View Full Version : 2011 attendances

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24

bluewhitearmy
11/04/2011, 8:09 PM
Is your name an attempt at irony then?

Name says nothing about til the end of every match?

11/04/2011, 8:22 PM
Is your name an attempt at irony then?

http://3.7mustang.com/vb/attachments/f19/148875d1300826522-what-did-you-just-buy-n121391_citizen%252520kane%252520clap.gif

WindmillWarrior
11/04/2011, 9:16 PM
Right lads the story is, and this is from the club, that we've budgeted for crowds of around 500 for this season. Towards the end of last season we were actually getting crowds in the low hundreds - a fact I had no problem with reporting here at the time. But the lowest crowd we've had so this season was for UCD - that was a crowd of 666, plus a couple of hundred under 14s who get in free. No crowd as been smaller than that so far. Thats a fact, and it has pleasantly surprised everyone! for the Rovers game they had a support there of around 900, maybe more - so you could even make that game a 50-50 split.

JC_GUFC
12/04/2011, 9:00 AM
Right lads the story is, and this is from the club, that we've budgeted for crowds of around 500 for this season. Towards the end of last season we were actually getting crowds in the low hundreds - a fact I had no problem with reporting here at the time. But the lowest crowd we've had so this season was for UCD - that was a crowd of 666, plus a couple of hundred under 14s who get in free. No crowd as been smaller than that so far. Thats a fact, and it has pleasantly surprised everyone! for the Rovers game they had a support there of around 900, maybe more - so you could even make that game a 50-50 split.

There's no way there were 900 there on Friday.

I was in the terrace and at the very max there were 30 there - in the far stand there was at the very max 500. I couldn't see the small stand but that surely can't site more than 250. So that's 780 which is really pushing the limits - unless there were 120 in the bar and that's why we couldn't go in I can't see where you're getting 900 from!

BTW although low on content I thought the programme looked excellent - really good quality printing and very reasonably priced at €2 - similarly €10 to get in to the terrace was good value.

WindmillWarrior
12/04/2011, 9:24 AM
There's no way there were 900 there on Friday.

I was in the terrace and at the very max there were 30 there - in the far stand there was at the very max 500. I couldn't see the small stand but that surely can't site more than 250. So that's 780 which is really pushing the limits - unless there were 120 in the bar and that's why we couldn't go in I can't see where you're getting 900 from!

There were a few heads in the bar alright, and a few who stand down in front of the clubhouse.
But maybe you're right with the 500 figure in the home terrace. It can be hard to tell when you're in it, and I am just estimating from using that original opening day figure for the UCD game.
Also remember though that there is still a terraced area at the back (behind the seats) for standing, and a lot of people do still stand up there. Also the small seated stand holds 350/400 (tho that was half full at best on friday night)

pateen
12/04/2011, 1:56 PM
Any attendance for the Setanta cup last night. Rovers v Rovers. Would have imagined a 4000 sell out though it was Monday.

Rasputin
12/04/2011, 2:26 PM
Any attendance for the Setanta cup last night. Rovers v Rovers. Would have imagined a 4000 sell out though it was Monday.
Nowhere near that, probably about 2200 with around 250 Shams fans.

marinobohs
12/04/2011, 2:59 PM

Only 250 ? despite the very direct bus/plane/train/ 12 mile swim that takes you from tallaght to Sligo in only 14 minutes ? ;)

Rasputin
12/04/2011, 3:21 PM
Only 250 ? despite the very direct bus/plane/train/ 12 mile swim that takes you from tallaght to Sligo in only 14 minutes ? ;)
Flights were cancelled due to an unusual flying saucer encroaching on Sligo airspace from the greater Dublin direction.

pateen
12/04/2011, 3:21 PM

A bad night for it but thats poor in fairness.

Rasputin
12/04/2011, 3:22 PM
Monday night in the Setanta cup? Its not great but far from poor considering there is no interest in this competition.

redobit
12/04/2011, 3:33 PM

We have 10 games in a month, not doubt Shams do too. Following a team especially if you have a couple of kids in very expensive. First leg on a Monday night in the Setanta 2200 isint a bad crowd.

