View Full Version : Barstool facepalm

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 [23] 24

02/06/2016, 8:12 AM
I can't watch football in busy pubs, at all. It's an incredibly mental experience.

Watching Ireland games in pubs is a painful experience. I hate it.
Should point out it wasn't a busy city centre pub; just down the local. Not a mad fan of watching games in packed pubs, but this place is grand.

02/06/2016, 8:15 AM
Should point out it wasn't a busy city centre pub; just down the local. Not a mad fan of watching games in packed pubs, but this place is grand.

UCD Fan.

Doesn't like crowds.

Makes sense.

02/06/2016, 8:49 AM
Helps me get over my agoraphobia, etc, etc.

Real ale Madrid
02/06/2016, 9:29 AM
Was down the pub last night watching the match. Two lads started talking about how ****e we were midway through the first half - which in fairness was the only sensible thing they said to each other.

The solution was to do what the IRFU did. Four provinces, playing abroad. It's the only way. Leinster FC in the Premiership - sure they'd watch that. I mean, Bray Wanderers is all well and good, but there's only a few hundred people at the games, and what's the point of that? Anyway, once you get to that level, you won't be going any further. Leinster in the Premiership is the solution.

Anyways, both had left by the time Shane Long (whose career stalled irreparably after playing for Cork) set up Stephen Ward (who never went anywhere after four whole years at Bohs) for the Ireland goal.

Cool that you bumped into the bear - he has changed from Celtic league to Provinces in the Premiership I see - I hope you invited him back
http://foot.ie/threads/167866-Celtic-Premier-League?highlight=celtic+premier+league

Brusher
02/06/2016, 12:14 PM
The IRFU/Connaught Rugby people surely only have to talk to their colleagues in the Aviva how dangerous it can be pumping money into new stadia depending on the long term support of the Irish sports fan !!

IsMiseSean
02/06/2016, 2:08 PM
If Galway United were to make the FAI cup final they'd get a big crowd going. But building a consistent crowd in the city is difficult, perhaps because there are so many from outside the city living here.

I'd like to think they would get a big following but I wouldn't be to confident. We started this season quite well but that didn't result in an increase in attendances.
There's almost a snobbery towards football in Galway especially outside the city. If it's not GAA or Rugby it's not worth watching.

Strongbow10
02/06/2016, 9:50 PM
If Galway United were to make the FAI cup final they'd get a big crowd going. But building a consistent crowd in the city is difficult, perhaps because there are so many from outside the city living here.

Not trying to wind anyone up by saying this but is the bolded bit not an irish problem rather than a Galway one? Its very prevelant with football but it exists in all sports. Most sports in Ireland soccer included have a very small hardcore following i.e they will support their club and country by attending games regardless of the result. The rest of the crowd is made up of casual supporters who will choose whatever is hot at that particular moment in time (this isnn't Kenny Cunningham by the way :D)

The irish equate winning with happiness and will chase the happiness in sport by following the best bet to give them that. For alot of them you can take the booze out of the equation and the interest dries up aswell.

I know one bloke in particular who is from Galway originally, went to college in Cork and now works in Dublin. The guy unashamedly followed Munster rugby in college, hopped on the Leinster bandwagon whilst working in Dublin and all of a sudden hes at the Sports ground wearing his Connacht jersey since Christmas when there was a sniff of glory. His apparent passion for all 3 teams coincided with their best spells in terms of success of course. Now the guy is otherwise a very intelligent bloke, successful, has all of his mental capacities intact but he is symptomatic of the casual irish sports fan. This is the majority of fans in all irish sport. They follow boxing at the olympics, gaa when their county is on a high, and football during the major tournaments.

In terms of LOI, I don't think the casual fan will ever be attracted unfortunately. I see it at my own LOI club, attendances are shocking. When theres a chance of winning the league theres a buzz sure, but casual fans make up 90% of these numbers and they are simply attracted to winning or complaining something is crap. Generally speaking, I don't think Irish people are cut out for long term attachment or effort it takes to support one club in good times and bad and actually attend. Its not in our DNA. Most blokes have an opinion on 4-4-2 or tiki taka or hidden gems playing in south america and they might fool you into thinking football is their passion. But its like having a passion for your favourite TV show really.

