View Full Version : Tipp South & District League 2011/12
nononsense
04/07/2011, 8:56 PM
jimmy hynes is a striker i think. you would often here of him banging in the goals against tsdl teams in mjc and fai games. havent heard of the other lad but he must be fairly decent aswell if town are in for him. some trek down from nenagh to clonmel for a game of ball
Wow - A round trip of 110 miles to play a game in the TSDL! Will Clonmel Town have any ''Town'' natives at all? Where are all the successful youth players of past few years gone?
your right nononsense its savage journey you would imagine nenagh players would head into limerick city if they wanted to play with bigger junior clubs than north tipp offers as its much closer to nenagh than clonmel.
for gods sake alot of tsdl clubs cant get their best players from local villages to play with there local sides. and town can bring in lads from 50 odd miles away to play, it beggars belief. is comerford staying with town this year i thought he was very good player last year
GetItOut
04/07/2011, 9:34 PM
Wow - A round trip of 110 miles to play a game in the TSDL! Will Clonmel Town have any ''Town'' natives at all? Where are all the successful youth players of past few years gone?
Yeah i was thinking the same.Very successful youths.
celticlads
04/07/2011, 9:45 PM
agree it is a long trip lads but the 2 boys who i know personally just love their soccer(no gaa comittments),they just really want to test themselves and give it a go at the top for a year anyway. yes limerick is closer and they had offers from limerick(even cash offers) but clonmel town are a great club and the 2 lads are really looking forward to the test. i spoke to them the other day and they are signed so this is not just rumour, best of luck to both danny and jimmy. 2 really top class players and 2 nice lads.
SgtBilko
05/07/2011, 2:28 PM
with Clonmel Town youths over the last few years you will be lucky to get one lad per team who would graduate to the Junior side, not many have made the step up, a lot dont because simply they are not good enough, only the likes of paul shanahan, david mcgrath, evan mcguire, rory kiely, michael quinlivan recently have been the standouts, kieran kenrick, christy aylward and simon scully were good but they left, i think Cleere and Coady both came signed as youths. St Michaels are definitly another example of this, how many have come thorugh the system there. with clubs like town and michaels the standard is way higher which means the quality of youth player needs to be exceptional unfortunately...
any comments or thoughts??
complexman
05/07/2011, 2:53 PM
with Clonmel Town youths over the last few years you will be lucky to get one lad per team who would graduate to the Junior side, not many have made the step up, a lot dont because simply they are not good enough, only the likes of paul shanahan, david mcgrath, evan mcguire, rory kiely, michael quinlivan recently have been the standouts, kieran kenrick, christy aylward and simon scully were good but they left, i think Cleere and Coady both came signed as youths. St Michaels are definitly another example of this, how many have come thorugh the system there. with clubs like town and michaels the standard is way higher which means the quality of youth player needs to be exceptional unfortunately...
any comments or thoughts??
for one reason or another a lot of good players have left Town. I cant understand it myself. Is it the pressure of playing for Town or is there something wrong with the club. We are having to go outside to get players and long term that’s not good. If you consider all the players that have left and are going to leave, you would have an excellent squad. Plus you take Muiris Walsh going to Cahir Park, you have to ask if there is a problem at the club?
rightboy
05/07/2011, 3:43 PM
Hi lads I think it's quite incorrect to compare saints and town with regard to bringing youths through , saints have been excellent in this regard at the moment they have at least 80% of the 1st team squad have come through the ranks even though they had some bad teams over the years they got at least one player per year but town for some reason it hasn't worked I know they had some discipline issue s and had players from outside the town so maybe the same loyalty not there but it must be a for town that they have to go down the road of bringing players from nenagh Kilkenny etc as I said about cahir/ peake earlier it's not good for the club in the long run people of the town won't support the team if not many locals on it saints suffered from this 7/8 years ago any comments on this lads
stelling
05/07/2011, 4:39 PM
Hi lads I think it's quite incorrect to compare saints and town with regard to bringing youths through , saints have been excellent in this regard at the moment they have at least 80% of the 1st team squad have come through the ranks even though they had some bad teams over the years they got at least one player per year but town for some reason it hasn't worked I know they had some discipline issue s and had players from outside the town so maybe the same loyalty not there but it must be a for town that they have to go down the road of bringing players from nenagh Kilkenny etc as I said about cahir/ peake earlier it's not good for the club in the long run people of the town won't support the team if not many locals on it saints suffered from this 7/8 years ago any comments on this lads
80% of Saints squad came up through the club?? Derek Breen-Peake Villa,Paul Breen-Peake Villa,James Walsh-Cashel,Higgings-Bansha,Ray Mc-Limerick,Foggy-Peake Villa,Quinn-Cahir,Guerin-Limerick,Cosgrave-Limerick,Did you mean 8% not 80????
