View Full Version : Barstool facepalm
24/11/2010, 10:08 PM
Just noticed that the wiki "Termonbarry" page is in Dutch (http://nl.wikipedia.org/wiki/Termonbarry). Could it be that huge discussion on Termonbarry by fans of Go Ahead Eagles and Den Haag is the reason we are not showing higher than page 49?
I am taking the wife back to Ireland in the Summer, and we're doing a mini road trip around - Termonbarry is starting to look like a good place to stop for a feed of petrol and a tank of food.
I'm sure the people of Termonbarry are sick of barstooling daytrippers like you showing up to watch the football team and then jetting back to wherever you came from.
passerrby
25/11/2010, 5:24 PM
advert in todays star from dublin pubs claiming that football is best enjoyed in a bar the cheek of them i know lads lets refuse to go into pubs and lets stop drinking.. lads come back lads where ye of too.. ah lads
25/11/2010, 7:48 PM
Everybody knows football is best enjoyed in the paper the following lunchtime.
peadar1987
27/11/2010, 11:39 AM
Everybody knows football is best enjoyed in the paper the following lunchtime.
Fairly sure football is best enjoyed in Termonbarry!
bullit
28/11/2010, 2:52 AM
Temonbarry has a mobile barbers shop van,fcuk chip shop vans and long haired un-shaven louts.
bluemovie
30/11/2010, 3:30 PM
Tarmonbarry would be an excellent location for a Leauge of Ireland side,but you would have to kill the local population first.
Worth looking into??
Foot.ie has made it to page 2 of the google search for Termonbarry thanks to Bonnie Shels.
05/12/2010, 6:51 PM
I saw that yesterday. I don't know if I've ever been prouder than I am now.
05/12/2010, 10:18 PM
Termonbarry! No time to give up now! We're only two Termonbarry places from the front page! Though as Termonbarry luck would have it the Termonbarry GAH 2011 thread from this very site is listed higher than this Termonbarry thread. Let's give it the old Termonbarry try, and have one last good Termonbarry go at getting onto Google's premier Termonbarry page!
**FrOsTy**
05/12/2010, 11:02 PM
"Internet eh? Scratch eh? Maude eh Termonbarry eh?" I believe this was said by Homer Simpson!
peadar1987
05/12/2010, 11:09 PM
Termonbarry was on the Simpsons? Well, I'll be Termonbarried!
05/12/2010, 11:12 PM
Is Termonbarry the new Annanbarry?
**FrOsTy**
05/12/2010, 11:19 PM
Or is Annanbarry the old Termonbarry?
peadar1987
06/12/2010, 3:55 PM
This is pretty facepalmworthy,
I was on the Luas to Cherrywood the other night, and there was some fella completely ossified drunk, having a lively conversation with the ticket inspectors; "You can't call this station Windy Arbour, Windy Arbour is ****ing miles away. Love Shamrock Rovers, ****ing hate Bohs. Nowhere near ****ing Windy Arbour". This goes on for quite a while, until he gets off the tram.
After he gets off, one of the lads sitting opposite me, wearing a Chelsea hat, asks his mate "What are Bohs"?
Grr!
Louth4sam
06/12/2010, 4:00 PM
This is pretty facepalmworthy,
I was on the Luas to Cherrywood the other night, and there was some fella completely ossified drunk, having a lively conversation with the ticket inspectors; "You can't call this station Windy Arbour, Windy Arbour is ****ing miles away. Love Shamrock Rovers, ****ing hate Bohs. Nowhere near ****ing Windy Arbour". This goes on for quite a while, until he gets off the tram.
After he gets off, one of the lads sitting opposite me, wearing a Chelsea hat, asks his mate "What are Bohs"?
Grr!
What the hell has this got to do with Termonbarry????
peadar1987
06/12/2010, 4:05 PM
What the hell has this got to do with Termonbarry????
He probably didn't know what Termonbarry was either. Or Termonbarry's special significance to the Irish footballing community.
06/12/2010, 4:40 PM
While this story has little to do with Termonbarry, this thread seems like the right place for it.
I was talking to my uncle on Saturday, who started supporting Wigan a few years ago (having previously supported Liverpool). He said "I don't know why everyone has to support a team that wins all the time. Why can't they support a team that looses all the time like I do?". I responded with "Well, I know what it's like to lose a lot with Bray Wanderers". Him: "I don't know what would possess anyone to go and watch them play and waste your money"
Me: "It's got to do with going to watch your local team play".
