View Full Version : LoI in Europe 2018

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28

20/06/2018, 1:30 PM
Might be interesting for possible ammunition for a good slagging off either way, but comparison is about as relevant Dundalk v Legia 2016. Not that if Cork are beaten by double figures on agg I will happily refer to how they must have been played off the park;)

20/06/2018, 1:36 PM
Unless you're proposing some bizarre sort of idea whereby Dundalk and Cork play each other or something - how that would work I don't know, unless you started giving them points for wins or something - then I think this will settle every foot.ie argument for the next few years. :)

El-Pietro
20/06/2018, 1:43 PM
Might be interesting for possible ammunition for a good slagging off either way, but comparison is about as relevant Dundalk v Legia 2016. Not that if Cork are beaten by double figures on agg I will happily refer to how they must have been played off the park;)
Its certainly interesting. I agree that the 2016 Legia Side is probably very different from the 2018 side. I have no idea how similar this Larnaca side is to last year but I think its going to be a very very tough tie for Dundalk. Frustrating as you were seeded. Shows the luck of the draw is still key even when seeded. Derrys draws compared to ours over the past three years in the first round of the EL shows that too.

You should swat Levadia aside easily enough at least.

sullanefc
20/06/2018, 1:45 PM
Dundalk should hammer them given how much better at football they are than Cork City.
Dundalk should hammer Larnaca too given how much better at football they are than Cork City.

20/06/2018, 2:25 PM
So that's the exact same draw for Dundalk as Cork got last year, even down to the order of the legs.

This'll be interesting!

Just shows, as important as seeding is, it's still hit and miss.

placid casual
20/06/2018, 3:04 PM
Rovers - Cliftonville should be good. A good few connections between the 2 sets of fans mean it should be a warm welcome for us in Belfast.

Real ale Madrid
20/06/2018, 3:04 PM
So that's the exact same draw for Dundalk as Cork got last year, even down to the order of the legs.

This'll be interesting!

If Larnaca win then that will prove we are better than Dundalk, If Dundalk win that will merely prove Larnaca have gone backwards.

I think that it is a very difficult job to play down your chances in public and simultaneously get your players believing that they can win.

And that's why you are posting here and not a double winning LOI manager!

Its always amazes me how seriously people still take 'Manager-speak' - Caulfield is a pathological liar to the press!

mcgonigle
20/06/2018, 3:39 PM
If Larnaca win then that will prove we are better than Dundalk, If Dundalk win that will merely prove Larnaca have gone backwards.

Its always amazes me how seriously people still take 'Manager-speak' - Caulfield is a pathological liar to the press!

If Kenny had made those comments this thread would be 88 pages long!

El-Pietro
20/06/2018, 3:57 PM
If Kenny had made those comments this thread would be 88 pages long!

Thats just cos theres more of us!

City home leg confirmed for 10th July at 7:45. Away leg either 17th or 18th.

oriel
20/06/2018, 4:04 PM
Its certainly interesting. I agree that the 2016 Legia Side is probably very different from the 2018 side. I have no idea how similar this Larnaca side is to last year but I think its going to be a very very tough tie for Dundalk. Frustrating as you were seeded. Shows the luck of the draw is still key even when seeded. Derrys draws compared to ours over the past three years in the first round of the EL shows that too.

You should swat Levadia aside easily enough at least.

Luck of the draw is definitely a huge factor, Dundalk drawing FH in 2016 was certainly good fortune, anyone else and we could have gone out at that stage. Granted we had to be beat BATE in the 3rd round but FH were probably the weakest of the seeded sides in the CL 2nd round that year.

Amazing we get the exact same two as Cork got last year, Larnaca will be tough but was never going to be an easy draw in the second round.

El-Pietro
20/06/2018, 4:10 PM
Luck of the draw is definitely a huge factor, Dundalk drawing FH in 2016 was certainly good fortune, anyone else and we could have gone out at that stage. Granted we had to be beat BATE in the 3rd round but FH were probably the weakest of the seeded sides in the CL 2nd round that year.

Amazing we get the exact same two as Cork got last year, Larnaca will be tough but was never going to be an easy draw in the second round.

Agree with all of that. You got the lucky draw vs FH, and probably vs Rosenborg too. There just aren't that many week seeded teams in the CL, even with the new format.
Its mental that you got the same teams we got even though we were unseeded. I'm genuinely shocked Larnaca aren't seeded in this round given that they were last year.