If Ireland had a side in the English premiership there would be serious buzz for a season at most, maybe 2. The passionate cries of fields of athenry of our sell out crowd would soon dwindle to feck all when we got a hiding and finished bottom of the premiership. Irish fans only want to align themselves to something successful and if success isn't provided then they will find it somewhere else, regardless of the standard. Standards are supposedly the reason LOI football isn't attractive, yet the same people go and watch Ireland toy with Italy every year in the six nations. Whilst at the same time deride the national soccer team for being ****e despite the fact we are opening ourselves up to a higher level of competition year in year out.

Its that simply folks

03/06/2016, 10:22 AM
Thats excellent Strongbow, got it in a nutshell

TheOneWhoKnocks
03/06/2016, 2:09 PM
Was down the pub last night watching the match. Two lads started talking about how ****e we were midway through the first half - which in fairness was the only sensible thing they said to each other.

The solution was to do what the IRFU did. Four provinces, playing abroad. It's the only way. Leinster FC in the Premiership - sure they'd watch that. I mean, Bray Wanderers is all well and good, but there's only a few hundred people at the games, and what's the point of that? Anyway, once you get to that level, you won't be going any further. Leinster in the Premiership is the solution.

Anyways, both had left by the time Shane Long (whose career stalled irreparably after playing for Cork) set up Stephen Ward (who never went anywhere after four whole years at Bohs) for the Ireland goal.

Leinster in the 8th or 9th tier of English football and work their way up like AFC Wimbledon have done.

wonder88
03/06/2016, 4:30 PM
Maybe it was only a small number, but I would also be aware of some Galway people who were big Munster rugby fans a few years back. However the competition that Connacht won had no English teams in it, so entering the Scottish league might be a better comparison. Has this been tried before? did Colm McCarthy, Ray Tracey and others plan to buy Hamilton?
Also after the Emmet Malone front page splash about the boss of the FAI singing a song in a pub, it seems that according to the Irish Times Shane Duffy and James McClean are foreign born.

legendz
04/06/2016, 10:14 AM
I can't watch football in busy pubs, at all. It's an incredibly mental experience.
Many pubs have bad seating or the TV in an awkward spot. Happy enough to watch matches from the comfort of the living room unless I happen to be in Limerick which is the nearest Lol club.

Pablo Escobar
04/06/2016, 10:54 AM
I watched a piece that was done by a Polish guy during Euro 2012. He travelled to a few games a filmed/interviewed the fans. Before the Ireland and Spain game he found 3 guys wearing Ireland jerseys;

Interviewer: "where are you from?".
Lads: "Cork"
Interviewer: "Who do you support?"
Lads: "Munster"

They didn't even get the right sport.

07/06/2016, 12:14 AM
Considering Connacht were only getting 3000 at games at the start of the season and nearly 8000 by the end of it & could of easily got over 10k if they had the ground, that's a pretty big bandwagon.

I agree though, what they've done is fantastic but when their star players leave and there back to being average the crowds will dwindle again and the Galway sporting public will all be GAA fans again if they can manage a SF/Final appearance.

Listen I'm sure there's a fair whack of that 5000 who are pure shams and will not be next or near the Sportsground come next November when Connacht limp out of the EPRC. But give it time I suppose.

The stories about the missing Munster fans are kinda hilarious. I remember during the Munster period of dominance and the great rivalry with Leinster at Europe's top table almost all Connacht boys I knew would dine out on their love for Munster and hatred for Leinster. And sure as discussed above there's a fair whack of Lunsters who have disappeared too since the days of Felipe and Cheika. Ah yes, we're a great wee "sports mad" nation.

That being said I have a weird ambivalence towards my "home" province of Leinster. But they never got under my skin like Shels or Dublin GAA or Ireland (in any sport). And all that despite loving Union. Anyway...

07/06/2016, 12:30 AM
I kind of like Leinster. There's never been the whole myth-making thing with Munster where everybody was born in a turnip field and raised in a shoebox in the middle of the dual carriageway in Limerick. Everybody knows they're rich boys whose relatives will one day foreclose your house, but they don't try to dress themselves up as anything else.

07/06/2016, 7:30 AM
Ah yes, we're a great wee "sports mad" nation.