12/04/2011, 4:11 PM
A bad night for it but thats poor in fairness.Almond.

I was expecting 1,500 maximum. If attendance was 2,200 then that's great.

Strawberry
12/04/2011, 4:37 PM
Didn't think it was too bad for a Setanta cup game, second home game in 48 hours too

Buller
12/04/2011, 11:51 PM

Were you being serious?! 2200 was a great crowd for a monday night in a competition with very little interest.

bluemovie
13/04/2011, 4:15 PM
752 is laughable! where did that number come out of? :S at least 1200 there IMO

It's bizarre. Everyone (Blues and Cork fans) that was there reckoned there were way more than 1000. I would have agreed with your estimate. 752 is the official figure. Read into that what you want.

SPXcyan
14/04/2011, 12:10 PM
Something isn't right there :S

Paddyfield
14/04/2011, 10:08 PM
Can we get back on topic here?

The official attendance for tomorrow's game between Galway United and Derry City at Terryland Park will be 1,412. It would have been more if we had taken our chances agains Drogheda last weekend.

Fair play to the 200 city fans who will make the long journey on such a miserable night. And damn those Connacht Rugby people for having a game on the same night.

gufcfan
14/04/2011, 10:36 PM
The official attendance for tomorrow's game between Galway United and Derry City at Terryland Park will be 1,412.
Thanks for that...

It would have been more if we had taken our chances agains Drogheda last weekend.

We took enough chances, we were just robbed.

blue til i die
14/04/2011, 10:46 PM
It's bizarre. Everyone (Blues and Cork fans) that was there reckoned there were way more than 1000. I would have agreed with your estimate. 752 is the official figure. Read into that what you want.

I agree that there was more than 752 but the RSC is always very hard to get an attendance for. Sitting in the old stand it always looks very full, but when you look at it from the front, its looks empty with nobody in block A/b or any of the front 10 rows in all blocks. I would have said 900ish, but no-where near the people saying 1200/1300.

And in the clubs defence, if thats what the clockers are saying then they have no reason not to believe it!

15/04/2011, 10:54 AM
Updates after week 6. Extratime.ie gives 300 est for Athlone v Shels.

PREMIER DIVISION
Bohs - 1,893 (2010 - 1,835; 2009 - 2,366; 2008 - 1,993; 2007 - 1,924; 2006 - 1,463; 2005 - 1,976)
Bray - 1,350 (952; 1,169; 1,106; 1,200; 1,027; 1,550)
Derry - 3,089 (1,965 FD; 2,436; 3,363; 2,614; 3,229; 2,698)
Drogheda - 867 (859; 1,106; 1,631; 1,919; 1,751; 1,682)
Dundalk - 1,867 (1,877; 2,371; 1,459 FD; 1,406 FD; 1,078 FD; 474 FD)
Galway - 1,454 (869; 1,076; 1,393; 2,199; 1,148 FD; 566 FD)
Pat's - 1,673 (1,756; 1,631; 1,795; 1,910; 1,342; 1,599)
Rovers - 5,059 (3,794; 3,611; 1,468; 1,715; 1,089 FD; 1,539)
Sligo - 3,200 (1,807; 1,756; 1,960; 1,448; 1,806; 1,794 FD)
UCD - 504 (610; 272 FD; 546; 663; 546; 653; 306 FD)

FIRST DIVISION
Athlone - 297 (354; 462; 387; 670; 421; 316)
Cork - 2,091 (1,693; 2,681 PD; 3,142 PD; 2,897 PD; 2,941 PD; 3,644 PD)
Harps - 539 (644; 480; 1,607 PD; 1,164; 428; 1,347 PD; 1,106) (missing Salthill)
Limerick - 543 (598; 429; 517; 670; 364; 669)
Longford - 610 (230; 260; 406; 885 PD; 681 PD; 1,004 PD)
Mervue - 525 (123; 166)
Monaghan - 320 (410; 183; 177; 292; 204; 183) (missing Longford and Salthill)
Salthill Devon - 131 (122)
Shels - 808 (737; 972; 986; 888; 1,690 PD; 1,949 PD)
Waterford - 662 (619; 434; 670; 1,181 PD; 915 PD; 1,513 PD)
Wexford - 325 (343; 494; 767; 810)