For anyone traveling, Larnaca is a nice little beach resort but its crazy hot there. Its ok on the beach front with the wind blowing in, but the stadium is a couple of km inland. Our game was at 6pm or 7pm I think so only just starting to get dark around kick off time. That was a big factor for us. Theres no cover in the away end either so no protection from the sun.
Aside from the football it was a good trip. I don't usually do resort holidays so it was a nice break for a change.

Ezeikial
20/06/2018, 7:51 PM

Ahem, there's probably a few other reasons too.

BTW are you in the same boat, or are you a double winning LOI manager?

oriel
20/06/2018, 8:59 PM
Agree with all of that. You got the lucky draw vs FH, and probably vs Rosenborg too. There just aren't that many week seeded teams in the CL, even with the new format.
Its mental that you got the same teams we got even though we were unseeded. I'm genuinely shocked Larnaca aren't seeded in this round given that they were last year.

For anyone traveling, Larnaca is a nice little beach resort but its crazy hot there. Its ok on the beach front with the wind blowing in, but the stadium is a couple of km inland. Our game was at 6pm or 7pm I think so only just starting to get dark around kick off time. That was a big factor for us. Theres no cover in the away end either so no protection from the sun.
Aside from the football it was a good trip. I don't usually do resort holidays so it was a nice break for a change.

I'm taking one round at a time, Dundalk will be favourites to advance to round 2, but need to get there first. On the 2016 campaign, drawing FH was definitely the key, good luck for us, but bad for them drawing probably the strongest of the non seeded teams (Dundalk), amazing really when you consider we didn't even beat FH yet played another 10 games in Europe after and into early December.

Could say the same for Ireland re luck of the draw for the Euro 2012 play off, everyone wanted Ireland and we got Estonia. I don't think we would have qualified had we got anyone else.

21/06/2018, 9:39 AM
Pretty disappointed with our draw now.
I really can't see anything other than a very handy win for Dinamo. If we were able to defend, we might give ourselves a chance. But we can't, so we won't.

Not even fun from a travel perspective. Minsk is new, well designed and pleasant. But that's all it is. There's nothing to do, and it's not even that cheap by eastern standards. Added to that the match will basically be over as a contest by the time we get there, makes for a fairly rubbish away trip.

21/06/2018, 9:58 AM
That's the spirit.

sbgawa
21/06/2018, 1:20 PM
I really can't see anything other than a very handy win for Dinamo. If we were able to defend, we might give ourselves a chance. But we can't, so we won't.

Not even fun from a travel perspective. Minsk is new, well designed and pleasant. But that's all it is. There's nothing to do, and it's not even that cheap by eastern standards. Added to that the match will basically be over as a contest by the time we get there's, makes for a fairly rubbish away trip.

That kind of optimistic talk belongs on the Rovers forum

johnboy
21/06/2018, 2:38 PM
That will make the unlikely win all the more satisfying.

Dundalk daz
21/06/2018, 8:43 PM

Not even fun from a travel perspective. Minsk is new, well designed and pleasant. But that's all it is. There's nothing to do, and it's not even that cheap by eastern standards. Added to that the match will basically be over as a contest by the time we get there, makes for a fairly rubbish away trip.

Kenny u ok hun??

seand
21/06/2018, 9:09 PM
On paper it looks like a fairly benign draw for Dundalk, but that's only cos we're seeded. Levadia are the joint highest ranked of all the non-seeds, so theoretically the worst possible draw of all 47 possible opponents. Then in round two we get AEK, the joint third highest ranked non-seeds of 37 possible opponents. So that's opponents ranked #1 of 47 and #3 of 37!

21/06/2018, 9:28 PM
On paper it looks like a fairly benign draw for Dundalk, but that's only cos we're seeded. Levadia are the joint highest ranked of all the non-seeds, so theoretically the worst possible draw of all 47 possible opponents. Then in round two we get AEK, the joint third highest ranked non-seeds of 37 possible opponents. So that's opponents ranked #1 of 47 and #3 of 37!

Definitely a harsh draw since we got the same unseeded.

Ye're comfortably better than Tallinn though. Larnaca will depend on how they've progressed in the last year.

ToberonaTornado
21/06/2018, 9:45 PM
Think Larnaca have basically kept the same team from last year.
But as Oriel said above,not getting ahead of ourselves,get past Levadia first then concentrate on Larnaca.

johnboy
22/06/2018, 8:44 AM
Dundalk Larnaca will be very interesting. Was torture watching them stifle us over 2 legs, I hope ye give them a right go.

22/06/2018, 9:13 AM
Think Larnaca have basically kept the same team from last year.
But as Oriel said above,not getting ahead of ourselves,get past Levadia first then concentrate on Larnaca.
With McEleney, Horgan and Boyle back you'll win easy.