...but world champions at being fickle!

07/06/2016, 12:11 PM
Irish by birth, Munster by the Grace of God.

F**k off.

07/06/2016, 4:04 PM
Irish by birth, Munster by the Grace of God.

F**k off.

I kinda like that phrase it has to be said.

Despite ye all being a shower of turnip eating savages.

Real ale Madrid
09/06/2016, 11:48 AM
I know one bloke in particular who is from Galway originally, went to college in Cork and now works in Dublin. The guy unashamedly followed Munster rugby in college, hopped on the Leinster bandwagon whilst working in Dublin and all of a sudden hes at the Sports ground wearing his Connacht jersey since Christmas when there was a sniff of glory. His apparent passion for all 3 teams coincided with their best spells in terms of success of course. Now the guy is otherwise a very intelligent bloke, successful, has all of his mental capacities intact but he is symptomatic of the casual irish sports fan.

apologies for the swear word but....

Strongbow10
09/06/2016, 2:22 PM
apologies for the swear word but....

http://foot.ie/attachment.php?attachmentid=2426&stc=1

Tis true.

Everyone knows someone like this, plenty of them out there

10/06/2016, 12:59 AM
It is true in my experience. One chap, well known locally for his vehement support of Munster Rugby and SCOFFED at the Leinster 'D4' stuff. As Leinster started to compete and the IRFU, in fairness, had even Dundalk with flags and banners up for their first European final and then success. Low and behold when I met him during the Ireland November series he was sporting a Leinster shirt, proper stato he became too! He used to laugh at many a Dundalk FC fan for bothering to go to Oriel yet now he boldly heads to games or out for televised matches in a club shirt. The irony is that he seems to know plenty (too much) about things happening at Oriel and takes significant pleasure of asking obscure questions about the club and it stumping people, eg 'who was the first chairman of Dundalk FC (not Dundalk GNR)....

10/06/2016, 11:15 PM
It is true in my experience. One chap, well known locally for his vehement support of Munster Rugby and SCOFFED at the Leinster 'D4' stuff. As Leinster started to compete and the IRFU, in fairness, had even Dundalk with flags and banners up for their first European final and then success. Low and behold when I met him during the Ireland November series he was sporting a Leinster shirt, proper stato he became too! He used to laugh at many a Dundalk FC fan for bothering to go to Oriel yet now he boldly heads to games or out for televised matches in a club shirt. The irony is that he seems to know plenty (too much) about things happening at Oriel and takes significant pleasure of asking obscure questions about the club and it stumping people, eg 'who was the first chairman of Dundalk FC (not Dundalk GNR)....
But enough about you, Nesta...

ToberonaTornado
11/06/2016, 12:40 AM
I have officially seen it all now.

http://s13.postimg.org/mxtz18qd3/shirt.png
There's an Arsenal/Ireland UEFA 2016 banner with the same slogan as above written on it doing the rounds on FB & Twitter atm(at least i think it's Arsenal could be another EPL side?) anyone manage to capture it in all it's beautiful glory?

legendz
21/07/2016, 9:50 AM
Barstooler: "Celtic got through."
Me: "Dundalk got through!"

21/07/2016, 10:40 AM

That is a conversation for the ages.

MeathDrog
21/07/2016, 11:59 AM
Was listening to Radio Nova yesterday afternoon and they led with the Celtic game in their sports news. Couldn't believe it (but then again I could).

jinxy lilywhite
21/07/2016, 12:48 PM
A few boys I know were out in carlingford and tried almost every pub in the village for the dundalk game last night. All showed sell thick and wouldn't switch over for dundalk.

legendz
21/07/2016, 10:38 PM
I can appreciate the quality of the league. I don't understand how limited barstoolers can't work out the logic of talent in the league when you look at where many of the Irish squad started their careers.

With the poor marketing of the league that many in the league have acknowledged, the league needs the stories that getting to Europa League basis more often than not can create. It's not right and it shouldn't have to take that.

The league's champion as seen in the last 4 years will not always get through their first qualifying round. Hopefully it will be more of a regular occurrence though.

25/07/2016, 9:18 AM
I can appreciate the quality of the league. I don't understand how limited barstoolers can't work out the logic of talent in the league when you look at where many of the Irish squad started their careers.

