View Full Version : 2025 Arrivals and Departures

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 [29] 30 31 32

23/06/2025, 12:27 PM
I feel like he probably overachieved last year, that squad had no real business winning a league but they got the bit between the teeth and did it.

Seems like the frustration of a bit of a revertion to the norm was just too much.

Another Bohemia
23/06/2025, 12:35 PM
Not on a wind up here, would be interested to hear Shels fans views. But I am seeing some Shels fans online claiming the players have let Duff down - particular ire being directed towards lads who joined this season.

Why is Duff getting a pass for signing below par players? It's surely not the players fault if they're not up to the level of challenging at the top end of the league. Surely Duff has to get some of the flak considering they're all his signings?

Is that a surprise? People will always bend over backwards to defend someone they have bought into. You see an extreme version of this with American politics. To Shels fans he's the man who won them the league, it doesnt matter thet their form since the summer break last year has been more miss than hit, the outbursts and arguements were merely deflection tactics and he was playing chess while the rest of the league was playing checkers. Now the players have let him down.

The truth is probably somewhere in the middle.

1. Duff winning the league was a great achievment, it doesnt matter if they stumbled over the line because a wins a win
2. Some of the nonsense he says probably was a distraction but equally I think hes a very reactive and somewhat sensitive person who will speak before he thinks and while it acted as a distraction from a challenging season I doubt it was all intentional because some of it makes him look incredibly petty and like a sore loser.
3. Some players almost certainly have let him down but equally him walking away in the middle of a tough season is him letting them & the rest of his coaching staff down. His comments on friday would have also been a let down to some players. Its well known now that what motivates and improves each player is different so slating the majority, if not all, of the squad in the press on a friday evening after a poor performance would have a very mixed result

Basically Shels fans are going to remember the positive stuff and spin it to protect their hero. Thats their prerogative.

joey B
23/06/2025, 2:08 PM
Rory Feely signed for Cork City ,a bit of time spent mostly in League 2 with Barrow and a short spell with Crawley in League 1 last season,might be a decent enough signing for Cork ….

kksaints
23/06/2025, 2:10 PM
Rory Feely signed for Cork City ,a bit of time spent mostly in League 2 with Barrow and a short spell with Crawley in League 1 last season,might be a decent enough signing for Cork ….

Decent right back, absolutely terrible centre back in his two spells with us.

23/06/2025, 2:10 PM
Kenny is on the verge of cracking up. I thought he was going to cry in his post-match interview the other night

I saw the picture of SK after game last weekend with his head in his heads. I think he will go next!

23/06/2025, 2:15 PM
Seems like O'Brien can do it without the badges for a couple of months, has applied anyway and in the meantime their analyst has them so can probably do the classic LOI box-ticking job if necessary.

Whos the analyst Jack B that has them?

2 Year Contract
23/06/2025, 2:38 PM
Crawley have said Cork paid them an undisclosed fee for him. Boo Dermot Usher putting no money into the squad etc

Another Bohemia
23/06/2025, 2:39 PM
Decent right back, absolutely terrible centre back in his two spells with us.

I was shocked he got a move to the UK after his spell with us. He was one of the worst defenders in our squad and they were all bad that season. Great athlete but very limited footballer. Looks like Usher is putting a bit more money into the squad after Clancy up and left anyway.

Edit: Just seen that Crawley are saying Cork paid a fee for him? Surely if they were paying a fee there would be a better option?
https://x.com/crawleytown/status/1937148639169950188

2 Year Contract
23/06/2025, 2:42 PM
I was shocked he got a move to the UK after his spell with us. He was one of the worst defenders in our squad and they were all bad that season. Great athlete but very limited footballer

Most Pats fans would agree on that. He’s a footballer with the brain and technique of a Gaelic player, which makes sense considering he’s a former Kildare Minor. I’ve always thought he’ll end up playing county with Kildare before the age of 30

RealJohn91
23/06/2025, 3:04 PM
Poor Cork

23/06/2025, 3:08 PM
Not on a wind up here, would be interested to hear Shels fans views. But I am seeing some Shels fans online claiming the players have let Duff down - particular ire being directed towards lads who joined this season.

