View Full Version : Tipp South & District League 2012/13

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23

hotspur
08/10/2012, 9:29 PM
Ya ur right he played for cork u14 hurling as limerick team s. when fairview come back then proper limerick players will get on it not like the paid mercenary that have destroyed limerick football

What do you mean come back??didnt they beat ye in 2010 in FAI,hahahahahahaha

rightboy
08/10/2012, 9:38 PM
What do you mean come back??didnt they beat ye in 2010 in FAI,hahahahahahaha

Yes they did and u dont miss much but Point i made was fairview are the club in limerick which we all look upto

deadly man
08/10/2012, 9:50 PM
Yes they did and u dont miss much but Point i made was fairview are the club in limerick which we all look upto
Who is we all???was there any players from limerick capped?
if there wasn't its a disgrace,Janesboro are Munster Jnr champions and Pike and Fairview have won the fai in recent seasons

rightboy
08/10/2012, 10:15 PM
if there wasn't its disgrace,Janesboro are Munster Jnr champions and Pike and Fairview have won the fai in recent seasons

Well the man who looks at Munster players is accutally a Linerick based man
Anyway why is it disgrace ? , from the outside there is obviously something rotten within the Ldmc when a Limerick man doesn't pick limerick players

deadly man
08/10/2012, 11:30 PM
Well the man who looks at Munster players is accutally a Linerick based man
Anyway why is it disgrace ? , from the outside there is obviously something rotten within the Ldmc when a Limerick man doesn't pick limerick players
Is it Mike O'Brien who u are referring to that looks at the players??the same man who is the Tipp oscar traynor manager
Who were the players that were capped from St Michaels?
I'm not having a go at the lads that were capped,fair play to them,im sure they deserve it but in fairness how there are no players on it from limerick is a bit of a joke you have to admit

republican
09/10/2012, 1:43 AM
Did Jimmy Carr not play with Cork?Limerick players will just keep picking up FAI's just ask SAINTS.
no he didnt what are you raving about??? lay off the booze before you come onto this your giving us some laugh tho hahaha.

republican
09/10/2012, 1:46 AM
stevie quinn also played for the rovers yesterday morning i think and he was one of the best players on the pitch,,congrats to saints b ,,,,
dont think stevie started for the rovers im open to correction on that tho?

qwertyabu
09/10/2012, 9:25 AM
Sunday 22/10/2012
Clonmel Credit Union Tipperary Cup Round 1
Wilderness Rovers v Tipperary Town
Cashel Town v St. Nicholas
Ballyneale v Rosegreen Rangers
Ballypatrick FC v Clonmel Celtic B
St. Kieran’s FC v Redmondstown
Glen Villa v Clerihan
Two Mile Borris B v St. Michael’s FC
Tipperary Town B v Two Mile Borris
Bansha Celtic v Galbally United
Moyglass United v Cahir Park
Old Bridge v Killenaule Rovers
Clonmel Celtic v Dualla
Donohill & District v Vee Rovers
Glengoole United v Ballingarry Albion
Clonmel Town v Kilbehenny Celtic
Clonmel Town B v Cashel Town B
Kilmanahan United v Cullen-Lattin B
Burncourt Celtic v Cullen-Lattin
Kilsheelan United v St. Michael’s B
Peake Villa v Peake Villa B

should be a good game between peake and there b team,,,,

qwertyabu
09/10/2012, 9:32 AM
Is it Mike O'Brien who u are referring to that looks at the players??the same man who is the Tipp oscar traynor manager
Who were the players that were capped from St Michaels?
I'm not having a go at the lads that were capped,fair play to them,im sure they deserve it but in fairness how there are no players on it from limerick is a bit of a joke you have to admit

the saints players were

john walshe captain and record caps holder for ireland centre half
paul breen centre half
christopher higgins full back
jimmy carr right side midfield

was at the game and tought all played well but man of the match was ken howie a class act at left full

deadly man
09/10/2012, 11:34 AM
the saints players were

john walshe captain and record caps holder for ireland centre half
paul breen centre half
christopher higgins full back
jimmy carr right side midfield

was at the game and tought all played well but man of the match was ken howie a class act at left full
Is the captain not James Walshe?:o

rightboy
09/10/2012, 1:25 PM
if there wasn't its a disgrace,Janesboro are Munster Jnr champions and Pike and Fairview have won the fai in recent seasons

