View Full Version : Tipp South & District League 2011/12
nononsense
31/07/2011, 12:49 PM
chops what happened with the sendings off? who was reffin?
Heard ref was Jim McKell. Also heard the sending offs were serious enough.
stelling
31/07/2011, 1:33 PM
Were those players allowed play for Town today in Waterford or do suspensions not kick in until the league? Any result from the game nononsense?
Chops
01/08/2011, 11:18 AM
Heard ref was Jim McKell. Also heard the sending offs were serious enough.One was a definate sending off and the other should not have been even tramore manager Alan Reynolds pleaded with the ref at halftime to let Town go back to 11 players as he felt the ref had got things wrong he was not impressed with Mckell one bit,Town beat Piltown 5-1 on sunday a very good performance.
stelling
01/08/2011, 12:35 PM
One was a definate sending off and the other should not have been even tramore manager Alan Reynolds pleaded with the ref at halftime to let Town go back to 11 players as he felt the ref had got things wrong he was not impressed with Mckell one bit,Town beat Piltown 5-1 on sunday a very good performance.
Were the 2 lads who were sent off allowed play Chops? Who got the goals?
Roberto
01/08/2011, 8:43 PM
As a fella put it to me there a few weeks ago when all the talk was going on about players signing from Clonmel Celtic to Clonmel Town, they always sign the cast off players from Clonmel Town, i want to re-itterate that this is not my opinion but want to get the forums feedback, can we get a list of players who left in recent years to prove the fact wrong? Maybe the quality of player to win Munsters and FAI's are not there in Clonmel and have to be sourced elsewhere
The suggestion that Celtic only sign Town 'cast offs' is both misleading and incorrect. You should ask your friend is he aware that quite a number of Celtic players were approached by Town during the summer (something they are entitled to do) thus dispensing with the notion that the best players in Clonmel sign for Town. That may have been the case a few years ago but not anymore. In fact I would say at least a half a dozen of the current Celtic squad would comfortably make Town's first 16 if not starting 11. If Celtic can remain injury and GAA (:)) free they will go very close this season.
Now that your friend mentioned 'cast offs' you should also ask him where Town got Frank Holeko????
balls
01/08/2011, 10:21 PM
Now that your friend mentioned 'cast offs' you should also ask him where Town got Frank Holeko????[/QUOTE]
is this the winger come striker who played with celtic for abit last season. cant see him having much of an impact at town if it is. Saints drew tonight with regional from limerick 2-2. not sure who scored or if they have any new players in. have heard tony egan from bansha and declen peters from glen villa are signing but havent heard anything else
addict
02/08/2011, 1:09 PM
The match report on the st michaels website says that Pa Quinn and Michael Maguire scored. Tony Egan and Declan Peters played the first half. The rest of the team that played alot were B team players from last year. Tony Egan might be a good signing for them. Not sure about his temperament but he can be good on his day.
SgtBilko
02/08/2011, 1:45 PM
that foreign lad signed of his own accord and was not headhunted so you can count him out, over the years the only lads who signed from clonmel town to clonmel celtic which town would have liked to keep were maybe simon scully and evan maguire, the rest either could not get their place for some reason or another
Roberto
02/08/2011, 2:47 PM
that foreign lad signed of his own accord and was not headhunted so you can count him out, over the years the only lads who signed from clonmel town to clonmel celtic which town would have liked to keep were maybe simon scully and evan maguire, the rest either could not get their place for some reason or another
If you contend that of the current Celtic squad only Maguire and Scully would interest Town you obviously don't share the views of Town's management. Ask the Town manager (or that Town buddy of your who raised the matter in the first place) would he like Graham Doyle, Paul Shanahan and Kevin Waters playing with Town next year and I'm sure I know what the answer would be.
I never suggested that foreign guy was headhunted. As you mention players move on when they can't get regular football which may explain his move to Town.
Mega Tots
02/08/2011, 3:57 PM
Peake Villa play Evergreen of Kilkenny Thursday night,3 or 4 new signings hopefully be involved
republican
02/08/2011, 4:40 PM
waters and doyle would walk onto any junior team in the country two outstanding players. roberto do you know when d celtic v pike friendly is on? a mouth watering friendly ( if there is such a thing ) :)
the wombat
02/08/2011, 5:09 PM
The match report on the st michaels website says that Pa Quinn and Michael Maguire scored. Tony Egan and Declan Peters played the first half. The rest of the team that played alot were B team players from last year. Tony Egan might be a good signing for them. Not sure about his temperament but he can be good on his day.
ya i agree about egan. Can be good but for a big man gets very upset when a game gets anyway physical
If you contend that of the current Celtic squad only Maguire and Scully would interest Town you obviously don't share the views of Town's management. Ask the Town manager (or that Town buddy of your who raised the matter in the first place) would he like Graham Doyle, Paul Shanahan and Kevin Waters playing with Town next year and I'm sure I know what the answer would be.
