View Full Version : Cork AUL 2011/12

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 [19] 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42

sharpshooter
13/11/2011, 9:11 PM
Wilton played Ucc in the Mardyke earlier this season and matched them very well, probably should have won, i think wilton, kinsale and leeside, maybe Killumny would have the ability to compete with senior league 1 teams. i think we ll all agree that a league with ucc, bandon, fermoy, carragaline and castleview with top 5 aul teams would make a far more interseting league than the present aul premier and the present senior league 1.
and we(wilton)beat everton 1-0 and leeds 4-1.any of the clubs mentioned above IMO would do very well in the senior divison 1

berba
13/11/2011, 9:14 PM
SHETLAND??? Just interested Cork Area Final??? Needed to be said bout others, grand saying this fella and that fella good enough for AUL team.!! Personally think it was good team.Its fellas who come on this who want to put down players as soon as the word JUNIOR is mentioned.

bluey
14/11/2011, 1:34 AM
Hahaha el nino, my god tonight, your full of it bud!! there nice benches allright in blarney arent they!!

greengrass
14/11/2011, 9:32 AM
if the rumours are indeed true about the end of this season then we wont be long finding out how these teams will fare in the MSL
Finally put this argument to bed because fella's get so bad and worked up over it

thebooboys
14/11/2011, 10:03 AM
What rumours Greengrass?

Inswinger
14/11/2011, 11:41 AM
Here you go Red and White

MJC 2ND Round, Blackstone 0 Coachford 1
Made very hard work of this one, missing 5 but played quite welll but did nt score until midway through the 2nd half. Rob O Keeffe scored with a free kick. Blackstone to be fair defended well, but we were guilty of alot of missed chances. Happy to come through a sticky game though, still raging we ve no game next week.

Good result for Knockavilla again Lawd, 2 wins and 2 draws is a good start. Do n't know anything about Greenwood, could they struggle. Where do they play their matches is it in that bowl of a pitch?

six-yard-box
14/11/2011, 1:15 PM
Aul game off at weekend

greengrass
14/11/2011, 1:16 PM
What rumours Greengrass?

not to sure was it trending on this forum or the MSL one a couple of weeks back that the agreement between the MSL and AUL is finished at the end of this season so clubs will be free to go senior

thebooboys
14/11/2011, 1:20 PM
was there any games in aul at weekend....no postings/reports on anything just guys ranting about nonsense...how did wilton leeside go?

Wilton vs Leeside finished 1-1 AET and Wilton won 11-10 on pens. Felt it could have went either way, Wilton dominated early, could have been two up but for great save from Keith "pinky" Cotter. Leeside bossed last 20 mins and most of extra time. After equalising felt they could have went on to win it but had to play Extra time and last 20 mins of normal time with 10 men really, all 3 subs were used and Alec Nodwell couldn't continue after getting a clatter. Don't know who was in other semi????

Radiostar
14/11/2011, 1:35 PM
If there was a top division in Cork football made up of AUL and MSL who would be in it? It would be intersesting to see who fellas think are the 10 best sides in Cork.

zohan
14/11/2011, 1:48 PM
Knockavilla beat greenwood 4-2, went to watch it by time i found the pitch, (alsa park up by the airport, tricky to find) Greenwood were 2 up and looked comfortable, villa got a pen just before half time greenwood goalie sent off looked like he won the ball but went in with two legs apparantley, looked a bit harsh! Greenwood struggled against wind with ten men in 2nd half, villa equaliaed straight frm a corner, and got two more late on, big win for villa, greenwood could be in trouble, chalky reffed the game and spoiled it a bit to be honest! Refs shouldnt square up to people threatining with cards, and asking players do they want to take him on! Pearse also beat leeds 3-0, leeds second pitch behind the astro in great condition i was told.

Inswinger
14/11/2011, 3:17 PM
If there was a top division in Cork football made up of AUL and MSL who would be in it? It would be intersesting to see who fellas think are the 10 best sides in Cork.

