View Full Version : Barstool facepalm

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 [13] 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24

20/05/2013, 12:45 PM
LUAS and the fact the Gardai have the fixture well controlled have also encouraged a few more to attend, and in a time of declining attendances this is to be welcomed.

Fair play to Bohs, good use of Social media to promote the feedback from the UK visitors as well.

However on that point on the security, was the Luas not bricked on Friday and the Gardai told all football fans to get off at some point?

marinobohs
20/05/2013, 12:50 PM
Fair play to Bohs, good use of Social media to promote the feedback from the UK visitors as well.

However on that point on the security, was the Luas not bricked on Friday and the Gardai told all football fans to get off at some point?

shuuuusshh that sort of thing ONLY happens at the Brandywell dont you know :cool: looking forward to the press release(s) from Tallaght condeming the stone throwing (same text as last year perhaps).
No way would shams apply double standards

No LUAS from Tallaght after the game, not sure why though.

20/05/2013, 1:37 PM
Stay out of it - tempting, but unfair, to enter a battle of wits against the unarmed.

I did. Just.

I just walked by with my Shels cup. They knew there was a demi-god in their midsts.

20/05/2013, 1:50 PM
shuuuusshh that sort of thing ONLY happens at the Brandywell dont you know :cool: looking forward to the press release(s) from Tallaght condeming the stone throwing (same text as last year perhaps).
No way would shams apply double standards

No LUAS from Tallaght after the game, not sure why though.

I'm thought "De Herald" would have gone massive on it, whilst comparing it with the fun loving jolly japsters at the RDS the same night.......

20/05/2013, 2:06 PM
Are you really asking me that?

Anyways, I'd rather keep using this thread for 'stooler bashing than analyzing attendance patterns for ding dong Dublin derbies.
Well I don't know, I don't go in the away end and I don't read other message boards. All I know is fans from other clubs can pay at the gate.

Fivesilver
20/05/2013, 2:26 PM
Did you not see the oul lad with the cloakroom tickets and the USA biscuit tin on a broken bar stool?

20/05/2013, 9:27 PM
Did you not see the oul lad with the cloakroom tickets and the USA biscuit tin on a broken bar stool?

Why would the ghost of Ollie be camped out in Tallaght?

marinobohs
20/05/2013, 10:10 PM
I'm thought "De Herald" would have gone massive on it, whilst comparing it with the fun loving jolly japsters at the RDS the same night.......

Nah, that clown Byrne that writes for De Herald is a major Hoops cheerleader (and Aidan Fitz would not stoop so low ;)). Would expect the same people that made such a scene about the Derry incident to be up in arms (in the inteest of consistency of course)

Fivesilver
20/05/2013, 11:25 PM
You must be feeling charitable to describe that barely literate muck Byrne produces as writing.

bullit
20/05/2013, 11:37 PM
Barstoolers had no hash tags to play with tonight so #EA Sports Cup went top of the trends on Twitter in Ireland tonight.Still running on 6th at the moment.

Next job we have is turning those tweets into attendances.

21/05/2013, 1:35 AM
Article from legendary LOI fan Brian O'Connor in today's Times: http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/bayern-and-dortmund-ready-to-put-on-an-entertaining-show-in-wembley-final-1.1399538

He lauds Bayern for treating fans as "customers" among other things.

Fivesilver
21/05/2013, 6:09 AM
What a wonderful article. He hasn't a single interesting thing to say, and couldn't be bothered doing a few minutes' research. So instead he pads paragraph after paragraph with asinine stereotypes, and excuses himself by saying he knows they're stereotypes and that the dreaded tabloids will hate him pointing this out. In the end all we get is: 'German clubs play good football. They're not broke.' Your average 10-year-old would produce better.

Shannonsider
22/05/2013, 4:59 PM
Just seen a facebook event page titled "Blues away trip to Shamrock Rovers" created by a Birmingham supporter based in Dublin. Cringe.

22/05/2013, 5:04 PM
Just seen a facebook event page titled "Blues away trip to Shamrock Rovers" created by a Birmingham supporter based in Dublin. Cringe.
To be fair, any trip further than the sitting room must qualify as an away trip.

23/05/2013, 8:43 AM

maybe the supporter is from Birmingham. would you stop supporting Limerick if you had to move away?

redarmyfaction
23/05/2013, 10:18 AM
What a wonderful article. He hasn't a single interesting thing to say, and couldn't be bothered doing a few minutes' research. So instead he pads paragraph after paragraph with asinine stereotypes, and excuses himself by saying he knows they're stereotypes and that the dreaded tabloids will hate him pointing this out. In the end all we get is: 'German clubs play good football. They're not broke.' Your average 10-year-old would produce better.

