View Full Version : Tipp South & District League 2011/12

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 [15] 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31

stelling
31/08/2011, 8:08 PM
No the reason for that is that there has'nt been a debate or arguement on the page for months,i didn't participate but it was the most i looked at foot in 1 day in weeks,it was great,your opinion of whats stupid isn't everyone elses and that was obviously shown by the amount of people giving there twopence worth and i suppose it is probably the most discussed topic around the dressing rooms of the premier league

Pearoso27
31/08/2011, 8:20 PM
My understanding is St.Michaels wanted the game refixed - spoke to quite a few of their players and they were quite clear they just wanted a game. Peake have the right to appeal the decision to MFA.
You obviously didnt consider it stupid when you posted this or was that your alter ego!:confused:

nononsense
31/08/2011, 9:44 PM
You obviously didnt consider it stupid when you posted this or was that your alter ego!:confused:

I didn't mean to be offensive to St.Michaels. I have great admiration for the club. Obviously you are also an admirer of the club. I am disappointed you have taken the bait laid by others. I know officially the St.Michaels club prefers players and supporters refrain from commenting on this forum. Under the circumstances above I think that is good advice. I think your comment ''alter ego'' is unjustified.

Pearoso27
31/08/2011, 10:17 PM
I didn't mean to be offensive to St.Michaels. I have great admiration for the club. Obviously you are also an admirer of the club. I am disappointed you have taken the bait laid by others. I know officially the St.Michaels club prefers players and supporters refrain from commenting on this forum. Under the circumstances above I think that is good advice. I think your comment ''alter ego'' is unjustified.
Sometimes you have to shoot from the hip to get the drop on these Posters, so heres a hug "HUG", feel better now?:o

Roberto
01/09/2011, 7:56 AM
Your respect for Saints is appreciated but will you answer the question what were the technicalities that caused Celtic to lose home advantage last year?? Please.

Please note that I am not answering this question to start a debate but only because the question was raised. St Michaels were due to play at home to Celtic in a FAI Junior Cup tie last season during a particularly bad spell of weather. It would have been a dangerous time to take to the roads due to very icy conditions. It was my understanding that the referee couldn't/wouldn't travel to the game due to the roads and the game was therefore postponed. The rules of the competition state that if a fixture cannot be fulfilled due to the weather the venue of the game should be reversed i.e. the re-arranged game should have been held in Clonmel. It was quite obvious to most people that it was because of the weather that the game didn't proceed but St Michaels argued that their pitch was playable. As far as I am aware this was their word as the pitch was not inspected by a referee that morning to confirm it was ok. I assume this is the technicality that Tipp Top is referring to.

republican
01/09/2011, 11:24 AM
nononsense you made a good point about lads taking the bait in relation to comments about saints but you have to realise the good name of st michaels fc gets dragged through the mud on this forum on a regular basis and alot of people are actually stupid enough to believe what they read on this :) :). cant understand what everyones problem is with saints on this occasion tho i agree it was a bit much to ask peake to play saints and town in 2 days as i have said before but saints did play the 2 games in 2 days and it can have been no easier for them with lads working, holidays, etc. iv a solution ban st michaels from all comp's for a few season's and this thread will have to close down :)

Tipp Top
01/09/2011, 11:43 AM
[QUOTE=republican; but saints did play the 2 games in 2 days and it can have been no easier for them with lads working, holidays, etc.

What 2 games in 2 days did Saints play?

West Hammer
01/09/2011, 12:28 PM
Roberto, the reason the game stayed with Saints as far as I know was that the Ref John Lyons did not ring Leiws till 2 hours before kick-off and at that time Saints had not called it off. A replacement ref could not be found so game was called off. I agree game was in doubt anyway but as no ref inspected pitch and saints themselves did not call it off it was not technically called off due to weather. In Unusual circumstances like that the only option was to call it as a no contest and just play original fixture.

republican
01/09/2011, 12:34 PM
sorry tipp top that should have been 'were available' to play the 2 games in 2 days.

Tipp Top
01/09/2011, 12:58 PM
sorry tipp top that should have been 'were available' to play the 2 games in 2 days.