Is the captain not James Walshe?:o

Yes your right , James is capt john is his older brother who played for saints for years .
As was mentioned earlier I think there is lots if limerick lads that should be playing but there has to be something seriously wrong with the set up when this is this case , any ideas on why this is happening

hotspur
09/10/2012, 5:33 PM
Yes your right , James is capt john is his older brother who played for saints for years .
As was mentioned earlier I think there is lots if limerick lads that should be playing but there has to be something seriously wrong with the set up when this is this case , any ideas on why this is happening

The Limerick man wont pick them,simple as,it has nothing to do with LDMC,He don't even go to Limerick junior games,Gerry Smyth was down once or twice in about 5 years and O'Brien showed his face those days ok.there are plenty players in limerick who have not played loi and deserve to be on it,but that's the politics for you,does he go to many TSDL games,obviously does once he's OT manager,

deadly man
10/10/2012, 11:42 AM
I've no idea tbh but it is a joke,some very good lads in limerick who deserve a chance

Tipp Top
10/10/2012, 2:33 PM
I've no idea tbh but it is a joke,some very good lads in limerick who deserve a chance

Pa Mullins is a far superior centre half than James Walshe but football is like politics and all other walks of life, your face must fit and sometimes who you know is more important than what you know

jug2004
10/10/2012, 3:10 PM
Seriously Tipp Top....you are putting up Pa Mullins(prob 25/26 yr old) against James Walshe (35/36) against each other. For me Walshe has been the outstanding centre half in the country for 10 years now. There is no comparison between Mullins at that age and Walshe at the same age. Not alone do they (michaels)consistently keep clean sheets in FAI & Munsters but Walshe contributes prob 20 goals a season if not more to the club and has been doing for all these years. Fair enough he has been beaten in 4/5 FAI finals (while plenty of others have won them) but he (and the defence with him) has been the reason for that team getting to those finals in the first place (he has been the only ever constant in that time which is not just coincidence). They have won 3/4 munsters in that time too so tbh there is no comparison when it really comes down to it. If you go and watch the man it is not just about lumping ball back up and keeping a clean sheet. Presence and the ability at that level to orgainse lads is just as important and there is no one better in the game. Ridiculous argument really.....the man is one of the most capped junior players ever, has the record for most goals in Euro finals and lads come on here saying this lad is better and that lad is better (when they have proved nothin)....they are not better til they prove it really.....its not as if mullins (and many others) have not been given the chance either.This is only my opinion by the way but you can only base things on what lads have achieved against one another.

fifty50
10/10/2012, 3:17 PM
Didn't Pa Mullins have a spell with UCD anyway so that rules him out of the amateur set up

Tipp Top
10/10/2012, 7:27 PM
Didn't Pa Mullins have a spell with UCD anyway so that rules him out of the amateur set up

Mullins did not play senior with Ucd as far as i know, as you said it is simply a matter of opinion, I am certainly not disputing James Walshe should not have been a main stay for the Irish junior side 4 or 5 years ago but there is no doubt Mullins is now a better option, anyone that comes on here and says that "pull" is not involved in these things and the "buddy" system is very very naive, and go bac through my posts i have always been hugely complimentary of James Walshe, my argument is about the here and now and Mullins is the captain of an all conquering Pike side

jug2004
10/10/2012, 7:55 PM
Tipp top would you not consider Paul Breen a natural successor to James Walshe more so than Pa Mullins. No disrespect to him and I have not seen him play that much but surely Breen is as good if not better. Over the years he has almost 50 junior and amateur caps and is not a regular and is considered only 3rd choice a lot of the time. I would consider him to be a better player than Mullins also. Just because Mullins is captain of a team that wins a lot in limeick does not automatically mean he is deserving of the opportunity. Yes pike have won an fai two years ago but to call them all conquering is a little over the top. All conquering would be to win these comps like FAI's and Munsters on a regular basis - something which has not happened that much recently to be honest. I know it's a question that will rumble on but at the end of the day we can all say this lad doesn't get a chance and that lad doesn't get a chance but really they have.guys like Mullins were trialists 2 years ago in Tipp and did not shine (and plenty more have been capped in this time too)- its upto these players to go and do it on the big stage regularily and not for the lads that are there to step aside and say take my place you deserve it more than me.

