View Full Version : 2025 Arrivals and Departures
placid casual
29/10/2024, 11:23 PM
I'd say Bohs will also be in for Whelan especially since Reynolds has worked with him before iirc. Granted looking at his injury history he may already be a Rovers player
I doubt Whelan is interested in playing in division 1 in 18 months time.
Kiki Balboa
30/10/2024, 9:38 AM
Have I missed something? Why is Derry set to become a 'selling' club?
Glen Of Aherlow
30/10/2024, 9:47 AM
Have I missed something? Why is Derry set to become a 'selling' club?
Don't know Whelan's situation but O'Reilly is out of contract.
2 Year Contract
01/11/2024, 12:32 PM
Jamie Lennon has signed a new long term contract at Pats despite the temptation of a move to America. Unbelievable news that, hugely important player for Pats
patsdad
01/11/2024, 12:53 PM
Jamie Lennon has signed a new long term contract at Pats despite the temptation of a move to America. Unbelievable news that, hugely important player for Pats
That is brilliant news. Season after season we’ve seen key players leave at year-end - that’s the inevitable churn of our league - but it looks as if pretty much all of the current starting 11 will be around to carry the momentum into next season. And of course there’ll be some big additions. Hard not to be optimistic.
Jack B
01/11/2024, 4:32 PM
Great and surprising news that Jamie is staying. Even when he - like many - had a poor start to the season he was still hugely important because at a bare minimum he gets through absolutely trojan work in midfield, occasionally with not much assistance. I believe he tops the league for most tackles made and I can only see the rest of his game coming on even more at the rate we've been going recently.
dcfc_legend9
01/11/2024, 5:00 PM
Don't know Whelan's situation but O'Reilly is out of contract.
Whelan and O'reilly are out of contract. It has been touted for months that Whelan has informed the club he doesnt want to be playing on that pitch on a regular basis and looks likely to be off elsewhere.
O'Reilly has been touted as going to St Pats for months as Lennons replacement but with him signing a new deal today that might change.
nr637
02/11/2024, 12:17 PM
Rumours amongst Derry fans is that R. Higgins will not be offered a contract extension, even if they win the Cup next week! ?
02/11/2024, 12:29 PM
Whelan and O'reilly are out of contract. It has been touted for months that Whelan has informed the club he doesnt want to be playing on that pitch on a regular basis and looks likely to be off elsewhere.
O'Reilly has been touted as going to St Pats for months as Lennons replacement but with him signing a new deal today that might change.
You'd imagine Palmer will be leaving Pat's so there's still a big space to fill. O' Reilly strikes me as someone who could still go up a few levels and become a really excellent player, usually impresses when I've watched him.
patsdad
02/11/2024, 1:35 PM
Irish Times today suggesting that Whelan is Inchicore-bound.
cobhlad
02/11/2024, 3:29 PM
Irish Times today suggesting that Whelan is Inchicore-bound.
The Irish Times know as much about the Indonesian second division as they do the League of Ireland. Abandoned Irish football years ago and hard to believe anyone there has a scoop
D24Saint
02/11/2024, 4:11 PM
Rumours amongst Derry fans is that R. Higgins will not be offered a contract extension, even if they win the Cup next week! ?
no surprises there , seems a decent sort of bloke but a bluffer managing a top side with expectations.
Shinkicker
02/11/2024, 4:19 PM
Bohs releasing 6 the day after the league finishes. I just hope they have their eye on some quality for next season not some second rate striker who can't get a game and only scored 3 in 25 games. We want better! We deserve better!
Another Bohemia
02/11/2024, 5:16 PM
Bohs releasing 6 the day after the league finishes. I just hope they have their eye on some quality for next season not some second rate striker who can't get a game and only scored 3 in 25 games. We want better! We deserve better!
Mills was only on loan so only 5 released and I think a few of those had their contracts ending at the end of the season anyway so it's just a confirmation they are leaving. I understand what your getting at though but none of these lads are a loss. I might have kept Millar around because he has filled in well at RB at times this season. Considering the improved quality of player we brought in during the July window I'd be confident getting the players in will be less of an issue than actually getting them playing well together.
He'll be moving to pats for a decent wedge.
Kenny will go out of his way to arrogantly proclaim he can get the best out of him unlike Rovers. He'll be an expensive mistake and will be shuffled on after 18 months.
