View Full Version : 2025 Arrivals and Departures
oriel
03/12/2024, 10:06 PM
Whos he Joey B?
Hakiki was exceptional in a very poor Dundalk side when he joined in July, had good games into August, and almost reminded some of us of Jamie McGrath in looks and play, then we saw little of his talent after that, would have def liked to have kept him but wouldn't blame any player for leaving after the mess of 2024 and not play in FD!
We need the better FD standard players next season, who know the division.
Shearer
04/12/2024, 9:02 AM
Lee Devitt and Corey Chambers signed up for next season by Treaty United.
Have seen little else in the First Division but saw that Antonio Tuta is a free agent on social media and his LinkedIn.
04/12/2024, 9:29 AM
Hakiki was exceptional in a very poor Dundalk side when he joined in July, had good games into August, and almost reminded some of us of Jamie McGrath in looks and play, then we saw little of his talent after that, would have def liked to have kept him but wouldn't blame any player for leaving after the mess of 2024 and not play in FD!
We need the better FD standard players next season, who know the division.
I was hugely excited when I saw him first but after that he appeared very easy to shove off the ball and extremely lazy at times, maybe he knew he was fighting a lost cause.
04/12/2024, 9:30 AM
Have seen little else in the First Division but saw that Antonio Tuta is a free agent on social media and his LinkedIn.
Very very quiet across the division, could be down to the UEFA money issue and clubs waiting to see how things play out
04/12/2024, 9:31 AM
What came out during our 100 year anniversary celebrations was when SK was in charge of us he was close to walking out of us at the time we had a two grand weekly budget only that one of the board members found 2k in cash under his mattress and SK stayed in the end!
I think you might be talking about the story where the club hadn't the money to pay the players, Kenny always told the board he would walk if players went unpaid, he was going to quit after a home game one night but someone ran home and scrapped together a load of pennies to make up the deficit and paid the players that night.
joey B
04/12/2024, 10:37 AM
Mick McDermott named Cobh Ramblers manager,an absolute spoofer ,another Dave Rogers !
2 Year Contract
04/12/2024, 10:37 AM
Ex Glentoran manager Mick McDermott has been announced as Cobh Ramblers new manager. Was most recently the assistant manager of the Qatar national team randomly enough
Glen Of Aherlow
04/12/2024, 10:40 AM
Ex Glentoran manager Mick McDermott has been announced as Cobh Ramblers new manager. Was most recently the assistant manager of the Qatar national team randomly enough
That's some change of scenery
culloty82
04/12/2024, 11:17 AM
Which would certainly be a concern for Kerry, given how he stabilised the defence last year after a shaky start. Not sure what became of Aaron O'Sullivan - didn't disgrace himself by any means when he was in goals, but after Tuta returned, he didn't even feature on the bench for the rest of the season?
Shearer
04/12/2024, 11:33 AM
Not sure what became of Aaron O'Sullivan - didn't disgrace himself by any means when he was in goals, but after Tuta returned, he didn't even feature on the bench for the rest of the season?
O'Sullivan is in UL and playing with Janesboro now. Never seen him play, I don't think.
2 Year Contract
04/12/2024, 2:45 PM
Derry have signed former Leicester underage keeper Arlo Doherty on an 18 month deal. Bit of a strange one to sign a player (particularly a goalkeeper) on a permanent contract that ends in the middle of a season
Jack B
04/12/2024, 2:49 PM
Sean Hoare is set to sign for Pats according to Owen Cowzer in The Sun. Would imagine if that happens it'll facilitate Keeley returning to Drogheda.
Glen Of Aherlow
04/12/2024, 3:57 PM
Jay McLelland signed a new deal , glad to see him stay but surely going to be very hard for him to get game time next season
2 Year Contract
04/12/2024, 4:20 PM
Jay McLelland signed a new deal , glad to see him stay but surely going to be very hard for him to get game time next season
The Swiss Army knife. Have to say I love McClelland's attitude, he always puts a shift in in any position he plays and he’s the opposite of a moaner in the squad. Centre back and goalkeeper are the only 2 positions on the pitch he’s not filled in at at some point and that veratility is an asset in case of any injury crisis
Jack B
04/12/2024, 4:28 PM
Happy with McClelland staying, he was one that was on the PFAI list I'd hope we'd make an effort to keep. It's going to be tough for him to get many minutes as most of the players in the positions he covers are better than him, but still and all it's good to have a guy that has played in about 6 positions in his time with the club as a squad option. He's also discreetly one of the best penalty takers in the league should the need arise.