Insidetherock
10/10/2012, 10:03 PM
Like everything, opinions are personal.. some people think this guy is better than that guy, others will disagree. I would harbour a guess if you asked every single contributor to pick their own home teams best 11, never mind a TSDL best 11, they would all pick a different team.. and magnify that even more with a regional or international team...

So, it more often than not, comes down to a managers choice, and the player in position..

If James Walsh is doing what the manager wants him to do consistently.. then the manager will keep picking him.. no matter what others think

And that's how it should be.. if a player consistently does a job for you.. you reward him with his jersey

rightboy
10/10/2012, 11:48 PM
Pa Mullins is a far superior centre half than James Walshe but football is like politics and all other walks of life, your face must fit and sometimes who you know is more important than what you know

Mullins did not play senior with Ucd as far as i know, as you said it is simply a matter of opinion, I am certainly not disputing James Walshe should not have been a main stay for the Irish junior side 4 or 5 years ago but there is no doubt Mullins is now a better option, anyone that comes on here and says that "pull" is not involved in these things and the "buddy" system is very very naive, and go bac through my posts i have always been hugely complimentary of James Walshe, my argument is about the here and now and Mullins is the captain of an all conquering Pike side

Yes he is capt of pike but its generally regarded that pike center of defence is their soft center

the wombat
11/10/2012, 9:13 AM
Yes he is capt of pike but its generally regarded that pike center of defence is their soft center

ya your dead right. mullins biggest fan is himself and anyone that watches him regularly will tell you that he is one of the reasons that pike have only 1 fai to their name over the last few years. put it this way, if chalky and breeno were at the heart of the pike defence they would genuinly be ' all conquering '. breeno is a far better centre back. on chalky, i have only seen 2, maybe 3 strikers get the better of him in any game in the tsdl over the past 15 years. tells its own story really

celticlads
11/10/2012, 9:27 AM
well lads i just heard that muiris walsh described our game against redmonstown sunday as the possible shock of the fai this weekend, from what i have heard about them they are a decent side so just wondering what ye think, would it really be that much of a shock considering they knocked ou bt harps in the last round. BT harps beat us 3-1 in the league this year so just wondering how people see this tie.

qwertyabu
11/10/2012, 11:15 AM
stevie didnt start but came on as sub

hotspur
11/10/2012, 11:18 AM
ya your dead right. mullins biggest fan is himself and anyone that watches him regularly will tell you that he is one of the reasons that pike have only 1 fai to their name over the last few years. put it this way, if chalky and breeno were at the heart of the pike defence they would genuinly be ' all conquering '. breeno is a far better centre back. on chalky, i have only seen 2, maybe 3 strikers get the better of him in any game in the tsdl over the past 15 years. tells its own story really

Mullins is 24 or 25 and has played 1 FAI final and won that,he would have played in another 1 only for circumstances beyond he's control,he did go for trials with irish team but he was played full back where he does not play,if you are bringing a youngster for trials play him in his position where he plays,that's why he was chosen in the first place,and it is politics and everyone in the country knows that,i remember pike battering st michaels back 4 in fai a couple of years where 3 of the internationals were playin.it's all about opinions and fellas are not getting a chance to show what they are capable of,is walsh going to be there forever,and i see a post there that he scores 20 odd goals a season,he is their pen taker.there will never be 4 players from any team in limerick that will be capped together,even the great fairview team who were winning fai's hand over foot didn't get that recognition,they were lucky to get 1 cap and he was a dub,couple of other fellas got maybe one cap but that was it.

