View Full Version : 2025 Arrivals and Departures
Shinkicker
04/02/2025, 12:58 PM
Seems a strange transfer considering he only joined Dagenham. Their socials say they accepted a deal because he requested to leave for personal reasons. I'm guessing the fee paid is whatever they have paid in wages and signing on fee when he joined?
Low key this was an area of need for the squad though. I like the look of Rhys Brennan from the bits I've seen and I think Archie Meekison was good in that position at the end of the year but it's always good to have more experienced options as well.
Just need another striker, from what I hear Mousset has impressed the few fans who saw him . Wonder did he impress the gaffer & co enough to sign him. If we get him that'll be squad complete and just like Bohs we'll see what happens when it all kicks off
Another Bohemia
04/02/2025, 1:04 PM
Just need another striker, from what I hear Mousset has impressed the few fans who saw him . Wonder did he impress the gaffer & co enough to sign him. If we get him that'll be squad complete and just like Bohs we'll see what happens when it all kicks off
Yeah let's see on Mousset. He appeared in one of the preseason photos on waterfords Twitter and I had to do a double take because while he was certainly unfit for a professional footballers he was nowhere near as unfit looking as I thought based on what people were saying online. Suffice to say I'd be happy if he signed, he wouldn't even be one of the most overweight players I've seen line out for Bohs.
Bohtastic
04/02/2025, 1:21 PM
Mousset has to happen- with the ready made song for him it seems like the stars have aligned. Given my enthusiasm, he'll probably end up as Hery mark 2
bohsmug
04/02/2025, 1:58 PM
he was nowhere near as unfit looking as I thought based on what people were saying online.
Thought the same, was surprised. At this stage get it done or else somebody else will. If he's willing to drop to LOI level then I'm sure we're not the only ones who'd take a punt.
If Bohs sign a decent striker now then I think we've had as good a window as we could have reasonably expected.
Shinkicker
04/02/2025, 2:17 PM
If Bohs sign a decent striker now then I think we've had as good a window as we could have reasonably expected.
I would agree with that. It started well and died off for a good while but recently it looks promising again. This potentially could be a good squad with the capabilities to upset some of the front runners. If Mousset has been around for a few weeks he'll have gelled in to the squad.They should just get the last bit of business done and knuckle down for the beginning of the season.
Shinkicker
04/02/2025, 4:05 PM
Bohs have signed Alex Lacey, a defender, any one know anything about him.?
joey B
04/02/2025, 6:03 PM
Mason Melia signing for Spurs for 1.6 million plus add ons,will spend this season with Pats before moving next January.....
04/02/2025, 6:10 PM
Crikey, that's a great deal. Fee is in sterling too - that's close to €2m. Game-changing sum of money potentially.
Touch wood he can justify it cos that's exactly the sort of transfer we could do with seeing more often here.
ger121
04/02/2025, 6:36 PM
Crikey, that's a great deal. Fee is in sterling too - that's close to €2m. Game-changing sum of money potentially.
Touch wood he can justify it cos that's exactly the sort of transfer we could do with seeing more often here.
Could break the glass ceiling on transfer fees in the future if this transfer is a success. Good luck to him.
ger121
04/02/2025, 6:38 PM
Parsons is a bit of a YouTuber I see. 120k followers. His videos are actually quite good.
What do the Waterford lads think of him? On face value it seems like a good piece of business.
Jd2793
04/02/2025, 6:39 PM
class money for pats and a great move for melia.
04/02/2025, 6:45 PM
Add ons could take it up to £3.5m, plus a 20% sell on. Great fee.
20% sell on too, that is some bit of business.
https://x.com/DavidSneyd/status/1886863609440919845
How long was left on Melias contract does anyone know?
I'm wondering how they managed to break the cycle of agents/players having cheap release clauses. Did they just offer him really good money he couldn't turn down as a 16 year old?
Mason Melia signing for Spurs for 1.6 million plus add ons,will spend this season with Pats before moving next January.....
I looked at that quickly and saw 16 mill. !
How long was left on Melias contract does anyone know?
