of assalting the ref!!
Therefore we regiester him under the right name!Yes we took a chance,thinkin hes banned from fai cup action considering thats were it happend!!
On carrig,im 100 percent on them getting the 3 points,its only right nd fair,and we wouldnt have any problem with that!
We got thrown out of AOH cup aswel,as the player in question played a small part in the match,in which we beat a 3rd div 7-0!!
Did they get reinstated,answer is no!The team we were suppose to be playing in last 16 tie (Lakewood) got a bye!
Is that right??
While were on the topic,we played a northside team few weeks back up there!
A player for them came on,i knew for a fact he wasnt regiesterd with them!
I know the players name in question,so i checked the card after...the name i knew wasnt matching the one on the card!
Why bring him on??cause hes a class player who played msl..and also cause they were desperate for the win and points,which they only got 1 point!!!
Its happening everywere!
Yes we could complain,but i know we"d get nowhere!
On the season itself,got the 3 points saturday,to make sure of safety!Must admit we were looking over shoulder a small bit!
Another season in Premier A!
Febuary on,we lost 3 of our better players to GAA,which is a big problem down here!
lawman
16/04/2012, 2:40 PM
Yes horse your right!!
Just to clarify,we regiesterd a player at the start of the season who played for the last 4 years with lissilton in kerry league!
There was a big brawl at the end of the game,and the player we regiesterd in july was handed a year ban by the FAI.He was accused of assalting the ref!!
Therefore we regiester him under the right name!Yes we took a chance,thinkin hes banned from fai cup action considering thats were it happend!!
On carrig,im 100 percent on them getting the 3 points,its only right nd fair,and we wouldnt have any problem with that!
We got thrown out of AOH cup aswel,as the player in question played a small part in the match,in which we beat a 3rd div 7-0!!
Did they get reinstated,answer is no!The team we were suppose to be playing in last 16 tie (Lakewood) got a bye!
Is that right??
I know the players name in question,so i checked the card after...the name i knew wasnt matching the one on the card!
Why bring him on??cause hes a class player who played msl..and also cause they were desperate for the win and points,which they only got 1 point!!!
Its happening everywere!
On the season itself,got the 3 points saturday,to make sure of safety!Must admit we were looking over shoulder a small bit!
Febuary on,we lost 3 of our better players to GAA,which is a big problem down here!
Just goes to show that its best if all the evidence is put out first. this paints a completely different picture to what i envisaged from previous posts, and sounds understandable too
Yes horse your right!!
Is that right??
Its happening everywere!
Are you sure ye are safe Donaldhino? Could possibly be 3 teams relegeted from Prem A with third from bottom playing a playoff with runners up from 1 and 1A. Blackstone could still finish above both of us!!
billythefrog
16/04/2012, 4:18 PM
Twas a sh&% game overall to be honest very disappointing game of football, that coachford line is possibly the worst I have seen or heard, there should have been a few of them sent off for the abuse they were shouting,, and yet again another coachford supporter behind Molly's goal taunting him , very unsporting behavior I thought !!!!
donaldihno
16/04/2012, 4:32 PM
Really?DIdnt hear that k.c.
Is that definate?
Horse24
16/04/2012, 5:25 PM
Really?DIdnt hear that k.c.
Is that definate?
Yep. 3rd from bottom is in a play-off.
freddieflinston
16/04/2012, 5:26 PM
Are you sure ye are safe Donaldhino? Could possibly be 3 teams relegeted from Prem A with third from bottom playing a playoff with runners up from 1 and 1A. Blackstone could still finish above both of us!!
Hear that isnt happening KC due to the number of Clubs applying for MSL
Promotion and relegation procedure for 2011/12 will be as follows:
Premier: 2 Relegated.
Premier A: Two automatically promoted. Two automatically relegated.
Third from bottom will play the winners of a playoff game between the two second place teams in the League 1 and League 1A.
If the play-off team wins the game against the third bottom team from Premier A then they will be promoted and third from bottom in Premier A will be relegated to first division.
If the third bottom team wins then they will stay in Premier A.
First Division: One automatically promoted. Two relegated from each section.
Two second placed teams will play off for the right to play the third bottom team in Premier A in a play off for an extra promotion/relegation position.
Second Division: Two automatically promoted/Two automatically relegated from each section.
Third Division: One from each section automatically promoted.
Three second placed teams in each section will take part in a round robin league to decide on the fourth team to be promoted to second division.
Posted by Barry Peelo (http://www.blogger.com/profile/00779736774772907139)at Wednesday, July 20, 2011
Link: http://www.corkaul.com/2011/07/promotion-and-relegation-procedure-for.html
As Freddie said with all the clubs applying to MSL it probably won't happen. A new re-structure will surely be applied.
shetland
16/04/2012, 6:41 PM
totally agree with radiostar with the way the illegal player punishment is dealth with ,and in fairness when we were with the same club we were on the receiveing end of some of thoose decisions.it shouldnt matter who makes the objection if a club plays an illegal player and aul find he did .a 3 nill to opponents full stop.
the owl
16/04/2012, 7:59 PM
I agree with posts concerning points being deducted and so on. Fair play to don for explaining the situation and not because its my own club but those 3 points should have been awarded to us. Does it really matter whether it was the club or the AUL who spot it ???