Candystripe
22/06/2018, 11:43 AM

When we played Apoel Nicosia in 2004 the game wasn't allowed to kick-off until the sun had set, the temperature was 32c.

180 of us stayed in Ayia Napa, wasn't a bad trip. We lost 2-1 though.

ToberonaTornado
22/06/2018, 2:39 PM
With McEleney, Horgan and Boyle back you'll win easy.

Jaysus,wish we could afford to bring them all back,but we're no Galway Utd!!:silly:

ToberonaTornado
22/06/2018, 2:53 PM
€28 to watch Derry in Europe:quiet::rolleyes:

https://www.derrycityfc.net/2018/06/europa-league-ticketing-update/

22/06/2018, 2:55 PM
Thats ridiculous pricing.

oriel
22/06/2018, 4:01 PM
Dundalk charge €20 into the stand for domestic games, granted some tickets are available for concession at reduced prices, and most who go to the stand are ST holders, but it’s still the most expensive in the league for anyone wanting to pay on the night.

Also, I`m almost sure it was €25 into the stand for the Rosenborg game last year, and €20 into the ground.

Ezeikial
22/06/2018, 4:22 PM
Dundalk charge €20 into the stand for domestic games, granted some tickets are available for concession at reduced prices, and most who go to the stand are ST holders, but it’s still the most expensive in the league for anyone wanting to pay on the night.

Also, I`m almost sure it was €25 into the stand for the Rosenborg game last year, and €20 into the ground.

Reduced capacity and additional costs provide reasonable grounds for a moderate increase in ticket prices for a European fixture

22/06/2018, 6:23 PM
Plenty of complaints about the pricing from Derry fans. It's a big increase.
Even over last year, it's a 25% increase, and that's when we played in Sligo, with whatever extra cost that brought.
It'll be a small home crowd now, difficult to attract neutrals at that price.

KO is set for 18:00 as well. Presumably it's for Belarusian TV.

22/06/2018, 6:32 PM
Had half a plan to go into Derry for the Euro game but not a chance at that price.

Brutal pricing. They'd sell out at £15. This way they'll hardly top 3,000.

oriel
22/06/2018, 8:06 PM
Reduced capacity and additional costs provide reasonable grounds for a moderate increase in ticket prices for a European fixture

I've no problems with the fiver increase, was just making the price comparison. Dundalk have to erect a temp wheelchair area, as well as another 101 other items to have in place, plus a lot of fans are relocated. It's probably the one time the away end looks almost acceptable as only half of it is used and all are seated towards the front, and all home fans.

mcgonigle
22/06/2018, 8:41 PM
Plenty of complaints about the pricing from Derry fans. It's a big increase.
Even over last year, it's a 25% increase, and that's when we played in Sligo, with whatever extra cost that brought.
It'll be a small home crowd now, difficult to attract neutrals at that price.

KO is set for 18:00 as well. Presumably it's for Belarusian TV.

Have to pay Michael Duffy's wages some way....

nr637
26/06/2018, 8:30 AM
What effect will the European ties have on League and Cup fixtures for Cork, Dundalk, Shams & Derry!

Anyone with updates about re-arranged games please!

Nailor
26/06/2018, 8:35 AM
What effect will the European ties have on League and Cup fixtures for Cork, Dundalk, Shams & Derry!

Anyone with updates about re-arranged games please!

Waterford v Rovers has moved to Sunday 22nd, no KO time confirmed yet.

oriel
26/06/2018, 9:45 AM
The round of games due to have been played on Friday 13 July were moved and played already last month. Dlk v Waterford, Derry v Bray, Lim v Cork & Rovers v Pats, these were all played midweek in May.

For Dundalk, Sligo away on 21/07 will need to be moved as we are at home to Tallinn on 19/07, will be same for Rovers, and Derry as they too are playing second legs in Europe on 19/07. If we get through this round we will be playing on Thurs 26/07 and Thurs 02/08, so Bohs at home (27/07) and Rovers at home (03/08) will also need to be moved.

I think Cork are playing earlier in the week than the other 3 clubs, as read before one of their games might be same night as one of the WC semis, possibly the Tuesday night.

Surprised dates haven’t been agreed yet for all of the other games effected, as the dates were known in advance for all european teams participating, they did move the games due to be played w/e 13/07 though a long time back.

sbgawa
26/06/2018, 1:45 PM
What is the capacity for Tallinn in Oriel?
Do you think it will sell out ? I might not be able to get to Stockholm on the 19th so might swing up for the match.

oriel
26/06/2018, 2:10 PM
Capacity will be limited to 3,200 as that equals the seating, recent home Euro games v FH (2016) and Rosenborg (2017) sold out as I’m almost sure this was the attendance at both. Away support should be limited even more for Tallinn, they’ll get the area in the front corner of the stand.