Premier Division average - 2,045 (1,512; 2,010; 1,746; 1,687; 1,535; 1,759)
First Division average - 670 (682; 417; 641; 722; 570; 520)

Overall average - 1,407 (1,095; 1,175; 1,221; 1,235; 1,070; 1,195)

Recent games missing -
Harps v Salthill
Monaghan v Longford

15/04/2011, 11:07 AM
Rovers - Bray was definitely around the 4000 mark. It was the first game in ages with big queues to get in because they obviously expected less.

15/04/2011, 3:57 PM
Recent games missing -
Rovers v Bray - 2500 per extratime or 4250 per a poster at the match?

I dunno about 4250 or 4251, but there was a lot more than 2,500 at it.

First game at Tallaght that I've had to queue with or without a season ticket.

15/04/2011, 4:07 PM
I'll put it in at 4,000 so seeing as everyone's in agreement (and it does seem more plausible).

Paddyfield
15/04/2011, 9:09 PM
893 was the official figure for Galway United V Derry.

Smallest traveling support I have ever seen from Derry - around 40.

bullit
15/04/2011, 9:33 PM
Sligos famous traveling support must have lost their way to Oriel Park tonight !! Bout 60/70 of them in........

Rasputin
15/04/2011, 9:54 PM
Sligos famous traveling support must have lost their way to Oriel Park tonight !! Bout 60/70 of them in........
From a Dundalk fan? Hilarious stuff.

peadar1987
15/04/2011, 10:03 PM
About 700 tops in Bray tonight again I'd say. It's a pity, because I can't remember the last time we played so well. It finished 2-1, but we could easily have had 5

bullit
15/04/2011, 10:05 PM
From a Dundalk fan? Hilarious stuff.
What part do you find hilarious ??(i want to use the joke in future posts)
I would say the attendance was 1500 which was disapointing i must say.
BTW a Sligo fan took all of 10 seconds to start a scuffle on admittance to the Lilywhite bar at H/T:shock:

15/04/2011, 11:21 PM
on extratimes website there was nothin mentioned about the attendance in gortakeegan but I am very confident there was 500-600 people at it. There was a big travelling support from us and Monaghan brought out a good crowd and there was vocal support from both sides. Magicme would probably have a better idea of the attendance than me!

15/04/2011, 11:33 PM
Cork City v Finn Harps - 2,044

http://corkcityfc.net/updates/

Mr Maroon
16/04/2011, 12:05 AM

Very disappointing crowd but Connacht were giving away free tickets because it was their last home match of the season.

srfc1928
16/04/2011, 12:45 AM
Id say alot couldnt afford to go.
Like yourselves we've had a lot of games recently
Portadown away lsat monday week
Pats home on sat
shams home on mon
then yerselves tonight
I was in Portadown, and its very hard to go looking for time off work to go again this evening.
Then you have a lot of lads not working.
As was said before most games are 3 hours away for us.
That is the reality.

16/04/2011, 12:57 AM
BTW a Sligo fan took all of 10 seconds to start a scuffle on admittance to the Lilywhite bar at H/T:shock:

I know that guy and you'll have to make allowances for him - he's not as fast as he used to be.

16/04/2011, 1:32 AM
No more than 175 at Mervue Limerick with about 50 or 60 blues.

I can only assume they have been pulling their previous attendances out of a rather large lying anus.

bullit
16/04/2011, 1:33 AM
Id say alot couldnt afford to go.
Like yourselves we've had a lot of games recently
Portadown away lsat monday week
Pats home on sat
shams home on mon
then yerselves tonight
I was in Portadown, and its very hard to go looking for time off work to go again this evening.
Then you have a lot of lads not working.
As was said before most games are 3 hours away for us.
That is the reality.
Thats the truth.We can get near 2000 to a UCD match on a promotion,yet with no promotion we cant get over 1600 into the ground for a more attractive fixture!!
What is the solution ??

bullit
16/04/2011, 1:35 AM
I know that guy and you'll have to make allowances for him - he's not as fast as he used to be.
Brill:rolleyes:
Go to the top of the class

(and slavishly thanked :cool:)

16/04/2011, 1:36 AM
What is the solution ??

