View Full Version : 2025 Arrivals and Departures

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27

joey B
09/12/2024, 9:00 PM
Are you making them favourites or is that real bookies odds? If the best players don't play as a team it could take years to get promoted. Shels and Galway are examples of this.

Just an opinion,Horgan will make hay in the First division and they signed last year’s top scorer in the league aswell,a lot of goals already in the team…..

dundalkfc10
09/12/2024, 9:17 PM
Seems like we have signed Luke Henney from Drogheda

An excellent signing

dundalkfc10
09/12/2024, 9:18 PM
Dundalk are going part time themselves, no? Almost certain I read an article with quotes from Kilduff stating as such.

Staying full time but moving training to the evenings instead of mornings due to lads studying etc

desaintsno.12
10/12/2024, 6:07 AM
Seems like we have signed Luke Henney from Drogheda

An excellent signing

surprised at that one. Seemed a useful/versatile player for Drogheda. Local lad too.

Shinkicker
10/12/2024, 7:09 AM
Just an opinion,Horgan will make hay in the First division and they signed last year’s top scorer in the league aswell,a lot of goals already in the team…..
I was only asking the question.

10/12/2024, 9:27 AM
I, too would consider Dundalk heavy favorites, there's a huge resource gap between 1st and PD, they'll have home crowds probably twice maybe triple, the next best team. Already have a couple of players far too good for the level with half a squad, they'll have no problem picking off the best of the rest, there's no 2nd strong Full Time team to compete.

joey B
10/12/2024, 11:40 AM
In the strangest turn of the transfer window so far it seems Carrick Rangers are raiding Wexford’s squad, Reece Webb the second player to move after Ethan Boyle …..

Neish
10/12/2024, 11:47 AM
Dundalk heavy favourites for the First Division with the players they’ve retained and signings made so far ….

A big gamble IMO, if they don't go straight back up they could end up being in as bad if no worse a situation come the end of the 2025 season. Looking like they will have the biggest wage budget by a significant margin

10/12/2024, 12:28 PM
Sure we were persecuted on the budget for licencing so the must be the real deal and all will be grand regardless! We're starting off -€1.5m, restructured or not thats a leveller. Gamble, ambition, need to have PD income, shrewd dealings, madness, all of the above but sure whats new at Dundalk FC

DCSIL
10/12/2024, 2:37 PM
Welcome to the Donegal accountants forum Est 2010 Nesta…

10/12/2024, 2:59 PM
In the strangest turn of the transfer window so far it seems Carrick Rangers are raiding Wexford’s squad, Reece Webb the second player to move after Ethan Boyle …..

And Cian O'Malley becomes the third.

10/12/2024, 6:28 PM
Welcome to the Donegal accountants forum Est 2010 Nesta…

Established to look in to DCFC budgets submitted for licencing? It's nice to see such concern for our future wellbeing in fairness, keeps us honest!

joey B
11/12/2024, 8:39 AM
Shane Ferguson signed for Derry City,has nearly 60 international caps and decent pedigree in England….

11/12/2024, 9:03 AM
Shane Ferguson signed for Derry City,has nearly 60 international caps and decent pedigree in England….

I remember when he burst onto the scene with Newcastle he looked an absolute superstar with his tricky footwork and set piece ability. Without a club since May and now 33, a lot of Derry fans felt Higgins squad was too ageing as it was. Be interesting to see how he does

2 Year Contract
11/12/2024, 9:30 AM
Is Ben Doherty on the way out or what’s the story there? 2 high profile left backs to have in the same squad

Burnsie
11/12/2024, 10:15 AM
Shels interested in Mipo Odubeko, according to the examiner.

total hoofball
11/12/2024, 10:18 AM
Ferguson has to have signed either as cover or for rotation with Doherty, I wouldn't be expecting any 33 year old in that position with very few games under their belt in the past 18 months on that particular pitch to be starting 40+ games per season

joey B
11/12/2024, 10:27 AM
Is Ben Doherty on the way out or what’s the story there? 2 high profile left backs to have in the same squad

Just replacing Coll I’d say…..

joey B
11/12/2024, 2:39 PM
Danny Grant signed for Shamrock Rovers

Jack B
11/12/2024, 3:01 PM
A lot of room for Grant to Rovers to turn out absolutely hilariously.

Or even more so than it already is, because playing for Rovers with a Bohs tattoo on his arm is already quite funny.

placid casual
11/12/2024, 3:07 PM
As funny as Brandon Kavanagh playing for pats with a Rovers tattoo?

Jack B
11/12/2024, 4:31 PM
I certainly laughed when he scored a 95th minute winner against them in May.

2 Year Contract
11/12/2024, 4:37 PM
He hasn’t got one but even if he did, to answer your question yes it absolutely would’ve made his 20 goal contributions this year including an injury time winner against rovers that took the title away from them ten times funnier :)

oriel
11/12/2024, 7:55 PM
I, too would consider Dundalk heavy favorites, there's a huge resource gap between 1st and PD, they'll have home crowds probably twice maybe triple, the next best team. Already have a couple of players far too good for the level with half a squad, they'll have no problem picking off the best of the rest, there's no 2nd strong Full Time team to compete.