rightboy
05/07/2011, 4:56 PM
As I said 80% is correct
Higgins playing since 8 yrs old
Chalky since 14 Paul Tobin 8 cooper 10 r ryan 12 jimmy carr 14 Danny o Brien 10 mickey Fitz 10 James power 14 padjo 10 your rite about the breens and foggy ray mc but I did not say all the 1st team but appx 80% if you want rest of squad I can give u that if you like the point I was making a short term solution to a clubs problem is not to go out and take players from all over and all the players mentioned for saints are living very close to tipp town
stelling
05/07/2011, 5:14 PM
As I said 80% is correct
Higgins playing since 8 yrs old
Chalky since 14 Paul Tobin 8 cooper 10 r ryan 12 jimmy carr 14 Danny o Brien 10 mickey Fitz 10 James power 14 padjo 10 your rite about the breens and foggy ray mc but I did not say all the 1st team but appx 80% if you want rest of squad I can give u that if you like the point I was making a short term solution to a clubs problem is not to go out and take players from all over and all the players mentioned for saints are living very close to tipp town
No its a fair point but Saints have always brought in lots of players,the day is gone where you can rely on youths coming through,Pike probably showed you need to get the best in to win an FAI and i personally would say more power to them
rightboy
05/07/2011, 5:23 PM
No its a fair point but Saints have always brought in lots of players,the day is gone where you can rely on youths coming through,Pike probably showed you need to get the best in to win an FAI and i personally would say more power to them
I don't think you can compare pike to any junior club saints / town would never go down that route any club can go out pay lots of money to get players in but at what cost?anyway how many of the pike team are real top class that did win them fai just a bad mistake from flipper was the difference considering their outlay have they really returned on the investment . I have no problem with clubs going out to get better players than what they have but their has to be a balance with the players they produce that point I'm making I just want clubs to be careful we certainly dont want a pike rovers scenario in the tsdl
theboywonder8
05/07/2011, 6:49 PM
Ye don't want a team who will wim the fai?strange one that,the players that signed for pile are all mostly local bar 1 or 2,and they signed to win an fai and they did.job done,I'm sure if St michaels or clonmel town could attract the likes of those players I'm sure they would,and don't come back on with this crap that their all being paid,
rightboy
05/07/2011, 8:21 PM
I think you will find I didn't not say I would nt like to see a team win the fai but what u wouldn't like too see is that a team full of players that are paid to play win it to the determinant of your youths/ schoolboy set up maybe I'm being naive or looking at it in rosetinted glasses and from what I believe haven't the Limerick league brought in a new rule to try and stop this carry on and it got huge support from the limericks clubs bar 1 or 2 so maybe I'm not that foolish
footballfanatic
05/07/2011, 8:30 PM
Two Mile Borris after makin a farely sweet signing iv been told from a farely spot on source. Signing of the summer i would say.
stelling
05/07/2011, 8:38 PM
Two Mile Borris after makin a farely sweet signing iv been told from a farely spot on source. Signing of the summer i would say.
No point in posting that unless your going to give us a name,at the end of the day you have a username to hide behind so give us the gossip if there actually is any
theboywonder8
05/07/2011, 8:55 PM
I didn't hear all this complaining last year when fairview won fai and they have a lot more ex loi players than pike had,it just so happens there is a loi team in limerick and for a couple of years junior players helped them out and believe me you they did it for little or nothing,and now they are trying to punish them for it,some players are out of loi nearly 10 years and do you think that's right?????.don't think it will go through myself but we'just have to wait and see,half of the clubs didn't even know what they were voting for,most of the pike squad live within 2 miles of the club anyway.and a lot of them even closer.
footballfanatic
05/07/2011, 9:00 PM
No point in posting that unless your going to give us a name,at the end of the day you have a username to hide behind so give us the gossip if there actually is any
Former schoolboy for the club, michael rafter. Will be a great addition.
rushy12
06/07/2011, 7:32 AM
Ooops sorry about that.didnt know a guess of a name counts for naming users.
rushy12
06/07/2011, 7:39 AM
As i said this saints thing is nonsense.1 player from the starting 11 is from the town.80% played schoolboys??it will be interesting to see how players decide what to do after youths in tipp town,with two clubs now there.here in clonmel they have so many options that its unusual for some to stay loyal.
