View Full Version : LoI in Europe 2018

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28

12/07/2018, 7:15 PM
Gornik Zabrze playing Zaria from Ukraine I see.

Only their second time in Europe since beating Rovers 7-0 in the mid 90s

ger121
12/07/2018, 7:17 PM
Progres beat Rangers last year remember.

Dudelange's annual budget was about 2m when we beat them. Top player on more than five grand a week. The league there has improved alright. How we won - never mind with ten men - I don't know

Thought there had to be money in that League. Must be private funding. Goes to show,that there are few easy Leagues now. Even clubs from Malta and Northern Ireland are winning games in EL the last couple of seasons. The Macedonia League is another one that has improved a lot in recent years.

12/07/2018, 7:20 PM
Lots of bank sponsorship I'd say.

But yeah, it's improved a lot

12/07/2018, 7:41 PM
Rovers losing now. So looks like one win - and one goal - from the four games. Not unexpected though with the difficult draw

ger121
12/07/2018, 7:42 PM
Rovers one down I see.

CuanaD
12/07/2018, 7:53 PM
Rovers losing now. So looks like one win - and one goal - from the four games. Not unexpected though with the difficult draw

Bad start for the coefficient though

ger121
12/07/2018, 8:00 PM
Unseeded or not but **** poor tonight at home from both sides when you see some of the other results in EL from unseeded teams.

White Horse
12/07/2018, 8:01 PM
Unseeded or not but **** poor tonight at home from both sides when you see some of the other results in EL from unseeded teams.

Teams not giving it a go and settling for respectable defeats.

Lack of ambition.

dundalkfc10
12/07/2018, 8:02 PM
Totally agree.

****ing go out try play football and win the game (Cork/Rovers)

Straightstory
12/07/2018, 8:04 PM
Coleraine 1-0 up in Serbia. Great start there

And the manager's on holiday.

https://www.bbc.com/sport/football/44702741

sbgawa
12/07/2018, 8:05 PM
Disappointing to lose but def not over.
Uphill from here though. Watts was excellent unlucky to have a shot deflected over. Travel in hope.

12/07/2018, 8:12 PM
The assistant too.

That is utterly idiotic.

ger121
12/07/2018, 8:15 PM
Teams not giving it a go and settling for respectable defeats.

Lack of ambition.

I agree. Talking up the opposition, playing down their chances. I mean they are playing decent sides but hardly world beaters. Pat’s drew away with Minsk and Linfield beat AIK at home. Have some confidence and go out to win.

sullanefc
12/07/2018, 8:15 PM
I think the most important thing that we can take from the European results this week is that Cork City are twice as good as Dundalk.

sbgawa
12/07/2018, 8:18 PM
Dundalk and bohs fans in agreement that rovers played badly. Lol

CorribsideSteve
12/07/2018, 8:21 PM
Down to Dundalk and Cork to make ground in Europe this year. It's not looking great for Rovers and it's all over for Derry already.

12/07/2018, 8:23 PM
If Dundalk go through the club co-eff is up to 7.5 I think.

White Horse
12/07/2018, 8:25 PM
Down to Dundalk to make ground in Europe this year. Perhaps, hopefully even, Cork can go on a bit of a run in the EL to help complement any advances Dundalk might make, but it's not looking great for Rovers and it's all over for Derry already.

Cork have a great fall back option in the Europa League. They still have a chance in the Champions League, but it is long shot to be honest.

Rovers and Derry are out of the depth at this level.

12/07/2018, 8:26 PM
I think the most important thing that we can take from the European results this week is that Cork City are twice as good as Dundalk.

Only twice? With that sort of thinking Cork will never get the attention the crave!!

ger121
12/07/2018, 8:32 PM
Dundalk and bohs fans in agreement that rovers played badly. Lol

Yeah that’s the only reason alright:rolleyes:

dundalkfc10
12/07/2018, 8:33 PM
Absolutely

ger121
12/07/2018, 8:38 PM
Coleraine concede a 97th minute penalty.

Asterix
12/07/2018, 8:47 PM
Totally agree.

****ing go out try play football and win the game (Cork/Rovers)

Only say Dundalks first half but they only had 40% possession in them 45 minutes, hardly suggests dundalk went out and tried to play football.

Aik are a decent side, unbeaten this season , thought we deserved a draw tonight, were well capable of scoring next week.

Kingswood Rover
12/07/2018, 9:19 PM
There was a balance about Rovers tonight Dylann Watts looks like a fantastic signing, Coulstrain had his best game in a hooped jersey, very disappointing crowd 4 k max.

Duggie
12/07/2018, 10:08 PM
Shams played ok i thought. Deserved a draw. That AIK side are nothing special. Average enough.

EatYerGreens
12/07/2018, 10:14 PM
Can never get over the fact that Irish League clubs allow their players to go on holidays while the club is playing in Europe. Utterly mind boggling and baffling.

