View Full Version : LoI in Europe 2018
El-Pietro
28/06/2018, 8:54 AM
Great stuff to hear tickets almost sold out, and you will have a full house, but there is nothing stopping local based Polish fans buying tickets for home areas?
Plus will you not have to allocate 10% to away support?
I think Dundalk have 300 or so set aside for Tallinn, but they would be unlikely to take very many over, unless as in the case of Polish there is a strong local based community here, but I wouldn’t have thougth as near as many as Polish.
Did many Tallinn fans take up their allocation for TC last year ?
5% not 10% I believe. We will give them one block of the St. Annes. They were on general sale for 3 weeks before the draw, since the draw we have only been selling tickets to season ticket holders and FORAS members, 4 per person. Its possible some of these have filtered through to Polish fans but the general hope is that we keep as many of them out of the hands of Legia and Lech fans. Obviously there are also genuine Polish fans of Cork City.
I don't remember any/many Tallinn fans at either game last year. The away game was in Parnu rather than Tallinn and not many travelled.
Pablo Escobar
28/06/2018, 9:11 AM
I think Dundalk have 300 or so set aside for Tallinn, but they would be unlikely to take very many over, unless as in the case of Polish there is a strong local based community here, but I wouldn’t have thougth as near as many as Polish.
Levadia's average attendance is about 300 - I think you've put enough aside :D
Its 5% as pointed out by EL P not 10%, my bad, so this will mean Dundalk will only need to set aside 150.
I didn't realize they were that poorly supported, we might have more than that at the away game, and yes I remember the away game was switched from Tallinn, what was the reason for that again?
28/06/2018, 2:35 PM
Wasnt it due to two Tallinn sides being drawn at home first so rather than switch legs of one fixture it was moved to another venue outside Tallinn?
I think our ticketing has been handled very well for this one.
There was a great value early bird, before the draw. Once the draw was made, tickets were restricted to members or ST holders only to limit away fans buying home tickets. And those that are going to go on general sale will do so inside the ground only, at the Portsmouth game, and maybe the rovers game if there's any left. Should increase the crowd for the friendly.
sbgawa
29/06/2018, 2:46 PM
Rovers tickets on sale now
€15 adults €10 concessions €5 kids , fair play that is good value.
AIK are a decent side might encourage a few neutrals along
ToberonaTornado
30/06/2018, 1:07 AM
Tickets for dundalk v levadia https://www.dundalkfc.com/fci-levadia-tickets-priority-sale/
same as league price admission.
Good to see prices not increased from league games, was pretty sure it was €25/€20 for adults last few seasons for euro matches in oriel park.
03/07/2018, 4:28 PM
In case it would happen to affect anyone here traveling away, Ryanair pilots striking next Thursday:
https://www.rte.ie/news/2018/0703/975926-ryanair_pilots/
sbgawa
03/07/2018, 6:05 PM
Thank God for SAS
07/07/2018, 12:53 PM
Nults out of the CL game after going off injured last night. I really fear for us Tuesday. Gutted.
patrickccfc
07/07/2018, 1:16 PM
That's a massive blow for us. It was an uphill task anyway, but losing him definitely doesn't help.
08/07/2018, 12:47 PM
Peter Cherrie isn't a bad backup option though in fairness. One of the more under rated keepers in the league I'd have thought.
White Horse
08/07/2018, 1:01 PM
Peter Cherrie isn't a bad backup option though in fairness. One of the more under rated keepers in the league I'd have thought.
Cherrie is a better goalkeeper, and a nicer lad as well.
Ezeikial
08/07/2018, 2:56 PM
I wish Cork City the very best of luck against Legia Warsaw.
The odds are stacked against them, but if the players and managements believe in themselves and take the game to them anything is possible
Cherrie is nowhere near the quality of Nults, only a clear dislike of Nults would make anyone think otherwise.
I was delighted when we signed him as backup, by He's been far from convincing anytime he's played this season, so fans are very nervous about how he'll do. Hopefully he plays a stormer! But it's a big ask of a keeper who has barely played at all this year.
jinxy lilywhite
08/07/2018, 6:45 PM
Will the cork lads line up hand in hand with the gk jersey back to front and mcnulty on the back.
Good luck to cork.
DFCForever
08/07/2018, 10:12 PM
I genuinely don't see Cork getting past Legia, hopefully I'll be proven wrong as it'd be great for the status of the league if they were to progress. I feel more or less the same way about Rovers' and Derry's ties. I'm confident that Dundalk will get past Levadia, but it won't be easy, I'm sure Kenny and the boys are aware of that too.
You're not the only one!
We're not in great form, struggling to score goals, Nults is out and Legia are very good! I'm just gonna enjoy being the CL again.
The EL safety net is a huge boon too.
Some Dundalk fans appear to be taking our match for granted, some even ‘holding back' to go on the Cyprus trip ‘instead’. Cork have may have beaten them convincingly last year but they have at least 5/6 new players from that side, and looking at their table, they have only lost 1 from 18. We should get through and will probably be favs in the away game, but I`m taking nothing for granted. We’ll still need to be fully focused on Thursday.