Relegation.

Place used to be jammed anytime I was up there with Limerick.

Rasputin
16/04/2011, 8:42 AM
The fact where yee brought about 10 fans to Derry.

No baseball bat this time?

peadar1987
16/04/2011, 9:57 AM

I can only assume they have been pulling their previous attendances out of a rather large lying anus.

Could just have been because Galway United and Connacht rugby were both playing at home on the same night.

GUFCghost
16/04/2011, 10:01 AM

Is that counting season ticket holders also?

Patrick Dunne
16/04/2011, 3:14 PM
Yes. Season ticket holders included.

maksimir
16/04/2011, 3:23 PM
Yeah I can confirm 2,044 at Turners Cross for City v Harps with 9 Harps down - fair play to them. For those attendance nerds amongst us I went with my mate and his young lad who did'nt have to pay - the turnstile obviously clicked him through but only the two paying adult tickets were scanned. When the match was underway I guessed 2,000 but my mate who has been going way longer than me said 2,500 and with all the kids in the ground he's probably correct numerically but the 2,044 were paying? Anyways, a good crowd with next to no away support (no wum intended btw, great effort for those Harps who came) - decent in this division and if we can keep going with this form, crowds may push up to 2,500 averages.

bullit
16/04/2011, 4:43 PM
The fact where yee brought about 10 fans to Derry.

Yeah its relaly funny,ive just picked myself up of the ground from laughing:rolleyes:
I take it that you were in Derry ??
Or where you trying to count the fans on tv.There was more than 60 DFC fans there.Get it right.;)

Rasputin
16/04/2011, 7:26 PM
Yeah its relaly funny,ive just picked myself up of the ground from laughing:rolleyes:
Wouldnt say its that funny...

I take it that you were in Derry ??
Or where you trying to count the fans on tv.There was more than 60 DFC fans there.Get it right.;)
More than 60? Well thats a blatant lie.

geezer
16/04/2011, 7:58 PM

Galway United, Mervue Utd, Connacht Rugby all played at the same time within a 2 mile radius, about 2000 attended all events , crazy situation so the 200 or so in Mervue was probably right and a 100 of them based on what i see at their games would have been in Terryland, they probably lost another 100 to Connacht rugby considering eric elwood (connacht coach) is from Mervue . GUFC would have lost 3-400 between the 2 games and take way the 500 sligo fans the previous week you can see the problem of 3 games at the exact same time in such a small friday night market

gufcfan
16/04/2011, 9:54 PM

The match report submitted to Extratime.ie with the alleged attendance figure was written by the Mervue United P.R.O.

There isn't too much wrong with that in itself, but the attendance figures coming from Fahys Field have been absolute nonsense, according to a number of people who have attend all their games so far this season.

When you are talking about people estimating numbers when the attendance is in 4 figures, it can vary wildly, but when you are talking a couple of hundred...

16/04/2011, 11:49 PM
any idea how many brave souls ventured forth towards ye old flansiro last night?

17/04/2011, 5:11 AM
Yeah I can confirm 2,044 at Turners Cross for City v Harps with 9 Harps down - fair play to them. For those attendance nerds amongst us I went with my mate and his young lad who did'nt have to pay - the turnstile obviously clicked him through but only the two paying adult tickets were scanned. When the match was underway I guessed 2,000 but my mate who has been going way longer than me said 2,500 and with all the kids in the ground he's probably correct numerically but the 2,044 were paying? Anyways, a good crowd with next to no away support (no wum intended btw, great effort for those Harps who came) - decent in this division and if we can keep going with this form, crowds may push up to 2,500 averages.

Scanning the tickets is the most accurate way to get attendance quickly. Tbh I doubt there are enough under 5's at the games to make a difference to attendance. Anyone over 5 should have a ticket.

17/04/2011, 8:34 AM
For the record, there was a massive 13 of us at the game. I blame the last one of the 13 to come in the gate for the result. Unlucky number and all.......