qwertyabu
11/10/2012, 11:24 AM
ok before i go any further iam sorry for stepping on people's toes and hurting their feelings but this is a TSDL THREAD NOT LIMERICK DESMOND LEAGUE THREAD, please lets just worry about the tsdl here and forget about pike and the rest,,,. hotspur pls leave this thread and start your own, i for one am sick of listening about this rubbish who is betterthan who. come and watch the tsdl for a while like we all do and then by all means come on here and rant and rave like the rest of us,enough is enough . sorry for the rant

hotspur
11/10/2012, 11:24 AM

Ye'll find out soon enough now wont ye.any one of pike back 4 could have got man of the match in fai junior cup final.soft centre,your having a laugh now.

hotspur
11/10/2012, 11:35 AM
ok before i go any further iam sorry for stepping on people's toes and hurting their feelings but this is a TSDL THREAD NOT LIMERICK DESMOND LEAGUE THREAD, please lets just worry about the tsdl here and forget about pike and the rest,,,. hotspur pls leave this thread and start your own, i for one am sick of listening about this rubbish who is betterthan who. come and watch the tsdl for a while like we all do and then by all means come on here and rant and rave like the rest of us,enough is enough . sorry for the rant

If you read the posts correctly you will see that their all from your own crowd,and since when has pike played desmond league,tells you exactly what you know,oh and do you own this thread by the way?????.and ive seen plenty of tsdl,and its not all its made out to be either.

footballfanatic
11/10/2012, 11:36 AM
well lads i just heard that muiris walsh described our game against redmonstown sunday as the possible shock of the fai this weekend, from what i have heard about them they are a decent side so just wondering what ye think, would it really be that much of a shock considering they knocked ou bt harps in the last round. BT harps beat us 3-1 in the league this year so just wondering how people see this tie.
They are in the 4th tier of tsdl so of course it would be a shock to beat one of the top sides in north tipp. Its def possible though, they have won 3/3 in league and of course beat bt harps...but at the end of the day, it would still be a shock if they bet ye as i said they are in division3 and ye are premier.

I second what quertyabu says too, this is a tsdl thread, seems to be infected with limerick lads from time to time, tough enough to read anyway at the best of times.

Cahir v borris a big game in division 1 this weekend, if cahir get the win there would be a small gap opened, both sides had narrow wins the weekend, i imagine both will drop points throughout the season. It could be a case of whoever will drop the least will take the silverware.
Galbally and moyglass the other 2 contenders for the league i reckon.

peake villa v bansha a big one too, both sides need the win. Draw would be no good for bansha and villa will have to go for the win.

prawnsandwich2
11/10/2012, 11:46 AM
Mullins is 24 or 25 and has played 1 FAI final and won that,he would have played in another 1 only for circumstances beyond he's control,he did go for trials with irish team but he was played full back where he does not play,if you are bringing a youngster for trials play him in his position where he plays,that's why he was chosen in the first place,and it is politics and everyone in the country knows that,i remember pike battering st michaels back 4 in fai a couple of years where 3 of the internationals were playin.it's all about opinions and fellas are not getting a chance to show what they are capable of,is walsh going to be there forever,and i see a post there that he scores 20 odd goals a season,he is their pen taker.there will never be 4 players from any team in limerick that will be capped together,even the great fairview team who were winning fai's hand over foot didn't get that recognition,they were lucky to get 1 cap and he was a dub,couple of other fellas got maybe one cap but that was it.

Fairview had at least three capped in one match.
just a few facts.
barry flynn(who you refer to as a dub) won at least 12 caps while playing with fairview(as well as three,count' em, FAI's)).
others to win caps(plural) that come to mind were:
eoin lynch
jason purcell
kevin mccarthy
john whyte
brian buckley
ross cosgrove
jim sheahan
joe hannon..
all of these won more then one cap...there are at least ten more but their names escape me at this moment in time
apologies to TDSL people...just wanted to put the record staright

prawnsandwich2
11/10/2012, 12:20 PM
just a few facts.
barry flynn(who you refer to as a dub) won at least 12 caps while playing with fairview(as well as three,count' em, FAI's)).
eoin lynch
jason purcell
kevin mccarthy
john whyte
brian buckley
ross cosgrove
jim sheahan
joe hannon..
all of these won more then one cap...there are at least ten more but their names escape me at this moment in time

colm and barry heffernan

qwertyabu
11/10/2012, 12:22 PM
If you read the posts correctly you will see that their all from your own crowd,and since when has pike played desmond league,tells you exactly what you know,oh and do you own this thread by the way?????.and ive seen plenty of tsdl,and its not all its made out to be either.