That’s a blow for Cork with McNulty out, he may not be everyones cup of tea, but there’s no disputing he’s a top keeper, one thing I noticed too, he communicates very well with the back 4 so he’ll def be a loss. Cheerie is decent, but an interesting side note here, for my only other DFC euro away trip (Lux 2010) it was him that was injured for the Euro game, he got a hand injury on the mid season break, and ended up missing both legs.
It will be tough for Cork, but the fans should still embrace the occasion, it’s going to be a great atmosphere. I remember our first CL tie under Kenny, we got BATE, and lost 2-1 away, the home leg was just a fantastic occasion and was played in oriel park, a tense 0-0 draw, close but no cigar.
I haven’t looked into the Derry and Rovers games too much, but Rovers appear to have the best hope from the two.
Exactly, sold out Turners Cross for a CL tie comes around roughly once in a blue moon! Gonna enjoy it regardless.
Obviously good not to be cocky, but ye'll best Levadia comfortably. Larnaca is the interesting one, depending on how they are compared to last season.
White Horse
09/07/2018, 8:36 AM
...he got a hand injury on the mid season break, and ended up missing both legs.
Unfortunate to injury one hand but miss both legs. :)
RathfarnhamHoop
09/07/2018, 8:58 AM
Walked past 3/4 AIK jerseys this morning so looks like a decent away crowd Thursday
sbgawa
09/07/2018, 9:50 AM
I heard two wide estimates of their support 300 and 700 but either way there will be a noisy group and a good atmosphere.
bit nervous about this game tbh they look good and are unbeaten in the league this year.
Hopefully we can have something to take to Sweden with us other than hoping for a miracle recovery.
Straightstory
09/07/2018, 10:13 AM
Apart from the Rovers v AIK game (on Eirsport), none of these games seem to be on TV. Disappointingly, Eirsport seem to be covering the Celtic game, but not Cork one. Maybe there are some live streams available?
Ezeikial
09/07/2018, 10:29 AM
Apart from the Rovers v AIK game (on Eirsport), none of these games seem to be on TV. Disappointingly, Eirsport seem to be covering the Celtic game, but not Cork one. Maybe there are some live streams available?
Levadia's website says that Thursday match in Tallinn is on Delfi TV LIVE
I have no idea if this means that it will be accessible here. Maybe some of the streaming site experts can advise how this can be picked up?
http://fclevadia.ee/
White Horse
09/07/2018, 10:29 AM
I'd like to wish all our clubs the very best in Europe this season, particularly Cork City.
The Champions League is special, and representing one's league is such a prestigious completion is an honour.
RathfarnhamHoop
09/07/2018, 1:08 PM
Levadia's website says that Thursday match in Tallinn is on Delfi TV LIVE
I have no idea if this means that it will be accessible here. Maybe some of the streaming site experts can advise how this can be picked up?
http://fclevadia.ee/
Is its on any tv odds are vipbox will have a stream, use an ad blocker though
Our game now sold out. Always great to see a game sold out in advance, especially with the world cup semi at the same time. He's hoping for a great atmosphere
El-Pietro
09/07/2018, 4:35 PM
Our game now sold out. Always great to see a game sold out in advance, especially with the world cup semi at the same time. He's hoping for a great atmosphere The world cup thing is massive. I wonder did many buy tickets not realising what it was up against. It is unfortunate that we couldn't get tv coverage though because of the world cup game.
I'm absolutely buzzing for this game. Stadium sold out, road closures from 4pm tomorrow, it feels like a big game. Hopefully we turn in a good performance and keep the tie alive so you have to leave the young fella on his own for a bit!
Ezeikial
09/07/2018, 4:49 PM
I envy Cork fans going into such a magical and special occasion tomorrow evening. Whether the odds are with you or against you does not change the pre-match buzz and excitement that these really big games generate.
I also hope that the management and team look to take the game to Legia and are not content to meekly bow out with a sort-of respectable defeat - those days of moral victories and valiant defeats should be erased from our sporting psyhic.
I hope that Cork City as the current national champions of Ireland do themselves, their supporters and the nationwide well-wishers, proud tomorrow night.
Beleave
CorribsideSteve
09/07/2018, 9:53 PM
For those of you coefficient(ly) minded, seeing as Iceland are 35th on the Coeffs table on 8.500, and the LOI is 39th on 6.700, were they to have a poor campaign with their clubs, and us to have even something moderately near 2016 (2.625 earned), would it be possible, though difficult, to outjump them?
I`m heading off on my trip to Tallinn later this afternoon, just wanted to wish the first of our teams the very best of luck tonight, here's hoping Cork do the league proud.
For the fans, enjoy the occasion, these games don't come around too often.
10/07/2018, 9:49 AM
Very little buzz about Derry for the match.
The Clipper yacht race is in town, which takes attention away a bit, but the ticket price fiasco has overshadowed the whole thing.
According to the reports, there were 350 odd tickets sold by the weekend. I'm sure most will just buy on the day, but it's hard to see more than a thousand being at it.