If you behave, you might even get into one of the bars pre match ! (closed at HT due to UEFA rules) Harp still knocked out at €4 a pint.

Buller
26/06/2018, 2:21 PM
What is the capacity for Tallinn in Oriel?
Do you think it will sell out ? I might not be able to get to Stockholm on the 19th so might swing up for the match.

JUDAS!!

sbgawa
26/06/2018, 3:14 PM

JUDAS!!

I was planning on mixing with the Tallinn fans :) fan.

Would be surprised if you sell out for Tallin, the tie will be over after the first leg.

oriel
26/06/2018, 3:38 PM
Hopefully we’ll win over there, but I`m not taking this game for granted. Heading over myself so really looking forward to it.

I`m not that sure a good result away would reduce the crowd as it’s still a euro home game and with so many matches played in Tallaght in 2016, this will be a chance for locals to see a euro match at home for a change. Also it’s not that high end of a capacity, should be able to shift just over 3k tickets, plus if we do get through it will be one of only two games permitted to play at home this season.

Buller
26/06/2018, 3:43 PM

Would be surprised if you sell out for Tallin, the tie will be over after the first leg.

That's more like it. Steer well clear of that pesky "Lilywhite Lounge". Ain't got nothing on the 1899 or Glenmalure Suite. :D

Not sure what sort of crowd we'll get for the game against AIK. They're a big side but we don't normally come close to selling out in this round.

sbgawa
26/06/2018, 3:48 PM
Hopefully we’ll win over there, but I`m not taking this game for granted. Heading over myself so really looking forward to it.

I`m not that sure a good result away would reduce the crowd as it’s still a euro home game and with so many matches played in Tallaght in 2016, this will be a chance for locals to see a euro match at home for a change. Also it’s not that high end of a capacity, should be able to shift just over 3k tickets, plus if we do get through it will be one of only two games permitted to play at home this season.

If you sell out against Tallin then fair play to the locals I don't think we had much more that that for our match at home to an Iceland team in the first round last year. FH and Rosenburg would have been bigger draws.
Either way your point about getting to see the match in Oriel is a definite attraction, as much as I enjoy a rovers away match either in Europe or occasionally in the Aviva or wherever (plenty of choice of venues over the last 30 years) there is nothing like seeing your team running out onto your own patch of turf.
If I was a Dundalk fan I wouldn't miss it even if the tie is over.

sbgawa
26/06/2018, 4:24 PM
That's more like it. Steer well clear of that pesky "Lilywhite Lounge". Ain't got nothing on the 1899 or Glenmalure Suite. :D

Not sure what sort of crowd we'll get for the game against AIK. They're a big side but we don't normally come close to selling out in this round.

AIK will bring a decent crowd you'd have to think.
They are a decent team which might encourage a bit of walk up.
Should be more than last year , hopefully around 3.5 - 4k and a decent result.

Ezeikial
26/06/2018, 8:40 PM

Be my guest for the match - there might not even be an away section for this match.

DM me when you know for sure you are going and I will try to sort a ticket for you - Bradser talk limits apply

dundalkfc10
26/06/2018, 10:02 PM
Our game in Oriel will def sell out. Surprised club havnt released ticket details yet though

ToberonaTornado
27/06/2018, 12:26 AM
Our game in Oriel will def sell out. Surprised club havnt released ticket details yet though

I'd reckon its one home game at- a- time for the dundalkfc crew @ oriel atm.

Get the HUGE home league match that's coming up out of the way 1st and then concentrate on the Euro match after that.

No?

27/06/2018, 10:33 AM
Derry have partially relented and reduced child tickets to £10.
I think most of the damage has already been done at this stage though.

El-Pietro
27/06/2018, 12:14 PM
Our tickets for Legia are almost all sold out. Think there were 500 left by Sunday morning and they still haven't gone on general sale. Doing everything we can to prevent Lech Poznan fans getting their hands on them.

oriel
28/06/2018, 8:28 AM
Great stuff to hear tickets almost sold out, and you will have a full house, but there is nothing stopping local based Polish fans buying tickets for home areas?

Plus will you not have to allocate 10% to away support?

I think Dundalk have 300 or so set aside for Tallinn, but they would be unlikely to take very many over, unless as in the case of Polish there is a strong local based community here, but I wouldn’t have thougth as near as many as Polish.

Did many Tallinn fans take up their allocation for TC last year ?