PaConnors23
06/07/2011, 8:21 AM
Former schoolboy for the club, michael rafter. Will be a great addition.
I thought he was with Waterford Utd, what happened there? Is he still playing U-19 for Ireland?
nononsense
06/07/2011, 9:51 AM
As i said this saints thing is nonsense.1 player from the starting 11 is from the town.80% played schoolboys??it will be interesting to see how players decide what to do after youths in tipp town,with two clubs now there.here in clonmel they have so many options that its unusual for some to stay loyal.
The highlighted words say it all about the players of to-day whether from Clonmel, Cahir, Tipp Town, Peake etc. Fact is, nowadays, the movement of players is crazy. Personally I don't like it, I prefer the club who provide football for their community but the Premier clubs in the TSDL are so desperate for success now they have thrown this policy out the window. I think in the long term it will backfire on them all.
rushy12
06/07/2011, 10:45 AM
[/B]
The highlighted words say it all about the players of to-day whether from Clonmel, Cahir, Tipp Town, Peake etc. Fact is, nowadays, the movement of players is crazy. Personally I don't like it, I prefer the club who provide football for their community but the Premier clubs in the TSDL are so desperate for success now they have thrown this policy out the window. I think in the long term it will backfire on them all.
very true great post.it will not backfire if the right people are in the right jobs.youth is the key for success maybe not instant.
stelling
06/07/2011, 11:11 AM
There is too many youth players tied up in Gaa and other commitments nowadays,it is near to impossible to get a full commitment,the top clubs will always take on 4 or 5 lads who are only soccer players to try and be successful,Town and Saints have been successful for years and years with the same formula that they still use so don't kid yourself that its suddenly going to come back and bite them,it won't,they will both fight out the league again this season and 1 of them i feel will win a Munster or an Fai
GetItOut
06/07/2011, 12:26 PM
[/B]
Thats a cracking post.I also think it takes the kind of community spirit away from the club.?
stelling
06/07/2011, 1:03 PM
Lads ye are not living in the real world,call me a cynic but the bottom line for Clonmel Town and Saint Michaels is they must deliver silverware each year,same for Pike and Fairview and so on,its very easy sit back and be an idealist and say the club should provide the football for the community,thats lovely and all but when results don't go well were reading about Town being in decline or Cremins has to go,nothing else matters to the top clubs except WINNING as Charlie Sheen would say
rushy12
06/07/2011, 1:09 PM
Thats a cracking post.I also think it takes the kind of community spirit away from the club.?
yes it does.and it also effects the other aspects of the club.community is certainly being drained from junior football.yes clubs need to win things and get in johny foreigner who stays for a year.but all im trying to say is at times there could be a youth or young lads,giving the chance and decent enough coaching might be as good.it is junior football.using johny foreigner alot will effect the community spirit of a club and will dent its finances too,lotto etc.town fans and maybe saints fans might disagree but its fact.weather is poor explains the rant.
footballfanatic
06/07/2011, 5:48 PM
I thought he was with Waterford Utd, what happened there? Is he still playing U-19 for Ireland?
He was but is now finished there. Ah he played for the u19's within the last 6 months i would say, not sure to be honest.
Is Feider Linn!
06/07/2011, 6:00 PM
yes it does.and it also effects the other aspects of the club.community is certainly being drained from junior football.yes clubs need to win things and get in johny foreigner who stays for a year.but all im trying to say is at times there could be a youth or young lads,giving the chance and decent enough coaching might be as good.it is junior football.using johny foreigner alot will effect the community spirit of a club and will dent its finances too,lotto etc.town fans and maybe saints fans might disagree but its fact.weather is poor explains the rant.