Maybe, but still have to win games, CK first year in senior (mens) football, a squad that will be 3/4 new, almost a brand new defence, plus club and fans wont be used to a lot of the long travel and away grounds.

A lot of things there, and prob need to see 3 or 4 more come in to see the shape, but we should have a good chance of winning it but won't be taking anything for granted, most games will still be tough.

oriel
11/12/2024, 8:00 PM
In fairness, I’d say we’re third highest :D

Was thinking of this earlier, Pats budget must be close to pushing 40-50k a week at this stage when you take into account SK wages, and at least 3 or 4 on the staff, some squad they are building to be fair, and SK back to his fav trick of 2 players for every position.

Would seem very unfair casting Shels aside after they won it last term, and I don't see Derry making the leap from 4th to 1st anytime soon, their pitch is actually worse than Dundalk's (I hate them all to be fair), but for me its going to be a 50/50 battle between Rovers and Pats for the title, on budgets Rovers have to be 50k p/w at this stage?

sessylU
12/12/2024, 2:00 PM
https://www.irishnews.com/sport/soccer/patrick-mceleney-set-to-return-to-derry-city-as-part-of-tiernan-lynchs-backroom-team-IKXITWJA4JHDNEIOZQN6YUW6O4/

Fats coming back to Derry as a coach? Curious....

Still think has something to offer as a player. He's had terrible luck with injuries this last year, and he's not getting younger, but he's a smart and technical player. Even half fit, You'd think he'd be able to contribute.

Pure speculation, but some sort of player/coach role could be a goer.

12/12/2024, 4:08 PM
https://www.irishnews.com/sport/soccer/patrick-mceleney-set-to-return-to-derry-city-as-part-of-tiernan-lynchs-backroom-team-IKXITWJA4JHDNEIOZQN6YUW6O4/

Fats coming back to Derry as a coach? Curious....

Still think has something to offer as a player. He's had terrible luck with injuries this last year, and he's not getting younger, but he's a smart and technical player. Even half fit, You'd think he'd be able to contribute.

Pure speculation, but some sort of player/coach role could be a goer.

Player at Ballymena, coach at Derry. I'd be happy with that, as he's apparently a great person to have around the club and wants to get into coaching.
Can't say I'd be happy with it if I was a Ballymena fan, mind.

sessylU
12/12/2024, 8:48 PM
I'd heard that over on one of the Facebook groups.

It does feel like Ballymena are getting the wrong side of that deal. It looks a lot like a rubbish wee side job to pay the bills whilst doing the important passion-project during the day.

12/12/2024, 9:15 PM
Its odd not to have added a few quid and have him registered for Derry, if he's fit he's fit but not relying on him. Youd assume the pitch was his problem with playing and moving but Ballymen also have an artificial surface dont they. Odd setup regardless and I wouldnt be happy if someone was coaching at Drogheda during the day next season and then training/playing for us in the evening.

dundalkfc10
12/12/2024, 9:28 PM
Its odd not to have added a few quid and have him registered for Derry, if he's fit he's fit but not relying on him. Youd assume the pitch was his problem with playing and moving but Ballymen also have an artificial surface dont they. Odd setup regardless and I wouldnt be happy if someone was coaching at Drogheda during the day next season and then training/playing for us in the evening.

Ballymena have a grass pitch. They have an astro training pitch beside the main pitch

joey B
12/12/2024, 10:47 PM
Robbie McCourt signed for Wexford

13/12/2024, 2:15 PM
Robbie McCourt signed for Wexford

Was he at Waterford last season Joey B?

Nah Nah Nah Nah
13/12/2024, 5:57 PM
Was he at Waterford last season Joey B?

Yeah. Dundalk troubles highlighted early when they decided to pay a fee to us for him.

Shearer
13/12/2024, 6:19 PM
Finn Harps have signed Joe Gorman.

He was rubbish with Treaty, worse with Bray and then played in the Irish Premier Intermediate league which is a rank league.

A bad egg to top it all off.

Shinkicker
13/12/2024, 6:24 PM
Bohs have handed out thousands of presents to kids around the country, which is brilliant. Now give the supporters the gift of a striker, a real one a twenty a season man.

RealJohn91
13/12/2024, 7:05 PM
Bohs have handed out thousands of presents to kids around the country, which is brilliant. Now give the supporters the gift of a striker, a real one a twenty a season man.
Isn't that what we hope Whelan will be?

oriel
13/12/2024, 7:07 PM
Yeah. Dundalk troubles highlighted early when they decided to pay a fee to us for him.

Robbie McCourt !! Another classic move by the brains of the operation that was SOD and Brian Gartland, he was brutal that first half season, improved a bit following year, but to pay a fee for him, christ.

oriel
13/12/2024, 7:12 PM
Player at Ballymena, coach at Derry. I'd be happy with that, as he's apparently a great person to have around the club and wants to get into coaching.
Can't say I'd be happy with it if I was a Ballymena fan, mind.