Prem A looks like it will go down to the wire with Castleview,Pearse, and Springfield all in the hunt for promotion. Delighted with our win against our neighbors Spingfield last weekend in a tight enough game. Very hard to call who will go up.
oldlegs
16/04/2012, 8:10 PM
Just a short note to wish Innishvilla all the best in their top of the table clash with Douglas Hall in 1A on Thursday.
Should be a cracker - Innishvilla have been playing catch-up since they lost their 2nd league match of the season, but have gone unbeaten since. Douglas Hall are still unbeaten and are 3 points clear at the moment.
The two Division 1's seem to have 3 exceptional teams in them, Glen Celtic, Douglas Hall and Innishvilla have between them from 41 games lost 2 games total, drawn 5, scored 150 conceeded 24...
Hi Innish think game has been changed to Wednesday night as ye have a player flying out to Oz on the Thursday .
Innishvilla
17/04/2012, 7:47 AM
Hi Innish think game has been changed to Wednesday night as ye have a player flying out to Oz on the Thursday .
Thanks for that oldlegs - yes I've just confirmed the game is Wednesday @ 6.45pm. I'll guess the reason is the one you've outlined.
Dixie's Cousin
17/04/2012, 8:33 PM
So Wilton lose again, what is going on with them?
Radiostar
17/04/2012, 8:56 PM
Saw the Wilton game tonight, they looked to be short a lot of players.
six-yard-box
17/04/2012, 9:10 PM
Was at the kinsale game what a horrible night for it. Draw would have been a fair result as the weather killed it. Stupid red card for calla he had no need to make that tackle knowing he was on a yellow. Great goal tho to win it
freddieflinston
17/04/2012, 9:48 PM
I hear a few appeals have gone in regarding illegal players . Kilreen tonight may or may not have played an illegal goalkeeper and also Dillons Cross may have played an illegal goalkeeper against Glen Celtic . Can any of the springfield guys shed some light on this? Timmpav did you hear anything about the Glen Celtic one?
offside rule
17/04/2012, 11:14 PM
I hear a few appeals have gone in regarding illegal players . Kilreen tonight may or may not have played an illegal goalkeeper and also Dillons Cross may have played an illegal goalkeeper against Glen Celtic . Can any of the springfield guys shed some light on this? Timmpav did you hear anything about the Glen Celtic one?
Talks alright that maybe Kilreen had an illegal goalkeeper(was noted prior to kick-off), as regards an appeal gone in, im not 100% sure.
- Had to leave game early ... didnt hang around for the discussions afterwards!
timmypav
18/04/2012, 12:29 PM
I hear a few appeals have gone in regarding illegal players . Kilreen tonight may or may not have played an illegal goalkeeper and also Dillons Cross may have played an illegal goalkeeper against Glen Celtic . Can any of the springfield guys shed some light on this? Timmpav did you hear anything about
the Glen Celtic one?
freddie, i heard that the goalkeeper that appeared in the photo on the echo of the dillons x team took off the jersey straight after the picture was taken and the lad that went in goal then was playing under a fellas name that the glen lads knew and wasnt even at the game. So objection is gone in and waiting for reply.
shetland
18/04/2012, 4:10 PM
if true both should get a heavy fine and points awarded to the opponents full stop.
18/04/2012, 8:34 PM
What happens if teams finish level on points? How is promotion decided? Goal Difference or a play-off?
offside rule
18/04/2012, 8:55 PM
What happens if teams finish level on points? How is promotion decided? Goal Difference or a play-off?
goal diff. doesn't count in the Aul's books . . . personally think this is a crap decision by them. It counts everywhere else in the world of football, except in our Cork Aul!.
It comes down to play-off!!!.
18/04/2012, 9:14 PM
goal diff. doesn't count in the Aul's books . . . personally think this is a crap decision by them. It counts everywhere else in the world of football, except in our Cork Aul!.
Thanks kiddo.
Back to the foot.ie wilderness I go!
padre pio
19/04/2012, 10:29 AM
that's mental, where is the incentive to play attractive football, is this also the case for relegation?
Innishvilla
19/04/2012, 10:55 AM
Well done to Douglas Hall yesterday evening. Looks like they've pretty much wrapped up the AUL 1A title with a 1:0 win over Innishvilla to give them a 6 point lead with 6 games left - they are unbeaten through 16 league games this season, for a clubs 3rd team that is a fair record. I wasn't at game so can't give any comments on how it went.
For Innishvilla it is a case of head down for the last 6 games to get the promotion play-off spot and keep pressure on Douglas to keep getting results... 12 points from 6 games will gurantee the runners up spot.