I'm wondering how they managed to break the cycle of agents/players having cheap release clauses. Did they just offer him really good money he couldn't turn down as a 16 year old?
As I recall he signed a contract until he’s 19, which would leave him another full year after this year.
total hoofball
04/02/2025, 7:13 PM
This Melia transfer fee is the biggest financial evidence of a Brexit benefit for a LOI club
04/02/2025, 7:19 PM
20% sell on too, that is some bit of business.
https://x.com/DavidSneyd/status/1886863609440919845
How does a second sell on clause work then?
04/02/2025, 8:00 PM
How does a second sell on clause work then?
Presume if Spurs sell him to Bayern for €60m who sell him to Grimsby for €100k, then they get (say) 2% of the €100k. Never heard of one before - bit surprising Pat's were able to get that included. If I was Spurs I'd have told them where to go.
04/02/2025, 8:07 PM
I'm not sure how that'd be enforceable against two clubs not party to the original agreement? Unless Spurs are guaranteeing to pay whatever that amount would be. Which seems a bit silly when they have no control over it. What if he's ridiculously successful and is sold on for £60m?
BigEars
04/02/2025, 8:14 PM
I'm not sure how that'd be enforceable against two clubs not party to the original agreement? Unless Spurs are guaranteeing to pay whatever that amount would be. Which seems a bit silly when they have no control over it. What if he's ridiculously successful and is sold on for £60m?
Football contracts can be very convoluted, and I imagine the latter is exactly what Spurs have agreed to. I imagine it's incerted so if he goes on a free somewhere from Spurs, Pat's can still get part of a later transfer fee.
Spurs in the efforts to sign a talented young player among competition have probably thought that, if he does well they'll get good money from him for any initial sale anyway, and if he does go for free or small money, a following transfer fee will likely also be free or small money.
joey B
04/02/2025, 8:17 PM
Just noticed Luke O’Brien signed with Carrick Rangers,was fairly meh for us last season and definitely didn’t look anywhere near good enough for Pats …..
2 Year Contract
04/02/2025, 8:22 PM
Just noticed Luke O’Brien signed with Carrick Rangers,was fairly meh for us last season and definitely didn’t look anywhere near good enough for Pats …..
In peak LOI fashion (excuse the pun)… I was in Elverys before Christmas buying the new Pats jersey and he was working behind the till. He may not be fit to wear the shirt by your reckoning but he was doing a fine job of selling it! :D Got chatting to him, he's a sound lad and hope he does well up there
2 Year Contract
04/02/2025, 8:24 PM
Brilliant deal negotiated by Ger O'Brien and Co at Pats for Melia. Great to have him for another year too. Hopefully we start to see more deals of this ilk across the league in the future
04/02/2025, 8:47 PM
I'm not sure how that'd be enforceable against two clubs not party to the original agreement? Unless Spurs are guaranteeing to pay whatever that amount would be.
It may be dependent on Spurs having their own sell-on clause in any deal and giving Pat's, say, 10% of any sell-on clause they get.
Weird one for sure though
2 Year Contract
04/02/2025, 8:52 PM
Johnny Kenny seems to have ruled out a return to rovers on loan this season with this tweet
https://x.com/johnny_kenny2/status/1886843093548150795?s=46
Makes sense that he’d stick around at Celtic and fight for his place after they sold Kyogo and didn’t replace him in the window
04/02/2025, 9:08 PM
It may be dependent on Spurs having their own sell-on clause in any deal and giving Pat's, say, 10% of any sell-on clause they get.
Weird one for sure though
Yeah. I'm academically curious as to how it works! Fair play to Pats anyhow.
total hoofball
04/02/2025, 9:29 PM
I see the Sky Sports ROI website headline article has the Melia Spurs deal with a dose of fake news resulting in myself double checking Harry Wood's goal in Derry yet again
The teenager helped St Pats win the 2024 League of Ireland Premier Division title after a thrilling title race
https://www.skysports.com/football/live-blog/33694/13025489/tottenham-transfer-news-rumours-and-gossip-live-updates-and-latest-on-deals-signings-loans-and-contracts
dundalkfc10
04/02/2025, 9:56 PM
Johnny Kenny seems to have ruled out a return to rovers on loan this season with this tweet
https://x.com/johnny_kenny2/status/1886843093548150795?s=46
Makes sense that he’d stick around at Celtic and fight for his place after they sold Kyogo and didn’t replace him in the window
Brendan Rodgers wasn't happy today in his press conference that they never signed a striker despite knowing Kyogo wanted away since the summer
Another Celtic youngster striker Cummings (came on against Villa) has signed a pre contract with West Ham and he wasn't allowed leave Celtic either.
