View Full Version : 2025 Arrivals and Departures

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 [22] 23 24 25 26 27

Jack B
05/02/2025, 5:31 PM
Mousset officially announced by Bohs. Not for the first time I find them incredibly tough to get a read on going into the new season. A lot of scope to be a very good team if everything clicks but at the same time there's enough question marks that I'd be thoroughly unsurprised if they disappoint again.

RealJohn91
05/02/2025, 6:00 PM
Mousset officially announced by Bohs. Not for the first time I find them incredibly tough to get a read on going into the new season. A lot of scope to be a very good team if everything clicks but at the same time there's enough question marks that I'd be thoroughly unsurprised if they disappoint again.
There's a good bit of cautious optimism around the support at the moment. There's definitely more depth around the squad especially in midfield which I think is one of the best on paper in the league. I'm very excited to watch more of Archie Meekison, I was impressed by him towards the end of last season.

The defence would still be a bit of a worry. I think Kavanagh has a very high celling but we badly need someone like Cornwall to hit the ground running to guide him and Cian Byrne but that's easier said than done. Hopefully this Lacey lad will be a help too but he has had some bad injuries too.

I'll bite your hand off for 5th now and a relatively calm season overall after last season but if everything clicks we'll see what happens.

Shinkicker
05/02/2025, 6:14 PM
There's a good bit of cautious optimism around the support at the moment. There's definitely more depth around the squad especially in midfield which I think is one of the best on paper in the league. I'm very excited to watch more of Archie Meekison, I was impressed by him towards the end of last season.

The defence would still be a bit of a worry. I think Kavanagh has a very high celling but we badly need someone like Cornwall to hit the ground running to guide him and Cian Byrne but that's easier said than done. Hopefully this Lacey lad will be a help too but he has had some bad injuries too.

I'll bite your hand off for 5th now and a relatively calm season overall after last season but if everything clicks we'll see what happens.
I agree , we have a midfield that is hard working, skillful, has initiative and the ability to create chances. In saying that ,last year we created a lot of chances a didn't have the personnel to finish them. I think this year we have that now. As you say it should be a calmer year this year. I also think we are capable of a top four finish if we keep them all fit

Bohtastic
05/02/2025, 6:49 PM
Re. Mousset, there's no mention of contract length, although he mentions the year. I'd imagine he's looking to get matches to get himself back in the big time.

Grand, if he's motivated to do that then hopefully it might temper some of his off-pitch antics. If he's properly on it this could be entertaining.

total hoofball
05/02/2025, 8:18 PM
Just noticed a really odd one lost in all of the Melia/Pats noise from yesterday that Aaron Bolger was dumped out on loan to Ebbsfleet United who are dead & buried at the bottom of the National League

BigEars
05/02/2025, 8:29 PM
Series of articles looking at the current non-league football systems across the country.

From Ulster junior football to Leinster Senior League, we have anything but a football pyramid!

Leinster - https://extratime.com/articles/35365/the-irish-football-pyramid-or-lack-of-part-4---leinster/

Connacht - https://extratime.com/articles/35139/the-irish-football-pyramid-or-lack-of-part-3---connacht/

Ulster - https://extratime.com/articles/35088/the-irish-football-pyramid-or-lack-of-part-2---ulster/

Munster - https://extratime.com/articles/35033/the-irish-football-pyramid-or-lack-of-part-1---munster/

I think articles like the above are important to draw attention to the average football fan what our system is actually like.
A lot of those involved in running the current leagues that exist in Intermediate and Junio football may be happy with the status quo.

But the system is dreadful. The more aware every is of that, the more the chance of change.

With all of that said, you've probably posted in the wrong thread !

05/02/2025, 10:04 PM
Re. Mousset, there's no mention of contract length, although he mentions the year. I'd imagine he's looking to get matches to get himself back in the big time.

Grand, if he's motivated to do that then hopefully it might temper some of his off-pitch antics. If he's properly on it this could be entertaining.

Hit or flop people will be entertained and intrigued either way, bit of a box office element to his move here. No shortage of story lines this year, it's great

Jack B
06/02/2025, 9:07 AM

I think it's the defence I'd find most unconvincing too. It's not bad on paper, but in the context of finishing in the European spots then a lot may depend on how good Lacey and Best prove to be because the rest of the backline is a drop off in quality from the rest of the squad for me, albeit Kavanagh and Byrne are still young.

I suppose it's a bit of a risk having so much emphasis for goals on what is now a mystery in Mousset and someone as injury prone as Whelan, but ultimately they're gambles worth taking and could really carry the team if they show the quality they have done previously. Think it'll be an interesting one for Bohs anyway, in the space of a week for me they've gone from in the mix with a lot of the expected mid-table teams to looking clearly like the most capable of pushing what everyone expects to be the top four.