Hopefully Rovers get Whelan & O'Reilly from Derry. Can't see much else in the league that are worth getting and could be on the move in the off season
That’s a very definitive statement. I’ll be very surprised (and horrified tbh) if we sign Towell. Colm Whelan would be a super signing. Jamie Lennon re-signing when common knowledge was that he was off to the States shows how much people know sometimes.
Jolly Red Giant
02/11/2024, 6:01 PM
Mills was only on loan so only 5 released and I think a few of those had their contracts ending at the end of the season anyway so it's just a confirmation they are leaving. I understand what your getting at though but none of these lads are a loss. I might have kept Millar around because he has filled in well at RB at times this season. Considering the improved quality of player we brought in during the July window I'd be confident getting the players in will be less of an issue than actually getting them playing well together.
There is too many midfielders in the squad so not surprised to see these being released. Miller did okay at RB - but I think Smith was much better there when he joined.
Jolly Red Giant
02/11/2024, 6:02 PM
Strikers are not easy to find - and when you find a good one they tend to get poached. Every club is looking for a good striker - including PL clubs.
02/11/2024, 8:11 PM
Higgins got an extension a couple of years ago, so he's contracted until the end of next year.
I thought he would be away if we won the league. I'd guess he'll stay now.
Another Bohemia
02/11/2024, 8:22 PM
There is too many midfielders in the squad so not surprised to see these being released. Miller did okay at RB - but I think Smith was much better there when he joined.
Absolutely Smith was better but you also need rotation options because injuries do happen.
placid casual
03/11/2024, 8:33 AM
That’s a very definitive statement. I’ll be very surprised (and horrified tbh) if we sign Towell. Colm Whelan would be a super signing. Jamie Lennon re-signing when common knowledge was that he was off to the States shows how much people know sometimes.
Strong rumours around tallaght on Friday that Farrugia has signed a deal with Pats,I'm guessing to replace mulraney?
patsdad
03/11/2024, 9:17 AM
Strong rumours around tallaght on Friday that Farrugia has signed a deal with Pats,I'm guessing to replace mulraney?
Mulraney extended his contract and is going nowhere.
Pats’ recent run has been built on having two top wingers. When either is injured we had to move Leavy or Kavanagh out of their best position. It makes sense to sign a third top-quality winger, whether it’s Farrugia or someone else.
Jack B
03/11/2024, 9:27 AM
Kenny said himself that Lennon told him that he was moving to the States at the end of the season in fairness. They've obviously just convinced him to change his kind in the interim.
Dermobohs
03/11/2024, 10:10 AM
Mills was only on loan so only 5 released and I think a few of those had their contracts ending at the end of the season anyway so it's just a confirmation they are leaving. I understand what you’re getting at though but none of these lads are a loss. I might have kept Millar around because he has filled in well at RB at times this season. Considering the improved quality of player we brought in during the July window I'd be confident getting the players in will be less of an issue than actually getting them playing well together.
I’m disgusted miller not being kept on, top quality midfielder, way ahead of the limited Flores and McDonnell imo.
joey B
03/11/2024, 11:06 AM
Francely Lomboto leaving Galway,a return to the First Division for him you’d imagine…..
Another Bohemia
03/11/2024, 11:39 AM
I’m disgusted miller not being kept on, top quality midfielder, way ahead of the limited Flores and McDonnell imo.
Millar and McDonnell are completely different players imo. McDonnell is more like Bucko, covering ground, putting in tackles etc. Flores is one of the most overrated LOI players I've seen so I agree with you that Millar is better. Either way I reckon both will be following Millar out the door soon enough. Bohs have too many midfielders, if Flores and McDonnell leave as I suspect they will you have Bucko, J McManus, J Clarke, Tierney, Devoy and Meekison who can all play CM. There isn't any European games so it's only league and cup to cover so that should be enough depth at that position.
RealJohn91
03/11/2024, 11:41 AM
I don't see McDonnell going anywhere. Managers love lads like him who don't stop running.
joey B
03/11/2024, 1:50 PM
Are O'Reilly, Maher and Whelan all leaving Derry? Maher and O’Reilly would appear to be big losses if it’s true…..
Another Bohemia
03/11/2024, 1:54 PM
I don't see McDonnell going anywhere. Managers love lads like him who don't stop running.