whatever league pike play in i dont give a monkey's about it, this is tsdl thread not limerick

qwertyabu
11/10/2012, 12:25 PM
just a few facts.
eoin lynch
jason purcell
kevin mccarthy
john whyte
brian buckley
ross cosgrove
jim sheahan
joe hannon..

you dont have to apoligise for facts ,,some good names there,barry flynn a class act as most others there are.

balls
11/10/2012, 7:46 PM
nonsense arguement Mullins is top class so are breeno and chalkie. No need to squable over it . In my opinion pike are stronger than saints this year and would fancy them to go further in national and provincial competions, but ya never know. Both teams have 6 or 7 top class players and its just matter of which gets the most out of the rest of their panel performance wise over the course of a season. This is really a pointless arguement and can only really be discussed properly on seasons end, but just to close it my saints/pike best 11 would be
1 neville 2 mullins 3 higgins 4 breen 5 walsh 6 hartnett 7 carr 8 tierney 9 richie ryan 10 alan barry 11 eoin hanrahan

rightboy
11/10/2012, 9:17 PM
nonsense arguement Mullins is top class so are breeno and chalkie. No need to squable over it . In my opinion pike are stronger than saints this year and would fancy them to go further in national and provincial competions, but ya never know. Both teams have 6 or 7 top class players and its just matter of which gets the most out of the rest of their panel performance wise over the course of a season. This is really a pointless arguement and can only really be discussed properly on seasons end, but just to close it my saints/pike best 11 would be
1 neville 2 mullins 3 higgins 4 breen 5 walsh 6 hartnett 7 carr 8 tierney 9 richie ryan 10 alan barry 11 eoin hanrahan

Good team I hate to playing that team too often , I think your about right especially the defence but to be fair you could argue for other players from both sides

hotspur
12/10/2012, 7:46 AM
Good team I hate to playing that team too often , I think your about right especially the defence but to be fair you could argue for other players from both sides

Wayne colbert would def be in that team,

republican
12/10/2012, 10:50 AM
good team would surely win the fai :) i would have fahey of saints in midfield tho, also id have pa maloney in up front as he is pike's best striker imo, and colbert would be certain starter in my team.

Tipp Top
12/10/2012, 12:24 PM
My argument was that Mullins should now partner Breen for Ireland not play instead of him, and all the points made i have taken on board and some good arguments but Wombats suggestion that Mullins biggest fan is himself and that he's a soft centre.....have you ever seen the guy play? He is top top drawer as im sure both Saints fans and Limerick fans will confirm and the funniest part is he is probably the most down to earth, modest chap you could ever meet so the "fan of himself" bit is beyond ludicrous

the wombat
12/10/2012, 1:20 PM
My argument was that Mullins should now partner Breen for Ireland not play instead of him, and all the points made i have taken on board and some good arguments but Wombats suggestion that Mullins biggest fan is himself and that he's a soft centre.....have you ever seen the guy play? He is top top drawer as im sure both Saints fans and Limerick fans will confirm and the funniest part is he is probably the most down to earth, modest chap you could ever meet so the "fan of himself" bit is beyond ludicrous

wel just have to agree to disagree but i take your point. anyway lads i think ye should give the whole saints and limerick thing a rest for a while, plenty of other clubs in tipp to talk about. by the way i didnt say the chap had a soft centre so recheck what you read. i just argued that pikes defence has been less than watertight over the past few years and it is their attacking players that should feel most hard done by re international recognition

hotspur
12/10/2012, 2:09 PM
My argument was that Mullins should now partner Breen for Ireland not play instead of him, and all the points made i have taken on board and some good arguments but Wombats suggestion that Mullins biggest fan is himself and that he's Ua soft centre.....have you ever seen the guy play? He is top top drawer as im sure both Saints fans and Limerick fans will confirm and the funniest part is he is probably the most down to earth, modest chap you could ever meet so the "fan of himself" bit is beyond ludicrous