Him: "How many of the players are actually from Bray?"
06/12/2010, 5:00 PM
Steve, are you currently on the run for murder?
And if you're not, why not?
This thread is getting back on-topic rather quickly.
bullit
06/12/2010, 5:25 PM
To hell or to Termonbarry,will we make Number 1 for xmas???
06/12/2010, 5:45 PM
This surely qualifies as a barstool facepalm (as seen in this thread):
http://googleads.g.doubleclick.net/pagead/imgad?id=CIeBlqX63KLT6AEQrAIY7wEyCPd6WD-SoNJf
peadar1987
06/12/2010, 7:24 PM
Termonbarry thread is up to the first page on the google search for Termonbarry, mainly due to Bonnieshels' Termonbarry Termonbarry Termonbarry Termonbarry Termonbarry signature. This could be the most significant event in the history of Termonbarry!
06/12/2010, 8:47 PM
Steve, are you currently on the run for murder?
And if you're not, why not?
This thread is getting back on-topic rather quickly.
He bought me dinner and a drink that day, so I let him off.
06/12/2010, 8:48 PM
Charlie, similar other ones crop up from time to time. It does Termonbarry me.
06/12/2010, 9:17 PM
This is my favourite yet:
http://googleads.g.doubleclick.net/pagead/imgad?id=CLin45vh8v_yMRCsAhjvATII6ZjRoJ6Zaw4
Just how many times do we have to termonfeckin post the word Termonbarry to get to first?
Leave me out of it.. I have enough problems being in a catchment area of Limerick.
bullit
10/12/2010, 11:04 PM
Termonbarry for all your Termonbarry shopping.
Dont forget your Termonbarry trees now.
Happy Termonbarry to y'all
Mcgeady46
12/12/2010, 5:53 PM
that I just cant believe.
These people are obviously not football fans or fans of sport at all - idiots
06/01/2011, 9:04 PM
Fearing retribution for bumping this but eh, Foot.ie is up to 4th when you google Termonbarry.
Boo ya!
07/01/2011, 2:24 PM
It will always be Tarmonbarry to me. Keenan's is a great pub, mind. Great during the summer too.
07/01/2011, 3:06 PM
I thought I had been to all of the important footballing places in Ireland when I went to the Carlisle for the first (and last time) in 2010. Now you tell me I have to go to Termonbarry?? We should set up an annual pilgrimage to Termonbarry.
07/01/2011, 3:07 PM
Fearing retribution for bumping this but eh, Foot.ie is up to 4th when you google Termonbarry.
Boo ya!
Curiously, though, it's an old GAA thread which shows up as the (now third) match.
Damn Grab-Allers...
07/01/2011, 9:22 PM
Yeah Stu, I noticed that alright. However beggars can't be choosers and I will take anything that ensures foot.ie and Termonbarry are joined at the hip.
The LOI needs a vibrant Termonbarry and Termonbarry needs a vibrant LOI. The relationship is nigh on symbiotic.
Magicme, a summer trip whilst that travesty of a tournament is on in Lansdowne would be the ticket. Plus the look on the faces of the locals would be priceless.
bullit
07/01/2011, 9:45 PM
Gem of a thread and a gem of a village/town.
Termonbarry for World Heritage site status. :cool:
08/01/2011, 4:24 PM
With an election coming up, and the power to bring it to international attention basicaly being in governmental hands, (as far as I can tell without doing any serious research (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/World_Heritage_Site#Nominating_process)), I think we should all repeatedly petition every candidate to ensure that Termonbarry is pushed. Similar to Ronnie O'Brien being man of the last century, I reckon we can Termonbarry this.
