View Full Version : 2011 attendances

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24

gufc2000
22/05/2011, 11:27 AM
About 1800 tonight with 14 Galway fans, yes I repeat, 14 Galway fans, what a joke.
Not really much of a joke tbh. We're getting beat well week in week out, on our worst league run in ten years and we have a shocking record up in the Showgrounds. People are picking and choosing what games they go to now. I'd be more concerned about getting our home crowds sorted first. We've a massive game Thursday night, I'd much prefer to see the crowd there in Terryland, rather than travelling to Sligo.

gufc2000
22/05/2011, 12:19 PM
Athlone-Waterford has an estimate of 200 on extratime

gufcfan
22/05/2011, 1:33 PM
The rest of them were in the home section. Admittedly not many, but still.

Hurt Locker
22/05/2011, 1:44 PM
About 1800 tonight with 14 Galway fans, yes I repeat, 14 Galway fans, what a joke.

Would vAthlone vSalthill vMervue not be bigger derby games although not in the same division? Would Sligo v Harps not be more of a derby match?

The Lep
22/05/2011, 1:58 PM

Its a bit of a trek to Sligo from Galway so id say fair play to those that travelled. Roughly how much would Sigo have at Galway ?

22/05/2011, 2:19 PM
Its a bit of a trek to Sligo from Galway

No it isn't.

Understandable enough though, Galway are appalling by all acounts, I remember two or three Sligo fans at a match in Pike, two years later, 150 of them in Rathbane, tis the way of the world.

Hurt Locker
22/05/2011, 2:57 PM
It is a bit of a trek to Sligo from Galway the roads are pretty pretty poor, no rail service. It's a 100 miles from ballinasloe to clifden both are in Co.Galway (it's the second biggest county in ireland) I don't think all their supporters come from the city. If you lived in the east of Galway you'd get to Dublin quicker than Sligo for a match due to the new motorways.

22/05/2011, 5:34 PM
Its a bit of a trek to Sligo from Galway so id say fair play to those that travelled. Roughly how much would Sigo have at Galway ?
It is a bit of a trek to Sligo from Galway the roads are pretty pretty poor, no rail service.No it's not a trek, it takes just under 2 hours. A trek for LOI fans based in Dublin alright as ye are used to a 20 min trip across the city but not for us or Galway.

And to answer The Lep, we take anything from 150-3/400 to Galway usually.

22/05/2011, 6:36 PM
Update after last couple of rounds. Will update for any official figures that get posted.

PREMIER DIVISION
Bohs - 1,717 (2010 - 1,835; 2009 - 2,366; 2008 - 1,993; 2007 - 1,924; 2006 - 1,463; 2005 - 1,976) (missing Pat's)
Bray - 1,079 (952; 1,169; 1,106; 1,200; 1,027; 1,550)
Derry - 2,496 (1,965 FD; 2,436; 3,363; 2,614; 3,229; 2,698)
Drogheda - 874 (859; 1,106; 1,631; 1,919; 1,751; 1,682)
Dundalk - 1,742 (1,877; 2,371; 1,459 FD; 1,406 FD; 1,078 FD; 474 FD)
Galway - 1,123 (869; 1,076; 1,393; 2,199; 1,148 FD; 566 FD)
Pat's - 1,524 (1,756; 1,631; 1,795; 1,910; 1,342; 1,599)
Rovers - 4,242 (3,794; 3,611; 1,468; 1,715; 1,089 FD; 1,539)
Sligo - 2,348 (1,807; 1,756; 1,960; 1,448; 1,806; 1,794 FD)
UCD - 429 (610; 272 FD; 546; 663; 546; 653; 306 FD)