I think the topic deserves another thread as it could go on for ever.

greengrass
14/11/2011, 4:28 PM
Knockavilla beat greenwood 4-2, went to watch it by time i found the pitch, (alsa park up by the airport, tricky to find) Greenwood were 2 up and looked comfortable, villa got a pen just before half time greenwood goalie sent off looked like he won the ball but went in with two legs apparantley, looked a bit harsh! Greenwood struggled against wind with ten men in 2nd half, villa equaliaed straight frm a corner, and got two more late on, big win for villa, greenwood could be in trouble, chalky reffed the game and spoiled it a bit to be honest! Refs shouldnt square up to people threatining with cards, and asking players do they want to take him on! Pearse also beat leeds 3-0, leeds second pitch behind the astro in great condition i was told.

this
dont referees realise that this kind of behaviour by them actually antagonises players no end.
have a word by all means but to be up in a players face acting like a hard man makes situations worse
sadly is prevalent throughout cork soccer
i understand people call it a thankless job as a ref but these fellas are getting paid to steward a game of soccer,
NOT to be the centre of attention as some enjoy far too much
This isnt a dig at all refs but certainly the majority which is unfortunate but nothing that can be done about it
rant over ;)

zohan
14/11/2011, 4:56 PM
this
dont referees realise that this kind of behaviour by them actually antagonises players no end.
have a word by all means but to be up in a players face acting like a hard man makes situations worse
sadly is prevalent throughout cork soccer
i understand people call it a thankless job as a ref but these fellas are getting paid to steward a game of soccer,
NOT to be the centre of attention as some enjoy far too much
This isnt a dig at all refs but certainly the majority which is unfortunate but nothing that can be done about it
rant over ;)

Well said greengrass

donaldihno
14/11/2011, 8:53 PM
Is the cork aul game still on saturday??

We (Kanturk)got call from aul tonight telling us were playing blarney street saturday in the mossie instead of carrig!

Cas and Owl did ye hear anything?

Blarney street have 2 or 3 on the team??

six-yard-box
14/11/2011, 8:56 PM
Aul game is off msl lodged an objection now

shetland
14/11/2011, 9:14 PM
why would the msl objection effect this game,sur it would have to be played anyway..if tipp win they are through,and if aul win they are through.

shetland
14/11/2011, 9:23 PM
my ten teams,rockmount,avondale.,douglas hall. everton,st marys blarney, kinsale leeside wilton st marys.next best corrinthians ,mayfield.

the owl
14/11/2011, 9:36 PM
Don, have heard nothing as yet. As far as i know we are still down to play ye.

shetland
14/11/2011, 9:40 PM
owl ,just on to your former gaffer there and he said yere haveing a challenge on saturday.

donaldihno
14/11/2011, 9:43 PM
Yeah our manager got the call from the aul secretary tonight that were playing the mossie saturday!

Its a strange one!

the owl
14/11/2011, 9:43 PM
News to me Shetland. Must have been org tonight.

the owl
14/11/2011, 9:56 PM
Confirmed, our game is off Don.

sharpshooter
14/11/2011, 10:40 PM
Wilton vs Leeside finished 1-1 AET and Wilton won 11-10 on pens. Felt it could have went either way, Wilton dominated early, could have been two up but for great save from Keith "pinky" Cotter. Leeside bossed last 20 mins and most of extra time. After equalising felt they could have went on to win it but had to play Extra time and last 20 mins of normal time with 10 men really, all 3 subs were used and Alec Nodwell couldn't continue after getting a clatter. Don't know who was in other semi????.
a bit of a one sided report their boo.more like could ave been 4 up only for 2 great saves from yer keeper and the clearance of the line from gettings,and the missed peno we had.cant remember bella having to make a save only in the shootout,felt we deserved it based on chances created.pens was a lottery...

skippy7
14/11/2011, 11:13 PM
i think kinsale,leeside,wilton,kilumney and park (when the gaa is not on) would be as good as the bottom half of senior premier.

thebooboys
14/11/2011, 11:42 PM
a bit of a one sided report their boo.more like could ave been 4 up only for 2 great saves from yer keeper and the clearance of the line from gettings,and the missed peno we had.cant remember bella having to make a save only in the shootout,felt we deserved it based on chances created.pens was a lottery...