He has a bit of form for this, left Dundalk after 2017 Cup Final, played for Oldham for 2 months, was back at Dundalk on 1 July when window opened, he was actually quite good in that second spell, scored winner in the 2018 cup final and played good part in winning 18 and 19 leagues.

Would think coaching prob more his scene now, too many injuries.

13/12/2024, 10:13 PM

He was rubbish with Treaty, worse with Bray and then played in the Irish Premier Intermediate league which is a rank league.

Be stunned if he lasts 6 months

Knocklyonhoop
13/12/2024, 10:47 PM
Robbie McCourt !! Another classic move by the brains of the operation that was SOD and Brian Gartland, he was brutal that first half season, improved a bit following year, but to pay a fee for him, christ.

I could be wrong. But from what I saw online before this season, SOD was the messiah, could improve every players, great man management, best I’d the league etc.

“Skip”

not sure he improved any players ?

cláirseach
14/12/2024, 7:55 AM
Robbie McCourt and Joe Gorman. We're getting stuck into the journeyman bit now!

thebronze14
14/12/2024, 9:28 AM

Yeah it doesn't look a great signing if we want to kick on

14/12/2024, 9:48 AM
I could be wrong. But from what I saw online before this season, SOD was the messiah, could improve every players, great man management, best I’d the league etc.

“Skip”

Have a look at who was signed, Pep couldnt have turned them in to a Sunday League footballer. There is still something very odd and unexplained about how and why a numbers of players were sgned as a half decent manager would have fired himself before a ball was kicked watching them training. What happened to trailists even, did S'OD even see these players before a wedge was spent on them. I dont recall the usual new signing videos with the manager 'we've been tracking this lads for a while, one for the future, the final piece ect'. Im still in the O'Donnel was shafted by his own over trust of a Head of Football Reecruitment ffs

14/12/2024, 11:08 AM
Yeah it doesn't look a great signing if we want to kick on

It's a signing that a very low budget accounts for, an experienced player who likely won't come too expensive. We've probably one of the lowest budgets in the division. There's only so far that Tallaght fine gael money will stretch.

da bishop
14/12/2024, 1:25 PM
Surprised Harps have taken a punt on O Gorman ,absolute muck at Treaty and was yet again a very poor signing by Barrett,

Another Bohemia
14/12/2024, 3:09 PM
Have a look at who was signed, Pep couldnt have turned them in to a Sunday League footballer. There is still something very odd and unexplained about how and why a numbers of players were sgned as a half decent manager would have fired himself before a ball was kicked watching them training. What happened to trailists even, did S'OD even see these players before a wedge was spent on them. I dont recall the usual new signing videos with the manager 'we've been tracking this lads for a while, one for the future, the final piece ect'. Im still in the O'Donnel was shafted by his own over trust of a Head of Football Reecruitment ffs

Honestly I think looking at Dundalk last year and trying to say that one thing was the issue is folly. Coming into the year there were financial concerns with ownership and a late sale to a new owner. This hindered recruitment, recruitment was done rather haphazardly as a result, which can't be the fault of 1 individual (at least not in the structures Dundalk appeared to have) then they struggled on the pitch and I think players motivation was questionable at times and last but not least multiple management teams.

The Bowler
14/12/2024, 4:12 PM

Shocking defender, slow, lazy, immobile and you obviously know all about this lad, bad egg is absolutely spot on

14/12/2024, 7:33 PM
Its odd not to have added a few quid and have him registered for Derry, if he's fit he's fit but not relying on him.

Apparently he wanted a part-time contract, as a player, and was told no, hence signing for Ballymena.
Right call, IMO. I don't want a part-time player at the club, even if he is class.

joey B
14/12/2024, 11:21 PM
Conor Tourish back at Harps for the new season

oriel
15/12/2024, 7:24 PM

“Skip”

I never liked that term 'Skip', to be fair SOD did brilliantly in his first season of 2022, finishing 3rd (joint second by a goal !) but more importantly getting europe, 2023 was just ok, the european games were avg, eventually got past Brunos Magpies, 3-1, then a terrible performance v Iceland crew, tie over in the first leg, some pride with a 2-2 draw at home, but his falling out with Hoban towards end of 2023 was a sackable offence in my view, a guy under contract, and his goals would have kept us up, as would having a decent keeper in Shepard, but agent was at it there.

Not saying we would have done great if Hoban was there this year, but def would have finished 7th or 8th. SOD knew better telling him he wont be starting and paid 15k stg for Gullan who failed to score a single goal at home all season.

SOD prob better off now as assistant and learning his trade, brilliant player, was the key to winning the first league title under SK in 2014 and also massive influence in the 2016 Euro season, excellent manager season achievement 2022, not too much to look back on after that, and was lucky not sacked earlier in 2024.

Skip !