View Full Version : Barstool facepalm

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24

harpin
02/05/2012, 12:12 PM
It says it all when you HAVE to facepalm in the facepalm thread.

I could do it again and it still wouldn't be enough....what in the jesus do some people be thinking

peadar1987
04/05/2012, 3:17 PM
I think this probably belongs in here as well:

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/opinion/2012/0503/1224315510236.html

An Irish journalist giving out in an Irish paper that the English FA are selling out to plastic fans overseas. As opposed to the plastic fans in England Junior, who they should rightfully be selling out to!

04/05/2012, 3:55 PM
I think this probably belongs in here as well:

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/opinion/2012/0503/1224315510236.html

An Irish journalist giving out in an Irish paper that the English FA are selling out to plastic fans overseas. As opposed to the plastic fans in England Junior, who they should rightfully be selling out to!

Yeah, thats David Adams .... right up his street alright.

Link to photo (http://www.irishtimes.com/homepage/images/haveyoursay/1224310182755.jpg)

05/05/2012, 1:05 AM
The comments below that are hilarious too.

05/05/2012, 4:20 PM
Is creepily hitting on girls in the Irish Times comments field the new form of courtship? I can't keep up.

bluemovie
13/05/2012, 4:33 PM
Hard to argue with them today for excitement! I'd still rather be out in the fresh air :D

marinobohs
14/05/2012, 3:06 PM
Hard to argue with them today for excitement! I'd still rather be out in the fresh air :D

call that EPL stuff excitement ? the average (if there is such a thing) LOI EGM beats it hands down :o

14/05/2012, 3:13 PM
i can sense the moistness in your knickers all the way from here about the latest LOI EGM MarinoBohs! :D

marinobohs
14/05/2012, 3:32 PM
i can sense the moistness in your knickers all the way from here about the latest LOI EGM MarinoBohs! :D

..........and if you want to see REAL football violence :cool:

bluemovie
18/05/2012, 9:03 AM
Meant to share this lovely tale of true supporters. I was on a bus into Dublin city centre at lunchtime on FA Cup final day. Two lads sitting behind me discussing the merits of their teams - Liverpool and Chelsea. This fella's deadly, that one's sh*te. Small bit of slagging between them. Then the Chelsea fan says "I won't get to see the game cos I'm heading out so I just told one of the lads to text me the result". Diehards.

DannyInvincible
18/05/2012, 11:05 AM
Then the Chelsea fan says "I won't get to see the game cos I'm heading out so I just told one of the lads to text me the result". Diehards.

Bull****. Any real fan would check the score themselves on Sky/Ford/Gillette Super Soccer Saturday™.

19/06/2012, 6:49 PM
Even barstoolers are losing the will to barstool: http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/breaking/2012/0619/breaking57.html

19/06/2012, 11:51 PM
Even barstoolers are losing the will to barstool: http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/breaking/2012/0619/breaking57.html

How do you define barstooler in this case?
I wasn't in Poland for the Italy game but was there for the Croatia game, I watched the Spain game in a pub but watched the Italy game in my parents...

20/06/2012, 12:21 AM
I think we'd define it as the wider public who don't go to games regardless in any country.

20/06/2012, 12:26 AM
I'm kidding.

forza
25/06/2012, 9:38 PM
http://www.ryanair.com/en/news/ryanair-urges-irish-football-fans-to-forget-the-euros-and-get-behind-their-real-teams-in-england

Ryanair hit a new low in the barstool stakes :/

25/06/2012, 10:00 PM
Funnily enough I think there's a bit of a subtle dig in there amongst all the advertising.

gufcfan
25/06/2012, 10:48 PM
Not all that subtle, but many won't know a dig was aimed their way anyway.

DannyInvincible
26/06/2012, 11:43 AM
It does read like a parody, but I don't think it is a dig at all. Why would they have a dig at potential customers? I think it's being intentionally provocative - Ryanair do that very well - especially off the back of the "best fans in the world?" debate. And it's worked a charm; it was all over my Facebook feed this afternoon and we're talking about it. I see it as mocking those who follow LOI and exploiting supporters' sensitivities.