Good post. It is hard for young players trying to break through to the clubs first team when the clubs are bringing in players from all over the place. and that is why clubs have very few players from the Area playing with them.
rightboy
06/07/2011, 6:44 PM
I agree with the sense of community has been lost in some clubs I totally disagree with clubs bringing in loads from all over the place Its very hard to get the balance right with the pressures of having to win every year but it can be done clubs need to develop their young players to come through that is the ultimate goal I would consider success as winning a trophy and also to bring a player through the ranks which is the ultimate for all underage coaches I can only talk about my club saints which I am very proud off where yes we have brought in players but have very healthy level of schoolboy / youths who are on the 1st team squad and that is not necessary players from the town but from the locality of west tipp which we have alwAys got players and huge support
rushy12
06/07/2011, 7:36 PM
Of course the saints/town system has worked, why because loyalty has wained in the last few years and players moving from their home club, to bigger things and thats fair, if they are good enough.but you consider success winning a trophy?thats fair too, but would you not see any success in bringing some good lads through and give them time to develope into a serious team.thats the dream but doesnt happen much because it is not allowed.barca did not always have this success...saints, town peake celtic etc had great teams down the years and may have won nothing but some played good football and were probably unlucky in cups..success can be measured in different ways, not always with a trophy.as for huge support????ya on semi and final days maybe
rightboy
06/07/2011, 8:11 PM
Rushy12 I agree with you on all you say about bringing players through the highlight of an excellent season for me was mickey Fitz a fella who has played since u8 playin in a munster junior final and giving a man of match performance that is real success for the club I'm not saying we get it right all the time but we will keep trying
balls
07/07/2011, 10:25 AM
any transfers in or out for the wildies? they will surely have to bring in at least 1 or 2 players to build on there success from last season
the wombat
07/07/2011, 4:14 PM
Of course the saints/town system has worked, why because loyalty has wained in the last few years and players moving from their home club, to bigger things and thats fair, if they are good enough.but you consider success winning a trophy?thats fair too, but would you not see any success in bringing some good lads through and give them time to develope into a serious team.thats the dream but doesnt happen much because it is not allowed.barca did not always have this success...saints, town peake celtic etc had great teams down the years and may have won nothing but some played good football and were probably unlucky in cups..success can be measured in different ways, not always with a trophy.as for huge support????ya on semi and final days maybe
success is measured totally on trophies, thats the bottom line all over the world. success for a club in bringing through players is seen if a player moves to play in england or plays league of ireland. losers always talk of how the big clubs are taking away from the community spirit or say its not the same as doing it with your homegrown players. losers will stay talking while the big clubs will stay winning
stelling
07/07/2011, 5:10 PM
success is measured totally on trophies, thats the bottom line all over the world. success for a club in bringing through players is seen if a player moves to play in england or plays league of ireland. losers always talk of how the big clubs are taking away from the community spirit or say its not the same as doing it with your homegrown players. losers will stay talking while the big clubs will stay winning
Super post Wombat,lads can argue all day but all that matters is winning trophies,the clubs who are incapable of this talk about community and feel good factors while Saints and Town continue to dominate,fair play to Cahir and Borris for getting up off their arses and trying to go down the same route and fair play to Pike,we have listened to all the rubbish but ye are sitting at home with FAI medals
GetItOut
07/07/2011, 5:15 PM
Super post Wombat,lads can argue all day but all that matters is winning trophies,the clubs who are incapable of this talk about community and feel good factors while Saints and Town continue to dominate,fair play to Cahir and Borris for getting up off their arses and trying to go down the same route and fair play to Pike,we have listened to all the rubbish but ye are sitting at home with FAI medals
Really encouraging for young lads.
stelling
07/07/2011, 5:20 PM
Really encouraging for young lads.
Dont be so naive,if a young player is good enough he will play,Jimmy Carr had no problem breaking through at Saints,Michael Quinlivan had no problem breaking through at Town,if your good enough your old enough
GetItOut
07/07/2011, 5:32 PM
Dont be so naive,if a young player is good enough he will play,Jimmy Carr had no problem breaking through at Saints,Michael Quinlivan had no problem breaking through at Town,if your good enough your old enough
Thats true ill give ya that,but i still think there should be a balance between homegrown players and not.
stelling
07/07/2011, 5:37 PM
It just isnt realistic buddy that your going to get enough of young players that are good enough and you don't weaken the team by playing a lesser player just because he is from the locality but no young player who is good enough will ever be stopped coming through at Town or Saints
theboywonder8
07/07/2011, 6:47 PM
Well said stelling,at least your honest about it,top players will always play for top clubs,and if the youngsters coming through are good enough they will play and if not you have to go out and get them,simple as,and it will always be like that and as you said it's up to the rest of the clubs to follow suit if they want to compete.
stelling
07/07/2011, 8:35 PM
Well said stelling,at least your honest about it,top players will always play for top clubs,and if the youngsters coming through are good enough they will play and if not you have to go out and get them,simple as,and it will always be like that and as you said it's up to the rest of the clubs to follow suit if they want to compete.