You would think Kenny will get plenty of game time between now and end season considering they have the league wrapped up already, be loads minutes available
MoydowMonty
04/02/2025, 9:56 PM
Longford don't seem bothered about announcing their signings for some reason so I'm listing them here (as per FAI connect being gospel)
Joshua Giurgi, Aaron Doran - Maynooth University Town
Daniel Chukwu - Bray
Osaze Irhue - Drogs
Andrew Spain - Kerry
BigEars
04/02/2025, 10:06 PM
Brendan Rodgers wasn't happy today in his press conference that they never signed a striker despite knowing Kyogo wanted away since the summer
Another Celtic youngster striker Cummings (came on against Villa) has signed a pre contract with West Ham and he wasn't allowed leave Celtic either.
You would think Kenny will get plenty of game time between now and end season considering they have the league wrapped up already, be loads minutes available
I know a lot of Rovers fans were wondering why he wasn't on his way back to them, considering at one point it looked unlikely he'd get much first team action.
However any move back to the LOI would have been the end of his Celtic career and the strong likelihood of moving to a smaller club or playing at a lower level. He'd already proven himself at LOI and Conference League level, and even a solid 6 months at home probably wouldn't have gotten him much more interest than what would be there right now.
Now their main striker is gone and not replaced, he'll probably be getting some opportunities off the bench to make an impact.
Disappointint for Rovers but in hindsight it seems Kenny has made the right decision.
2 Year Contract
04/02/2025, 10:40 PM
Surprised there hasn’t been any clubs over here linked to Mark Doyle. He was released by Rhode Island just over 2 months ago now and there’s not been any links. I reckon he’d be a good signing for a good few clubs, can see him fitting in well back at Drogheda for example. Maybe he has another club lined up in America though with their season starting a few weeks after ours, in March
joey B
04/02/2025, 10:42 PM
Shane Flynn signed for Ballymena from Waterford
04/02/2025, 10:58 PM
I see the Sky Sports ROI website headline article has the Melia Spurs deal with a dose of fake news resulting in myself double checking Harry Wood's goal in Derry yet again
https://www.skysports.com/football/live-blog/33694/13025489/tottenham-transfer-news-rumours-and-gossip-live-updates-and-latest-on-deals-signings-loans-and-contracts
Yeah, that’s absolutely what happened, I remember it so clearly :cool::cool:
placid casual
04/02/2025, 11:04 PM
Richie Towell has signed for lucan united.
That is not a joke.
RealJohn91
05/02/2025, 12:27 AM
Not shocked at all, his legs were clearly gone.
05/02/2025, 8:34 AM
On Melia, a fee like that for any LOI club is huge and a sign of progress. I hope that kind of money brings some sort of sustainability and safety to the jobs of those working around the club off the pitch too for the work they put in.
Staying around for a season is great for his own development and for the league. There will be big interest in what he does at a good Pats side while he continues to learn on the job.
Another Bohemia
05/02/2025, 8:57 AM
I hope that kind of money brings some sort of sustainability and safety to the jobs of those working around the club off the pitch too for the work they put in.
Credit where it's due Kelleher seems about as good an owner as any club could ask for. He invests in the first team and funded the structures for the youth teams. His backing is probably a significant part of the reason the club was able to secure such a few for Melia. Melia was given a long contract (and probably good money) very early into his career and that increases the minimum compensation Pats would be paid should Melia leave on a free. Hopefully fees like this become more common around the league.