26/06/2012, 1:28 PM
It's thoroughly disgusting if you ask me. I read that and cringed like I've never cringed before.

ger121
26/06/2012, 1:45 PM
Whether a Tongue in Cheek poke at followers of English Teams or an insult to LOI Supporters. The unmistakable fact, is that the ad is true. The vast majority of the Irish Football loving Public support an English Team, with a portion of them going to matches in England every week. Clever marketing ply by Ryanair as it's getting lots of publicity and people are taking about it...

26/06/2012, 2:08 PM
Any chance they could now use reverse advertising in the UK now that England are out and try get some English over here to watch our league?

26/06/2012, 2:53 PM
It does read like a parody, but I don't think it is a dig at all. Why would they have a dig at potential customers?
It's Ryanair.

Tongue firmly in cheek there, fair play. They know full well their target audience won't get the sarcasm and continue to frequent the arse ends of nowhere across the UK.

Neish
26/06/2012, 3:00 PM
It's Ryanair.

Tongue firmly in cheek there, fair play. They know full well their target audience won't get the sarcasm and continue to frequent the arse ends of nowhere across the UK.

Don't think there was any sarcasm intended in it. the idea was most likely thought of by the same kinda of people its targeting

26/06/2012, 3:02 PM
Sarcasm's not the word I was looking for, but it's definitely laced with irony. They realise exactly how absurd it is to be encouraging the great Irish fans to support their 'real' teams in England.

16/10/2012, 10:55 PM
Ming Flanagan on Vincent Browne just now: "As a Queens Park Rangers supporter, I'd like to see us sack Mark Hughes and get Harry Redknapp" before he takes the Ireland job :rolleyes:

Though I suppose being a proud Roscommon man he couldn't possibly support a team like Longford or Sligo who are from an entirely different county!

marinobohs
17/10/2012, 10:13 AM
Ming Flanagan on Vincent Browne just now: "As a Queens Park Rangers supporter, I'd like to see us sack Mark Hughes and get Harry Redknapp" before he takes the Ireland job :rolleyes:

Though I suppose being a proud Roscommon man he couldn't possibly support a team like Longford or Sligo who are from an entirely different county!

..... and they say cannabis use does not affect the brain :cool:

Brusher
17/10/2012, 12:21 PM
Rarely do I listen to the after match diatribe on RTE, however, for 10 minutes last night I gave it a lash ! Oh no there's that awful bloody slogan, but no I won't break into Olé olé ! Anyway what really p...es me off is when Numpty starts bemoaning the state of "Irish football" and how sad it is that we can't compete with the bigger nations. I find this situation very hard to stomach, when he and the other goons don't even mention the state of Irish soccer clubs and what could be done for them !!

marinobohs
17/10/2012, 1:51 PM
Rarely do I listen to the after match diatribe on RTE, however, for 10 minutes last night I gave it a lash ! Oh no there's that awful bloody slogan, but no I won't break into Olé olé ! Anyway what really p...es me off is when Numpty starts bemoaning the state of "Irish football" and how sad it is that we can't compete with the bigger nations. I find this situation very hard to stomach, when he and the other goons don't even mention the state of Irish soccer clubs and what could be done for them !!

Dublin Dons Dunphys views on LOI are well known and probobly best NOT shared with TV viewers, Giles would have milder views but hardly a great gra for LOI and not sure Brady knows there even is a LOI
Like our friends on their barstools they appear incapable of connecting the decline of the League that produced Paul McGrath, Ronnie Whelan, Kevin Doyle, Shane Long etc etc and the failure of throughput of players to the International team.

Or maybe they just dont give a crap.

Real ale Madrid
17/10/2012, 2:43 PM
not sure Brady knows there even is a LOI

Brady did studio analysis for a few of Shamrock Rovers games over the last year or two - remember the Juventus and Copenhagen home games specifically.

marinobohs
17/10/2012, 3:25 PM
Brady did studio analysis for a few of Shamrock Rovers games over the last year or two - remember the Juventus and Copenhagen home games specifically.