I'm not sure if Ryan McLaughlin has signed up again - seems to be some unclear messaging there - but if not we could do with another right back and that seems to be it at least numbers wise. Probably then a case of one in one out i.e. Hoare for Keeley.
2 Year Contract
04/12/2024, 5:20 PM
I'm not sure if Ryan McLaughlin has signed up again - seems to be some unclear messaging there - but if not we could do with another right back and that seems to be it at least numbers wise. Probably then a case of one in one out i.e. Hoare for Keeley.
McLaughlin hasn’t been announced yet, but in the Baggley interview he was asked if it was good to have some familiar faces in the squad in Redmond and McLaughlin who he knows. It was mentioned that McLaughlin was taking him for a coffee and was referred to as a teammate in it so I can only assume from that that either he’ll be announced in the coming days or else he may have signed a 2 year deal last year and the duration of the contract wasn’t revealed at the time. I may be picking it up wrong from the interview but that was my takeaway from it
patsdad
04/12/2024, 7:29 PM
McLaughlin hasn’t been announced yet, but in the Baggley interview he was asked if it was good to have some familiar faces in the squad in Redmond and McLaughlin who he knows. It was mentioned that McLaughlin was taking him for a coffee and was referred to as a teammate in it so I can only assume from that that either he’ll be announced in the coming days or else he may have signed a 2 year deal last year and the duration of the contract wasn’t revealed at the time. I may be picking it up wrong from the interview but that was my takeaway from it
if that’s the case it probably puts an end to the links with Darragh Power. Hoare can cover RB if both Sjoberg and McLaughlin are injured.
Hard to see us adding a defender or midfielder now, apart from Hoare, even assuming Keeley and Bolger move on.
One more striker, possibly.
Jack B
05/12/2024, 11:00 AM
And with that he's confirmed! Kenny evidently happy with much of the existing squad. McLaughlin and Sjoberg are both good players, just would be concerned at both right back options being awfully injury prone.
Glen Of Aherlow
05/12/2024, 11:33 AM
And with that he's confirmed! Kenny evidently happy with much of the existing squad. McLaughlin and Sjoberg are both good players, just would be concerned at both right back options being awfully injury prone.
Sean Hoare in and Keeley out would leave us covered at centre back and he could also be extra cover at right back if needed
Jack B
05/12/2024, 11:56 AM
Sean Hoare in and Keeley out would leave us covered at centre back and he could also be extra cover at right back if needed
Yeah that scenario would help ease any concerns. There were a couple of points last season where both right backs were missing and it was another hindrance to an already dodgy period of the season, and you wouldn't be shocked to see it again given the history of the two lads despite how good they've been when available.
Finn Harps announce signing of a 24 year old American goalkeeper called Lucas Daunhauer from Finish side Narpes Kraft FF. Read more https://finnharps.ie/harps-sign-goalkeeper-lucas-daunhauer/
2 Year Contract
06/12/2024, 9:07 AM
Harps’ Ryan Rainey banned from football for 6 months after breaking the betting rules. Is he under contract or had he not signed up for next season yet?
https://www.leagueofireland.ie/news/statement-fai-disciplinary/
joey B
06/12/2024, 9:45 AM
Harps’ Ryan Rainey banned from football for 6 months after breaking the betting rules. Is he under contract or had he not signed up for next season yet?
https://www.leagueofireland.ie/news/statement-fai-disciplinary/
Nah he wasn’t signed up for next year,feel for the lad but the rules are the rules…..
RealJohn91
06/12/2024, 10:29 AM
Bohs and Shels interested in Sean Kavanagh. Towell has had discussions with Bohs and Pat's too apparently. Don't see how he'd fit in either of those squads though.