I never suggested that foreign guy was headhunted. As you mention players move on when they can't get regular football which may explain his move to Town.I dont think Kevin Waters was with Celtic when he was asked to play for Town so thats one Celltic player that wasnt asked.
theboywonder8
02/08/2011, 8:48 PM
Pike 5 Celtic 0,
West Hammer
02/08/2011, 8:55 PM
ya i agree about egan. Can be good but for a big man gets very upset when a game gets anyway physical
Not the same player since he had bad back injury 2 years ago. On form of last few years would not get into saints first 14 of last season!
SgtBilko
03/08/2011, 6:54 AM
roberto i was talking about Town players who have left the club to join Celtic, only Maguire and Scully are the ones they wished had not got away, graham doyle is a class player, no wonder town wanted to sign him for back, as for waters that goes without saying. that was some beating ye got off pike, was that played in limerick? still a bit way off that level so, was waters playing?
Roberto
03/08/2011, 8:10 AM
roberto i was talking about Town players who have left the club to join Celtic, only Maguire and Scully are the ones they wished had not got away, graham doyle is a class player, no wonder town wanted to sign him for back, as for waters that goes without saying. that was some beating ye got off pike, was that played in limerick? still a bit way off that level so, was waters playing?
I think we had our wires crossed. The point I was trying to make was that a few years ago Town naturally attracted the best players in Clonmel but the soccer scene here has changed in that Celtic are now providing strong opposition to Town when it comes to recruiting players at all age groups.
Yeah, that game was played in Limerick and Kevin Waters did play. I wasn't at it but I know they were 4 down at half time. You could be right in that they are a bit 'off that level' but I still think they have assembed a decent squad. That result might actually prove a blessing in disguise.
theboywonder8
03/08/2011, 8:12 AM
It was on in limerick and waters was playing,it could have been more,pike missed peno and numorous other chances,if that's their squad they won't cause town or St micks too much bother,IMO
Place Available For One Team This Saturday In Granvile Tournament.
http://beecher.biz/w/d/10.php?bannerid=16&campaignid=2&zoneid=14&source={obfs:}&loc=1&referer=http%3A%2F%2Ffoot.ie%2Fthreads%2F154769-Place-Available-For-One-Team-This-Saturday-In-Granvile-Tournament.&cb=2adaa586ca
Dear Players/Coaches,
My club Granville Rangers of div 1A Limerick are holding a 4 team tournament this coming Saturday, with ourselves, Newcastle West and Glasheen F.C of the Cork Senior League. A team from Clare were due to join us but have pulled out this morning leaving a spot open for someone. It will be a guaranteed two games between 11a.m and 4 p.m and against good opposition. The pitches are in wonderful condition and refreshments will be provided aswell. Anyone intrested please private message me your details and I will pass them on to our manager who will contact you. We need to have a team by 7p.m this evening lads so don't hang around.
Cheers.
rightboy
03/08/2011, 11:29 AM
That was a fair hiding for Celtic but I wouldn't read to much into pre season friendlies as teams are not at full strength and lots of subs used etc
On another note just heard rock rovers are looking to get back into 1st division did anyone hear this , I would have thought they would have to re enter in the bottom division
West Hammer
03/08/2011, 12:13 PM
That was a fair hiding for Celtic but I wouldn't read to much into pre season friendlies as teams are not at full strength and lots of subs used etc
On another note just heard rock rovers are looking to get back into 1st division did anyone hear this , I would have thought they would have to re enter in the bottom division
They would only be aloud back in as a Div 4 team. Clubs re-entering TSDL can not pick and choice in what Div they play. Rock would also have to prove they have finances in place to play out the season and have their Public insurance paid. Even at that TSDL Committee do not have to let them back in.
addict
03/08/2011, 1:07 PM
Does anybody know what the makeup of the leagues are yet. They seem to be very quite about the whole subject. I would have thought that the website would have been updated by now with all the info on new teams and divisions
ponyobrien
03/08/2011, 6:07 PM
Does anybody know what the makeup of the leagues are yet. They seem to be very quite about the whole subject. I would have thought that the website would have been updated by now with all the info on new teams and divisions
They have said there will be Premier games on the 16th and 17th of August, but still no mention of who is in the division. Crazy!!
sportsfan
03/08/2011, 6:41 PM
where did u hear that Pony. There are no Premier midweek fixtures this season. Sunday August 14th 4 Premier matches. Sunday 21st Shield One will have one match to leave 8 teams for 1/4. Same date Shield Div 4 games to leave 8 for 1/4. Sunday 28th Shield 1/4 finals. Youth league starts 20th.
ponyobrien
03/08/2011, 7:37 PM
where did u hear that Pony. There are no Premier midweek fixtures this season. Sunday August 14th 4 Premier matches. Sunday 21st Shield One will have one match to leave 8 teams for 1/4. Same date Shield Div 4 games to leave 8 for 1/4. Sunday 28th Shield 1/4 finals. Youth league starts 20th.