The things people do for money :rolleyes: not aware of any personal interest he has in LOI (although could be wrong).
I would be happy to analyse bogball or rugby if someone (actually, anyone) paid me. it does not mean I give a rats ass about them though :o

17/10/2012, 3:46 PM
Dublin Dons Dunphys views on LOI are well known

Always made me laugh knowing this when seeing him clamour for Coleman , Long , McClean and Hoolahan to be involved in the national team.

17/10/2012, 4:14 PM
For the record, I posted the question to Ming Flanagan on Facebook about his following of the League of Ireland

This was his reply

Sligo rovers supporter. Most dedicated season was 1994 when my brother and I attended 28 games. Travelled to matches in a fiat 127 with no reverse on it. My brother still attends regularly.don't get there as often as I like anymore. Also spent many days at mels park and terryland park when I lived in Galway. Favourite place to visit has to be the brandywell.

17/10/2012, 4:44 PM

Sure, with 18 clubs in Termonbarry alone he doesn't even have to cross into Longford for a team.

17/10/2012, 4:46 PM
not sure Brady knows there even is a LOI

Believe it or not, back in the 70's Brady was a regular visitor to Ballybofey and once togged out for Harps in a friendly whilst he was still an Arsenal player.

17/10/2012, 4:57 PM
Sure, with 18 clubs in Termonbarry alone he doesn't even have to cross into Longford for a team.
That's Tarmonbarry to you!

17/10/2012, 7:03 PM
The things people do for money :rolleyes: not aware of any personal interest he has in LOI (although could be wrong).
Not forgetting his alleged involvement with Arkaga, the shower that ran us into the ground.

http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/delaney-faces-questions-over-arkaga-and-brady-mystery-1474143.html

17/10/2012, 9:54 PM

For the record, I posted the question to Ming Flanagan on Facebook about his following of the League of Ireland

This was his reply

Sligo rovers supporter. Most dedicated season was 1994 when my brother and I attended 28 games. Travelled to matches in a fiat 127 with no reverse on it. My brother still attends regularly.don't get there as often as I like anymore. Also spent many days at mels park and terryland park when I lived in Galway. Favourite place to visit has to be the brandywell.

I emailed him and got this back ...

Hi,

I am a QPR supporter and proud. Two of my brothers and one sister we're born near the ground. The basis for my comments were that I believe Harry Redknapp would be a great replacement for Mark Hughes who has been a disaster. I believe Redknapp would not make a good Irish manager. Mick McCarthy I believe would be a better choice.

Your point on the league of Ireland is correct. I have however over the years attended a couple of hundred league of Ireland games. Mainly as a Sligo rovers supporter but I also attended many games at terryland park when living in Galway. Given the proximity of athlone town to where I live I have also attended many of their games. My most memorable season was 1994 when we, Sligo rovers, won the treble. My brother, complete LoI nut, and I went to 28 games that season. All in a Fiat 127 without reverse.

Unfortunately since I have had 2 children and gotten elected my attendance has been less than satisfactory. Not by choice though.

I love people like yourself who stand up for LoI. Keep it up. Many people I know have never actually seen an soccer match bar on telly. The difference as you know is you actually get to see the whole game.

A major quandary that my brother an I have is who to shout for the rovers were ever draw each other in Europe. Used to be a hypothetical question. Not anymore.
Luke

DannyInvincible
17/10/2012, 10:22 PM
Believe it or not, back in the 70's Brady was a regular visitor to Ballybofey and once togged out for Harps in a friendly whilst he was still an Arsenal player.

What brought Brady up to Ballybofey so regularly?

17/10/2012, 10:22 PM
Fair play to him, but maybe next time he should say suggest Harry as a replacement for Barraclough!*

*I am only 50% saying this because I'd love to see Sligo go bankrupt chasing Harry's rainbow

18/10/2012, 10:47 AM
Like our friends on their barstools they appear incapable of connecting the decline of the League that produced Paul McGrath, Ronnie Whelan, Kevin Doyle, Shane Long etc etc and the failure of throughput of players to the International team.

Or maybe they just dont give a crap.
During the euro's when we got knocked out, it was the selection policy and tactics. When England got knocked out the RTE panel go into how it reflects the player development structures of the English game, and how these have to improve etc etc. Nothing wrong with their analysis of the english problem, just the fact they are incapable of making the same connection between our national team and player development, and how that is our issue.