Another Bohemia
06/02/2025, 11:53 AM
I'm a touch more optimistic about the Bohs defence than others. I think Cornwall coming back is huge, really solid player at this level and knows the league well. Smith came in during the summer last year and was quietly one of the better signings. He didn't make mistakes, was good in and out of possession and linked up well with the wingers playing in front of him. Kavanagh and Cian Byrne played well together down the stretch until Kavanagh got injured and then Cian Byrne had to play some games at RB as injuries really mounted in the defence. Long story short I think CB and RB have good coverage this year. 4 senior CBs and one from the u20's and really there are only questions marks about Lacey and the U20 option. RB you have Smith and Mountney (I do think Mountney is going to start at LB until Best is up to speed). Really the big question mark is LB. Compared to this time last year where I think we had 2 RBs one who had never played in the league and both were out of the club by the summer, only 2 CB's (Byrne and Cornwall the rest came in after the first game of the season as well as a 3rd RB who was good but had their loan expire in the summer) and Paddy Kirk as the only LB. It was a disaster waiting to happen. I don't think Bohs will have the best defence in the league by any stretch (probably Galway or Shels just based on how they set up) but it should be significantly improved on last year.

2 Year Contract
06/02/2025, 1:56 PM
https://x.com/vmsportie/status/1887198515299778589?s=46

Very on brand stuff from Tiernan Lynch here talking about his new signings including "young Dom Thomas"… who turns 29 next week :D

Elfman
06/02/2025, 4:11 PM
https://x.com/vmsportie/status/1887198515299778589?s=46

Very on brand stuff from Tiernan Lynch here talking about his new signings including "young Dom Thomas"… who turns 29 next week :D

I didn't realise he valued experience so much! ;) Any idea if he was the same at Larne?

2 Year Contract
06/02/2025, 8:30 PM
Duncan Idehen has been loaned to Ballymena from Derry until the summer

Bunny Kelly
07/02/2025, 1:47 PM
I really don't get the Derry recruitment, is Mark Connolly their only centre back left?

Another Bohemia
07/02/2025, 2:15 PM
I really don't get the Derry recruitment, is Mark Connolly their only centre back left?

They also have Sam Todd

07/02/2025, 5:31 PM
They also have Sam Todd

https://galwayunitedfc.ie/max-wilson-joins-galway-united-on-loan/

Joe Strummer
08/02/2025, 7:34 AM
Has McEleney gone back to Derry? I thought he was going back as a coach. He played and scored for Ballymena last night

joey B
08/02/2025, 7:51 AM
Has McEleney gone back to Derry? I thought he was going back as a coach. He played and scored for Ballymena last night

He’s doing both afaik ….

joey B
08/02/2025, 7:51 AM
Adam Foley signed for Carrick Rangers…

Joe Strummer
08/02/2025, 8:45 AM
He’s doing both afaik ….

That's a bit of a strange one, surprised either club would agree to that

08/02/2025, 3:31 PM
That's a bit of a strange one, surprised either club would agree to that

I don't mind from our point on view. He's part-time at Ballymena, wants to do his badges, and is really good with the young players, apparently.
Ballymena weren't too happy about it, but not sure what they can do about it.

joey B
09/02/2025, 4:41 PM
Karl O’Sullivan signed by Treaty,should be a good addition if he can get himself right….

da bishop
09/02/2025, 5:17 PM
Karl O’Sullivan signed by Treaty,should be a good addition if he can get himself right….

Massive signing the manager has done well to get him.quite a few new arrivals now which obviously debunks the myth Treaty have no budget etc.

CraftyToePoke
09/02/2025, 11:59 PM
Massive signing the manager has done well to get him.quite a few new arrivals now which obviously debunks the myth Treaty have no budget etc.

There's no myth to debunk.
There was clearly a much smaller playing budget than other clubs. There looks to be some improvement in that this pre season, finally.

Where's the myth ?
You think the manager didn't want better players the last few years or something ? That he signed journeymen & played kids while saying no thanks to better players ?

Shearer
12/02/2025, 8:30 AM
Leon Kirrane, Adam O’Halloran, Alec Byrne, Oisin O’Reilly, Chris Horgan and Jack Kavanagh all gone from Treaty United.

Little surprise there.

12/02/2025, 8:37 AM
Roy Lawlor has joined Treaty - scored twice for UCD in our Youth League campaign just gone.

Danú Kinsella Bishop has joined Bray - didn't score for us at all last season, though he'd scored 6 times in the Premier the season before.

12/02/2025, 9:16 AM
Kinsella Bishop a good signing for Bray. Is Ciaran Behan still with ye Stu?

12/02/2025, 9:31 AM
He is, yeah

12/02/2025, 10:34 AM
He is, yeah

Baller.

Bunny Kelly
12/02/2025, 11:00 AM
Whats the story with transfer deadlines, can teams still get players in on loan for UK or Europe?

RealJohn91
12/02/2025, 11:39 AM
Yep, you can still do that until our window closes. Bohs got a couple on deadline day last year.

joey B
12/02/2025, 11:13 PM
Harps signed Northern Ireland U19 International Joel Thompson from Colchester,played some first team football at Crusaders aged 15 before moving to Nottingham Forest ,seems to have had some injury problems though….