Why is Duff getting a pass for signing below par players? It's surely not the players fault if they're not up to the level of challenging at the top end of the league. Surely Duff has to get some of the flak considering they're all his signings?

Plus it was Duff who moved away from the formula that worked so well last season

Jack B
23/06/2025, 3:52 PM
Whos the analyst Jack B that has them?

Martin Doyle, according to Dan McDonnell.

23/06/2025, 3:54 PM
He made signings as if they were on a particularly tight budget, rough diamond type players from the bargain basket, O'Kane an example. There wasnt a turnover of signficance so either the squad just wouldnt or couldnt do another year of the intensity needed or Duff switched things up. But really I think that other clubs are showing better form earlier where last years Shels were consistant and even draws were keeping them at arms lenghth on top. They probably shouldnt have been champions on paper in the way that Rovers shouldnt be running away with things this year were being very average with occasional good games being enough with Pats and Derry doing less, Galway looking like theyve been found out, Waterford going bckwards with Sligo, and Bohs going from Reynolds out to Reynolds genius in a couple of months. For a number of years if any side showed any form they were in with a shout, Shels last season, not Shels this season.

Buckett
23/06/2025, 4:43 PM
Galway looking like theyve been found out

We're 6 points off second place with two games in hand

total hoofball
23/06/2025, 6:19 PM

Split opinions have been around the fanbase on our performances this season

The staunch Duff loyalists have been increasingly pointing fingers anywhere but Duff. Bad luck got the blame for a while, then injuries got the blame for a while and then with a full squad the blame shifted towards the squad particularly all the new signings

Other fans like myself see combination of Duff's stubbornly sticking to 5 at the back that doesn't suit the squad with incoherent starting lineups/constant half-time substitutions and underwhelming recruitment since both Molloy and Jarvis departed, I also see some of our title winning squad not at it to the same level as last season

Looks like Joey O'Brien is reverting to 4 at the back going by tonight's starting XI looks like something from 2024, that may be a tell-tale sign

23/06/2025, 6:50 PM

Didnt say you were bad, just that that the levels of chaos and panic and consistency are not at last years levels. While I havent looked it up, I reckon last year's Galway would be closer to top now. Games in hands are a fools hope metric!

Buckett
23/06/2025, 8:42 PM

Nevermind!

D24Saint
23/06/2025, 10:01 PM
I saw the picture of SK after game last weekend with his head in his heads. I think he will go next!

Will he walk away from such a lucrative contract ? His reputation is going down the tubes this year but still not convinced he will walk away from that kind of cash with nothing similar available particularly in Ireland.

24/06/2025, 1:24 PM
Most Pats fans would agree on that. He’s a footballer with the brain and technique of a Gaelic player, which makes sense considering he’s a former Kildare Minor. I’ve always thought he’ll end up playing county with Kildare before the age of 30

Think the wrong Feely is playing loi football. Cant remember the other brothers name whos a Kildare GAA footballer who played in the UK Newport Co was one of those teams.

RealJohn91
24/06/2025, 1:40 PM
Think the wrong Feely is playing loi football. Cant remember the other brothers name whos a Kildare GAA footballer who played in the UK Newport Co was one of those teams.
Kevin, he started at Bohs. He was a cracking player.

Another Bohemia
24/06/2025, 2:10 PM

Kevin Feely was a lovely player. Very calm on the ball and good in the air so an ideal CB. Believe he went over to Charlton and bounced around a bit before he came home and picked back up the GAA. He was also a Kildare minor footballer when he was with Bohs IIRC

cláirseach
24/06/2025, 3:37 PM
Yeah, loved Kevin Feely at Bohs. Wasn't as much a fan of Rory's but nothing against him and wish him well.