It's a combination of expectations and priorities.

IL clubs generally don't expect to do well in Europe, and act accordingly. So long as their players and managers are back in time for their big fixtures against Warrenpoint and Ballinamallard, then they're happy enough.

12/07/2018, 10:35 PM
Dundalk goal

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8IH5eSJ9l5I

12/07/2018, 10:38 PM
Derry 0-1 Minsk

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I_7SzNFkYfY

12/07/2018, 10:39 PM
Derry 0-2 Minsk

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gr4whJWnzfQ

12/07/2018, 10:39 PM
Shamrock Rovers 0-1 AIK

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qLk9Om2TTNg

12/07/2018, 11:59 PM
very disappointing crowd 4 k max.

2,817 in Tallaght. Very poor really for a European tie.

Only about 1,500 in Derry judging by reports too.

EatYerGreens
13/07/2018, 12:01 AM
2,817 in Tallaght. Very poor really for a European tie.

Only about 1,500 in Derry judging by reports too.

Apparently 1,400 in Derry - so stadium only approx. 40% full. Probably the worst European crowd they've had at Brandywell.

The club got their prices badly wrong, but still don't seem to acknowledge it.

13/07/2018, 1:42 AM
Thought we did quite well against a much richer team and didn't look out of place. Good sides punish mistakes and we had a collective failure for their goal, but otherwise we were comfortable. We didn't create much outside Watts and, when he came on, Greene though.

swinfordfc
13/07/2018, 7:49 AM
Lads, sorry but I'm sick listening to some stuff here - Dundalk are a way better side than Cork playing in Europe and do you want to know cause Caulfield mouthing out about we are underdog this and that as instead going at teams! Kenny set up his team better and gives his players belief to go at teams! Cork will make 3rd round of Europa and Dundalk might not (cause of the luck of the draw) but Dundalk will def have more coefficient points!

Ezeikial
13/07/2018, 8:31 AM
I agree that the point scoring comparisons get tedious (yeah I know I'm guilty too), although the point about Kenny and instilling belief in his players is very pertinent.

I know from first hand experience that SK had his players believing totally that they could match / beat Zenit and Alkmaar or Rosenborg and others even in the away legs. This belief does not guaranteed a win but it gives the players the confidence to try.

It is a special gift

El-Pietro
13/07/2018, 8:50 AM
Lads, sorry but I'm sick listening to some stuff here - Dundalk are a way better side than Cork playing in Europe and do you want to know cause Caulfield mouthing out about we are underdog this and that as instead going at teams! Kenny set up his team better and gives his players belief to go at teams! Cork will make 3rd round of Europa and Dundalk might not (cause of the luck of the draw) but Dundalk will def have more coefficient points!
They won't this year unless they make it past the third round. Club Coefficient is based on which round you reach (and any wins and draws from the group stages on). They might add more to the league total (by virtue of playing more games and playing a weaker side in the first round) but they won't add more club coefficient. Of course they already have much higher coefficient than we do.

You also realise that Cork City beat Dundalks opponents last year home and away right? Dundalk haven't achieved anything special this year in Europe yet. They may well go on to do so but lets not go over the top in congratulating them for beating an unseeded side.

White Horse
13/07/2018, 8:58 AM
Can I please appeal for no praise or recognition for Dundalk performances in Europe.

The poor snowflakes who support Cork can't take it.

Lets create a "safe place" for them where nice things are said about Cork and Dundalk are not mentioned.

Real ale Madrid
13/07/2018, 9:07 AM
The poor snowflakes who support Cork can't take it.

Lilywhites calling people snowflakes! Ha!

dundalkfc10
13/07/2018, 9:11 AM
They won't this year unless they make it past the third round. Club Coefficient is based on which round you reach (and any wins and draws from the group stages on). They might add more to the league total (by virtue of playing more games and playing a weaker side in the first round) but they won't add more club coefficient. Of course they already have much higher coefficient than we do.

You also realise that Cork City beat Dundalks opponents last year home and away right? Dundalk haven't achieved anything special this year in Europe yet. They may well go on to do so but lets not go over the top in congratulating them for beating an unseeded side.

You realise Tallinn are not the same team as last year. 2 clubs have merged into one and its basically a new squad.

Of course you didnt!

Real ale Madrid
13/07/2018, 9:15 AM
I agree that the point scoring comparisons get tedious (yeah I know I'm guilty too), although the point about Kenny and instilling belief in his players is very pertinent.

I know from first hand experience that SK had his players believing totally that they could match / beat Zenit and Alkmaar or Rosenborg and others even in the away legs. This belief does not guaranteed a win but it gives the players the confidence to try.

It is a special gift

SK is a great manager - but you can't win the amount that City have and had some good results in Europe without similar self belief - I'm not sure that is a stick you can beat JC with. He has a different attitude in public - always talking up the opposition, (resources - don't talk to me about resources) but privately he must be saying something different.