Yeah the bottom line is getting a panel of 16 guys who can go and win you silverware,there will always be locals at Town and Saints and Pike as well,the jealous people just try and focus in on the few lads who are brought in and say its a team of outsiders which is not the case,no young player has ever been deprived his chance if he was good enough,Celtic won a european cup in 1967 with a team of guys who were all from glasgow,now you would do well to find a few Scottish guys on their team,thats football it moves with the times at all levels
lads fair enough it is tough for a young fella to get on a town or saints first 11 but these lads can easily play b team football till they make the breakthrough. its just the simple matter that alot of them cant be arsed and drop out of the game. i know there is the arguement that cause of the jump from youth to junior is a big one and this causes the huge drop out of players. But my opinion is that any young lad who has played youth football in tsdl could easily play junior football in div 1,2,3,4 in tsdl. its just alot of them prefer not to give up there sat nights and pack in the footie, or concentrate on college, or gaa suits better being played in summer months etc etc any excuse really.
the arguement bout the bigger teams bringing in outside players is a no brainer really. this formula has worked for saint micheaels and town for years so there not gonna change it. the teams that stay 100% local eg oldbridge,borris,galbally etc may have a bit of success down in div 1 or the odd good cup run but they will never be a force in tsdl premier division
the wombat
08/07/2011, 12:39 PM
first in with league prediction, bit early but what the hell
1. saints
2. town
3. celtic
4. borris
5. peake
6. cahir
7. cashel
8. wildies
9. st nicks.
its only a guess so nobody take offence. hard to know with teams like cahir and peake, its all gone a bit quiet on their signings...........
Unitedno20
08/07/2011, 1:43 PM
1. saints
2. town
3. celtic
4. peake
5. cahir
6. borris
7. cashel
8. st.nicks
9. wilderness.
Saints as winners, fancy noel byrnes to bring in a few quality players in peake which will see them in top half easily, if cahir get the players who are been mentioned it can only be good and if cashel lose bargary and coleman they will be lucky to avoid relegation.
SgtBilko
08/07/2011, 1:54 PM
you really think saints are goin to break their duck this year wombat? i heard town signed 4 decent lads there in last few days, one guy from waterford glass and two from nenagh, ronan stanley is back which is a major option for them, id say they will go well this year
SgtBilko
08/07/2011, 2:22 PM
town
saints
peake
borris
celtic
cahir
wildies
cashel
st nicks
first in with league prediction, bit early but what the hell
1. saints
2. town
3. celtic
4. borris
5. peake
6. cahir
7. cashel
8. wildies
9. st nicks.
its only a guess so nobody take offence. hard to know with teams like cahir and peake, its all gone a bit quiet on their signings...........
id go along with this saints are due a title will surely come next season. Saint nicks will struggle but can see wildies staying up if they can get there best team out on a regular basis
bishbash
08/07/2011, 2:32 PM
I've heard rumours that Clonmel Celtic have signed Kevin Waters, Stephen Ryan and Evan Maguire, Dont think they are back training yet so i dont know if this is true
footballfanatic
08/07/2011, 2:52 PM
Ah lads, i just try'd to make out my predictions for the league but tis impossible at this stage, i will try again in a few weeks when i see and hear a bit more. I do expect Borris and Peake to doin well and causing upsets. It really has potential to be a good one, lets hope it delivers.
Many teams back training?, clonmel town are the only i have heard of...
stelling
08/07/2011, 3:16 PM
Town have won 7 of the last 8 titles and Saints haven't won one in 8 years so has to be Town for me,they just have that consistency in the league BUT i think Saints have the strongest team they have had in years and in the FAI and Munster will be a massive force,i'll go
Town
Saints
Celtic
Borris
Cahir
Villa
Wildies
Cashel
St Nicks
republican
08/07/2011, 4:35 PM
saints will win the league if they make it their num1 priority but they wont because no matter what they let on the fai and munster will still be number 1 and on their list irrespective of how many years it has been since they won it. the fai is the holy grail look to limerick when fairview used win the fai on a regular basis they didnt always win the league and even used the league to give the squad a run and keep their best 11 for the fai and munster.