Jack B
05/02/2025, 9:33 AM
Happy for Melia and from a Pat's perspective that we're keeping him for another year too. As the season went on last year he went from looking like a great prospect to just a top player in the league despite his age and you'd imagine that'll only continue to be the case.
It will hopefully set some kind of a precedent for the league too, as much as this is a great deal in a LOI sense these kind of fees aren't unheard of in comparable or even lesser leagues than ours.
Kiki Balboa
05/02/2025, 9:55 AM
It will hopefully set some kind of a precedent for the league too, as much as this is a great deal in a LOI sense these kind of fees aren't unheard of in comparable or even lesser leagues than ours.
The amount of lads of teenage years that is making an impact on the league is massive and really shows the success of the LOI underage system (along with Brexit). Hopefully, it will start having an impact at the elite end of football for the National Team... but no matter what, it has been a massive success for LOI.
05/02/2025, 10:20 AM
Be interesting to see how he performs this season too - that's living up to a €2m price tag in the year before your transfer is pretty much unprecedented pressure for an LoI player to have.
RealJohn91
05/02/2025, 12:09 PM
Looks like the Lys Mousset to Bohs deal is done. Should be interesting if nothing else.
sessylU
05/02/2025, 12:10 PM
Yeah, delighted to see the Melia deal. It always frustrates me the low values that young LoI players go for, when you see the amount of money that English teams (even Championship) chuck around. Particularly the big clubs who will sort of hoover up talent as assets.
Like, I can't imagine how frustrating the negotiations must be, knowing that the other side are made up of people who don't value money, walking away with 100k when you know that the other side can write a check for 1mil, or 10mil, just as easily.
In any case, as is standard with LoI windfalls, I look forward to St Pats winning a couple of doubles, getting to the last 16 of the Europa, then bankruptcy and First Division in, say, 2030?
total hoofball
05/02/2025, 12:47 PM
Richie Towell has signed for lucan united.
That is not a joke.
Most likely that is the end of his LOI career, I can see a post on twitter saying his going self-employed running a football academy so it makes some sense signing for a top LSL club with a lighter training/travelling schedule who also pay wages
Shinkicker
05/02/2025, 1:18 PM
I'd say that's Bohs business done. Now it time "gel" so we don't have to listen to that excuse again.
Another Bohemia
05/02/2025, 1:37 PM
I'd say that's Bohs business done. Now it time "gel" so we don't have to listen to that excuse again.
Well the gelling does seem to have been happening in preseason. Lacey and Mousset(if he is signed obviously) have also played some of the preseason games so should be up to speed there already. Results were positive but more importantly the bits I've actually seen of them playing have looked quite tidy and coherent.
To quote Micheal Scott "No doubt about it, I'm ready to be hurt again"
05/02/2025, 2:21 PM
Most likely that is the end of his LOI career, I can see a post on twitter saying his going self-employed running a football academy so it makes some sense signing for a top LSL club with a lighter training/travelling schedule who also pay wages
If he's going self employed he may be looking to claim back his tax as well which would mean he can't come back to LOI in future or he'd have to repay that.
Kiki Balboa
05/02/2025, 3:09 PM
A weird send-off for one of the most dominant LOI players ever.
Don't think many players will ever come close to his individual season in 2015.
Had a real "superstar" feeling about him in Dundalk, something I don't think happens too often in this league. Kids were even getting his haircut.
All-in-all he had a fairly decent time over in England but never really threatened the national squad. He was never going to age well unless he changed his game as he got older.
Jolly Red Giant
05/02/2025, 3:28 PM
Looks like the Lys Mousset to Bohs deal is done. Should be interesting if nothing else.
It probably is a boom or bust type of scenario - the guy probably deserves a break
2 Year Contract
05/02/2025, 3:29 PM
A weird send-off for one of the most dominant LOI players ever.
Don't think many players will ever come close to his individual season in 2015.
Had a real "superstar" feeling about him in Dundalk, something I don't think happens too often in this league. Kids were even getting his haircut.
All-in-all he had a fairly decent time over in England but never really threatened the national squad. He was never going to age well unless he changed his game as he got older.
Are you sure those weren’t just frequent power cuts at the barbers? ;)