How is that one sided?? I said ye should have gone two up. Fair enough if ye took every chance it could have been 3. Then again if Leeside took their chances they could have had 3 too. If everyone counted every single chance they get in a game as a potential goal then games would finish 10 goals a piece. Unfortunately that's not the case

If you think that's a one sided comment then maybe one of the neutrals who were there could give their opinion. Thee was a fairly decent crowd there sure

Chiefscout
15/11/2011, 10:28 AM
i think kinsale,leeside,wilton,kilumney and park (when the gaa is not on) would be as good as the bottom half of senior premier.
What you are failing to realize is that if the above named teams players wanted to play senior and were good enough to be top senior players they would be already...and also the top senior teams like rockmount avondale and the hall would simply take them from these teams...don't go jumping down my throat and say they are good enough,I'm not saying that,just letting who know how the msl premier teams operate and would be a step up for the likes of lee side who at aul level can dominate and get the best aul players

HairyHands
15/11/2011, 4:51 PM
Wilton probably couldn't sustain senior premier standard for very long in my opinion, good schoolboys academy but players seem to drift away from club after that. leeside are no longer the side they used to be and as one of two of their better players get older i could only see them struggling if they went to senior league. Kilumney not good enough long term as they don't have the set up to attract players and don't have a lot of players coming through. Blarney Street and Park not good enough. Kinsale are probably the only team who could compete long term in senior league but having said that for all their years of dominance in the AUL Premier they have never had a good cut off the FAI Junior cup. A lot of the better teams in this cup would be senior league standard and Cork Junior teams haven't competed for a long time and probably won't in the near future.

Mighty almighty
15/11/2011, 8:53 PM
i would say neither of your teams would last a year in the msl premier division....if any of the players were really top grade players they would be playing munster senior league already....i would make an exception... for delea of leeside and d.mc carthy of kinsale.....very intelligent players who can mix if they need to!!!plus you can rule out park cos no decent club lasts at the top relying on gaa players.

skippy7
15/11/2011, 9:46 PM
im basing my opinion on what i have seen from all these teams this season and making a comparison of the aul teams mentioned and the bottom half of senior premier,your gone abit off my point there chiefscout.

super_mario
16/11/2011, 11:07 PM
Know a few players in the AUL who are asked to play senior on a yearly basis but choose to stay in the AUL due to not being able to commit to senior football cos of work or families or whatever, there are plenty good enough tho

el nino coro
16/11/2011, 11:41 PM
Know a few players in the AUL who are asked to play senior on a yearly basis but choose to stay in the AUL due to not being able to commit to senior football cos of work or families or whatever, there are plenty good enough tho

I agree that there are some individual players good enough to playing the Msl,however if wilton leeside kinsale etc wanted to go senior there would have to be drastic changes in the squads for them to compete in the Msl 1st division!

super_mario
17/11/2011, 7:19 AM
They'd have to sign players no doubt about that but being a senior team surely they'd attract a few players cos like el niņo coro just said there are individuals good enough

Chiefscout
17/11/2011, 8:55 AM
They'd have to sign players no doubt about that but being a senior team surely they'd attract a few players cos like el niņo coro just said there are individuals good enough

No doubt there are players good enough and certainly they would be playing senior only for work,family or other commitments but I reckon the step up would be an eye opener.id love to see 3 or 4 teams make the step up and see how they fair.but as I said the vultures from the premier would be circling

Radiostar
17/11/2011, 11:45 AM
I agree that there are some individual players good enough to playing the Msl,however if wilton leeside kinsale etc wanted to go senior there would have to be drastic changes in the squads for them to compete in the Msl 1st division!
El Nino I agree that MSL Premier is a higher standard than AUL Premier, but I think you are trying to rise fellas on here if you are suggesting a team like Wilton would need 'drastic changes' to compete at MSL 1st Div, they would more than hold their own.

el nino coro
17/11/2011, 1:24 PM
El Nino I agree that MSL Premier is a higher standard than AUL Premier, but I think you are trying to rise fellas on here if you are suggesting a team like Wilton would need 'drastic changes' to compete at MSL 1st Div, they would more than hold their own.