I really hope Dundalk do the business against Larnaca in the next round - it will be interesting to see if the style of Dundalk's play gives them a better chance - I suspect that it will. We lost that tie last year at home with a poor performance Imo rather than anything tactically, if Dundalk have a proper go at them they must have a chance.

Real ale Madrid
13/07/2018, 9:18 AM
You realise Tallinn are not the same team as last year. 2 clubs have merged into one and its basically a new squad.

Of course you didnt!

Levadia were unbeaten and flying at the top of the league last year when they played City. This year they have lost twice and are 3rd in the league. Not sure how you can say they have improved in the year without having a forensic knowledge of the Meistriliiga.

sbgawa
13/07/2018, 9:27 AM
Are you trying to tell me that John Caulfield doesn't finish every pre match chat by saying
"Lads all that stuff I said about this lot being great is true, do your best to keep the score down yis haven't a hope out there"
Is there not a rule that managers have to say the same thing in the dressing room as they do publically?
Is that not basically cheating?

Its amazing how Cork managed to win the double last year playing for a guy who is such a shockingly bad motivator.

dundalkfc10
13/07/2018, 10:13 AM
Levadia were unbeaten and flying at the top of the league last year when they played City. This year they have lost twice and are 3rd in the league. Not sure how you can say they have improved in the year without having a forensic knowledge of the Meistriliiga.

Apologies Cork are a much better team than Dundalk!

League table does not agree with you but of course you are right!

marinobohs
13/07/2018, 10:40 AM

Dundalk and Cork are both excellent teams, the stand out teams in our League. it is however ridiculous to compare them based on European matches against different teams (albeit the same club) over different seasons. Personally I hope both get far but not because it will 'prove' which is better but because it is good for our League.

Real ale Madrid
13/07/2018, 11:09 AM

Not sure what that has got to do with what I posted but anyway. The narrative seems to be struck that this Levadia /FCI team are superior to last seasons team but there is no evidence to support that. I reckon its a much of a muchness.

swinfordfc
13/07/2018, 11:12 AM

Cork will probably get beat over in Poland (hope they get something) so they reached 3rd round of Europa League and add nothing to the Ireland coefficient this by doing so .... Dundalk already have 0.25 to the coefficient this year and hopefully more. At the end of this year, Ireland loses 2 full points! Derry and Rovers will get nothing this year so it up to the two big teams to get it up to at least 1 this year ....

Philosophizer
13/07/2018, 11:27 AM
As is common for many LOI teams in Europe, Rovers just lacked a bit of guile last night. Watching it in Tallaght, i felt like i had seen this match umpteen times before between LOI teams vs european opposition.
For the 1st 30 mins AIK just sat in their own half to suss Rovers out. Rovers had all the ball in that period but couldn't once create a chance with any quick passing combinations in the centre. Their only plan was to give it wide, hope the wide man gets to the byline and crosses it and maybe we'll get a break.
Gradually AIK came out of their shell and their goal was a demonstration of the type of move that Rovers were unable to create - some clever movement and a couple of quick incisive passes sliced right through the Rovers defence.
For the whole game, AIKs keeper only had to save shots from outside the box.
In fairness though, this is generally what happens when you play a team from a higher level. Like Cork on Tue night, rovers were by no means embarrassed and with only 1 goal between the teams they still have a chance chance in the away leg, albeit a small one.

D24Saint
13/07/2018, 11:31 AM
Found the Derry chairmans criticism of fans not turning up yesterday hilarious it seems that some think that clubs can go what they want and they fans should follow like sheep and when they don't they are accused of being disloyal.

sbgawa
13/07/2018, 11:34 AM
That's probably a little harsh but fair enough summary.
Watts was unlucky to have a shot deflected over from about 6 yards for a corner early in the half that would have made a huge difference.
I fancy us to score in Stockholm as they won't be able to sit back in banks of 4 at home but id also fancy them to score as well.
Sam Bone was poor , I would play Bolger minor from the start instead of him in Swedan.
Bazunu's performance was excellent , his distribution is very good , couldn't fault him for the goal....will be a lot busier in Swedan.

Real ale Madrid
13/07/2018, 11:37 AM
Cork will probably get beat over in Poland (hope they get something) so they reached 3rd round of Europa League and add nothing to the Ireland coefficient this by doing so .... Dundalk already have 0.25 to the coefficient this year and hopefully more. At the end of this year, Ireland loses 2 full points! Derry and Rovers will get nothing this year so it up to the two big teams to get it up to at least 1 this year ....

No Ireland loses .25 for the 2019 Rankings

2018 Final rankings

Current 2019 Rankings

So with Dundalk's win last night any other result will increase our Total Co-efficient. Remains to be seen if our ranking improves.