He can't even be bothered to get his geography right, Wembley is not in West London,

Shannonsider
24/05/2013, 11:54 AM
maybe the supporter is from Birmingham. would you stop supporting Limerick if you had to move away?

Possibly but says he is from Dublin. And funny you should say that, I do have to move away and tonight is my last home Limerick game for a while, having not missed one in about 3 years. Of course I won't stop supporting Limerick but I will also defiantly take an interest in Toronto FC, where I am moving to next month.

24/05/2013, 1:30 PM
Possibly but says he is from Dublin. And funny you should say that, I do have to move away and tonight is my last home Limerick game for a while, having not missed one in about 3 years. Of course I won't stop supporting Limerick but I will also defiantly take an interest in Toronto FC, where I am moving to next month.

Oooooooooh. Keep the seats warm. See ya for the first game of next season. IEC ftw! :)

NeverFeltBetter
25/05/2013, 7:16 PM
Couple of old lads in the pub last night (not really "barstoolers" since they didn't seem interested in football at all) were confused by "Lim" and "Sli" on the TV.

"Sli. Is that Sunderland is it?"

DannyInvincible
05/06/2013, 9:56 AM
Thought this thread was the best place for this: http://balls.ie/football/the-gardai-twitter-account-ronaldo-transfer-rumour/?fb_source=pubv1

http://i218.photobucket.com/albums/cc12/poguemahone85/Capture4_zps83d974cc.jpg

05/06/2013, 9:59 AM
I wonder if they picked it up on the police scanner.

05/06/2013, 9:20 PM
Dunny will know...

07/06/2013, 9:50 PM
Nah, more into the army now.

13/06/2013, 11:17 AM
RTE axes its Premier League show to save €1.3 million: http://www.independent.ie/entertainment/tv-radio/rte-axes-its-premier-league-show-to-save-station-13m-a-year-29341140.html

That'll be TV3 bankrupt within 3 years after it pays for the increased rights package.

13/06/2013, 12:31 PM
RTÉ were losing 1.3m a year on Premier League coverage?

Wow.

When's the FAI/MNS deal up?

13/06/2013, 12:41 PM
It's up this year as far as I know. Can't imagine this will have any effect whatsoever on the LOI coverage though. RTE is rugby country.

peadar1987
13/06/2013, 1:18 PM
RTÉ were losing 1.3m a year on Premier League coverage?

Wow.

When's the FAI/MNS deal up?

I'd say it's typical business speak, trying to make it look like they're saving more than they actually are. I reckon it cost €1.3M to produce, and they haven't taken into account the money they'll likely lose in advertising revenue.

14/06/2013, 12:55 PM
I'd be surprised if it wasn't profit making though. (And presumably it didn't make a profit, so I'm surprised)

My only concern with MNS is that if they're cutting the Premiership for cost reasons...

(Also, kind of coincides with Greece axing its entire national broadcaster for cost reasons)

But the other thread has a comment that they're focussing more on home stuff, so that's ok. If it's meant!

gufcfan
14/06/2013, 2:46 PM
(Also, kind of coincides with Greece axing its entire national broadcaster for cost reasons)

If they more of less gut the coverage back to what it was, next to nothing, they can close RTÉ as far as I'm concerned. In the last month, I'm pretty sure the only things I've watched on RTÉ were MNS and a live match.

gufcfan
19/06/2013, 7:18 PM
Horgan's goal was posted to Reddit.com's soccer section by some Austrian punter under the heading "Cantona style goal scored in Irish league (sic)"

This cabbage then comes along and gives his two cents, of all the places to bring it up too.

http://i.imgur.com/aGLDKeO.png

19/06/2013, 7:26 PM
I assume he didn't mean shockingly good. There are arsey comments like that any time thescore.ie post an item about the LOI too. Some people feel the need to obnoxiously justify their own worship of the Murdoch money machine.

gufcfan
19/06/2013, 7:29 PM
I'm sure my "does your telly know you're here" response made him rethink his whole position on the issue too.

19/06/2013, 7:41 PM
The classics never go out of style :cool:

legendz
19/06/2013, 9:37 PM
I'd be surprised if it wasn't profit making though. (And presumably it didn't make a profit, so I'm surprised)

My only concern with MNS is that if they're cutting the Premiership for cost reasons...