No problem,but you know yourself there is a difference between playing Town and Saints in 39 hours and playing a pre season friendly and lets be honest nobody cares about that tournament,Town didn't even play in it,i hope common sense prevails and Saints and Villa replay the fixture

theboywonder8
01/09/2011, 12:59 PM
Same old,same old.anyone that thinks Lewis doesn't do favors for saints is in cloud cuckooland.there's always something with them and they always come out on top.WHY.

republican
01/09/2011, 1:07 PM
think something similar goes on with a certain club in limerick boywonder haha. glasshouses :)

theboywonder8
01/09/2011, 2:25 PM
think something similar goes on with a certain club in limerick boywonder haha. glasshouses :)

You have me there????

saintsfan
01/09/2011, 3:41 PM
One thing i want to put on record is that nobody has more respect for Saint Michaels than i do,a fantastic club,my issue is with the Tsdl,at the end of the day if the life president of any other club was running the league that club would also reap the rewards,everyone knows what goes on i just can't understand people coming on here pretending it doesn't happen when even the Saints captain has been known to have a good laugh about it

He isnt the Life President but he is a Life Member.... St. Michaels President is Mick Flynn,

deadly man
01/09/2011, 3:44 PM
We all know where ur coming from lad :-)

prawnsandwich2
01/09/2011, 5:20 PM
We all know where ur coming from lad :-)

it goes on everywhere lads....
it happened (and is stillhappening) in limerick also.
matter of how many and how strong the people who sit on these committees are,
last year we had three senior officers who had a vested interest in how one club faired.
not saying that they used those positions in any way to benefit that club.
just that consciously or subconsciously a lot of people would be suspicious of matches being put in under lights,in an effort to run out suspensions,more lenient suspensions then similar transgressions of other players.
but hey,we would all say ,thanks a lot for that sort of thing(indeed my own club benefitted from similar not to long ago)
so it's swings and roundabouts

theboywonder8
01/09/2011, 5:32 PM
it goes on everywhere lads....
it happened (and is stillhappening) in limerick also.
matter of how many and how strong the people who sit on these committees are,
last year we had three senior officers who had a vested interest in how one club faired.
not saying that they used those positions in any way to benefit that club.
just that consciously or subconsciously a lot of people would be suspicious of matches being put in under lights,in an effort to run out suspensions,more lenient suspensions then similar transgressions of other players.
but hey,we would all say ,thanks a lot for that sort of thing(indeed my own club benefitted from similar not to long ago)
so it's swings and roundabouts
You're wrong there prawn,only matches that were played under lights was tuohy cup which was over in February.so what you're saying is total bull.and don't know where you're getting you're 3 senior officers from???????.

prawnsandwich2
01/09/2011, 5:41 PM
You're wrong there prawn,only matches that were played under lights was tuohy cup which was over in February.so what you're saying is total bull.and don't know where you're getting you're 3 senior officers from???????.

whoa there!!
think of three officers who had a vested interest
ex commitee members and someone with a relative playing for the club that the other two were involved with.
as i say swings and roundabouts so don't take it personal.
i also said that they did not use their positions in any way so....
it's the perception,as it seems to be in this case in the TDSL
.that's all

Chops
06/09/2011, 12:33 PM
Whats yer views on this new Munster Competition which starts this week personally i think its a waste of time

stelling
06/09/2011, 12:43 PM
It is replacing the Munster Senior Cup and could in years to come be the most prestigious trophy in Munster,it is for all the champions of their respective leagues so in theory a great idea and fierce high standard in every game.

republican
06/09/2011, 12:50 PM
i think myself there should be an incentive for winning it such as winning team get a holiday away or something like that it would really spice it up and would push up the standard in every league also. i know it would be great honour to win it anyway but but munster fa take in enough money from leagues/clubs every year it would be a nice way of giving something back. what's peoples opinion's lads?

Roberto
06/09/2011, 2:45 PM
i think myself there should be an incentive for winning it such as winning team get a holiday away or something like that it would really spice it up and would push up the standard in every league also. i know it would be great honour to win it anyway but but munster fa take in enough money from leagues/clubs every year it would be a nice way of giving something back. what's peoples opinion's lads?