Innishvilla
19/04/2012, 10:57 AM
I think a bit of this came from end of season hammerings - a team gets beaten by a cricket score then suddenly give a walkover - 3:0 gives one team a huge advantage...
Personally I think the way they do it in Spain is great, the head to head between the teams...
bluey
19/04/2012, 11:45 AM
Can anyone tell me if Greenwood are playing Killumney tonight, the game that was called off last tue week??
Horse24
19/04/2012, 9:24 PM
I think a bit of this came from end of season hammerings - a team gets beaten by a cricket score then suddenly give a walkover - 3:0 gives one team a huge advantage...
Personally I think the way they do it in Spain is great, the head to head between the teams...
Goal difference should not count in Junior football for the reasons above amongst others. Games shouldnt be 14-0 like one did earlier this season. No winners there. Leave the option to blow up early. It counts in schoolboys which is a disgrace
bluey
20/04/2012, 12:29 AM
Goal difference does not count in schoolboys if it is to decide winning league, promotion or relegation. There is always a play off for the above 3 if a tie on points.
padre pio
20/04/2012, 11:31 AM
AUL 1 is hotting up and looks like one of the more interesting run-ins, Glen will win it but between 3 teams for 2nd spot, fairview favourites with games in hand but Crescent and Cathedral still in with a great shout, was up the northside last night for the cathedral game v watergrasshill, cathedral could be a fine side if a couple of additions
Horse24
20/04/2012, 11:57 AM
Goal difference does not count in schoolboys if it is to decide winning league, promotion or relegation. There is always a play off for the above 3 if a tie on points.
I hope you are right bluey but Im not sure
oldlegs
20/04/2012, 12:33 PM
I hope you are right bluey but Im not sureBluey is correct as according to AUL rules 1c 1d 1e and 1f deal with these points and state clearly that relegion title and runner up if finished on equal points will be decided by playoff
backpass
20/04/2012, 2:08 PM
AUL 1 is hotting up and looks like one of the more interesting run-ins, Glen will win it but between 3 teams for 2nd spot, fairview favourites with games in hand but Crescent and Cathedral still in with a great shout, was up the northside last night for the cathedral game v watergrasshill, cathedral could be a fine side if a couple of additions
Glen will walk it...second place in that league looks very tight...but if all the talk about teams going MSL is true three teams could go up to premier A.
I saw Cathedral play towards the end of last year and was well impressed with them...they had a few ex villa players playing with them.. Monthy up front and one of the o neill brothers in the middle stuck out that night...and the manager was also villa manager years back i think
padre pio
20/04/2012, 3:28 PM
monty got on the scoresheet last night, heard one of the lads on the line say that was his 26th goal of the season, cathedral are very good going forward, good attacking 4 last night, wingers play like extra front men. any official line out yet on whats happening with teams going msl next year?
oldlegs
20/04/2012, 5:06 PM
monty got on the scoresheet last night, heard one of the lads on the line say that was his 26th goal of the season, cathedral are very good going forward, good attacking 4 last night, wingers play like extra front men. any official line out yet on whats happening with teams going msl next year?We'll all know by the 1st of May as that's the deadline for requests to join so untill then nobody will know untill then what needs to be done.
pacman
20/04/2012, 6:46 PM
monty got on the scoresheet last night, heard one of the lads on the line say that was his 26th goal of the season, cathedral are very good going forward, good attacking 4 last night, wingers play like extra front men. any official line out yet on whats happening with teams going msl next year?
Monty is a fine player however not too many of the ex Villa lads involved. From what i hear though Calla is doing his best to try and get a few of them back (Betts, Eager, Conor Murray, Keith Shaw,Hammy, Conor and Eoin O'Neill).
The Boar
20/04/2012, 11:13 PM
Was at the kinsale game what a horrible night for it. Draw would have been a fair result as the weather killed it. Stupid red card for calla he had no need to make that tackle knowing he was on a yellow. Great goal tho to win it
It was an awful night and I agree the weather did spoil the game but that was some goal alright that won the game
thebooboys
20/04/2012, 11:45 PM
Monty is a fine player however not too many of the ex Villa lads involved. From what i hear though Calla is doing his best to try and get a few of them back (Betts, Eager, Conor Murray, Keith Shaw,Hammy, Conor and Eoin O'Neill).
Conor Murray ?? Are you for real, Leeside through and through!!!
pacman
21/04/2012, 12:05 PM
Conor Murray ?? Are you for real, Leeside through and through!!!
I dont think any of the players i quoted will actually end up signing. Wont stop Calla from trying though
Dixie's Cousin
21/04/2012, 6:15 PM
Does Park's win today all but wrap the title up?
Shilts
21/04/2012, 6:39 PM
If for instance 2 premier clubs move to the MSL how will those spots be filled??
Will the relegated teams stay up?
Or will the 3rd and 4th teams in premier A be promoted??