But the other thread has a comment that they're focussing more on home stuff, so that's ok. If it's meant!
Sky are nudging in on the Pro 12 with a deal starting in 2014. That should see RTE nudged out of the rugby market. RTE could easily use footage of ex-LoI players playing for Ireland to promote the domestic game.

19/06/2013, 9:47 PM
Sky are nudging in on the Pro 12 with a deal starting in 2014. That should see RTE nudged out of the rugby market. RTE could easily use footage of ex-LoI players playing for Ireland to promote the domestic game.
They should be OK for the next 3 or 4 years anyway. The Pro 12 seem to be anxious for a lot of the games to remain free to air, but I'd say that will change in the coming years. At least one of the Leinster-Munster matches will be on RTE/TG4 next year, unless TV3 or Setanta assume the rights.

19/06/2013, 11:01 PM
Chelsea at home on 24th August... My stag.. Please sky, don't change it to Sunday.... All Teresa's bro's are Chelsea fans but I'll admit they are not the plastic, post abramovich fans

GAH!!!

19/06/2013, 11:07 PM
Man United diehard?

20/06/2013, 12:39 AM
Yes. There was more in the comments. That made me die a little. He's from Blayney. Constantly barracked him to head to Gortakeegan.

20/06/2013, 12:42 AM
To be fair, Blayney is far closer to his TV than Gortakeegan is. You can't blame somebody for not going to games when they don't have a local team within 20 yards of their kitchen.

GCdfc
20/06/2013, 7:08 AM
RTÉ will probably show the likes of Blackrock College playing rugby instead of more LOI matches.

ped_ped
23/06/2013, 8:03 PM
That said, if RTÉ showed two LOI matches per week and a midweek game or two every time it suited, would we not jut be getting complaints that it's affecting our attendances?

gormacha
28/06/2013, 9:44 PM
I saw something at tonights Waterford United v Finn Harps game that left me genuinely speechless. I don't think I've ever seen anything so ... well ... weird in all my long days watching LOI.

There was a sparse enough crowd, perhaps 400, and I was in the "new" stand, which is the sparsest area of all. I noticed a man, sitting pretty much alone in the otherwise empty end section. The man is local to Waterford.

And then, just before kickoff, he unfurled a large Manchester United flag, tied it to the railings in front of him, and sat there, behind it, alone, for the entire match.

Presumably this was some sort of misplaced early offensive before the upcoming Waterford/Yannited friendly.

The behaviour is so bizarre that I am pretty much lost for words.

Señor Willy
28/06/2013, 10:59 PM
I saw something at tonights Waterford United v Finn Harps game that left me genuinely speechless. I don't think I've ever seen anything so ... well ... weird in all my long days watching LOI.

There was a sparse enough crowd, perhaps 400, and I was in the "new" stand, which is the sparsest area of all. I noticed a man, sitting pretty much alone in the otherwise empty end section. The man is local to Waterford.

And then, just before kickoff, he unfurled a large Manchester United flag, tied it to the railings in front of him, and sat there, behind it, alone, for the entire match.

Presumably this was some sort of misplaced early offensive before the upcoming Waterford/Yannited friendly.

What?! That's unbelievable!!! Shows the society were living In and... Hold on is this good or bad? He willingly paid and watched LOI to show a UTD flag! That is utterly ridiculous.. I'm baffled...

Nah Nah Nah Nah
28/06/2013, 11:00 PM
Come on now. There has to be a picture of this.

Señor Willy
28/06/2013, 11:03 PM
I must see it. I may laugh excessively.

bullit
28/06/2013, 11:14 PM
Come on now. There has to be a picture of this.
Haven't seen a photo yet but the Waterford lads have the story all over Twitter & Wastebook.
Ergo- True story.

ArdeeBhoy
29/06/2013, 12:26 AM
So he has misplaced loyalty to that bunch? More fool him.
And he turned up to a LOI game. Some might say likewise.

Seriously, silly though this is, you can't win...

29/06/2013, 12:31 AM

How quickly can that winding-up order come?

So he has misplaced loyalty to that bunch? More fool him.
And he turned up to a LOI game. Some might say likewise.

Seriously, silly though this is, you can't win...
Ah, even you have to admit that is bizarre behaviour.

ArdeeBhoy
29/06/2013, 9:36 AM
Didn't say it wasn't...

trevy
29/06/2013, 1:26 PM
Yeah it had MUFC Waterford branch written on it. On the plus side at least he turned up to the game. We need all the fans we can get!