FIRST DIVISION
Athlone - 207 (354; 462; 387; 670; 421; 316)
Cork - 2,078 (1,693; 2,681 PD; 3,142 PD; 2,897 PD; 2,941 PD; 3,644 PD)
Harps - 519 (644; 480; 1,607 PD; 1,164; 428; 1,347 PD; 1,106)
Limerick - 483 (598; 429; 517; 670; 364; 669)
Longford - 486 (230; 260; 406; 885 PD; 681 PD; 1,004 PD)
Mervue - 368 (123; 166)
Monaghan - 260 (410; 183; 177; 292; 204; 183) (missing Longford, Salthill and Wexford)
Salthill Devon - 152 (122)
Shels - 834 (737; 972; 986; 888; 1,690 PD; 1,949 PD)
Waterford - 580 (619; 434; 670; 1,181 PD; 915 PD; 1,513 PD)
Wexford - 288 (343; 494; 767; 810)

Premier Division average - 1,721 (1,512; 2,010; 1,746; 1,687; 1,535; 1,759)
First Division average - 573 (682; 417; 641; 722; 570; 520)

Overall average - 1,193 (1,095; 1,175; 1,221; 1,235; 1,070; 1,195)

22/05/2011, 7:43 PM
pineapple at gortakeegan there was a fairly big crowd at mons versus us. I would safely say that there was 500 at it as we had one of the bigger away travelling supports of the season so far!

oriel
22/05/2011, 9:39 PM
So we`ll just go with the Irish Times figure of 2,500 then for Rovers v Drogs as opposed to dfx version of 3,300 then ?

Then again its not far off the Rovers crowd in the (home) Setanta Cup final crowd of 4,700.

Rasputin
23/05/2011, 8:39 AM
Would vAthlone vSalthill vMervue not be bigger derby games although not in the same division? Would Sligo v Harps not be more of a derby match?
From our perspective the Galway games have never been really a derby game, although I know the media refer to it as such and a few seasons ago some Galway fans used to hype it up but in the past season or two its returned to normal, i.e. just a usual game.
Over the past season or two we have been bringing quite large crowds to Terryland, anything from 400 to 600 but thats understandable seeing as our upturn in fortunes.
But even in the dark DOR days we never brought 14 to Galway, like at this stage UCD have a better travelling support.
As for it being a trek, its at least 2 hours, sometimes 2 and a half, but then that is as close an away game as we get, Galway and Derry being about the closest to us in the league.

El-Pietro
23/05/2011, 9:16 AM
Cork City FC. Third biggest club in Ireland, and we're in the first division!

had to get that in before we host mervue on Thursday night and our average plummets

Straightstory
23/05/2011, 9:36 AM
Very sad to see Athlone's gates have slumped to an average of 207. I remember them winning leagues and playing in Europe.
Salthill Devon's 152 is scarcely believable.

23/05/2011, 10:23 AM
its at least 2 hours, sometimes 2 and a halfMaybe by bus but not by car.

No it's not a trek, it takes just under 2 hours

Red Army
23/05/2011, 10:42 AM
In fairness less then 20 supporters on a Saturday evening is really bad it's only a hour and 45 minutes away. Drogs are in as bad as position as GU and have further to travel on worse roads but still brought more fans and showed more passion. It's Galway fans who hype up this fixture as been their big derby so would expect them to travel but we shouldn't be surprised they have never been known to travel in half decent numbers anywhere unless it's a big game or the team is doing well. It's a different mentality down in Galway almost GAA esque which is understandable given that Galway isn't seen as a Football town.

harleyleeds
23/05/2011, 11:01 AM

:good::good::good: HARPS yes

23/05/2011, 11:46 AM
Woo-hoo, 4th in the league

Strawberry
23/05/2011, 12:13 PM
Cork City FC. Third biggest club in Ireland, and we're in the first division!

had to get that in before we host mervue on Thursday night and our average plummets

4th no?

Red Army
23/05/2011, 12:19 PM
How can a new club that never won anything even be in the top ten biggest clubs?

El-Pietro
23/05/2011, 12:29 PM
ah 4th yes. think I missed Sligo when I was going through it. Still pretty impressive.