Think that would be a good idea although I'm not too sure about a holiday. Sending 20 blokes away for a week on the beer in the sun is only asking for trouble. Didn't some club from Dublin get sent home from Brazil last year after receiving a holiday as a prize for winning some competition. Anyway knowing the TSDL they would probably have a fixture scheduled for the morning you come home :sarcastic:

ponyobrien
11/09/2011, 1:25 PM
Celtic 1-0 Wilderness

Second
11/09/2011, 2:15 PM

In clare this year they started with a premier league cup.. 1st time in a while..Incentive to do well is a return bus journey and 25 match tickets to any Ireland match at the aviva.. And in fairness the clubs are trying hard in games so far..

balls
11/09/2011, 7:50 PM
I think that idea of the aviva tickets for winning teams in tsdl competitions would be great idea if they followed the clare league and done something similar.

back to football good wins for saints and town today. expected celtic to beat wildies by a bit more but i suppose it was local derby so wildies lifted there game. cashel are getting some good results this season another creditable draw today versus peake

rightboy
11/09/2011, 8:15 PM
I was at saints match they played ok against a very game/ young Cahir side too young in a couple of positions , it was good to see Colin bargary back in a saints jersey . I wasn't surprised by cashel result by all accounts unlucky not to win

balls
11/09/2011, 8:41 PM
colin bargary is a class act. great resigning for saints

rightboy
11/09/2011, 8:48 PM
Ya Colin is a good signing certainly makes up fir the loss of foggy and with chalkie Paul Tobin and jimmy carr missing today the squad is getting used to the full at the moment . Any word on the town game how did they play ?

GetItOut
11/09/2011, 8:51 PM
I was at saints match they played ok against a very game/ young Cahir side too young in a couple of positions , it was good to see Colin bargary back in a saints jersey . I wasn't surprised by cashel result by all accounts unlucky not to win

Cashel certainly had enough chances to win it.Villa were poor.

Town Fan
12/09/2011, 6:58 AM
Ya Colin is a good signing certainly makes up fir the loss of foggy and with chalkie Paul Tobin and jimmy carr missing today the squad is getting used to the full at the moment . Any word on the town game how did they play ?

Was at the Town match. Town played well. Missed a host of chances. 3-0 didnt flatter them. David McGrath played well and took his chances well. Things starting to knit together for Town. They are no world beaters at the moment but things are coming together and I dont think they will be as bad as people are making out.

prawnsandwich2
12/09/2011, 8:31 AM
In clare this year they started with a premier league cup.. 1st time in a while..Incentive to do well is a return bus journey and 25 match tickets to any Ireland match at the aviva.. And in fairness the clubs are trying hard in games so far..

great idea.
you get nothing for winning the premier league in limerick afaik.
when you look at the rewards in dublin.
holidays for the winners of the league plus the nivea? cup.
i knw the winners of the FAI get a cash prize from umbro plus the gate reciepts divided by four after expenses.
but i would bet that what clubs get for that would not equate to the cost of the prizes given for the local trophies in dublin.

Soccer Fan
12/09/2011, 9:36 AM
Was working yesterday and I was listening to Tipp FM. They had updates from all of the games and at 5, Muiris Walsh was on to read out all the premier league and that MFA Cup results for Nenagh and Clonmel Town. Just hope that it is going to be a regular thing on a Sunday. At the very least let's hope that they read out results on a Sunday evening.

Mission Bell
12/09/2011, 10:57 AM
Why are'nt the results being made known to the wider public ON THIS SITE or is there a secret code?

GetItOut
12/09/2011, 11:01 AM
Why are'nt the results being made known to the wider public on this site or is there a secret code?

yeah the code is TSDL.IE.

nononsense
12/09/2011, 11:14 AM
yeah the code is TSDL.IE.

Correct. All the TSDL results are put on their website www.tsdl.ie (http://www.tsdl.ie) on Sunday evening between 6.30pm and 7pm. Excellent service.

First
12/09/2011, 3:35 PM
Was at the Town match. Town played well. Missed a host of chances. 3-0 didnt flatter them. David McGrath played well and took his chances well. Things starting to knit together for Town. They are no world beaters at the moment but things are coming together and I dont think they will be as bad as people are making out.