Royal rover
13/01/2011, 12:07 PM
best one i have heard to date is cowenbeath who play in first division on scotland have a dublin supporters club - my mate was the physio there when they got promoted to division 1 - he couldn't believe it - it's awful stuff
http://www.cowdenbeath-mad.co.uk/roll/ed11/supporters_club_updates_445185/index.shtml
13/01/2011, 1:11 PM
best one i have heard to date is cowenbeath who play in first division on scotland have a dublin supporters club - my mate was the physio there when they got promoted to division 1 - he couldn't believe it - it's awful stuff
http://www.cowdenbeath-mad.co.uk/roll/ed11/supporters_club_updates_445185/index.shtml
Let us be kind for a moment. Perhaps they are Scots who now live in Dublin - if I were living in Cowdenbeath (or is it like the city of Raith?), and I knew of a fellow Waterford fan or two, I would set up a Blues Supporters club - indeed, for a few years, to the best of my knowledge, I was the London branch of the Dublin Blues Supporters Club. Alternatively, they may be a group of League of Ireland fans who chose a random foreign team to follow either to unite them behind one team rather than 5 or 6 once or twice a year, or to have a reciprocal arrangement with a bunch of Dublin visiting Cowdenbeath fans, like the Blues who are planning on going off to Lyngby in April on their annual trip.
Or it might be a bunch of to$$ers who think that they are so cool and alternative to have chosen a team from Scotland rather than England, and a lower league team rather than one of the top four or five. To$$ers.
Royal rover
13/01/2011, 3:38 PM
there all Dubs roughly 40 of them
13/01/2011, 5:32 PM
*facepalms*
May they never set foot in Termonbarry.
MMVIII
13/01/2011, 11:00 PM
there all Dubs roughly 40 of them
Definitely sound like those who would fall under the latter half of Bluebeards post.
poster
13/01/2011, 11:03 PM
This Termonbarry crap is getting slightly old now. :ttth:
bullit
13/01/2011, 11:05 PM
Dont click on it so,now feck off and leave us to talk about all things Termonbarry
poster
13/01/2011, 11:06 PM
I can click on it?
peadar1987
13/01/2011, 11:08 PM
I can click on it?
You can do whatever you want. Termonbarry is a very liberal place
bullit
13/01/2011, 11:12 PM
You could click in it!! believe you me:p
14/01/2011, 12:40 AM
I think we should all head to a game in the Flansiro then head out the Strokestown Road and hit Termonbarry like it's never been hit before. Poster can even come if he doesn't mind the odd click.
14/01/2011, 2:16 AM
Then why are you posting in the Termonbarry thread? :dunno:
ped_ped
23/01/2011, 11:39 AM
John Brennan taking another uneducated and irrelevant swipe at the LOI (and IL, actually) in the Sunday World today.
No link online that I can find but it goes something like:
Adam Rooney (14 goals, 22 games this season)
In this respect, Adam Rooney or even Sammon > Robbie Keane, Leon Best or Caleb Folan
Many people say the SPL is useless, but they've gotten two teams to UEFA Cup finals in whatever amount of years . . .
Hence they are better than Norway, Sweden, Denmark, et al . . .
'And please don't get me started on the record of the leagues from this island in European action. Embarrassing is usually the best word that covers the clubs' records.'
Therefore Rooney should be an Irish international.
Utterly irrelevant to the argument, just another pointless swipe at what he deems to be an easy target.
(Also, no Irish internationals come from the LOI or IL, so SPL > LOI/IL doesn't mean their players are automatically of a higher standard than anyone we do have . . .)
cornflakes
23/01/2011, 2:00 PM
Theres only one journalist worse then Brennan and thats his colleague Roy Curtis. Sunday World is a joke of a paper.
I wouldn't wipe me hole with it
and I'd say our clubs have done reasonably well against scottish clubs in the last few meetings
peadar1987
23/01/2011, 3:33 PM
The Sunday World have a sports section? I thought the whole rag was just a collection of surveillance notes on every criminal in Ireland.
Rasputin
24/01/2011, 10:57 AM
The Sunday Spoof is full of spineless bottom feeding scum suckers.
Act all indignant at scumbag criminals but yet feed their ego with ridiculous nicknames, the Sunday World is as much a parasite on the criminal underworld as the lawyers that protect them.
24/01/2011, 1:18 PM
Theres only one journalist worse then Brennan and thats his colleague Roy Curtis. Sunday World is a joke of a paper.
I wouldn't wipe me hole with it
and I'd say our clubs have done reasonably well against scottish clubs in the last few meetings
In the last 2 meetings
Bohs only put Aberdeen out despite having 10 men for much of the return leg.
Derry did inflict a record home defeat for Scottish sides in European competition v Gretna.
Still when did the facts ever matter to the Sunday world.