2 Year Contract
13/02/2025, 5:15 PM
Jake Doyle-Hayes signs for Sligo. Could be a very good signing for them if they can get him fit and injury free. He’s only played 2 league games since May 2023 for Hibs

Jack B
13/02/2025, 5:22 PM
Always expected him to end up playing here at some stage (assuming he played in the UK up to that point instead of moving abroad). He's a really nice, tidy and technical player but not of such quality that it shone over his lack of physicality. Hard to have a great time of it in the EFL and Scotland when that's the case, but I think he'll be a handy player for Sligo and a good replacement for Jack Henry-Francis.

thebronze14
14/02/2025, 9:44 AM
Jake Doyle-Hayes signs for Sligo. Could be a very good signing for them if they can get him fit and injury free. He’s only played 2 league games since May 2023 for Hibs

Didn't realise he had played so little. Looked very good when I was over a few years ago

dcfc_legend9
14/02/2025, 9:52 AM
As expected Hayden Cann has signed for Derry.

Very little about it but has been signed.

Kiki Balboa
14/02/2025, 10:22 AM
As expected Hayden Cann has signed for Derry.

Very little about it but has been signed.

Good pick-up for Derry, at least going on how he finished for Dundalk.

total hoofball
17/02/2025, 4:43 PM
Shels have signed left-back James Norris on a season-long loan from Liverpool. I think this signing has been prompted Ty Wilson's injury which does not have an estimated time of recovery and Ledwidge being our only option as a left footed centre-back

https://shelbournefc.ie/shels-sign-liverpool-defender-james-norris/

Buckett
17/02/2025, 7:21 PM
https://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2025/0217/1497292-no-throwing-in-the-towell-as-bradley-bond-burns-bright/

I'm surprised nobody has signed Towell yet

RealJohn91
17/02/2025, 7:39 PM
As someone who watched him last season, I'm not.

Burnsie
18/02/2025, 8:53 AM
Heard he's signed for Lucan United

2 Year Contract
18/02/2025, 8:57 AM
Heard he's signed for Lucan United
I’m assuming the player himself confirming that he hasn’t signed for anybody in the above interview published yesterday goes against that rumour :D

RealJohn91
18/02/2025, 2:07 PM
Galway sign Cian Byrne on loan from Bohs till the summer. I think he was pretty far down the pecking order with the return of Cornwall and Lacey signing. Not sure I would've let him go with Cornwall only back from a serious injury though.

culloty82
18/02/2025, 2:09 PM
Carl Mujaguzi signs for Kerry:

https://www.independent.ie/regionals/kerry/sport/soccer/kerry-fc-sign-former-athlone-town-midfielder-and-uganda-international-carl-mujaguzi/a1112917404.html

Another Bohemia
18/02/2025, 2:21 PM
Galway sign Cian Byrne on loan from Bohs till the summer. I think he was pretty far down the pecking order with the return of Cornwall and Lacey signing. Not sure I would've let him go with Cornwall only back from a serious injury though.

As long as there is a recall clause I don't have an issue with Byrne going on loan. I don't think he has more chance of playing for Galway than Bohs though and that would be my big concern. I think a team like Cork would have made more sense as they have a need for defenders and Byrne can play CB or even RB in a pinch.

nr637
19/02/2025, 12:16 PM
Richie Towell had a few offers but nothing that suits and currently has the Foundations Football Academy for ages six to 11 operating.

2 Year Contract
19/02/2025, 1:26 PM
Kerry seem to have signed ex PSG academy keeper and once capped senior Madagascar international Mathias Randriamamy last week. Nothing official from the club as far as I can see but it’s been reported in multiple foreign outlets and he’s listed as a Kerry player on the LOI Connect app

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mathyas_Randriamamy

sbgawa
19/02/2025, 2:15 PM
As long as there is a recall clause I don't have an issue with Byrne going on loan. I don't think he has more chance of playing for Galway than Bohs though and that would be my big concern. I think a team like Cork would have made more sense as they have a need for defenders and Byrne can play CB or even RB in a pinch.

Recalls are possible on loan deals but only at the opening of the next window AFAIK so July in this case. always good to have though as wihin a couple of Months July wont seem so far away

culloty82
19/02/2025, 2:32 PM
Kerry seem to have signed ex PSG academy keeper and once capped senior Madagascar international Mathias Randriamamy last week. Nothing official from the club as far as I can see but it’s been reported in multiple foreign outlets and he’s listed as a Kerry player on the LOI Connect app

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mathyas_Randriamamy

Interesting - fair to say Hiemer's earned the No 1 jersey for the season, barring an absolute disaster, but certainly a welcome back-up to have!

19/02/2025, 6:48 PM
Second Madagascar international in the league after Bastien Hery

Another Bohemia
19/02/2025, 8:10 PM
Second Madagascar international in the league after Bastien Hery

2nd Madagascar international on the league who has also spent time at PSG. What are the odds?