With the poor marketing of the league that many in the league have acknowledged, the league needs the stories that getting to Europa League basis more often than not can create. It's not right and it shouldn't have to take that.

The league's champion as seen in the last 4 years will not always get through their first qualifying round. Hopefully it will be more of a regular occurrence though.

We all know the real issue is a lack of a pyramid structure. :)

legendz
26/07/2016, 6:55 PM
We all know the real issue is a lack of a pyramid structure. :)The A Championship was enough thank you! Enjoy watching your local LoI team in action!

MeathDrog
29/07/2016, 5:29 PM
I have heard there's a bus going from Kells to the Celtic v Barca game tomorrow...

legendz
29/07/2016, 10:33 PM
I have heard there's a bus going from Kells to the Celtic v Barca game tomorrow...What's the local LoI team of that area?

MeathDrog
29/07/2016, 11:02 PM
What's the local LoI team of that area?
Drogheda would be the nearest.

legendz
30/07/2016, 8:29 AM
On a surface level Meath and Kildare would stand out as areas for involvement in the U17 and U19 leagues.

Rightly or wrongly a LoI club won't gain support just because they happen to be the nearest. I'm not aware of Limerick for example doing anything to gain support from parts of Clare, Tipperary or Kerry. Limerick have done a lot of good work within their own community. If they want to gain support from a wider area they'll have to get involved in those areas and gain publicity from the local media.

30/07/2016, 11:22 AM
I have heard there's a bus going from Kells to the Celtic v Barca game tomorrow...

Must be a meath thing
love the dublin banner, they must be the "real" Everton fans in Dresden the other day
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CokHAtDXEAEfXL7.jpg:large

31/07/2016, 11:11 AM
I'm not aware of Limerick for example doing anything to gain support from parts of Clare, Tipperary or Kerry. Limerick have done a lot of good work within their own community.

Our underage teams played regularly in Ennis before, we have had links with at least one club in Tipperary and I know, first hand, elements (small I'll grant you but they exist) of Limerick support from all those areas. Don't let that get in the way of the conspiracy though. And before you say it, yes, I will enjoy watching my local LOI team in action (indeed I'll enjoy two where possible, the team where I'm from and from time to time I wonder out to watch the team where I live too).

31/07/2016, 11:41 AM
There is a supporters club out in Clare (Ennis I believe) called the Banner Blues. A good lot of people travel in from Tipp and areas near Kerry. A big chunk of our support comes from county Limerick also, some places a good 45-60mins from the Markets Field.

Joe Strummer
31/07/2016, 3:00 PM
https://s32.postimg.org/owoq91fsl/mux65x.jpg

31/07/2016, 4:30 PM
I often spot Sligo rovers posters up in shops in Carrick on Shannon while Dunnes pub have an advertisement in the Showgrounds. In the good old days I use to spot the odd Leitrim jacket around Flancare Padk but we don't even try to encourage locals out these days never mind people from other counties

IsMiseSean
31/07/2016, 8:56 PM
I often spot Sligo rovers posters up in shops in Carrick on Shannon while Dunnes pub have an advertisement in the Showgrounds. In the good old days I use to spot the odd Leitrim jacket around Flancare Padk but we don't even try to encourage locals out these days never mind people from other counties

Did ye get many in from Roscommon? I drove home that way last night and was wondering if they watch Longford.

31/07/2016, 8:59 PM
Did ye get many in from Roscommon? I drove home that way last night and was wondering if they watch Longford.

We have a life long Town fan who was on the coaching staff up until this year who comes from Roscommon. we also get a couple from Strokestown (would have had full bus loads from there back in the day) that travel down but after that not really.

legendz
31/07/2016, 10:01 PM
And before you say it, yes, I will enjoy watching my local LOI team in action
Good stuff! ;-)

I know people living in Donegal closer to Derry City and they support them.

I'm going to look into the Banner Blues out of curiosity.

I doubt I'll see a Kerry team in the LoI. Must be one of the most dedicated places outside of the LoI with involvement in the old U21/U20 league, A Championship, League Cup and now involvement again in underage LoI football. The Oscar Traynor Cup seems to be the pinnacle for achievement. Underage LoI football should stand out future Oscar Traynor Cup teams along with re-entering the League Cup again in the next few years.