Fivesilver
19/10/2012, 1:15 PM
I can confirm that Ming's not bluffing about having been a Rovers fan - used to bump into himself and the bro at home and away matches back in the day, before he got into politics (and while he was still Luke, sans beard). Didn't actually know it was his brother until I met him in a pub a few months ago and talked about those days.

19/10/2012, 10:50 PM
During the euro's when we got knocked out, it was the selection policy and tactics. When England got knocked out the RTE panel go into how it reflects the player development structures of the English game, and how these have to improve etc etc. Nothing wrong with their analysis of the english problem, just the fact they are incapable of making the same connection between our national team and player development, and how that is our issue.

Richard Sadlier has made points on that topic though, so at least its getting out there to some degree.

noddy102
23/10/2012, 12:40 AM
http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2012/1023/1224325578421.html

Irish soccer fans spent €100m in UK

CONOR POPE Consumer Affairs Correspondent
IRISH SOCCER fans are proving to be remarkably resilient in the face of recession. While the numbers travelling to Britain to watch football are down from the height of the boom, almost 200,000 people still spent close to €100 million cheering on their favourite teams in the English Premier League last year, according to figures from the British tourism authority.

VisitBritain, the UK’s state tourism agency, said the number of visits made by Irish fans to English soccer stadiums increased in 2011, with 174,000 fans crossing the Irish Sea to cheer on their team compared with 164,000 the previous year.

The Irish are the most likely overseas visitors to be found in English soccer grounds when Saturday comes, although a similar survey at the height of the boom in 2008 found 267,000 Irish fans attended at least one soccer match in Britain.

All told, the Irish accounted for one in five soccer fans who visited an English Premier League ground from overseas last year.
VisitBritain said the 900,000 foreign football tourists spent £706 million (€865 million), an average of about £785 (€962) per fan per visit.

The averages are high because of the number of visitors from the United States and Asia but even if the typical Irish spend is half that average, the total outlay from Irish soccer fans ran to €78 million in 2011.

Unsurprisingly, Old Trafford remained the top choice of international football fans last year, followed by Anfield, the Emirates Stadium and Stamford Bridge. White Hart Lane, Wembley, Goodison Park, the Etihad Stadium, Upton Park and Villa Park were the other stadiums in order of popularity.

Soccer is not the only draw for Irish sports fans. VisitBritain also identified rugby union and horse racing as being almost the preserve of the Irish.

--

Pretty shocking amounts of money when you consider what one tenth of that could do for the LoI.

El-Pietro
23/10/2012, 7:38 AM
looking forward to my next trip to London the week after the LOI season ends

horton
23/10/2012, 10:20 AM
Was it a politician who wrote that article? 174,000 people is not close to 200,000(thats like give or take the population of Navan to make that figure!) and saying 78 mill euro is close to 100 mill euro? nearly a third higher than it really is.:confused: I'd also add, that most people I know wouldn't be spending anywhere near that figure on a trip over. Between flights/buses/trains/food+drink you could do it for around 200 euro or less, add in match ticket and a stay in Premier Inn and you'd be still well short of Eu962.

23/10/2012, 10:44 AM
I think I read once that Man Utd budget for each visitor to spend £100 in their megastore. Can't find link to back this up though.

Even if the figure is rounded down to €50 million, its still a phenomenal amount of money leaving the Irish economy. Far, far more than is spent on cross border shopping and that lead to Government statements etc

Straightstory
23/10/2012, 4:16 PM
"VisitBritain, the UK’s state tourism agency, said the number of visits made by Irish fans to English soccer stadiums increased in 2011, with 174,000 fans crossing the Irish Sea to cheer on their team compared with 164,000 the previous year".

How many go to League of Ireland matches? Anybody know?

23/10/2012, 4:17 PM
About 12,000 a week.

Anyway, why is the UK state tourism agency only measuring the foreign fans who visit English stadiums?

24/10/2012, 12:11 AM
How many go to League of Ireland matches? Anybody know?

About 9,000 a week in the Premier. Lucky to get 2,000 overall at First Division.