I do rate McDonnell as well but it's just a numbers thing. No point in having 11 midfielders and no fullbacks
ger121
03/11/2024, 3:32 PM
Let the silly season commence.
2 Year Contract
03/11/2024, 4:16 PM
Mulraney extended his contract and is going nowhere.
He hasn’t signed a contract extension, he’s just still under contract. He said himself on a podcast I listened to not long ago that he signed a 3 year deal when he signed for the club. The third of those seasons being next year. Hopefully the club can extend it further because he’s been absolutely sensational under Kenny
2 Year Contract
03/11/2024, 7:23 PM
Brendan Clarke and Patrick Hickey have signed new contracts with Galway. 2 big ones for Galway to keep a hold of
WoodquayBoy
03/11/2024, 10:39 PM
Huge news for us - ask any United fan to name the 2 players they’d want signed back for next season and Clarke and Hickey would be pretty much on every list
04/11/2024, 6:49 AM
Are O'Reilly, Maher and Whelan all leaving Derry? Maher and O’Reilly would appear to be big losses if it’s true…..
We think so, as they haven't signed new contracts. Rumoured since the start of the year that O'Reilly was going back to Pat's, and Maher to Britain (or Rovers).
placid casual
04/11/2024, 7:04 AM
Would prefer Whelan or O'Reilly than Maher
Maher has shown he's no better keeper than Pohls,as evidenced by his slack keeping for the shels goal on Friday.
There does appear to be changes due at derry though whether that's in the dugout or on the pitch probably depends on the cup final result yeah?
dcfc_legend9
04/11/2024, 10:43 AM
Would prefer Whelan or O'Reilly than Maher
Maher has shown he's no better keeper than Pohls,as evidenced by his slack keeping for the shels goal on Friday.
There does appear to be changes due at derry though whether that's in the dugout or on the pitch probably depends on the cup final result yeah?
Reality is Higgins still has another year on his contract so that would be up to the Derry board to remove him. Most of the supporters are of the opinion that cup final win or not its time for a change. The issue is who is actually out there?
There will be massive changes team wise this year as currently we have Maher, Ryan, Coll, S.McEleney, Wisdom (I believe), Oreilly, Patching, Fats, Whelan all out of contract.
Even so Id say if we could keep Maher, Oreilly, Coll and Whelan the rest I wouldnt be to bothered about but the reality is we will sign the rest and lose 3 out of 4 that I would keep.
joey B
04/11/2024, 10:59 AM
Reality is Higgins still has another year on his contract so that would be up to the Derry board to remove him. Most of the supporters are of the opinion that cup final win or not its time for a change. The issue is who is actually out there?
There will be massive changes team wise this year as currently we have Maher, Ryan, Coll, S.McEleney, Wisdom (I believe), Oreilly, Patching, Fats, Whelan all out of contract.
Even so Id say if we could keep Maher, Oreilly, Coll and Whelan the rest I wouldnt be to bothered about but the reality is we will sign the rest and lose 3 out of 4 that I would keep.
Question for you,would you keep Patrick McEleney if he was out of contract? One of the best in the league on his day but his body doesn’t seem to be able for it anymore….
lofty9
04/11/2024, 11:23 AM
Question for you,would you keep Patrick McEleney if he was out of contract? One of the best in the league on his day but his body doesn’t seem to be able for it anymore….
Irish league bound. Derry should be throwing money to keep Whelan and build the team around him.
patsdad
04/11/2024, 12:31 PM
Irish league bound. Derry should be throwing money to keep Whelan and build the team around him.
I thought I saw somewhere last week that Whelan is leaving because of the injury risk from the pitch.
dundalkfc10
04/11/2024, 1:26 PM
Is McEleney really Irish League bound? We're is he rumoured to be going too
IMO the best player we had at Dundalk when fully fit under Kenny, sensational footballer and although he had serious success in his career, injuries have stop him doing so much more.
His performance against Vitesse Armen in Holland was sensational and when we played Arsenal it was clear as day he was technically every bit as good as the Arsenal lads
dcfc_legend9
04/11/2024, 2:07 PM
Genuinely I wouldnt keep him. Now that isnt a case of me disputing his talent and ability because that is very much unquestionable but he offers us nothing due to the issues he has had with injuries. When he has came on for a cameo he doesn't really change the game that often as he hasn't really got the time to do so. Would love a fully fit Patrick McEleney but that just is not going to happen.