Bunny Kelly
24/06/2025, 5:36 PM
I think the likes of Rory Feely & Seamus Conneely highlight a different skill set is needed in lower league England than in LOI, it’s why Dawson Devoy & plenty others ‘failed’ at that level but thrive domestically. Any technical LOI player shouldn’t be joining a English club lower than Championship IMO

24/06/2025, 6:20 PM
Dom Thomas away to Ayr. Strange signing by Lynch.
Didn't play much, looked decent when he came on, shipped off even before the transfer window opens.

Another Bohemia
25/06/2025, 8:25 AM
Dom Thomas away to Ayr. Strange signing by Lynch.
Didn't play much, looked decent when he came on, shipped off even before the transfer window opens.

Was there fees paid? I get the strangest feeling Derry paid a fee and he was certainly still undercontract so have Ayr paid a fee?

25/06/2025, 8:53 AM
Was there fees paid? I get the strangest feeling Derry paid a fee and he was certainly still undercontract so have Ayr paid a fee?

There was no mention of fees, but you'd assume there must have been.

joey B
25/06/2025, 9:03 AM
Reece Hutchinson leaving Sligo Rovers,Crewe activated his release clause….

2 Year Contract
25/06/2025, 9:11 AM
Conor Masterson has signed a new contract with Gillingham. He had been linked with shels, Pats and rovers in the last 2 weeks

sessylU
25/06/2025, 9:20 AM
There was no mention of fees, but you'd assume there must have been.

https://www.derryjournal.com/sport/football/former-queens-park-skipper-dom-thomas-wants-to-be-an-entertainer-for-derry-city-fans-4952220

Article from when he signed for Derry would suggest a fee was involved then, at least:

"Naturally, we were keen to extend his contract, but Dom has decided not to accept a contract extension and has accepted an offer to join Derry City immediately after an agreement was reached by both clubs."

Elfman
25/06/2025, 9:45 AM
Reece Hutchinson leaving Sligo Rovers,Crewe activated his release clause….
That's a blow for Sligo, he's been ever present for them this season and one of their better players imo.

joey B
25/06/2025, 10:44 AM
https://www.the42.ie/moses-dyer-galway-derry-6742289-Jun2025/?fbclid=IwY2xjawLIrwlleHRuA2FlbQIxMQBicmlkETA1am1E Q29ZUE5BcFlhQVB6AR4yCvFWkkJm1T1ckOQ2id2ruCU4-Hsg7pcJK-qvwkT2hjPizFpzfdoqM5T8ww_aem_-V2tIkdgNCk4WDzJ2uXEGw

Moses Dyer rejected a move to Derry after his release clause activated…..

25/06/2025, 10:45 AM
https://www.the42.ie/moses-dyer-galway-derry-6742289-Jun2025/?fbclid=IwY2xjawLIrwlleHRuA2FlbQIxMQBicmlkETA1am1E Q29ZUE5BcFlhQVB6AR4yCvFWkkJm1T1ckOQ2id2ruCU4-Hsg7pcJK-qvwkT2hjPizFpzfdoqM5T8ww_aem_-V2tIkdgNCk4WDzJ2uXEGw

Moses Dyer rejected a move to Derry after his release clause activated…..

Derry still trying. Hoban might be part of the deal.

joey B
25/06/2025, 10:48 AM

I guess a better contract might swing the deal ,you’d be disappointed if you’re a Galaxy fan to lose him for a soon to be 34 Pat Hoban ….

2 Year Contract
25/06/2025, 10:52 AM
I guess a better contract might swing the deal ,you’d be disappointed if you’re a Galaxy fan to lose him for a soon to be 34 Pat Hoban ….

I doubt they’d care at all to be honest. They’ve had the likes of Beckham, Keane, Gerrard, Ibrahimovic and saw them all move on or retire so Moses Dyer leaving Galway won’t really bother them in the slightest I’d say ;)

joey B
25/06/2025, 10:55 AM
I doubt they’d care at all to be honest. They’ve had the likes of Beckham, Keane, Gerrard, Ibrahimovic and saw them all move on or retire so Moses Dyer leaving Galway won’t really bother them in the slightest I’d say ;)

Galway/LA what’s the difference!