You must have been reffing it, as you also missed the sending off and penalty ( separate incidents) that the officials bottled at 2 nil. :D

Anyway ye deserved yere result and thanks for the hospitality yesterday.
Best of luck in the rest of this competition.

12/09/2011, 3:58 PM
Just so Foot.ie users are aware of it, Soccer Fan has been banned as it's a dupe account for Town Fan. Town Fan has been suspended for using another account (Soccer Fan) on the site. It would have been a week, but he has also pimped himself above so the suspension is for a full month.

This post is for informational purposes only, it's NOT for discussion. If you have a comment you can post it in the Support form or you can PM me or a moderator. If you try to start a discussion, you'll be suspended too.

Adam

ponyobrien
12/09/2011, 5:07 PM
I see Clonmel Celtic are fixed to play Cahir Park on September 25th, meaning we will have fulfilled half of our league fixures before the end of October!!!!!!! Town Michaels and Cashel will have 3 less played, Borris and the Wilderness 2 less and Cahir just 1 behind. This is ridiculous

Chops
12/09/2011, 6:55 PM
Why bother tell us thats just starting something on the forum back to football please:ball:

celticlads
12/09/2011, 6:55 PM
is there any town fans on here, i see jimmy is scoreing goals for ye. im just wondering what ye think of him down there. having played with him and he being with us all his life i would be bias and consider him top class, im just wondering how he fits in at a bigger level.

the wombat
12/09/2011, 9:20 PM
is there any town fans on here, i see jimmy is scoreing goals for ye. im just wondering what ye think of him down there. having played with him and he being with us all his life i would be bias and consider him top class, im just wondering how he fits in at a bigger level.

jimmy is playing some great stuff and himself and martin tynan upfront are banging them in. heard davy mcgrath was back yesterday and scored a couple so they look full of goals at the moment.

ponyobrien
13/09/2011, 7:24 PM
I see Clonmel Celtic are fixed to play Cahir Park on September 25th, meaning we will have fulfilled half of our league fixures before the end of October!!!!!!! Town Michaels and Cashel will have 3 less played, Borris and the Wilderness 2 less and Cahir just 1 behind. This is ridiculous

I meant before the end of September

SgtBilko
14/09/2011, 11:42 AM
as we always say pony its a well run league!!!

nononsense
14/09/2011, 9:49 PM
Paddy Power has quotes for four TSDL teams to win the F.A.I. Junior Cup. St.Michaels 12/1, Clonmel Town 12/1, Peake Villa 66/1, Clonmel Celtic 66/1.

the wombat
15/09/2011, 1:57 PM
decent price for saints seen as they have been in the last 2 finals. dont think town will be competing at the business end so not much value there. long price for celtic in comparison as they have beaten town already and peake might as well be twice the odds .

on the fixtures, its an absolute joke that celtic will have so many games played so early

stelling
15/09/2011, 5:47 PM
I think Town and Saints are great value at 12/1,Saints have had a few great years now in the FAI and Town are a superb cup side and have before last year had been in back to back semi finals,Celtic may as well be twice that price,its a league they need to win first

theboywonder8
15/09/2011, 9:10 PM
I think Town and Saints are great value at 12/1,Saints have had a few great years now in the FAI and Town are a superb cup side and have before last year had been in back to back semi finals,Celtic may as well be twice that price,its a league they need to win first

Same goes for saints,winning a league that is,how long is it since they won 1??,and as for the fai,flatter to deceive again,IMO

balls
15/09/2011, 9:54 PM
Same goes for saints,winning a league that is,how long is it since they won 1??,and as for the fai,flatter to deceive again,IMO

ye might not be worrying bout an fai either if shane clarke brings his shooting boots sunday boywonder

theboywonder8
15/09/2011, 10:31 PM
ye might not be worrying bout an fai either if shane clarke brings his shooting boots sunday boywonder

Quality player alright,but he's only one,pike have plenty of quality around the field,as you well know,he can't score if he doesn't get the ball,time will tell,

republican
15/09/2011, 10:41 PM
giv him an offer he cant refuse nd he defo wont score :)