100% correct Tipp top,the most down to earth fella you could ever meet,and top top player to boot,

rightboy
12/10/2012, 3:37 PM
100% correct Tipp top,the most down to earth fella you could ever meet,and top top player to boot,

Ya have to agree I've meet pa Mullins and he is a good bloke I was never disputing that I was just giving a football opinion nothing more or less

balls
12/10/2012, 5:01 PM
Wayne colbert would def be in that team,

forgot about him. outstanding player would easily make that 11. slot him in instead of Keith Hartnett and we surely agree on that 11 :)

footballfanatic
12/10/2012, 5:36 PM
Who would ye slot in so lads from the ireland team that might make the german team, dont think anyone.

Insidetherock
13/10/2012, 1:43 PM
Who would ye slot in so lads from the ireland team that might make the german team, dont think anyone.

None.. but on last nights performance, there are a few of the TSDL players that could slot into the Irish team.. Chalkie or Breen couldn't be any worse than O Shea and O Dea

Insidetherock
13/10/2012, 3:43 PM
lads will ye get a grip of yourselfs we are on about germany here.

Aye.. the same Germany that beat the Faroes.. 3 - 0 .. at home

footballfanatic
13/10/2012, 4:24 PM
None.. but on last nights performance, there are a few of the TSDL players that could slot into the Irish team.. Chalkie or Breen couldn't be any worse than O Shea and O Dea
They would be better, and thats not an exageration, what was o shea on when he should of been sent off but ref said the german dived, shocking defending for a man who has premiership medals. Darren o dea, o lord save us, simpleton of a man. Def better junior players in ireland, i wonder what he is earnin weekly in toronto?

Insidetherock
13/10/2012, 5:20 PM
They would be better, and thats not an exageration, what was o shea on when he should of been sent off but ref said the german dived, shocking defending for a man who has premiership medals. Darren o dea, o lord save us, simpleton of a man. Def better junior players in ireland, i wonder what he is earnin weekly in toronto?

I have never, ever, ever, understood how John O Shea lasted as long as he did at Manchester United.. I still cannot fathom how he is collecting a wage from a Premiership club.. Darren O Dea is simply nowhere near International class..

I know the FAI won't contemplate this.. but if I were in a position to make a decision, I would more or less write off this campaign.. and here is why

1. We are not going to win this group.. but then we probably never were

2. We are unlikely to come second in the group, because I simply cannot see the current players (with morale on the floor), getting past both Austria and Sweden.. even if they did.. they would need to be absolutely poxed to get another soft draw in the play offs

3. Even if we managed against all the odds, to get to Brazil.. what would we do there ? Get hammered is my considered opinion

So...

Write off the current campaign as lost, and concentrate on building a squad of younger players that will qualify for the next Euro's in France

Because..

1. We are likely to be a second seed in that draw (because of the way the seeding works on a 3 campaign rolling average .. play offs in WC 2010, Qualified for Euros in 2012, in the top 16 in EUFA rankings currently)

2. There will be an extra 8 places for qualification for those Euros

This will allow us to build a squad through two campaigns, and have a decent crack at qualifying for Russia in 2018

Lets see Clark, Wilson, Coleman, Mc Clean, Mc Carthy, Pilkington, Brady, try to get Stephen Ireland back, Samir Carruthers, Conor Clifford, Conor Henderson etc...

All these players are in the right age bracket to be brought through over the next 6 years with an eye on Russia

Sorry for going way off topic in the TSDL forum..

hotspur
13/10/2012, 6:23 PM

Lads will ye stop for crying out loud,for the love and honour,ye'll want em playing for barca next,roll on the 11th nov.and they get another pasting.

qwertyabu
13/10/2012, 6:29 PM

according to the star last week o dea is on around $350,000 dollars a year in toronto.

West Hammer
13/10/2012, 7:11 PM
according to the star last week o dea is on around $350,000 dollars a year in toronto.

$349,000 to much!

SgtBilko
14/10/2012, 7:34 AM
Seriously guys, is this a Limerick, Rep of Ireland or TSDL forum?