25/06/2025, 11:15 AM
Galway/LA what’s the difference!

Horrendous traffic, coastal, attracting dreamers from all around the country. Same place basically.

25/06/2025, 11:44 AM
Ah here, if Donegal folk were out in spandex and lycra doing laps everywhere then its would be the same place (I think this could evoke more traumatic mental images than the bust ball ones).

TVFBLOCKF
25/06/2025, 12:06 PM
Horrendous traffic, coastal, attracting dreamers from all around the country. Same place basically.

To live and die in Galway

TVFBLOCKF
25/06/2025, 12:35 PM

Word is that he's moved abroad.

Another Bohemia
25/06/2025, 1:00 PM
Word is that he's moved abroad.

Hoooban or Dyer?

TVFBLOCKF
25/06/2025, 1:13 PM
Hoooban or Dyer?

Dyer has gone to Cambodia.

Another Bohemia
25/06/2025, 1:46 PM

Strange destination. I wouldnt have thought Cambodia is much of a football country. Whats stranger is that hes nt the first LOI player to make that move!

25/06/2025, 1:59 PM
Strange destination. I wouldnt have thought Cambodia is much of a football country. Whats stranger is that hes nt the first LOI player to make that move!

Who were the other ones AB or have I misread that sentence?

Another Bohemia
25/06/2025, 2:07 PM
Who were the other ones AB or have I misread that sentence?

No you read correctly. Paddy Barrett spent some time in Cambodia playing football during covid

https://www.extratime.com/articles/26492/former-dundalk-defender-paddy-barrett-joins-cambodian-side-preah-khan-reach-svay-rieng/

25/06/2025, 2:18 PM

Closer to home could be one explanation.

Another Bohemia
25/06/2025, 2:28 PM
Closer to home could be one explanation.

It's still a 19 hour flight according to Google

25/06/2025, 2:34 PM
It's still a 19 hour flight according to Google

Saw 12 hours via Singapore. Still long but beats 24+ from here.

TVFBLOCKF
25/06/2025, 2:38 PM

Offered a significant wage that nobody in the LOI could compete supposedly. Guess it's a bit nearer to home but he's never spent a significant amount of time at any club. Huge loss for us but hopefully Malcolm Shaw can fill the void. A couple of more players on the way too.

2 Year Contract
25/06/2025, 2:49 PM
Offered a significant wage that nobody in the LOI could compete supposedly. Guess it's a bit nearer to home but he's never spent a significant amount of time at any club. Huge loss for us but hopefully Malcolm Shaw can fill the void. A couple of more players on the way too.
Yeah I see Axel Piesold who was on loan at Cliftonville from Luton is due to sign for Galway

https://www.the42.ie/axel-piesold-galway-6736877-Jun2025/

On loan to an Irish club from an English club, released by the English club and turned down a permanent contract offer from the Irish club he was on loan at in order to sign for a different Irish club. Sounds familiar, using Galway fan logic I can only assume he’ll be known as Judas on the terraces? ;) On that topic, please take Kazeem back, he’s dirt

TVFBLOCKF
25/06/2025, 2:55 PM
Yeah I see Axel Piesold who was on loan at Cliftonville from Luton is due to sign for Galway

https://www.the42.ie/axel-piesold-galway-6736877-Jun2025/

On loan to an Irish club from an English club, released by the English club and turned down a permanent contract offer from the Irish club he was on loan at in order to sign for a different Irish club. Sounds familiar, using Galway fan logic I can only assume he’ll be known as Judas on the terraces? ;) On that topic, please take Kazeem back, he’s dirt

Haha, no chance! Ye are welcome to him. There's a story to why he get abuse from us, more to it than meets the eye. He's bad news.