Glen Of Aherlow
06/12/2024, 10:55 AM
Bohs and Shels interested in Sean Kavanagh. Towell has had discussions with Bohs and Pat's too apparently. Don't see how he'd fit in either of those squads though.
That Towell to Pat's has been doing the rounds for a good while but i can't see it at all , especially with the midfield options we have now , his age and the money he'd be looking for
Another Bohemia
06/12/2024, 11:00 AM
Towell to Bohs makes so little sense it will probably happen :D he's probably the player who will look for the most money of any free agent and Bohs are cutting budgets and have a well stocked midfield after adding Morahan and already having Devoy, Clarke, Tierney, Bucko and James McManus. Add to that we don't know what's happening with Flores or McDonnell there are almost too many midfield options.
Neish
06/12/2024, 11:33 AM
Nah he wasn’t signed up for next year,feel for the lad but the rules are the rules…..
Yeah is a horrible issue to have in the modern world, not so long ago gambling issues could be helped a lot by just avoiding the bookies. But now the gambling advertisement is everywhere
06/12/2024, 1:17 PM
Towell was a fringe player in one of the top squads in the league and was no more than a squad player from day one at Rovers, was underwheling considering his rep. He lost the main attribute he had, mobility, by hulking it in England. All things considered is he worth a deal somwehere, is he deluded to think he could command anything more than an average wage rather than top earner when his game time has been pretty limited at least for the last season. If he signed for Dundalk people wouldnt be jumping up and down over it, mainly based on concern about the cost but has his stock really fallen that much or has he a good year or 2 at the top level yet with say Shels, or even more mid table like Galway. He'd suit Caulfield as he'd run through walls and not stop even if it was the wrong wall...
joey B
06/12/2024, 9:53 PM
Ethan Boyle signed for Carrick Rangers after leaving Wexford…..
WoodquayBoy
06/12/2024, 10:45 PM
Towell was a fringe player in one of the top squads in the league and was no more than a squad player from day one at Rovers, was underwheling considering his rep. He lost the main attribute he had, mobility, by hulking it in England. All things considered is he worth a deal somwehere, is he deluded to think he could command anything more than an average wage rather than top earner when his game time has been pretty limited at least for the last season. If he signed for Dundalk people wouldnt be jumping up and down over it, mainly based on concern about the cost but has his stock really fallen that much or has he a good year or 2 at the top level yet with say Shels, or even more mid table like Galway. He'd suit Caulfield as he'd run through walls and not stop even if it was the wrong wall...
Thanks but no thanks - Brendan Clarke has spoken about having a ‘no d!ckheads’ policy in the dressing room, not sure Towell would pass that test
total hoofball
06/12/2024, 11:41 PM
Matty Smith has signed for Waterford, I never expected any of the other top 4 teams to sign him so out of the other teams I think that is the best move for him playing under Long who might be the only manager with a hope of getting some consistency and composure from him
I'd be nervous if Kavanagh and Towell ended up at Shels not the type of players we want both over 30 with Kavanagh always injured and Towell a decade past his best, would be looking for big money and his aforementioned personality that you could only see would clash at some point with Duff
total hoofball
06/12/2024, 11:47 PM
I was hugely excited when I saw him first but after that he appeared very easy to shove off the ball and extremely lazy at times, maybe he knew he was fighting a lost cause.
It was the same at Shels Hakiki has exceptional technical ability and movement but struggles with end product and the physical side of the game he is in need of bulking up. If he gets proper game time at Sligo and develops he could be a top player in 2/3 years time
Thewhitepele
07/12/2024, 9:20 AM
It was the same at Shels Hakiki has exceptional technical ability and movement but struggles with end product and the physical side of the game he is in need of bulking up. If he gets proper game time at Sligo and develops he could be a top player in 2/3 years time
We will have a small budget and therefore squad so he will get plenty of game time. Here hoping he reaches his potential.
2 Year Contract
07/12/2024, 9:41 AM
Cork sign Dutch keeper Tein Troost on loan from NAC Breda until July. A headline writers dream surname for a goalkeeper that is :) 'Clancy puts Troost in Tein' 'Will Cork’s new keeper be Troostworthy?'
placid casual
07/12/2024, 1:36 PM
I'd be of the opinion that Towell could actually be a good signing for Galway. He's not a lazy ***** anyway, and appears from the outside to at least work hard,but his opinion of himself could rightly be viewed as a hindrance.