Rasputin
23/05/2011, 1:08 PM
ah 4th yes. think I missed Sligo when I was going through it. Still pretty impressive.
Not really when you consider the population pool Cork have to pull from.

Hurt Locker
24/05/2011, 10:26 AM
Very sad to see Athlone's gates have slumped to an average of 207. I remember them winning leagues and playing in Europe.
Salthill Devon's 152 is scarcely believable.
Salthill Devon draw support from couple of housing estates, these figures are to be expected.

Candystripe
24/05/2011, 2:18 PM
Derry City V Bray 1,894

Edit: just noticed the estimate from extra-time of 1,900. That was very good whoever got it.

24/05/2011, 2:49 PM
estimates on the Bohs-Pats game between 2000 to 2200 on the Bohs website.

GalwayRed
24/05/2011, 3:06 PM
Over the past season or two we have been bringing quite large crowds to Terryland, anything from 400 to 600 but thats understandable seeing as our upturn in fortunes.

Sligo do have very good support and all and I dont know about the game this season, but there was nothing like 400-600 Sligo fans at the games in Terryland last season.

24/05/2011, 4:13 PM
So we`ll just go with the Irish Times figure of 2,500 then for Rovers v Drogs as opposed to dfx version of 3,300 then ?
It was 2526, which looks like an official number (and knowing that the Irish Times print the official numbers where possible).

poster
24/05/2011, 4:56 PM
Sligo do have very good support and all and I dont know about the game this season, but there was nothing like 400-600 Sligo fans at the games in Terryland last season.

Would have said about 300 that day..

Rasputin
25/05/2011, 8:25 AM
First away game in Terryland last season I would have said at least 400. Cant comment on the second away game in Terryland.

25/05/2011, 10:25 AM
What is it with Sligo Fans are we all supposed to go on bended knee to the north west and pray. We are going through our worst run in 10 years of course our away support is going to reflect it but if we were challenging at the top end like any other club we would have day trippers jumping on the bandwagon.

We have a hardcore of about 600 and after that it depends on the weather,getting their hair done or what soap is on the telly.

Rasputin
25/05/2011, 12:56 PM
What is it with Sligo Fans are we all supposed to go on bended knee to the north west and pray. We are going through our worst run in 10 years of course our away support is going to reflect it but if we were challenging at the top end like any other club we would have day trippers jumping on the bandwagon.

We have a hardcore of about 600 and after that it depends on the weather,getting their hair done or what soap is on the telly.
I think it has been pointed out here before that the likes of Drogheda who are argueably going through a worse faze than Galway still manage to bring more than Galway, even though the distance is further and the journey is worse.
I find it all highly ironic considering it wasnt so long ago that Galway were the FAI's latest pet project before they jumped on the Tallaght bandwagon.

GalwayRed
25/05/2011, 2:33 PM
First away game in Terryland last season I would have said at least 400. Cant comment on the second away game in Terryland.
They were both played mid week and I don't remember either game having more than 200 Sligo fans and I was sitting right across from them. They were great crowds considering the games were mid week but neither crowd was 400+.

cob655
25/05/2011, 8:49 PM
Salthill Devon draw support from couple of housing estates, these figures are to be expected.

Salthill have a pop. of 3,376 so 1 in 22 people isnt bad at all for a team that struggles.
Galways city 72,414 when there getting 1,123 which is 1 in 64 people.
Dundalk 35,085, 1 in 20.
Drogheda 35,085 1 in 40. (lol both wikis give this figure but i know at the last census dundalk had 3 more people.)
Bray 31,901 1 in 29.5
Shams Rovers 65,167 1 in 15 (I have to say thats very good,do they pull in much support from the rest of the city?)
Sligo 19,402 1 in 8 (the best support per person in pop as far as i can see!)
Cork city 274,000 1 in 131 (doesnt look so good when you put it that way...)
I just did this to see what the potential for some areas where and who were die-hard supporting areas..