Larne was the rumour at one point but he could potentially end up with Declan Devine at Glentoran if he stays in his job.
As for Whelan it was suggested he was point blank refusing to sign a contract as he didnt want to play on the plastic pitch. Cant really blame him either. I would say that he will shine next season whoever he signs with once he gets a good pre season under his belt.
Another Bohemia
04/11/2024, 3:01 PM
Genuinely I wouldnt keep him. Now that isnt a case of me disputing his talent and ability because that is very much unquestionable but he offers us nothing due to the issues he has had with injuries. When he has came on for a cameo he doesn't really change the game that often as he hasn't really got the time to do so. Would love a fully fit Patrick McEleney but that just is not going to happen.
Larne was the rumour at one point but he could potentially end up with Declan Devine at Glentoran if he stays in his job.
As for Whelan it was suggested he was point blank refusing to sign a contract as he didnt want to play on the plastic pitch. Cant really blame him either. I would say that he will shine next season whoever he signs with once he gets a good pre season under his belt.
Is there a wholesale squad rebuild on the cards at Derry? If so would you trust Higgins to do it, or does Higgins work with someone else in recruitment? From the outside looking in I see some of the issues that started raising their head at the end of Longs tenure at Bohs that have troubled us right up to the most recent summer window where we tried to sign players who were kinda ready made and as a result probably on larger wages than their performances deserved.
2 Year Contract
04/11/2024, 7:39 PM
LMFM reporting that Dundalk’s Ryan O'Kane is in talks with shels. He’s a good prospect but a bit surprised at that one given the amount of wingers shels already have. Unless some are leaving that I’m not aware of
joey B
04/11/2024, 7:50 PM
LMFM reporting that Dundalk’s Ryan O'Kane is in talks with shels. He’s a good prospect but a bit surprised at that one given the amount of wingers shels already have. Unless some are leaving that I’m not aware of
Seems to be quite a few in that area of the pitch that are out of contract at the end of November according to Transfermarkt,Smith,Coote,Martin and Burt .....
Another Bohemia
04/11/2024, 8:01 PM
Seems to be quite a few in that area of the pitch that are out of contract at the end of November according to Transfermarkt,Smith,Coote,Martin and Burt .....
Burt was on loan from Rovers. Rovers are probably less likely to let Burt go back on loan to Shels next season since Shles won the league this season.
04/11/2024, 8:27 PM
After double ACL he is dead right to not want to play regularly on an artificial surface, its the one injury there is no debating the stats that ACLs are more common though some research also suggests that the different footwear is the factor but either way its not a risk he should take. Purely on a self interest basis, Ive scrubbed in on high double figures ACL repairs at this stage and there is always chat on why the number of these surgical cases on are increasing year on year, one issue is that in the past many ACL injuries were inoperable, now its routine. But the ortho surgeons all say that kids should be coached in basically how to fall more on a hip than knees to ground first, avoid planting a foot hard in a way that lets the knee turn in, ban sliding on the knees celebrations and that all this can be coached. There is also an expection that the numbers for women will just explode and at younger ages as biomechanically they are built for the worst position a knee can end up causing ACL injury.
05/11/2024, 10:20 AM
Shels trying to outdo Bohs on the amount of left wingers in the club.
Jack B
05/11/2024, 10:45 AM
O'Kane is quite a Duff/Shels signing I think. They've tried to recruit from within the league as much as possible and have gone heavy on depth in that area of the pitch previously. He's obviously not the finished article yet but clearly has talent to work with.
joey B
05/11/2024, 11:35 AM
Stefan Radosavljevic, Charlie Wiggett, and JR Wilson leaving Sligo Rovers
05/11/2024, 11:38 AM
O'Kane is quite a Duff/Shels signing I think. They've tried to recruit from within the league as much as possible and have gone heavy on depth in that area of the pitch previously. He's obviously not the finished article yet but clearly has talent to work with.
I think it would be an excellent move for O' Kane, if you're going to learn from someone and improve in that position, Duff is a decent option :D
05/11/2024, 12:16 PM
Its a good move if he isnt staying at Oriel. Duff could be very good for him not just on wing craft but ye just feel he can add polish to the talent.