As for Kavo he's got a lovely left foot but time and injuries are conspiring against him.
Duffer may feel he can "resurrect" both towell and kavanagh,but it's definitely a gamble.
Buckett
07/12/2024, 2:11 PM
Ya I was thinking the same, I'd love to see him sign for us. I think people who don't know him calling him a "********" is a bit unfair. Undoubtedly a quality player, and he'd be one of the younger lads in our squad!
total hoofball
08/12/2024, 9:58 AM
Dundalk have signed Harry Groome and Dean Ebbe, smart moves signing up top players from teams who will be your likely main challengers for the First Division title. I could see more arriving from Bray/Athlone/UCD/Wexford
08/12/2024, 10:29 AM
Thanks but no thanks - Brendan Clarke has spoken about having a ‘no d!ckheads’ policy in the dressing room, not sure Towell would pass that test
See thats the impression Im etting from fans in general and wondering whether it is fair. PC is right to say he wouldnt be a lazy player even if he thinks he is more than a spoiler. As for 'no ********s' policy, do the team lock Caulfield out of the dressing rooms?
08/12/2024, 10:32 AM
Dundalk have signed Harry Groome and Dean Ebbe, smart moves signing up top players from teams who will be your likely main challengers for the First Division title. I could see more arriving from Bray/Athlone/UCD/Wexford
Im just relieved to see players being signed tbh! It does look like there is an unsaid bounce back hope though there is plenty of opportunity to sign dross yet!
Another Bohemia
08/12/2024, 10:47 AM
Se thats the impression Im etting from fans in general and wondering whether it is fair. PC is right to say he wouldnt be a lazy player even if he thinks he is more than a spoiler. As for 'no ********s' policy, do the team lock Caulfield out of the dressing rooms?
Caulfield and Horgan have their own dressing room as a result of this policy
Jack B
08/12/2024, 1:30 PM
I think if Ed McCarthy is passing that test then Towell would be fine. I think purely as a footballer he's still more than capable of adding something to basically any side in the league, but as it stands there just isn't room in central midfield for the remaining Dublin teams so it'll be interesting to see where he ends up.
Seems like Adam O'Reilly will remain at Derry. Possibly a weird one for him as by all accounts he was set to leave, but it seems like Pats wanted Baggley over him and he didn't sufficiently impress Leyton Orient while over there, so staying put has ended up being his best option.
08/12/2024, 1:54 PM
Gbemi Arubi to Dundalk. When we had a ball of oney we seemed to be scratching around for scraps making signings, now when we're on our knees we're getting good business done before Christmas.
08/12/2024, 1:55 PM
Caulfield and Horgan have their own dressing room as a result of this policy
Ah Horgan gets 5 minutes before a game, when he isnt banned...
Gbemi Arubi to Dundalk. When we had a ball of money we seemed to be scratching around for scraps making signings, now when we're on our knees we're getting good business done before Christmas.
And 'targeting' the likes of striker Cami Elliot of the 1 goal fame in 18 months, from the Scot Highland League, where he is possibly now back with same club, or maybe tier 4 of Scot. Another classic recruitment by Gartland / SOD in early 2023, and there were many more. A fee was paid for a left full Walker, who played possibly 2 games, 3 max and wasn't injured.
Seems decent bit of business by Kilduff so far, and Enda Minogue possibly next, this is exactly what is needed, the better standard of the FD talent that know the division.
08/12/2024, 3:06 PM
and we're not paying ridiculous money. 30k a week would have made a good chunk of Premier Division players within our budget last season, players that have won leagues before and did last season again among others, players that wanted to stay at the club reviously, players that would have returned - keepers that wouldnt chuck a ball in to the net. Players that knew the league and that we knew. No harm in a few wild punts from abroad but a squad full of them, + players on loan from clubs that never extend loans and buying lads from Scottish 4th tier. That we paid any transfer fees the last few season when there ar free agents overlooked, have just cleared outstanding debt to parent clubs for loanees?? The more the manner in which business is being done for the coming season the more the antics of the last few are mind boggling and drives up the old blood pressure! You couldnt make it up, just seemed like a transfer of money more than players. Apologies for that vent but.....
joey B
09/12/2024, 12:21 PM
Dundalk heavy favourites for the First Division with the players they’ve retained and signings made so far ….