Please note that the Tipperary Southern & District League season 2011/2012 will kick-off on the 16th and 17th August with Premier League games. For further information you can find it just a click away on the official TSDL website http://www.tsdl.ie/
That came from this article http://www.tsdl.ie/news/?NewsID=1175
sportsfan
03/08/2011, 8:38 PM
i see that Pony. The league wrote out to all clubs with info i gave. strange that they have 2 stories out?
sportsfan
03/08/2011, 8:45 PM
Any predictions for new season. Here are mine. Premier St. Michaels. Div 1 Old Bridge. Div 2 Rosegreen. Div 3 Tipperary Town FC. Div 4 Dualla.
footballfanatic
03/08/2011, 9:11 PM
Premier: impossible to call
div 1: glengoole
div 2: killenaule rovers
div 3: dundrum
div 4: two mile borris b
nononsense
03/08/2011, 10:57 PM
They have said there will be Premier games on the 16th and 17th of August, but still no mention of who is in the division. Crazy!!
As I understand it the league starts on Tuesday 16th August with 4 premier league games, all 8 teams in action. Personally was hoping there would be no midweek games with just 8 teams. The composition of the other leagues has still to be finalised. Cahir Park 'B' are gone out of football and rumour around one or two more clubs struggling for players. Rock Rovers haven't applied to come back in any division.
West Hammer
03/08/2011, 11:07 PM
It is going to be a big problem this season, the smaller clubs are finding it hard to get players with so many lads leaving the country. The players are just not there and the standard of football is bound to be affected.
balls
03/08/2011, 11:13 PM
premier clonmel town
div 1 saint nicholas or oldbridge
div 2 cullen lattin
div 3 tipp town fc
div 4 donohill doon celtic
Chops
03/08/2011, 11:22 PM
It will be a disgrace if St.Nicholas are not playing in the premier league this season,whether they want to or not they should have to they came 2nd in Division 1 last season so that should be the end of that,rules are rules at the end of the day.
balls
03/08/2011, 11:35 PM
its confirmed chops nickolas are staying div 1 and cahir premier. rumours that there is a motion coming in next season that the 1 team promoted from division 1 will be a permanent thing
the wombat
03/08/2011, 11:35 PM
It will be a disgrace if St.Nicholas are not playing in the premier league this season,whether they want to or not they should have to they came 2nd in Division 1 last season so that should be the end of that,rules are rules at the end of the day.
i totally agree. Since when can teams choose what division they play in? Its unfair to the division one teams who were genuinely chasing promotion last season.
addict
04/08/2011, 8:29 AM
its confirmed chops nickolas are staying div 1 and cahir premier. rumours that there is a motion coming in next season that the 1 team promoted from division 1 will be a permanent thing
So are you saying that only the top team from Division 1 will be promoted and bottom team from premier will be demoted? Also it was the league that decided to not promote St. Nicks. They had no choice as to what league they were going to be playing in like wombat is suggesting.
West Hammer
04/08/2011, 11:06 AM
So are you saying that only the top team from Division 1 will be promoted and bottom team from premier will be demoted? Also it was the league that decided to not promote St. Nicks. They had no choice as to what league they were going to be playing in like wombat is suggesting.
As far as I know St Nicholas made contact with the league about staying in 1st Div. I feel this has more to do with the league wanting to keep Cahir in premier than leaving nicks in div 1.
cufc champions
04/08/2011, 11:58 AM
Carrick beat Balingarry 3-1 last night, the TSDL side took the lead just after half time after a mix up at the back post. John Murphy Levelled soon after with an excelent free, John James Keyes scored via a deflection after good work down the left. With 10 mins to go Alan Redmond put Carrick 3-1 up with a sliding finish from a pull back from John James Keyes.
Carrick struggled to break down the 5 man midfield balingarry had in place. They had a heap of the ball in their own half but couldn't get through the banks of defenders. Fair play to Balingarry they were very game and look like the enjoyed the work out. Carrick play Shamrock Rovers of Wexford on Monday in Ozier Park as part of a quandrangular tournament Clonmel Town Play the Kilkenny Champions Evergreen in the other Semi, im not sure when.
. Carrick play Shamrock Rovers of Wexford on Monday in Ozier Park as part of a quandrangular tournament Clonmel Town Play the Kilkenny Champions Evergreen in the other Semi, im not sure when.