Match-wise, Minsk are sitting second in the league, six wins in their last 10 games. It'll be a real struggle for us. We can't keep a clean sheet these days, so I'll expect Minsk to get quite a few.
Look elsewhere for co-efficient points this year, we'll be getting none.
Pablo Escobar
10/07/2018, 1:03 PM
For those of you coefficient(ly) minded, seeing as Iceland are 35th on the Coeffs table on 8.500, and the LOI is 39th on 6.700, were they to have a poor campaign with their clubs, and us to have even something moderately near 2016 (2.625 earned), would it be possible, though difficult, to outjump them?
I many be getting mixed up here with coefficients but I did read somewhere that we picked up 2.000 already by just winning the draw for the bye in the EL. Wide open to correction on it though.
10/07/2018, 1:13 PM
I many be getting mixed up here with coefficients but I did read somewhere that we picked up 2.000 already by just winning the draw for the bye in the EL. Wide open to correction on it though.
Not according to Bert Kassies website anyway.
https://kassiesa.home.xs4all.nl/bert/uefa/data/method5/tcoef2019.html
Real ale Madrid
10/07/2018, 1:18 PM
Wouldn't have got the points from the EL yet as maybe we will get more CL points first!
sbgawa
10/07/2018, 1:22 PM
if there are only 1000 people at the Derry match it is a farce. Talk about community relations !
10/07/2018, 1:36 PM
Wouldn't have got the points from the EL yet as maybe we will get more CL points first!
Good point that. It'll be interesting to see what happens there.
El-Pietro
10/07/2018, 1:39 PM
Club coefficient is calculated entirely on the round you exit Europe at (unless you reach the group stage at which point you start getting points for wins and draws).
Country coefficient is calculated based on individual match results, wins and draws.
Country coefficient is used for country ranking (which is sort of irrelevant to Ireland at the moment so long as we stay out of the bottom ~10 leagues and until we can climb into the top ~25 leagues) and as a replacement for any club that has no club coefficient or whose club coefficient is lower than
So for example Waterford will probably be in Europe next season. As they have no European record over the past five seasons they will have no coefficient and will use the Irish total instead.
His formulas aren't able to handle the Europa League bye so assumes we will only get 1.5. Its a bit of a one off problem and will resolve itself next Tuesday night so not worth fixing.
Cork City (and Legia) are guaranteed 2 points for this season.
https://kassiesa.home.xs4all.nl/bert/uefa/calc.html
marinobohs
10/07/2018, 3:24 PM
Best of luck to all our representatives in Europe :ball: yis jammy shower of .............
Kiki Balboa
10/07/2018, 4:34 PM
I hate the way LOI managers denigrate their sides before going into these European games. Caulfield is talking about giving up 60-70% of the possession.... Your Champions of Ireland FFS and not having a bad season either. Your at home, in front of a raucous crowd ... Have a f***king go... Talk about having a fortress mentality..
Also, the way some people go on about it... You swear Dinamo Minsk had just collected their winner medals from the world cup.
Rant over :)
10/07/2018, 4:36 PM
I hate the way LOI managers denigrate their sides before going into these European games. Caulfield is talking about giving up 60-70% of the possession.... Your Champions of Ireland FFS and not having a bad season either. Your at home, in front of a raucous crowd ... Have a f***king go... Talk about having a fortress mentality..
Also, the way some people go on about it... You swear Dinamo Minsk had just collected their winner medals from the world cup.
I'd love to see Finn Harps in Europe under Ollie Horgan..
We cede majority possession to teams here,let alone Legia. Just have a go is nonsense advice. We'll play to our strengths.
patrickccfc
10/07/2018, 5:41 PM
Sheppard up front tonight. Sadlier and cummins on the bench. Delaney starts too. Keohane Buckley and mcnamee behind Sheppard
Ezeikial
10/07/2018, 6:09 PM
We cede majority possession to teams here,let alone Legia. Just have a go is nonsense advice. We'll play to our strengths.
Holy Moly - Leaving out your two top goalscorers and going 4-6-0 is playing to your strengths?
White Horse
10/07/2018, 6:23 PM
Delighted to see Peter Cherrie start for Cork tonight.
Interesting formation, false number 9? No one can accuse Caulfield of being predictable.
I can understand Sadlier being dropped, he is not really a team player.
The one area that concerns me is the full backs, but with that formation I would ecpect Cork to play with two wide midfielders with a view to protecting the flanks.
It'll be interesting to see how that formation works.
Have Cork played with this formation before or is Caulfield trying it out for the first time?
10/07/2018, 7:21 PM
Red card Legia?
This is interesting now.
Edit - maybe not? Futbol24 playing silly buggers it seems.
10/07/2018, 7:38 PM
TNS having a Macedonia in the Champions League; 5-0 down in Skopje with 20+ still to play
patrickccfc
10/07/2018, 7:39 PM
That chance for Barry mcnamee, that was a golden opportunity, but he mis-kicked it. Happy enough so far though