I used wiki and it was the 2006 census so some figures may be well off now. any one want to do a full one work away.It may also be interesting to do it for areas like portlaiose and other big towns that dont have a LOI team but still have loads of EPL supporters...

PartySaint
25/05/2011, 11:31 PM
AFAIK there is over 100,000 people living in Tallaght so that 65,167 is way off

Mr Maroon
26/05/2011, 1:00 AM
Salthill have a pop. of 3,376 so 1 in 22 people isnt bad at all for a team that struggles.

Drom isn't actually in Salthill.

26/05/2011, 2:58 AM
Cork city 274,000 1 in 131 (doesnt look so good when you put it that way...)

Looks even worse when you consider a large amount of our support comes from outside the city.

I'm happy with our attendances so far this season(though tonights farce will hurt the average) but that's in context of the division, and relative to other. In a general sense I don't think anyone could be happy with their teams attendances.

Hurt Locker
26/05/2011, 11:10 AM
Drom isn't actually in Salthill.

Is Drom in newcastle? UCG use drom alot I think.

Pearse stadium is in salthill (cap approx 34,000)

Devon is a housing estate in salthill where the club was formed.

Salthill Gaa very strong, good club set up former all ireland bog ball club champions.

Mr Maroon
26/05/2011, 2:22 PM
Is Drom in newcastle? UCG use drom alot I think.

Pearse stadium is in salthill (cap approx 34,000)

Salthill Gaa very strong, good club set up former all ireland bog ball club champions.

The address of Drom is Drom Soccer Park, Drom East, Rahoon. It's really in the middle of no where though.

I can't find a population for Rahoon.

NUIG have their own set up in Dangan.

bluemovie
26/05/2011, 2:45 PM

Devon is a place on earth.

bluemovie
26/05/2011, 2:45 PM
Derry City V Bray 1,894

Edit: just noticed the estimate from extra-time of 1,900. That was very good whoever got it.

Meh. Not bad.

Hurt Locker
26/05/2011, 4:10 PM
The address of Drom is Drom Soccer Park, Drom East, Rahoon. It's really in the middle of no where though.

I can't find a population for Rahoon.

NUIG have their own set up in Dangan.

Sorry got Drom mixed up with Dangan.

Rahoon is right beside salthill and about 10 mins in a car from terryland?

26/05/2011, 4:38 PM
Drom is in the middle of nowhere, seriously. You're thinking of the part of Rahoon that's in the City- it extends waaaaay out into the hills.

If Drom were any further out it'd be in feckin Mayo.

26/05/2011, 9:16 PM
1206 at the Cross tonight despite the best efforts of the FAI and the MFA

26/05/2011, 10:39 PM
very poor crowd at youths game tonight in flancare.. reckon estimate 150 people were at it..shame on fai for switchin games to a thursday night..

26/05/2011, 10:44 PM
About 350 in Finn Park. Terrible.

oriel
26/05/2011, 11:07 PM
1,600 at Dundalk as per www.dundalkfc.com well down at what we would have expected for a Friday night.

26/05/2011, 11:25 PM
54 (FIFTY FOUR) at Salthill Devon v Limerick in a freezing cold Drom. 8 (EIGHT) Salthill fans, the rest travelled up.

:bulgy:

26/05/2011, 11:26 PM
1,600 at Dundalk as per www.dundalkfc.com well down at what we would have expected for a Friday night.

Thought Derry had a small support down, understandable for a Thursday night though.

bullit
26/05/2011, 11:51 PM
1600 is a good crowd for a Thursday night !! I dont think it would have been bettered had we have played on Friday,bar a(wee) few more from the Maiden city. ;)

Red Army
27/05/2011, 6:56 AM
I see there was only 1000 in Inchicore last night. Refused to travel myself I know we'd be hurting our own clubs but fans have to take a stance and boycott all these mid week games. It's easy to blame the FAI for these cr@ppy fixtures but clubs need to get a backbone and just say no.