Read it in local free paper that it was other way round - Town v E'green - Monday, Carrick v Rovers - Tuesday with final following Saturday (all 6.30 in Ozier). Either way looks a great idea particularly with 3euro admission going to charity. Well worth a few visits (bit of sunshine too maybe!)
cufc champions
04/08/2011, 1:28 PM
Read it in local free paper that it was other way round - Town v E'green - Monday, Carrick v Rovers - Tuesday with final following Saturday (all 6.30 in Ozier). Either way looks a great idea particularly with 3euro admission going to charity. Well worth a few visits (bit of sunshine too maybe!)
You could be right all I got is Hear/say Can one of the town boys confirm either way???
You could be right all I got is Hear/say Can one of the town boys confirm either way???Yea Town to play Evergreen on monday night in ozier park
Sorry addict but your wrong St.Nicholas made contact to try stay in Division 1 which was successful an absolute disgrace IMO its moyglass who i feel sorry on who wanted to get into the Premiership...St.Nicholas did all they could at the end of last season not to get runners up spot and before anybody jumps down my throat it was a brother of one of their players who said they deliberately lost games when the chance of winning the league was gone.It was a pity Moyglass couldnt win their last game as they went about things the right way.
fairdecision
04/08/2011, 4:29 PM
I heard it from from a few lads who played Nic's in one of their final games. They said some of the Nic's players were openly telling them that they didn't want to win the game and wanted to stay in the first division. Can`t blame them in a way because sometimes when smaller clubs go up and have a bad season and come straight back down they can struggle for a few seasons. Look at old bridge last season, they needed a few wins in the last few weeks to stay up and not go down to the second even though they weren`t too bad in the premier the year before.
Anyway
Celtic premier
Nics 1st
Cashel B 2nd
Tipp town 3rd
Borris B 4th
SgtBilko
04/08/2011, 6:47 PM
it suits the tsdl to have cahir in it with their nice pitch and also cahir giving the league a hand in doing town youths out of a final appearance which meant their juniors wudnt get relegated, all happy out now
West Hammer
04/08/2011, 7:44 PM
The problem is if the league make it a fixed rule this season and the team that comes 2nd in Div 1 wants to go up they won't be able just because st Nic's got their way and were aloud to stay in Div one.
addict
04/08/2011, 8:58 PM
Sorry addict but your wrong St.Nicholas made contact to try stay in Division 1 which was successful an absolute disgrace IMO its moyglass who i feel sorry on who wanted to get into the Premiership...St.Nicholas did all they could at the end of last season not to get runners up spot and before anybody jumps down my throat it was a brother of one of their players who said they deliberately lost games when the chance of winning the league was gone.It was a pity Moyglass couldnt win their last game as they went about things the right way.
I'd would love to know where you got this information from? There is no way st. nicks contacted the league looking to stay in Div 1. I am surprised that they didn't promote two and relegate one to put the premier back to 9 teams to give a few extra games but to say that they have changed the rules to suit St. Nicholas is ridiculous.
stelling
04/08/2011, 9:02 PM
I'd would love to know where you got this information from? There is no way st. nicks contacted the league looking to stay in Div 1. I am surprised that they didn't promote two and relegate one to put the premier back to 9 teams to give a few extra games but to say that they have changed the rules to suit St. Nicholas is ridiculous.
Addict you must be the only person who is not aware of this,At the TSDL meeting St Nicks had their letter to the league read out where they requested to remain in the first division,its common knowledge,ask any member if the TSDL committee
theboywonder8
05/08/2011, 8:40 AM
Were St michaels poor last night or what,didn't see any report of the game???,but then again they didn't win so didn't expect 1,
addict
05/08/2011, 9:30 AM
Addict you must be the only person who is not aware of this,At the TSDL meeting St Nicks had their letter to the league read out where they requested to remain in the first division,its common knowledge,ask any member if the TSDL committee
Fair enough but was there also a letter from Chair asking not to be relegated?
rightboy
05/08/2011, 2:11 PM
Heard saints fairview good game neither side full strength made lots of changes but good work out for saints as they are only back since last week
On st Nicholas i think it's a disgrace the wAy they behaved it certainly sends out wrong message to other clubs who want to progress I know for a fact lots of lads in Rosegreen and moyglass not to happy about their conduct
Tipp Top
05/08/2011, 2:31 PM
Heard saints fairview good game neither side full strength made lots of changes but good work out for saints as they are only back since last week
On st Nicholas i think it's a disgrace the wAy they behaved it certainly sends out wrong message to other clubs who want to progress I know for a fact lots of lads in Rosegreen and moyglass not to happy about their conduct
Hahahahahhaha Rosegreen are not happy,i have heard it all now,is this the same Rosegreen who would not field a team in the premier league a few seasons ago,made a complete mockery of the premier league,was a joke and they should have been thrown out