What i mean is they would have to add maybe 4 players to add a bit of quality to challenge for promotion to the premier,the MSL 1st division looks to be in two halves with 5 going for promotion and 5 trying to stay up,i have played in the 1st division and i can tell ya it a very very tough league to get out of! Lets hope some teams make the step up soon and we can all put this matter to bed!

Dixie's Cousin
17/11/2011, 1:36 PM
All this talk, does anybody know if these teams are going to apply?

Chiefscout
17/11/2011, 1:57 PM
Can't see it happening.would the msl allow it?.

Dixie's Cousin
17/11/2011, 2:23 PM
I wouldn't think so to be honest, but stranger things have happened

el nino coro
17/11/2011, 3:49 PM

Wasnt there an agreement between both the msl and aul that no teams could switch for 5 years and with that 5 years coming to an end after this season,surely the msl will welcome new clubs because the 2nd division isnt the greatest,i think it was mentioned further back on the thread the clubs that are supposedly ready to make a proposal!

Dixie's Cousin
17/11/2011, 4:03 PM
I'd say they would welcome teams but I don't think they'll take teams for the sake of taking them.

the owl
17/11/2011, 8:37 PM
Could be a quiet weekend for football if this rain continues lads. On the MSL/AUL debate i for one wouldnt like to see many teams transferring to MSL. Yes they would probably be improving their own game/standards but to the detriment of the AUL. Anyone agree ?

Chiefscout
17/11/2011, 8:48 PM
Could be a quiet weekend for football if this rain continues lads. On the MSL/AUL debate i for one wouldnt like to see many teams transferring to MSL. Yes they would probably be improving their own game/standards but to the detriment of the AUL. Anyone agree ?

Agree to a point.might also allow or make other teams in aul to step up to the plate and push on to be the next best aul teams,teams that wouldn't have that chance because of the form and pulling power of the leesides and kinsales

ball-hop
18/11/2011, 8:12 AM
Congratulations to all winners at the AUL Awards last night -
Soccer Legend: Pat O'Mahony (West Ham, Cork Celtic, Tramore Athletic, Ballyphehane Utd)
Hall of Fame: Vincent Cummins (Rockmount, Turners Cross)
Distinguished Service: Sean Cullinane (Glenvale), John Murray (Glasheen), Pat Goggin (Tramore Ath), Bertie O'Mahony (Douglas Hall).

Well deserved recognition for all.

greengrass
18/11/2011, 4:11 PM
much games called off in he AUL yet lads?

donaldihno
19/11/2011, 3:40 PM
Kanturk 1 Blarney street 0

Good win for us today!Scored early and held on for rest of game!
Didnt play our best game today,but our concentration was top notch!

Looking forward to castleview thursday night,gonna be another tough one!

oldlegs
19/11/2011, 5:57 PM
Anyone know on what grounds MJL objected on ? And any idea on re fixture just seems bit strange , it couldn't have hurt to leave aul play tipp as game has to be played regardless . If anyone has any knowledge or can shed some light be nice .

HairyHands
20/11/2011, 12:01 PM
I know it was the mossie yesterday but is it safe at this stage to say the people tipping blarney st to challenge for the league at the start of the season got it very wrong? Its one thing to have a few good players on paper but turning them into title challengers is a big ask especially with a rookie manager.

Radiostar
20/11/2011, 5:40 PM
They are not having a good run at the moment, but most teams will have a bad patch at some stage, I'm sure Eddie will turn it around especially with the players he has in the squad.

shetland
20/11/2011, 8:02 PM
with the players he has radio he shouldnt be in this position.he always had something to say when things went well ,but since the departure of aiden king and garry nolan its been down hill since