09/12/2024, 5:53 PM
Dundalk heavy favourites for the First Division with the players they’ve retained and signings made so far ….
Take it handy now, there should be no losing the run of things! There has been enough of that at Dundalk for the last few years to do a lifetime. Galway, by far the best funded and strongest 1st division squads in recent years, took until yr3 to get promoted so while we may end up being bookies favourites little should be taken for granted. Im not basing this on past experiences of the 1st Division either as it was arguably a much more level playing field across both divisions as all PT back then.
I think this 1st Division could well be the weakest, with respect, than it has for a while with no Cork, Waterford, Galway, Shels, Drogs type combo of clubs in the promotion hunt. UCD as ever will be the unknowns that could blow you away, the stock has risen in recent years for Athlone, Cobh as part of a multiclub ye never know if a bunch of unknowns in could be decent quality. Treaty will have hopes, Kerry will look to go better, maybe just one better than Longford though. Bray and Wexford ar no mugs if automatic promotion doesnt happen for Dundalk and thats yer lot. I dont see the play-offs being anywhere near a hope for promotion.
There is a definitely a kind of closed shop yoyo club or 2 going to develop between the 2 divisions where 12 or 13 clubs tops will cycle between the divisions and will be hard to break in to for smaller 1st division clubs without something special like a manager, crop of players, proper long term team development or cash injection. PT V FT will be a big part of it but finances are widening too. It is only going to get harder for promoted clubs to stay up. Last year imo will be an outlier where Galway maybe benefited from a stable squad and could tough it out, a return to building a permier division squad each year for promoted sides will resume ad Galway did have PD quality being promoted. There are questions about whether Dundalk could benefit from a number of season in the 1st to rebuild off field, the more I look at it I think getting back up straight away could be important or we will end up wishing we had favourite tags!
Some musings on transfer activity needed mixed with predictions in the PD then.....
Galway are actually the squad that I think needs most significant freshening up, age profile needs improving, need to add goals, old tactics wont stay the new new and will be countered. 2024 could be a high tide mark for them without a very healthy winter transfer dealings. Sligo surprised us all, some depth to squad and they'll be an intersting group to watch and see if Russell is the real deal and it was genius to gamble and stick, if they keep Malley with others circling it will be a sign of things. Same old tune for Rovers, was this a transition year or will 2025 also be, latter European games show they have the players already to win the league but they do need to trim the fat. Shels need to be cute with their signings but I dont think they will repeat this season. St Pats, well SK's transfer business is never done, he is always adding lads, believes in 2 players in every position which limits game time to a problem, will jump at an opportunity if a no brainer become available even if not a pressing need but a lot of work already done. Drogs with the switch to FT training dont need a whole lot, Deegan and Brennan wont have much left in the legs but keep the front men and a few additions and they're the surprise side. F..k it though, Im going with Derry bringing in a bunch of players that will show the super hunger needed and will win the league so thats they will finish in 5th position, cause really St Pats and a reinvigorated Rovers will slug it out and St Pats shading it. Can Rovers replicate European group performances domestically next season - it should never have been a problem in the 1st place really, maybe some fresh faces on the coaching side is as key as a few players. Im still intrigued by the Towell situation if he stays in LoI.
Shinkicker
09/12/2024, 7:20 PM
Are you making them favourites or is that real bookies odds? If the best players don't play as a team it could take years to get promoted. Shels and Galway are examples of this.
09/12/2024, 7:54 PM
The difference is Galway were in a division with at least one other full time team. While there are some "hybrid" or watered down full time set ups in the division Dundalk will be the only true FT that's worth a lock of points on its own.
Jack B
09/12/2024, 8:17 PM
Dundalk are going part time themselves, no? Almost certain I read an article with quotes from Kilduff stating as such.