31/07/2016, 11:44 PM
Good stuff! ;-)

I know people living in Donegal closer to Derry City and they support them.

I'm going to look into the Banner Blues out of curiosity.

I doubt I'll see a Kerry team in the LoI. Must be one of the most dedicated places outside of the LoI with involvement in the old U21/U20 league, A Championship, League Cup and now involvement again in underage LoI football. The Oscar Traynor Cup seems to be the pinnacle for achievement. Underage LoI football should stand out future Oscar Traynor Cup teams along with re-entering the League Cup again in the next few years.

The banner blues are on Twitter

Ezeikial
12/08/2016, 4:40 PM
Excuse # 185

Me to Co Louth publican who travelled to Basel for the Liverpool Europa League earlier this summer:

" Are you going to the big match in the Aviva on Wednesday?"

Publican: "What match?"

Me: " Dundalk V Legia Warsaw, probably the biggest Irish club match ever"

Publican: " To be fair, I don't want to be a bandwagon jumper, but I might watch the 2nd half on telly"

ToberonaTornado
12/08/2016, 5:35 PM
Enjoyed this article from Dundalk fan Kenneth Sloane and think a lot of you will to.

There’s a moment familiar to every League of Ireland fan. It occurs at the first informal gathering of any new peer group. This may be the first tea break at a new job, the first night out when you started college, or any other occasion where a little ice breaking is required. When cast into such circumstances most men swiftly and instinctively resort to the topic almost guaranteed to reveal common ground with a complete stranger, “so who do you support?”

https://kennethsloane.wordpress.com/2016/08/12/but-who-do-you-really-support/

13/08/2016, 8:05 PM
12,873 at Thomond Park to watch Celtic vs Inter. A few lads I know at it have said not a hope 12,000 at it. When it was announced I reckon they thought it would sell out.

From what I was told you need nearly a sell out to make any money from these games so looks like it was a loss making game to me.

legendz
13/08/2016, 8:30 PM
12,873 at Thomond Park to watch Celtic vs Inter. A few lads I know at it have said not a hope 12,000 at it. When it was announced I reckon they thought it would sell out.

From what I was told you need nearly a sell out to make any money from these games so looks like it was a loss making game to me.

They won't be doing that again. People voted no. Aviva only I guess.

Has Thomond Park ever sold out for a football match be it Republic of Ireland international or Limerick glamour friendly?

13/08/2016, 8:35 PM
12000 my hole.

Think four figures rather than five.

Celtic are not a draw and haven't been for years and years.

Thomond Park is an actual graveyard for bad ideas. It will never be full again.

13/08/2016, 8:35 PM
They won't be doing that again. People voted no. Aviva only I guess.

Has Thomond Park ever sold out for a football match be it Republic of Ireland international or Limerick glamour friendly?

No I don't think so. In fairness though most the matches on have been rubbish. The Ireland vs Australia match had a very big crowd, but was so bad a lot left at half time and nobody bothered going to the South Africa match after that. It was like the players didn't try and people voted with their feet. Limerick vs Man City had 22,000 which was good. A second string Celtic vs an inter team with maybe 4 players anyone really knew was never going to sell well. If they keep putting rubbish on in Thomond park they will continue to get rubbish crowds.

legendz
13/08/2016, 10:46 PM
No I don't think so. In fairness though most the matches on have been rubbish. The Ireland vs Australia match had a very big crowd, but was so bad a lot left at half time and nobody bothered going to the South Africa match after that. It was like the players didn't try and people voted with their feet. Limerick vs Man City had 22,000 which was good. A second string Celtic vs an inter team with maybe 4 players anyone really knew was never going to sell well. If they keep putting rubbish on in Thomond park they will continue to get rubbish crowds.
There must have been a clause in the contract FAI signed with the company that were to organise the Dublin Super Cup that they got sole rights for so-called glamour friendlies. I think the FAI were to pocket €1m a year from the deal. It was surely the reason they didn't allow the Barca game a few years back. They shouldn't be be competing against clubs for these games.

The Oman game has come out of the blue.

13/08/2016, 10:48 PM
Limerick's Barcelona invitation was before the Dublin Super Cup.